DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 1/23/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-11 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/11/2023, 3/25/2025, 4/17/2025 and 12/5/2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2015/0155409 A1) to Nakaya et al. (hereinafter Nakaya) in view of the teachings of (JP 2018189190 A) to Taku (hereinafter Taku).
Nakaya is directed toward a multilayer laminated structure. Nakaya discloses at paragraph [0019] a “multilayer structure of the present invention includes the substrate (X) and the layer (Y) stacked on the substrate (X). The layer (Y) contains a reaction product (R). The reaction product (R) is a reaction product formed by a reaction at least between a metal oxide (A) and a phosphorus compound (B).” Substrate X reads on Applicants base (x). Nakaya discloses at paragraph [0020] that the metal oxide is an aluminum and reads on Applicants at least two layer (Y) of a reaction product of an inorganic phosphorus compound and a metal oxide comprising aluminum. Nakaya discloses at paragraph [0086] that the multilayer structure layer includes an adhesive layer and a thermoplastic layer disposed over that layer, which reads on Applicants layer (z). Nakaya discloses at paragraph [0081] that the thickness may range from 10 to 300 microns, which reads on Applicants range of 5 to 100 microns. Nakaya discloses at paragraph [0159] the total thickness of 100 microns, which reads on Applicants range of 15 to 120 microns. Nakaya discloses at paragraph [0131] that a polyester may be used as a layer, which can be easily adhered. Nakaya discloses at paragraph [0029] that the multilayer film has high water vapor barrier properties and nearly identical composition, but is silent regarding testing of moisture permeability properties.
Taku is directed toward a multilayer laminated structure having a phosphorus layer with superior moisture barrier properties. Nakaya and Taku are both directed toward a multilayer laminated structure having a phosphorus layer with superior moisture barrier properties and therefore are analogous art. One skilled in the art would look to similar multilayer laminated films having high moisture properties to determine a desired range. Taku teaches a multilayered laminate film that has a phosphorus/metal oxide reaction layer with moisture barrier properties. Taku teaches measuring moisture permeability using an ISO 15106-5 testing method, that is packaging material of the present disclosure has a water vapor permeability of 0.5 g / (m .sup.2 .Math. day) or less that is within Applicants range. It would be obvious to have a moisture barrier property for a film within the claimed range.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Nakaya in view of the teachings of Taku to produce the Applicants multilayer structure that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-6.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766