DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 5/5/26 are acknowledged. Any objection or rejection from the 3/11/26 office action that is not addressed below is withdrawn based on the amendments.
Previously, Group 1 and the species of SEQ ID NO:9 were elected.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/14/26.
The elected species does not contain the amino acid sequence of claims 2 and 5 (for example there is no LKSP) or the features of claims 3 and 7-10. Any relevant art that was uncovered during the search for the elected species is cited herein in order to advance prosecution.
Claims 2-3, 5 and 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/14/26.
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 11-13 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt of 10/4/23.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites ‘polypeptide of 8-200 amino acids in length’. Thus the maximum length of any polypeptide is 200 amino acids. The minimum length of any polypeptide or fragment is 8 amino acids. Claim 4 has been interpreted as comprising one of the recited sequences and excluding sequences with 1 or 3 amino acid changes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims were previously rejected under 35 USC 101. Since the claims have been amended, the rejection is updated to correspond to the instant claims.
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon (product of nature) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) polypeptides/compositions which correspond to products of nature (fragments of and/or the actual full length protein as discussed in detail below). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no additional elements that apply or use the judicial exception. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as discussed below.
This 101 rejection is consistent with the most recent training provided by the office which will be referred to as 'guidance' (see MPEP 2106).
In comparison to the subject matter eligibility test as set forth in the guidance, the claims are drawn to polypeptides/compositions. Thus the answer to step 1 is yes. Lebrilla et al. (US 2014/0148378; first cited 11/19/25; ‘Lebrilla’) teach peptides isolated from mammalian milk (abstract). On pages 16 and 44, Lebrilla teach a peptide which contains KDTVYTKGRV (SEQ ID NO:74) where the table identifies the source as human beta-casein where KDTVYTKGRV is instant SEQ ID NO:5. Lebrilla teach the peptide from human milk (Table 3 heading on page 44 and section 0166). The instant sequence listing recites “Homo sapiens” as the source of SEQ ID NO:5. The instant specification teach casein as the source of peptides (page 7 section 0043) and the nomenclature used on page 20 of the substitute specification is consistent with the sequence KDTVYTKGRV as being from a natural protein (no bold residues indicating substitution for SEQ ID NO:186). In relation to prong one of step 2a of the guidance the answer is yes because polypeptides correspond to domains or fragments of human proteins (i.e. products of nature which are a natural phenomenon).
In relation to prong two of step 2a, the instant claims are product claims and do not require any additional elements that apply the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Thus the answer to prong two of step 2a is no.
The instant claims recite SEQ ID NO:5 which is a fragment of a known protein. The Myriad Supreme Court decision (Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, 569 U.S. 12-398 (2013)) stated: “Myriad’s claims are not saved by the fact that isolating DNA from the human genome severs the chemical bonds that bind gene molecules together” (page 2 and 14). In the instant case, applicants’ claims are not saved by the fact that the peptides of the instant claims correspond to fragments (the protein with severed bonds).
In relation to step 2b, claim 11 recites a composition and claim 13 refers to further components. The compositions of claims 11-12 can correspond to the polypeptide in water which itself is naturally occurring.
Xi et al. (‘Short-chain fatty acids in breast milk and their relationship with the infant gut microbiota’ Frontiers in Microbiology February 2024 pages 1-13) teach that butyric acid (C4) is present in breastmilk (page 1 ‘Results’, page 2 first paragraph of materials and methods, page 3 last complete paragraph and Table 2). Thus claim 13 can correspond to a combination of naturally occurring components (or to milk itself). The instantly claimed compositions are like the novel bacterial mixture of Funk Brothers which contained multiple naturally occurring components, which was held ineligible because each species of bacteria in the mixture (like each component in the peptide composition) continued to have “the same effect it always had”, i.e., it lacked markedly different characteristics. Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 131 (1948), discussed in Myriad Genetics, 133 S. Ct. at 2117 (explaining that the bacterial mixture of Funk Brothers “was not patent eligible because the patent holder did not alter the bacteria in any way”). The claims do not require any additional features that add significantly more to the exceptions.
Further, there is no evidence of any markedly different characteristic. There is no indication that mixing of the peptide and an excipient (such as water) changes the structure, function or other properties of the peptide or the water. MPEP 2106.04(c) II C recognizes that a change cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic on the naturally occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Thus the answer to step 2b is no because there is not adequate evidence to conclude that the claims include significantly more than the judicial exception.
Response to Arguments - 101
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although applicants argue that the claims have been amended, the amended claims are addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims were previously rejected under 35 USC 102 based on the references cited below. Since the claims have been amended, the rejections are updated to correspond to the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lebrilla et al. (US 2014/0148378; first cited 11/19/25; ‘Lebrilla’).
Lebrilla teach peptides isolated from mammalian milk (abstract). On pages 16 and 44, Lebrilla teach the peptide AKDTVYTKGRVMPVLK (SEQ ID NO:74). Lebrilla teach the peptide from human milk (Table 3 heading on page 44 and section 0166).
In relation to the peptide of claims 1, 4 and 6, on pages 16 and 44, Lebrilla teach the peptide AKDTVYTKGRVMPVLK (SEQ ID NO:74) which is 16 amino acids in length and comprises instant SEQ ID NO:5 (beginning at residue 2). Lebrilla teach peptides isolated from mammalian milk (abstract).
In relation to the composition of claims 11-12, Lebrilla teach the peptide from human milk (Table 3 heading on page 44 and section 0166).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lebrilla et al. (US 2014/0148378; first cited 11/19/25; ‘Lebrilla’) as evidenced by Xi et al. (‘Short-chain fatty acids in breast milk and their relationship with the infant gut microbiota’ Frontiers in Microbiology February 2024 pages 1-13; ‘Xi’).
Xi is cited to show a universal fact related to known components of human milk (MPEP 2124). Xi et al. (‘Short-chain fatty acids in breast milk and their relationship with the infant gut microbiota’ Frontiers in Microbiology February 2024 pages 1-13) teach that butyric acid (C4) is present in human breastmilk (page 1 ‘Results’, page 2 first paragraph of materials and methods, page 3 last complete paragraph and Table 2).
Lebrilla teach peptides isolated from mammalian milk (abstract). On pages 16 and 44, Lebrilla teach the peptide AKDTVYTKGRVMPVLK (SEQ ID NO:74). Lebrilla teach the peptide from human milk (Table 3 heading on page 44 and section 0166).
In relation to the peptide of claims 1, 4 and 6, on pages 16 and 44, Lebrilla teach the peptide AKDTVYTKGRVMPVLK (SEQ ID NO:74) which is 16 amino acids in length and comprises instant SEQ ID NO:5 (beginning at residue 2). Lebrilla teach peptides isolated from mammalian milk (abstract).
In relation to the composition of claims 11-12, Lebrilla teach the peptide from human milk (Table 3 heading on page 44 and section 0166).
In relation to claim 13, Lebrilla teach the peptide from human milk (Table 3 heading on page 44 and section 0166) which as evidenced by Xi contains butyric acid.
Response to Arguments - 102
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although applicants argue that the claims have been amended, the amended claims are addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims were previously rejected under 35 USC 103 based on the references cited below. Since the claims have been amended, the rejection is updated to correspond to the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lebrilla et al. (US 2014/0148378; first cited 11/19/25; ‘Lebrilla’) in view of Miyazaki et al. (US 5,916,619; ‘Miyazaki’).
Lebrilla teach peptides isolated from mammalian milk (abstract and section 0047 and section 0084 and example 1). On pages 16 and 44, Lebrilla teach the peptide AKDTVYTKGRVMPVLK (SEQ ID NO:74) which is identified as being from casein. Lebrilla teach the peptide from human milk (Table 3 heading on page 44 and section 0166). Lebrilla teach as antibacterial (abstract and section 0205). Lebrilla teach compositions comprising the peptide in a buffer with pH adjusting agents (section 0105).
Lebrilla does not expressly recite phosphoric acid.
Miyazaki teach casein solutions specifically those that are buffered using phosphoric acid buffer solution (column 7 lines 11-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Lebrilla based on the specific teachings and suggestions of Lebrilla. Since Lebrilla teach the peptide AKDTVYTKGRVMPVLK (SEQ ID NO:74) as antibacterial (pages 16 and 44) one would have been motivated to isolate and prepare for such use. Since Lebrilla teach compositions comprising the peptide in a buffer with pH adjusting agents (section 0105) one would have been motivated to use the known phosphoric acid buffer solution taught by Miyazaki (column 7 lines 11-21). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Lebrilla teach the peptides as antibacterial (abstract and section 0205). Further, Miyazaki teach casein solutions specifically those that are buffered using phosphoric acid buffer solution (column 7 lines 11-21).
In relation to the peptide of claims 1, 4 and 6, on pages 16 and 44, Lebrilla teach the peptide AKDTVYTKGRVMPVLK (SEQ ID NO:74) which is 16 amino acids in length and comprises instant SEQ ID NO:5 (beginning at the second residue). Lebrilla teach peptides isolated from mammalian milk (abstract and section 0047 and section 0084 and example 1).
In relation to the composition of claims 11-12, Lebrilla teach the peptide from human milk (Table 3 heading on page 44 and section 0166).
Further in relation to claims 11-13, Lebrilla teach compositions comprising the peptide in a buffer with pH adjusting agents (section 0105) and Miyazaki teach casein solutions specifically those that are buffered using phosphoric acid buffer solution (column 7 lines 11-21).
Response to Arguments - 103
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although applicants argue that the claims have been amended, the amended claims are addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658