DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on November 26, 2025. This action is made FINAL.
Allowable Subject Matter
III. Claims 3 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 8 depend on claim 3 and may include allowable subject matter based on their dependence on claim 3
Claim 13 depends on claim 11 and may include allowable subject matter based on its dependence on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IV. Claims 9-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “receiving from a serving BS for the UE, a handover command including inter-authentication area (AA) handover information in case that a target BS for the UE and the serving BS do not belong to the same” in lines 4-6. It is unclear when the handover command including inter-authentication area (AA) handover information is received because the phrase “a target BS for the UE and the serving BS do not belong to the same” is unclear. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 1, “receiving from a serving BS for the UE, a handover command including inter-authentication area (AA) handover information in case that a target BS for the UE and the serving BS do not belong to the same” as “receiving from a serving BS for the UE, a handover command including inter-authentication area (AA) handover information in case that a target BS for the UE and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA”.
Claims 10-13 are dependent on claim 9 and are rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 9.
Claim 15 contains limitations similar to the ones recited above in claim 9. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
V. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0351256 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Lee teaches a method of operating a serving base station (BS) for mutual authentication of an access stratum (AS) section in case that handover is performed in a wireless communication system (see paragraphs [0086] – [0087] & [0114], Techniques are provided for managing security keys in a wireless communication system such as new radio (NR) (e.g. 5G) systems. A UE may decide to reestablish a connection for example due to handover. The UE can connect to a cell advertising a sake key area ID as the last serving cell. This reads on method of operating a serving base station (BS) for mutual authentication of an access stratum (AS) section in case that handover is performed in a wireless communication system), the method comprising: receiving a measurement report from a user equipment (UE) (see paragraphs [0141] & [0150], The UE sends measurement reports to the source node. The measurement reports may indicate, for example, that a signal strength of the source cell node is at or below a first threshold. This reads on receiving a measurement report from a user equipment (UE)); identifying whether the UE satisfies a handover condition, based on the measurement report (See paragraphs [0142] & [0150] – [0151], The source ANC makes a handover decision, based on the measurement reports, that the UE should handover. This reads on identifying whether the UE satisfies a handover condition, based on the measurement report); in case that the UE satisfies the handover condition, identifying whether a target BS connected for handover of the UE belongs to a same authentication area (AA) as that of the serving BS (see paragraphs [0125] & [0153] and Fig. 11, The source ANC makes the decision that the UE should handover from the source cell node to the target cell node. The handover request message includes target cell info including key area ID of the target ANC. The identity of the target ANC key area ID would indicate whether or not the target BS belongs to the same authentication area and reads on in case that the UE satisfies the handover condition, identifying whether a target BS connected for handover of the UE belongs to a same authentication area (AA) as that of the serving BS); and transmitting a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA (see paragraphs [0132] –[0133] & [0152] and Fig. 13, The source ANC sends a Handover (HO) request message to the Target ANC. The HO request (1324, Fig. 13) includes Target Cell Info. The target cell info indicates that the target cell occupies a second key area (see paragraphs [0132] and Fig. 11) and reads on transmitting a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA); and transmitting, to the target BS, a public key infrastructure (PKI)-based authentication packet in case that a PKI-based mutual authentication between the UE and the target BS is completed (see paragraphs [0155] & [0156] and Fig. 13, The UE sends a HO complete message to the target ANC via the source ANC. The HO complete message contains a new AS key derived by performing mutual authentication with the target ANC (see 1328-1334, Fig. 13). This reads on transmitting, to the target BS, a public key infrastructure (PKI)-based authentication packet in case that a PKI-based mutual authentication between the UE and the target BS is completed).
Regarding claim 2 Lee teaches transmitting a handover command including intra-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS belong to the same AA (see paragraph [0152] and Fig. 13, The source ANC sends a Handover (HO) request message to the Target ANC. The HO request (1324, Fig. 13) includes Target Cell Info. The target cell info indicates that the target cell occupies a same key area as the source cell (see paragraphs [0138] and Fig. 11) and reads on transmitting a handover command including intra-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS belong to the same AA).
Regarding claim 4 Lee teaches wherein the AA is a set of cells served by a physically or logically same computing node (see paragraphs [0139] & [0140] and Fig. 11, Cell Node 1122 and Cell Node 1124 read on wherein the AA is a set of cells served by a physically or logically same computing node).
Regarding claim 5 Lee teaches wherein the same computing node is a logically or physically equal computing node, the logically same computing node is implemented as software of an same operator, software having an same right, or software performing an same process (see paragraphs [0140] & [0194] – [0195], The operations of the AN/Cell Node can be implemented in software instructions and this reads on wherein the same computing node is a logically or physically equal computing node, the logically same computing node is implemented as software of an same operator, software having an same right, or software performing an same process), and the physically same computing node is implemented as hardware of an same operator, hardware having an same right, or an same hardware component (see paragraphs [0140] & [0191] & [0193], The operations of the AN/Cell Node can be implemented in hardware configuration and this reads on the physically same computing node is implemented as hardware of an same operator, hardware having an same right, or an same hardware component).
Regarding claim 9 Lee teaches a method of operating a user equipment (UE) for mutual authentication of an access stratum (AS) section in case that handover is performed in a wireless communication system (see paragraphs [0086] – [0087] & [0114], Techniques are provided for managing security keys in a wireless communication system such as new radio (NR) (e.g. 5G) systems. A UE may decide to reestablish a connection for example due to handover. The UE can connect to a cell advertising a sake key area ID as the last serving cell. This reads on method of operating a user equipment (UE) for mutual authentication of an access stratum (AS) section in case that handover is performed in a wireless communication system), the method comprising: receiving, from a serving BS for the UE, a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA (see paragraphs [0132] – [0133] & [0152] and Fig. 13, The source ANC sends a Handover (HO) request message to the Target ANC. The HO request (1324, Fig. 13) includes Target Cell Info. The target cell info indicates that the target cell occupies a second key area (see paragraphs [0132] and Fig. 11) and reads on receiving, from a serving BS for the UE, a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA); and performing public key infrastructure (PKI)-based mutual authentication with the target BS based on the handover command (see paragraphs [0155] & [0156] and Fig. 13, The UE sends a HO complete message to the target ANC via the source ANC. The HO complete message contains a new AS key derived by performing mutual authentication with the target ANC (see 1328-1334, Fig. 13). This reads on performing public key infrastructure (PKI)-based mutual authentication with the target BS based on the handover command).
Regarding claim 10 Lee teaches receiving, from the serving BS, a handover command including intra-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS belong to the same AA (see paragraph [0152] and Fig. 13, The source ANC sends a Handover (HO) request message to the Target ANC. The HO request (1324, Fig. 13) includes Target Cell Info. The target cell info indicates that the target cell occupies a same key area as the source cell (see paragraphs [0138] and Fig. 11) and reads on receiving, from the serving BS, a handover command including intra-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS belong to the same AA).
Regarding claim 12 Lee teaches limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 14 Lee teaches a serving base station (BS) supporting mutual authentication of an access stratum (AS) section in case that handover is performed in a wireless communication system (see paragraphs [0086] – [0087] & [0114] and Fig. 11, Techniques are provided for managing security keys in a wireless communication system such as new radio (NR) (e.g. 5G) systems. A UE may decide to reestablish a connection for example due to handover. The UE can connect to a cell advertising a sake key area ID as the last serving cell. This reads on a serving base station (BS) supporting mutual authentication of an access stratum (AS) section in case that handover is performed in a wireless communication system), the BS comprising: a transceiver; and a controller connected to the transceiver and configured to control the transceiver and perform control (see paragraph [0062] and Fig. 4, BS 110 includes Tx/Rx and processor to perform operations) to: receive a measurement report from a user equipment (UE) (see paragraphs [0141] & [0150], The UE sends measurement reports to the source node. The measurement reports may indicate, for example, that a signal strength of the source cell node is at or below a first threshold. This reads on receive a measurement report from a user equipment (UE)); identify whether the UE satisfies a handover condition (see paragraphs [0142] & [0150] – [0151], The source ANC makes a handover decision, based on the measurement reports, that the UE should handover. This reads on identify whether the UE satisfies a handover condition); in case that the UE satisfies the handover condition, identify whether a target BS connected for handover of the UE belongs to a same authentication area (AA) as that of the serving BS (see paragraphs [0125] & [0153] and Fig. 11, The source ANC makes the decision that the UE should handover from the source cell node to the target cell node. The handover request message includes target cell info including key area ID of the target ANC. The identity of the target ANC key area ID would indicate whether or not the target BS belongs to the same authentication area and reads on in case that the UE satisfies the handover condition, identify whether a target BS connected for handover of the UE belongs to a same authentication area (AA) as that of the serving BS); and transmit a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA (see paragraphs [0132] –[0133] & [0152] and Fig. 13, The source ANC sends a Handover (HO) request message to the Target ANC. The HO request (1324, Fig. 13) includes Target Cell Info. The target cell info indicates that the target cell occupies a second key area (see paragraphs [0132] and Fig. 11) and reads on transmitting a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA); and transmit, to the target BS, a public key infrastructure (PKI)-based authentication packet in case that a PKI-based mutual authentication between the UE and the target BS is completed (see paragraphs [0155] & [0156] and Fig. 13, The UE sends a HO complete message to the target ANC via the source ANC. The HO complete message contains a new AS key derived by performing mutual authentication with the target ANC (see 1328-1334, Fig. 13). This reads on transmit, to the target BS, a public key infrastructure (PKI)-based authentication packet in case that a PKI-based mutual authentication between the UE and the target BS is completed).
Regarding claim 15 Lee teaches a user equipment (UE) for mutual authentication of an access stratum (AS) section in case that handover is performed in a wireless communication system (see paragraphs [0086] – [0087] & [0114], Techniques are provided for managing security keys in a wireless communication system such as new radio (NR) (e.g. 5G) systems. A UE may decide to reestablish a connection for example due to handover. The UE can connect to a cell advertising a sake key area ID as the last serving cell. This reads on user equipment (UE) for mutual authentication of an access stratum (AS) section in case that handover is performed in a wireless communication system), the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller connected to the transceiver and configured to control the transceiver and perform control (see paragraph [0062] and Fig. 4, UE 120 includes Tx/Rx and processor to perform operations) to: receive, from a serving BS for the UE, a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA (see paragraphs [0132] – [0133] & [0152] and Fig. 13, The source ANC sends a Handover (HO) request message to the Target ANC. The HO request (1324, Fig. 13) includes Target Cell Info. The target cell info indicates that the target cell occupies a second key area (see paragraphs [0132] and Fig. 11) and reads on receive, from a serving BS for the UE, a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA); and perform public key infrastructure (PKI)-based mutual authentication with the target BS based on the handover command (see paragraphs [0155] & [0156] and Fig. 13, The UE sends a HO complete message to the target ANC via the source ANC. The HO complete message contains a new AS key derived by performing mutual authentication with the target ANC (see 1328-1334, Fig. 13). This reads on perform public key infrastructure (PKI)-based mutual authentication with the target BS based on the handover command).
Response to Arguments
VI. Applicant's arguments filed November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lee does not teach transmitting a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA; and transmitting, to the target BS, a public key infrastructure (PKI)-based authentication packet in case that a PKI-based mutual authentication between the UE and the target BS is completed.
The examiner disagrees.
Lee teaches transmitting a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA (see paragraphs [0132] –[0133] & [0152] and Fig. 13). The source ANC sends a Handover (HO) request message to the Target ANC. The HO request (1324, Fig. 13) includes Target Cell Info. The target cell info indicates that the target cell occupies a second key area (see paragraphs [0132] and Fig. 11). This reads on transmitting a handover command including inter-AA handover information in case that the target BS and the serving BS do not belong to the same AA.
Lee teaches transmitting, to the target BS, a public key infrastructure (PKI)-based authentication packet in case that a PKI-based mutual authentication between the UE and the target BS is completed (see paragraphs [0155] & [0156] and Fig. 13). The UE sends a HO complete message to the target ANC via the source ANC. The HO complete message contains a new AS key derived by performing mutual authentication with the target ANC (see 1328-1334, Fig. 13). This reads on transmitting, to the target BS, a public key infrastructure (PKI)-based authentication packet in case that a PKI-based mutual authentication between the UE and the target BS is completed.
Therefore, Lee teaches the limitations of claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 12, and 14-15 and the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection above remains.
Conclusion
VII. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
January 21, 2026