DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 comprises the limitation “use according to claim 8 or 9”. Claim 8 and 9 have been canceled in the preliminary amendment filed on 10/10/23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shannon et al (The Permanente Journal, 2019, 23, article 18-041; submitted by applicant in with the IDS on 5/4/23). Shannon discloses treatment of subjects diagnosed with anxiety by daily administration of 50mg/d or 75mg/day of CBD. The agent was administered orally in capsule form for a period of at least a month (page 2, Methods and Procedures, paragraph 2).
Daily administration of 75mg/d of CBD for a period of at least a month to a subject with anxiety meets all of the limitations of claim 1.
Claims 4 and 5:
Claim 4 is directed to reduction of biomarkers for anxiety, stress and/or depression. Claim 5 is directed to reduction of biomarker for insomnia. Reduction in biomarkers is a direct consequence of administering the claimed dose of CBD. Since the subjects of Shannon are administered the claimed dose of CBD for the claimed duration of time, it is inherent that the biomarkers for anxiety, stress and/or depression, as well as biomarker for insomnia are reduced in the population treated by Shannon.
Claims 6, 7, 10, 11 and 12.
Claims 6, 7, 10, 11 and 12 are directed to a composition and to a kit comprising between 50mg and 200mg of CBD. Since Shannon discloses administration of a 50 and 75mg doses, the limitations directed to the contents of the composition and the kit are met. With regards to the kit, CBD is the only claimed component of the kit.
With regards to limitations directed intended use, which is treatment of psychological distress, limitations directed to intended use are not afforded patentable weight because they do not further limit the composition itself. It is well settled that the intended use of a composition or product (e.g. as a cosmetic composition) will not further limit claims drawn to a composition or product, so long as the prior art discloses the same composition comprising the same ingredients in an effective amount as instantly claimed. See, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d, 1647
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heussler et al (Journal of neurodevelopmental disorders, 2019, 11:16; submitted with IDS on 5/4/23).
Heussler discloses reduction in general anxiety and depressed mood in subjects receiving a daily dose of 50mg, 100mg or 250mg for a duration of 12 weeks. (page 3, paragraph bridging columns 1 and 2; Table 3). Heussler uses ADAMS as a scale to measure the efficacy of reduction in anxiety and depression.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shannon et al (The Permanente Journal, 2019, 23, article 18-041; submitted by applicant in with the IDS on 5/4/23).
Scope of prior art
Shannon teaches treatment of subjects diagnosed with anxiety by daily administration of 50mg/d or 75mg/day of CBD. The agent was administered orally in capsule form for a period of at least a month (page 2, Methods and Procedures, paragraph 2). Daily administration of 75mg/d of CBD for a period of at least a month to a subject with anxiety meets all of the limitations of claim 1. In the same paragraphs Shannon also teaches treating subjects with sleep disorder by administering to the subjects a daily dose CBD. Both conditions were diagnosed by a mental health professional and assessed using the Hamilton Anxiety rating Scale and Pittsburg Sleep quality index.
Ascertaining the difference
Shannon teaches efficacy of CBD in treatment of anxiety and of sleep disorder, but does not exemplify a subject that has both, anxiety and sleep disorder.
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective filing date of the current application, would have found it obvious to treat both sleep disorder and anxiety in the same subject by administering an effective amount of CBD. Shannon teaches that CBD reduces anxiety and treats sleep disorder. One would expect that both conditions would be improved in the same subject by administrating CBD. While Shannon does not recite “subject with insomnia”, but uses a more generic term “sleep disorder”, insomnia is the only sleep disorder identified in the reference as being treatable by administration of CBD (page 2, column 1, line 4).
Conclusion
Claims 1-7 and 10-12 are pending
Claims 1-7 and 10-12 are rejected
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628