DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 29, 52, 55 and 76-87 are currently pending. Claims 29, 52 and 55 have been amended by Applicants’ amendment filed 09-18-2026. Claims 76-87 has been added by Applicant’s amendment filed 09-18-2026. Claims 1, 31, 32, 35, 38, 40, 44-50, 53, 58, 59, 66-69 and 71 have been canceled by Applicant’s amendment filed 09-18-2026.
Applicant's election of Group II, claims 29, 31, 32, 35, 38, 40, 44-50, 52, 53, 55, 58 and 59 directed to a method for treating a disease or disorder in a subject in need thereof; and Applicant’s election of Species as follows:
Species (A): wherein the disease or disorder is cancer (claim 31);
Species (B): wherein the immune response is induced in NK cells, dendritic cells or macrophages (claim 32);
Species (C): wherein the immunomodulating agent is selected from the group consisting of IL18, IL15, etc. (claim 35);
Species (C)(I): wherein the immunomodulating agent is selected from IL18 (claim 35);
Species (D): wherein the immune response comprises decreased presentation of antigens on B cells (claim 44); and
Species (E): no election, in the reply filed June 5, 2026 was previously acknowledged.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election of invention has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP
§ 818.03(a)).
Claims 1, 66-69 and 71 were previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 38, 40, 45-50, 52, 53, 55, 58 and 59 were previously withdrawn, and claims 76-80 and 87 are newly withdrawn, from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Please Note: in the reply filed June 5, 2026, Applicant elected claim 32 for Species (B), wherein the immune response is induced in NK cells, dendritic cells or macrophages; and for Species (D), Applicant elected claim 44, wherein the immune response comprises decreased presentation of antigens on B cells. Thus, amended claims 76-80 and 87 are withdrawn because they recite a non-elected species.
The restriction requirement was deemed proper and was made FINAL.
The claims will be examined insofar as they read on the elected species.
A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Therefore, claims 29 and 81-86 are under consideration to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Priority
The present application filed May 3, 2023 is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application PCT/US21/58074, filed November 4, 2021, which claims the benefit of US Provisional Patent Application 63109795, filed November 4, 2020.
Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application 63/109795, filed November 4, 2020, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 for one or more claims of this application. The specific method steps recited in independent claim 29 does not have support for; “a method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof”; “administering interleukin-18 in combination with an anti-cancer therapy” and “wherein the IL-18…of the anti-cancer therapy alone”. Therefore, the priority date for the presently claimed invention is November 4, 2021, the filing date of International Application WO2022098882.
Applicants are invited to specifically indicate the location of the cited phrase pertinent to claim 29 of the instant application.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Applicants’ amendment and arguments filed September 18, 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or
objection not specifically addressed below are herein withdrawn.
Specification Objection
The objection to the disclosure because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment of the Specification, filed September 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 29, 31, 32, 35 and 44 is withdrawn under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/102(a2) as being anticipated by Hacohen et al. (hereinafter “Hacohen”) (US Patent No. 11452768, issued September 27, 2022; US20160339090, published November 24, 2016) as evidenced by Mulder et al. (hereinafter “Mulder”) (HemaSphere, European Hematology Association, 2021, 1-12).
Hacohen does not specifically exemplify IL-18.
In view of the withdrawn rejection, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
Maintained Objections/Rejections
Claim Interpretation
The term “anti-cancer therapy” in claim 29 is interpreted to refer to any treatment and/or therapy that supports the body and/or the immune system of the subject (e.g., water, vitamins, fruits, etc.); that reduce the symptoms of cancer and/or cancer therapy (e.g., nausea, vomiting, pain, fatigue, etc.); that reduce the number of cancer cells, reduce cancer metastasis, decrease cancer cell growth, and/or increase the life-span of the subject, etc. (e.g., commercially available cancer drugs, experimental cancer treatments, radiation, chemotherapy, etc.).
The term “efficacy” in claim 29 is interpreted to refer to any change, improvement and/or attenuation in the desired effect of the anti-cancer therapy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claim 29 is maintained, and claims 81-86 are newly rejected, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 29 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “induces an immune response” such as recited in claim 29, lines 4-5 because the term “induces” is a relative term that renders the claim indefinite. The term “induces” is not defined by the claim, and the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite amount of induction as compared to some other value that qualifies as an ‘inducing’ an immune response, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claims 81-86 are indefinite insofar as they ultimately depend from instant claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claim 29 is maintained, and claims 81-86 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hacohen et al. (hereinafter “Hacohen”) (US Patent No. 11452768, issued September 27, 2022; US20160339090, published November 24, 2016) in view of Carroll et. al. (hereinafter “Carroll”) (US Patent No. 8679471, issued March 25, 2014; effective filing date September 14, 2006) as evidenced by Mulder et al. (hereinafter “Mulder”) (HemaSphere, European Hematology Association, 2021, 1-12).
Regarding claims 29 (in part), Hacohen teaches methods of inducing a neoplasia/tumor specific immune response in a subject, vaccinating against a neoplasia/tumor, treating and or alleviating a symptom of cancer in a subject by administering the subject a neoplasia vaccine or a neo-antigenic peptide or composition of the invention and at least one checkpoint inhibitor, wherein the invention is directed to methods of treating or preventing a neoplasia comprising the steps of administering to a subject (a) a neoplasia vaccine or immunogenic composition, and (b) at least one checkpoint inhibitor (neoplasia vaccine and checkpoint inhibitor corresponding to administering immunomodulating agents to a subject that drive an immune response in combination with a treatment for a disease, wherein the disease is cancer, claims 29 and 31) (col 66, lines 42-53). Hacohen teaches that the neoplasia vaccine or immunogenic composition can be used for a patient that has been diagnosed as having cancer (interpreted as the disease being cancer, claim 31) (col 66, lines 54-56). Hacohen teaches that the neoplasia vaccine or immunogenic composition and one or more checkpoint inhibitors can be administered before, during, or after administration of the additional agent (interpreted as administering an agent in combination with the immunomodulating agent; and driving an immune response, claim 29) (col 67, lines 1-4). Hacohen teaches that the therapeutic agent is for example, a chemotherapeutic or biotherapeutic agent, radiation, or immuno-therapy, wherein any suitable therapeutic treatment for a particular cancer can be administered (interpreted as a treatment for the disease of cancer; and an immuno-modulating agent, claim 29) (col 67, lines 16-19). Hacohen teaches that the one or more additional agents are synergistic in that the increase immunogenicity after treatment, and/or the additional agent results in longer lifespan due to increased effectiveness of the combination therapy (interpreted as driving an immune response; and being associated with increased efficacy, claim 29) (col 69, lines 8-10 and 14-16). Hacohen teaches that the additional agent is administered to increase the efficacy of the combination therapy, wherein the additional agent is a chemotherapy treatment (interpreted as a treatment for the disease of cancer, and increasing efficacy of the treatment, claim 29) (col 69, lines 24-26). Hacohen teaches that taxanes are administered before vaccinations to enhance T-cell and NK-cell functions (interpreted as inducing a response in NK cells, claim 32) (col 67, lines 44-45). Hacohen teaches that the therapeutic agent can be a cytokine such as interferons (INFs), interleukins (ILs), or hematopoietic growth factors including IL-2 (interpreted as encompassing IL-2 and IL-18, claim 29) (col 68, lines 18-20). Hacohen teaches that the combination chemotherapy can include Ibrutinib (interpreting as a combination therapy, claim 29) (col 74, lines 1 and 25). Hacohen teaches that the neoplasia vaccine or immunogenic composition and one or more checkpoint inhibitors can be administered before, during, or after administration of the additional agent (interpreted as administering an agent in combination with the immunomodulating agent; and driving an immune response, claim 29) (col 67, lines 1-4). Hacohen teaches that the therapeutic agent is for example, a chemotherapeutic or biotherapeutic agent, radiation, or immuno-therapy, wherein any suitable therapeutic treatment for a particular cancer can be administered (interpreted as a treatment for the disease of cancer; and an immuno-modulating agent, claim 29) (col 67, lines 16-19). Hacohen teaches that the one or more additional agents are synergistic in that the increase immunogenicity after treatment, and/or the additional agent results in longer lifespan due to increased effectiveness of the combination therapy (interpreted as driving an immune response; and being associated with increased efficacy, claim 29) (col 69, lines 8-10 and 14-16). Hacohen teaches that the additional agent is administered to increase the efficacy of the combination therapy, wherein the additional agent is a chemotherapy treatment (interpreted as a treatment for the disease of cancer, and increasing efficacy of the treatment, claim 29) (col 69, lines 24-26). Hacohen teaches that CD8+ cell immunity can be generated with neoantigen-loaded dendritic cell (DC) vaccine, wherein DCs are potent antigen-presenting cells that initiate T cell immunity and can be used as cancer vaccines when loaded with one or more peptides of interest (col 55, lines 58-61). Hacohen teaches that two anti-PD-LI inhibitory antibodies, MPDL3280A and BMS-936559 have undergone clinical investigation, where MPDL3280A has been evaluated in multiple tumor types, with safety and preliminary efficacy identified in melanoma; renal cell carcinoma; non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC); and colorectal, gastric, and head/neck squamous cell carcinoma (Herbst et al. resented at Annu. Meet. Am. Soc. Clin. Oneal., Chicago, May 31-Jun. 4, 2013) (interpreting the cancer to include melanoma, colon cancer, NSCLC, etc., claim 84) (col 32, lines 27-30 and 36-41).
Regarding claim 81, Hacohen teaches that the neoplasia vaccine or immunogenic composition and one or more checkpoint inhibitors can be administered before, during, or after administration of the additional agent (interpreted as administering an agent in combination with the immunomodulating agent; and driving an immune response, claims 29 and 81) (col 67, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 82, Hacohen teaches administering ILg (IL-18) in combination with another vaccine agent; as well as, the administration of combination therapies including checkpoint blockade inhibitors such as anti-PD-1 therapies and anti-CTLA4 therapies leasing to DC and NK cell activation and production of a “natural mix” of type 1 interferons (interpreting ILg as IL-18; and IL-18 is a type 1 interferon; and activating NK cells) (Abstract; col 31, lines 3-9; and col 110, lines 17-19).
Regarding claim 83, Hacohen teaches that the term "subject" refers to an animal which is the object of treatment, observation, or experiment, wherein a subject includes, but is not limited to, a mammal, including, but not limited to, a human or a non-human mammal, such as a non-human primate, bovine, equine, canine, ovine, or feline (interpreted as including humans, claim 83) (col 13, lines 10-15).
Regarding claims 84 and 85, Hacohen teaches that examples of cancers and cancer conditions that can be treated with the combination therapy of this document include, but are not limited to a patient in need thereof that has been diagnosed as having cancer, or at risk of developing cancer, wherein the subject can have a solid tumor such as breast, ovarian, prostate, lung, kidney, gastric, colon, testicular, head and neck, pancreas, brain, melanoma, and other tumors of tissue organs and hematological tumors, such as lymphomas and leukemias, including acute myelogenous leukemia, chronic myelogenous leukemia, chronic lymphocytic leukemia, T cell lymphocytic leukemia, and B cell lymphomas; non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma (NHL), clear cell Renal Cell Carcinoma (ccRCC), metastatic melanoma, sarcoma, leukemia or a cancer of the bladder, colon, brain, breast, head and neck, endometrium, lung, ovary, pancreas or prostate, etc. (interpreting the cancer to include melanoma, colon cancer, bladder cancer, etc.; and including metastatic cancers, claims 84 and 85) (col 32, lines 62-67; and col 33, lines 1-5 and 52-56).
Regarding claim 86, Hacohen teaches that the term "combination therapy" is intended to embrace administration of these therapeutic agents in a sequential manner, that is, wherein each therapeutic agent is administered at a different time, as well as administration of these therapeutic agents, or at least two of the therapeutic agents, in a substantially simultaneous manner (interpreted as a combination therapy, claim 29) (col 10, lines 12-17). Hacohen teaches that the term "therapeutic effect" refers to some extent of relief of one or more of the symptoms of a disorder (e.g., a neoplasia or tumor) or its associated pathology, wherein a "therapeutically effective amount" as used herein refers to an amount of an agent which is effective, upon single or multiple dose administration to the cell or subject, in prolonging the survivability of the patient with such a disorder, reducing one or more signs or symptoms of the disorder, preventing or delaying, and the like beyond that expected in the absence of such treatment, such that the term "therapeutically effective amount" is intended to qualify the amount required to achieve a therapeutic effect (interpreted as a therapeutically effective amount, claim 86) (col 13, lines 36-47).
Hacohen does not specifically exemplify IL-18 (claim 29, in part).
Regarding claims 29 (in part) and 82, Carroll teaches that biological activities of IL-18 include induction of interferon-g (IFN-g) by T cells and splenocytes and enhancement of the killing activity of natural killer cells (NKTs) (interpreted as IL-18 induces an immune response in NK cells and increases efficacy of anti-cancer treatment, claim 29) (col 1, lines 25-28). Carroll teaches methods and compositions for modulating the presence and/or activity of regulatory T cells in a subject (Abstract). Carroll teaches a method for decreasing the number of CD4+CD25+FoxP3+ Tregs in a subject, the method comprising the step of administering a therapeutically-effective amount of interleukin 18 (IL-18) to the subject afflicted with at least one disorder selected from cancer, a retroviral infection or a parasitic infection, wherein the CD4+ CD25+ FoxP3+ Tregs are selectively depleted (interpreted administering an immunomodulating agent; IL-18; and cancer or infection, claims 29, 44 and 35) (col 2, lines 39-46). Carroll teaches that the IL-18 is administered in conjunction with at least one additional therapeutic component including an antibody, an antibody-toxin conjugate, a toxin, a chemotherapeutic molecule, a DNA vaccine, an antisense molecule, an siRNA molecule, a stem cell, a tumor-specific T cell, or an antigen-presenting cell (interpreted as being administered as a combination therapy; and IL-18, claim 35) (col 3, lines 1-7). Hacohen teaches a method for decreasing the number of systemic Treg cells and/or intratumoral Treg cells in a subject afflicted with cancer; as well as, increasing the number of systemic CD8+ effector T-cells and/or increasing the number of intratumoral CD8+ effector cells in a subject afflicted with cancer, the method comprising the step of administering a therapeutically-effective amount of IL-18 to the subject (interpreted as a therapeutically effective amount of IL-18, claims 29 and 86) (col 2, lines 47-64). Hacohen teaches that Tregs can reduce the effectiveness of immunotherapy treatments, such as cancer vaccination with tumor-antigen pulse dendritic cells, such that based on the present disclosure, the number of Tregs in a subject with cancer can be specifically depleted by the administration of IL-18; and it is believed increasing the number of CD8+ T cells results in a more effective immune response against a cancer because the number of tumor-specific CD8+ T cells can be increased, wherein increasing CD8+ T cells is also useful in accelerating recovery of the immune system after marrow depleting or ablation events (interpreted as increasing the effectiveness of an anti-cancer treatment, claim 29) (col 8, lines 33-37; and col 9, lines 4-9). Hacohen teaches that a suitable neoplasia vaccine or immunogenic composition can preferably containing a plurality of tumor specific neo-antigenic peptides (interpreted as administering a anti-cancer therapy, claim 29) (col 50, lines 58-60).
It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; the court held that, "…a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950)”. Therefore, in view of the benefits of modulating the presence and/or activity of regulatory T cells and/or CD8+ cells in a subject as exemplified by Carroll, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method of administering a neoplasia treatment or immunogenic composition in combination with other agents before, during or after the administration of an additional agent including immunomodulatory agents such as checkpoint blockade inhibitors, monoclonal antibodies, anti-cancer drugs, and/or interleukins for the treatment or prevention of neoplasia in a subject as disclosed by Hacohen, to include an additional immunomodulatory agents such as IL-18, which selectively decreases the number of Tregs, increases CD8+ cells, and enhances the activity of NK cells as taught by Carroll with a reasonable expectation of success in improving clinical outcomes for cancer patients including significantly increasing the survival rate of a subject diagnosed with neoplasia through the use of combination therapies that reduce immuno-suppression, increases the activity of IL-18, and/or enhance the killing activity of natural killer cells.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Therefore, the claims are properly
rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as obvious over the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants essentially asserts: (a) neither Hacohen nor Carroll, alone or in combination, disclose or suggest a method comprising administering IL-18 in combination with an anti-cancer therapy to a subject, such that the IL-18 induces an immune response in natural killer (NK) cells within the subject that increases the efficacy of the anti-cancer therapy relative to the anti-cancer therapy alone. Hacohen does not disclose IL-18 as discussed above, and although Carroll discloses the use of IL-18 for depletion of a particular population of Tregs, Carroll does not disclose or suggest administering IL-18 to induce an immune response in NK cells, nor that any such response in NK cells increases the efficacy of an anti-cancer (Applicant Remarks, pg. 8, last full paragraph).
Regarding (a), please see the discussion supra regarding the teachings of Hacohen. Moreover, it is noted that none of the references has to teach each and every claim limitation. If they did, this would have been anticipation and not an obviousness-type rejection. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant’s assertion that the references do not teach administering IL-18 in combination with an anti-cancer therapy to a subject, such that the IL-18 induces an immune response in natural killer (NK) cells within the subject that increases the efficacy of the anti-cancer therapy relative to the anti-cancer therapy alone, is not found persuasive. MPEP 2112.01(II) states:
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses
and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (underline added).
As noted supra, Hacohen teaches:
Administering anti-cancer agents including interleukins in combination with another agent including checkpoint blockade inhibitors such as anti-PD-1 therapies and anti-CTLA4 therapies leading to DC and NK cell activation and production of a “natural mix” of type 1 interferons, cytokines, and chemokines (interpreting combination therapies; and activating NK cells) (Abstract; col 31, lines 3-9; and col 110, lines 17-19).
Carroll teaches:
Biological activities of IL-18 include induction of interferon-g (IFN-g) by T cells and splenocytes and enhancement of the killing activity of natural killer cells (NKTs) (interpreted as IL-18 induces an immune response in NK cells and increases efficacy of anti-cancer treatment, claim 29) (col 1, lines 25-28).
Administering IL-18 to a subject with cancer in order to decrease the number of Tregs; and increase the number of CD8+ cells in the subject; as well as, accelerating recovery of the immune system (interpreted as IL-18 induces an immune response in NK cells and increases efficacy of anti-cancer treatment, claim 29) (col 8, lines 39-59 and 65-67; and col 9, lines 1-10).
The combined references teach administering combination therapies including IL-18 and an additional anti-cancer agent. Moreover, as stated in MPEP 2112.01(II), products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, such that if the combination recited in claim 29 induces a response in NK cell that increases the efficacy of any anti-cancer therapy relative to administration of the anti-cancer therapy alone, then the combination of therapies as taught by Hacohen and Carroll including IL-18 in combination with any other anti-cancer therapy provides an identical response in the subject. Thus, the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
Claims 29 and 81-86 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY M BUNKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684