DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on May 29, 2026 concerning application No. 18/035,365 filed on May 4, 2023.
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8-22 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 8-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner additionally notes that applicant did not address the claim objections of claim 1 and 14-15 set forth in the previous office action. Therefore the claim objections stand.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 16, “a body part of a patient” should read “the body part of the patient”,
Claim 14, lines 11 and 15, “a 3D sensor” should read “the 3D sensor”,
Claim 14, line 16, “a body part of a patient” should read “the body part of the patient”,
Claim 15, line 2, “a body part” should read “the body part”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20160135782, hereinafter Chen) in view of Kovacs et al. (US 20150362360, hereinafter Kovacs).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a robotic system for performing an ultrasound scan on a body part of a patient ([0022] discloses the system includes a controller controls an actuator to move the transducer array to focus ultrasound imaging on the location of the subject. The combination of the controller and actuator is considered a robotic system for performing the ultrasound scan), the robotic system comprising:
a support surface for supporting the body part ([0039] discloses the container 322 which is used to retain the hand in a position or location within the container. The container is considered the support),
a display ([0049] discloses hand retainer 523 includes rear portion 525 and posts 527 and is considered a display to the user for where to place their hand) integrated into the support surface and adapted for supporting at least part of the body part to be scanned (figs. 7-8 show hand retainer 523 which includes portion 525 and posts 527 are integrated into the container (support) surface and adapted for supporting the hand of the patient to be scanned),
a positioning device configured to hold an ultrasound probe and move the ultrasound probe to obtain the ultrasound scan of the body part supported by the support surface ([0050] “actuator 532 comprise a movable support that facilitates selective repositioning of transducer array 30 within respect to hand 40 within container 322. Also [0058] “generate control signals which cause actuator 332 to appropriately position transducer array 30 proximate to each of the identified general finger joint locations for the acquisition of the first ultrasound images”), and
a controller for controlling movement of the positioning device ([0058] “controller 638 uses the identified general locations for the finger joints to generate control signals which cause actuator 332 to appropriately position transducer array 30 proximate to each of the identified general finger joint locations for the acquisition of the first ultrasound images”), wherein the controller is operatively connected to the display and positioning device (figs. 1 and 9 shows the controller is operatively connected to the display and positioning device), and wherein the controller is configured to:
detect, via the display, one or more of movement or presence of at least a part of the body part supported by the display ([0018] discloses one or more sensors located within the container are used for determining the position of the hand while it is contacting the sensors. The positioning of the hand is then used to determine the location of the joints of the hand. Since the sensors are within the container and in contact with the hand, the sensors are part of the display. This corresponds to at least detecting via the display the presence of the at least one body part), and
control, based on said detection, the positioning device to move to a first scanning position and initiate the ultrasound scan on a body part of a patient ([0029] discloses acquiring ultrasound images using the transducer array 30 of the finger joints and “controller 38 controls the operation and/or positioning of transducer array 30 based upon the identified locations of finger joints 42 of hand 40”. Therefore the positioning device is moved to a first scanning position and initiates the ultrasound scan of the body part).
Chen does not specifically teach the display is an electronic display monitor and the electronic display monitor is integrated into the support surface and adapted for supporting at least part of the body part to be scanned, detect via the electronic display monitor, a movement and/or presence of the at least part of the body part supported by the electronic display monitor, and detect, via the electronic display monitor, an outline of the at least part of the body part supported by the electronic display monitor.
However,
Kovacs in a similar field of endeavor teaches an electronic display monitor (Display 120, 220, 320, 322 in figs. 1-3D. [0044] discloses the screen is touch responsive and includes circuitry), wherein the electronic display monitor is integrated into the support surface and adapted for supporting at least part of the body part to be scanned (figs. 1-3D show the display is integrated into the support surface of the scale. [0064] “as shown in FIG. 2, multifunction scale 200 includes a support structure 210 which integrates a large-area display 220 and a platform region 210 (where the user will stand when the scale 200 is in use)”), detect via the electronic display monitor, a movement and/or presence of the at least part of the body part supported by the electronic display monitor ([0034] “the display functions as a touch-screen, wherein the display receives touch signal data indicative of engagement of the user on the platform region and the associated position and movement of the user's feet. The communication driver receives the touch signal data from the display, processes the touch signals, and determines the position and movement associated with such touch signals”, and detect, via the electronic display monitor, an outline of the at least part of the body part supported by the electronic display monitor ([0041] “A user's feet (or hands) are sensed via touch sensors on the screen or display and the scale can identify the outline of a user's feet (or hands or other body part)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display monitor of Chen to include an electronic display monitor, where the electronic display monitor is integrated into the support surface and adapted for supporting at least part of the body part to be scanned, detect via the electronic display monitor, a movement and/or presence of the at least part of the body part supported by the electronic display monitor, and detect, via the electronic display monitor, an outline of the at least part of the body part supported by the electronic display monitor in order to improve the functionality of the display monitor, as recognized by Kovacs ([0063]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Kovacs teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Kovacs further teaches the electronic display monitor is configured to display an instruction pattern (figs. 2-3D show the display is configured to display an instruction pattern).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Kovacs teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Kovacs further teaches the electronic display monitor is a touch sensitive display ([0034] discloses the display is a touch screen).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Kovacs teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Chen in view of Kovacs further teaches the robotic system is configured to: detect, via the electronic display monitor, the outline of the at least part of the body part supported by the electronic display monitor based on an image displayed by the electronic display monitor ([0041] “A user's feet (or hands) are sensed via touch sensors on the screen or display and the scale can identify the outline of a user's feet (or hands or other body part)”. Figs. 2-3D further show the display displays an image where the user should place their feet. Therefore the outline is determined based on where the user touches in comparison to the displayed image).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Kovacs teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Chen further teaches a display surface of the display is configured to support at least part of the body part, wherein the display surface extends within a display plane with an angle to a horizontal plane of 0-75 degrees (figs. 7 and 8 show that the display (523) is configured to support the hand of the patient and the surface of the display extends with an angle of 0 degrees to a horizontal plane). Additionally, as set forth above, Kovacs teaches the display is an electronic display monitor.
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Kovacs teaches the system of claim 9, as set forth above. Chen further teaches the display surface extends within the display plane with the angle to the horizontal plane of 0-60 degrees (figs. 7 and 8 show the surface of the display extends with an angle of 0 degrees to a horizontal plane).
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of Kovacs teaches the system of claim 9, as set forth above. Chen further teaches the display surface extends within the display plane with the angle to the horizontal plane of 0-45 degrees (figs. 7 and 8 show the surface of the display extends with an angle of 0 degrees to a horizontal plane).
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Kovacs teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Kovacs further teaches the electronic display monitor comprises:
a display surface that comprises the support surface ([0064] “as shown in FIG. 2, multifunction scale 200 includes a support structure 210 which integrates a large-area display 220 and a platform region 210 (where the user will stand when the scale 200 is in use)”); and
a display housing that houses a display processing device ([0038] discloses the display includes a base unit (housing) that includes processing).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kovacs as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hamilton et al. (US 20190216433, hereinafter Hamilton).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Kovacs teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Chen in view of Kovacs does not specifically teach the robotic system is configured to utilize the electronic display monitor in a calibration process.
However,
Hamilton in a similar field of endeavor teaches a robotic system ([0053] “the headset 110 includes robotics 214 configured to control positioning of the probe 105) configured to utilize the electronic display monitor in a calibration process ([0045] “a display screen configured to display visual indicators…to assist an operator with equipment calibration (e.g., probe positioning)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by Chen in view of Kovacs to have the robotic system be configured to utilize the electronic display monitor in a calibration process in order to improve the outcomes of the device, as recognized by Hamilton ([0045]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kovacs as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (CN108324321A, hereinafter Guo).
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Kovacs teaches the system of claim 1, as set forth above. Chen in view of Kovacs does not specifically teach the robotic system is a movable unit.
However,
Guo in a similar field of endeavor teaches a robotic system that is a movable unit (fig. 1 shows that the robotic system includes wheels 33, therefore making the robotic system a movable unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by Chen in view of Kovacs to have the robotic system be a movable unit in order to allow for the system to be used in multiple different settings, thereby making the system more versatile.
Claim(s) 14 and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20160135782, hereinafter Chen) in view of Kovacs et al. (US 20150362360, hereinafter Kovacs) and Hoon et al. (KR20180017503A, hereinafter Hoon).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches a robotic system for performing an ultrasound scan on a body part of a patient ([0022] discloses the system includes a controller controls an actuator to move the transducer array to focus ultrasound imaging on the location of the subject. The combination of the controller and actuator is considered a robotic system for performing the ultrasound scan), the robotic system comprising:
a support surface for supporting the body part ([0039] discloses the container 322 which is used to retain the hand in a position or location within the container. The container is considered the support),
a display ([0049] discloses hand retainer 523 includes rear portion 525 and posts 527 and is considered a display to the user for where to place their hand) integrated into the support surface and adapted for supporting at least part of the body part to be scanned (figs. 7-8 show hand retainer 523 which includes portion 525 and posts 527 are integrated into the container (support) surface and adapted for supporting the hand of the patient to be scanned),
a positioning device configured to hold an ultrasound probe and move the ultrasound probe to obtain the ultrasound scan of the body part supported by the support surface ([0050] “actuator 532 comprise a movable support that facilitates selective repositioning of transducer array 30 within respect to hand 40 within container 322. Also [0058] “generate control signals which cause actuator 332 to appropriately position transducer array 30 proximate to each of the identified general finger joint locations for the acquisition of the first ultrasound images”),
one or more of a 2D sensor or a 3D sensor configured to obtain data on the body part of the patient supported by the support surface ([0018] discloses using one or more sensors to determine the positioning of the hand and location of the joints for the hand being supported within the system. This corresponds to at least a 2D sensor configured to obtain data on the body part of the patient), and
a controller for controlling movement of the positioning device ([0058] “controller 638 uses the identified general locations for the finger joints to generate control signals which cause actuator 332 to appropriately position transducer array 30 proximate to each of the identified general finger joint locations for the acquisition of the first ultrasound images”), wherein the controller is operatively connected to the 2D sensor and/or a 3D sensor ([0019] and fig. 1 disclose the controller is connected to the joint indicator which comprises the sensors as disclosed in [0018]), and the positioning device (figs. 1 and 9 shows the controller is operatively connected to the display and positioning device),
wherein the controller is configured to receive said obtained data from the 2D sensor and/or a 3D sensor ([0020] “Controller 38 comprises a processor or processing unit that receives the locations of joints 42 and that utilizes such signals to control the operation and/or positioning of transducer array 30”) and to control, based on said obtained data, the positioning device to move to a first scanning position and initiate the ultrasound scan on a body part of a patient ([0029] discloses acquiring ultrasound images using the transducer array 30 of the finger joints and “controller 38 controls the operation and/or positioning of transducer array 30 based upon the identified locations of finger joints 42 of hand 40”. Therefore the controller is moved to a first scanning position and initiates the ultrasound scan of the body part).
Chen does not specifically teach the display is an electronic display monitor and the electronic display monitor is integrated into the support surface and adapted for supporting at least part of the body part to be scanned.
However,
Kovacs in a similar field of endeavor teaches an electronic display monitor (Display 120, 220, 320, 322 in figs. 1-3D. [0044] discloses the screen is touch responsive and includes circuitry), wherein the electronic display monitor is integrated into the support surface and adapted for supporting at least part of the body part to be scanned (figs. 1-3D show the display is integrated into the support surface of the scale. [0064] “as shown in FIG. 2, multifunction scale 200 includes a support structure 210 which integrates a large-area display 220 and a platform region 210 (where the user will stand when the scale 200 is in use)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display monitor of Chen to include an electronic display monitor, where the electronic display monitor is integrated into the support surface and adapted for supporting at least part of the body part to be scanned in order to improve the functionality of the display monitor, as recognized by Kovacs ([0063]).
Chen in view of Kovacs does not specifically teach the controller is configured to calibrate the robotic system in a calibration process utilizing the electronic display monitor.
However,
Hoon in a similar field of endeavor teaches a controller (the electronic circuitry of the system 1 in fig. 1) is configured to calibrate the robotic system in a calibration process utilizing the electronic display monitor (pg. 3, para. 6 “The display device 120 may display a variable pattern marker VM for calibrating the mobile robot 100 and the camera 200”. Pg. 3, para. 11 further discloses the controller utilizes the displayed pattern marker in order to calibrate the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by Chen in view of Kovacs to have the controller be configured to calibrate the robotic system in a calibration process utilizing the electronic display monitor in order to improve the outcomes of the device, as recognized by Hoon (pg. 1, para. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon teaches the system of claim 14, as set forth above. Kovacs further teaches the electronic display monitor is configured to display an instruction pattern (figs. 2-3D show the display is configured to display an instruction pattern).
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon teaches the system of claim 14, as set forth above. Kovacs further teaches the electronic display monitor is a touch sensitive display ([0034] discloses the display is a touch screen).
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon teaches the system of claim 14, as set forth above. Chen further teaches a display surface of the display is configured to support at least part of the body part, wherein the display surface extends within a display plane with an angle to a horizontal plane of 0-75 degrees (figs. 7 and 8 show that the display (523) is configured to support the hand of the patient and the surface of the display extends with an angle of 0 degrees to a horizontal plane). Additionally, as set forth above, Kovacs teaches the display is an electronic display monitor.
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon teaches the system of claim 18, as set forth above. Chen further teaches the display surface extends within the display plane with the angle to the horizontal plane of 0-60 degrees (figs. 7 and 8 show the surface of the display extends with an angle of 0 degrees to a horizontal plane).
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon teaches the system of claim 18, as set forth above. Chen further teaches the display surface extends within the display plane with the angle to the horizontal plane of 0-45 degrees (figs. 7 and 8 show the surface of the display extends with an angle of 0 degrees to a horizontal plane).
Regarding claim 21, Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon teaches the system of claim 14, as set forth above. Kovacs further teaches the electronic display monitor comprises:
a display surface that comprises the support surface ([0064] “as shown in FIG. 2, multifunction scale 200 includes a support structure 210 which integrates a large-area display 220 and a platform region 210 (where the user will stand when the scale 200 is in use)”); and
a display housing that houses a display processing device ([0038] discloses the display includes a base unit (housing) that includes processing).
Regarding claim 22, Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon teaches the system of claim 14, as set forth above. Hoon further teaches a robotic system that is a movable unit (pg. 3, para. 6, “the mobile robot 100 can move and perform work”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon to have the robotic system be a movable unit in order to allow for the system to be used in multiple different settings, thereby making the system more versatile.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20220211341, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 15, Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon teaches the system of claim 14, as set forth above. Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon does not specifically teach the obtained data is depth data of a body part to be scanned, and the controller is configured to creating a depth map of the body part to be scanned, and controlling the movement of the positioning device based on the depth map.
However,
Wang in a similar field of endeavor teaches obtaining depth data of a body part to be scanned ([0015] and [0093] disclose obtaining distance (depth) information from a shape sensor which is used for creating a depth map representing the shape of the subject (body part)), and the controller is configured to create a depth map of the body part to be scanned ([0116] discloses using the distance (depth) information to construct a depth map), and controlling the movement of the positioning device based on the depth map ([0015] “The depth map allows the processing unit to control the driving mechanism so that the ultrasound probe is maintained at a certain distance (e.g. in contact with) the subject”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by Chen in view of Kovacs and Hoon to have the obtained data be depth data of a body part to be scanned, and the controller is configured to creating a depth map of the body part to be scanned, and controlling the movement of the positioning device based on the depth map in order to improve the accuracy and ease of imaging the part of the body of the subject.
Conclusion
/ANDREW W BEGEMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798