DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38-42 and 44, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 38, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 39-42 are dependent claims which fail to alleviate the issues above.
Claim 44 recites a “method of producing…, the method comprising providing the composition as claimed in claim 23. It is unclear how the step of “providing” as the only step would produce any of the recited articles in the claim. It appears that the claim is missing the “subjecting the composition to heat/pressure” step to form the article as similarly cited in claim 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 23-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO 2008/068180 A1 to Schonfelder et al. (hereinafter Schonfelder).
Regarding claims 23-44, Schonfelder teaches a binder mixture comprising hyperbranched polymers with optional amino resins and optional solvent (See abstract). Specifically, in Example Poly5, a hyperbranched poly(L-lysine) is obtained with a Mw of 11,050 g/mol (page 6 of pdf translation) that is further mixed with a water solvent (Table 1), to form a binder mixture. (page 7 of pdf translation). A wood based material is made by applying 3% of the above binder to dry fibers and pressing at a temperature of 200 deg C with a pressing time of 120 seconds. (page 6-7), which meets the wt% cited in claim 32. Schonfelder further teaches the hyperbranched polymers have a degree of branching of preferably from 0.35 to 0.75 (page 3), and the solvent can be 0% (page 3). Schonfelder further teaches that the above hyperbranched poly(lysine) is dissolved in water (See page 6), which demonstrates that the gel content is 0% because the Applicant’s specification has defined the “gel content” as the fraction of polylysine that is insoluble in water. Schonfelder also teaches the hyperbranched polylysine has an acid number of 1-500 mg KOH/g and an amine number of 1-500 mg KOH/g (page 3), the wood-based material may be wood strips, wood chips, or wood fibers (page 3), such as cellulose-containing wood fibers/chips (page 5). Schonfelder teaches the wood fiber board has a thickness of 8 mm (page 6), which meets claim 37.
In regard to the claimed apparent viscosity, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the hyperbranched polylysine to have the claimed properties of the claimed invention because Schonfelder teaches a substantially identical hyperbranched polylysine composition dissolved in water to the claimed invention such as the hyperbranched polylysine having the same Mw within the claimed Mw range with the degree of branching and Applicant further cites in their specification that the apparent viscosity is measured by the hyperbranched polylysine with the claimed Mw dissolved in water. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
In the alternative, if it is found that the reference does not anticipated the claims, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because, as cited above and incorporated herein, Schonfelder teaches a hyperbranched polylysine with a Mw of 11,050 g/mol, the hyperbranched polymers has a degree of branching of preferably from 0.35 to 0.75 (page 3), the solvent can be 0% (page 3), the above hyperbranched poly(lysine) is dissolved in water (See page 6), which demonstrates that the gel content is 0% because the Applicant’s specification has defined the “gel content” as the fraction of polylysine that is insoluble in water and also teaches the hyperbranched polylysine has an acid number of 1-500 mg KOH/g and an amine number of 1-500 mg KOH/g (page 3), and the wood-based material may be wood strips, wood chips, or wood fibers (page 3), such as cellulose-containing wood fibers/chips (page 5).
Thus, one skilled in the art would envisage the composition of the hyperbranched polylysine with the degree of branching, gel content and apparent viscosity, within the claimed ranges. (See MPEP 2144.08), and/or overlapping ranges. (See MPEP 2144.05, “where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766