DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spender et al. (hereinafter Spender), WO 2018/045248 A1.
With regard to claims 1-6, Spender teaches coating cellulosic-based materials, including cellulose nanofibrils, also known as microfibrillated cellulose, nanofibrillated cellulose, etc., with saccharide fatty acid ester (SFAE); see ¶-[0011], [0018], [0020] and teaches on ¶-[0108] that SFAE includes several glycerides1, triglycerides and on ¶-[0123] teaches that the fatty acid esters (SFAE) can include fatty acid salts as-well, such as calcium stearate. Spender also teaches ratio of the CNFs and SFAE falling within the range of claims 3-4; see ¶-[00110]-[00111], which teaches ratios form 99.075:0.025 through 50:50 (1:1), since it shows SFAE amounts of 0.025 % w/wt to 50% w/wt. Spender teaches the mixing of CNFs dispersion and SFAE solutions of claim 5 and the concentration of said mixture by reducing the water content of claim 6; see ¶-[0009] and [00110] which teach the cellulose material in a solution, actually dispersion since cellulose is not water soluble, and ¶-[0074], [00105], [00143], [00144] which teaches SEFOSE (a SFAE) solution and ¶-[0126] which teaches that the substrate is dried, i.e., reducing the water content.
Claims 5-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spender, cited above.
Claims 5-7 are product by process claims and Spender, teach compositions which are made the same, claims 5 and 6, or a bit different, claim 7, but the end result seems to be the same as claimed. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In the event any differences can be shown for the product -by-process claims 5 through 7 as opposed to the product taught by the references Guoyong and Spender such differences would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as routine modification of the product in the absence of a showing unexpected results, see In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC 1985). As the afore mentioned claims are product by process claims, it is deemed that "[A]ny difference imparted by the product by process claims would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because where the examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art the burden of proof is shifted to the applicants to establish that their product is patentably distinct, ..." In re Brown, 173 U.S.P.Q. 685, and In re Fessmann, 180 U.S.P.Q. 324. Further, "[P]rocess limitations are significant only to the extent that they distinguish the claimed product over the prior art product." In re Luck, 177 U.S.P.Q. 523 (1973).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Enhanced Cellulose Nanofibrils (CNF).”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 US Patent Application Publication No. 20210347999 A1, teaches on Table 1 that SFAE contains unreacted glycerides in about 40 to 60% by weight; see SE-15.