DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Claims 1-2 have an effective filing date of 04 NOV 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits,
Claim 2 is amended.
Claims 3-56 are canceled.
Claims Objections
Claim 2 is objected to for reciting tables and figures. MPEP 2173.05(s) states:
“Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table ‘is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.’ Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).”
In this case, the antibody sequences that the Figure 6 refers to could easily be incorporated into the claims to define the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. Claim 1 is drawn to a method of treating and/or preventing ischemic reperfusion injury (IRI) and/or adverse side effects associated with IRI in a subject in need thereof. Although the specification is enabled for treating IRR, the specification is not enabled for treating and/or preventing ischemic reperfusion injury (IRI) and/or adverse side effects associated with IRI. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
MPEP § 2164.01 states:
The standard for determining whether the specification meets the enablement requirement was cast in the Supreme Court decision of Mineral Separation v. Hyde, 242 U.S. 261, 270 (1916) which postured the question: is the experimentation needed to practice the invention undue or unreasonable? That standard is still the one to be applied. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Accordingly, even though the statute does not use the term “undue experimentation,” it has been interpreted to require that the claimed invention be enabled so that any person skilled in the art can make and use the invention without undue experimentation. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 737, 8 USPQ2d at 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue.” These factors include but are not limited to:
The breadth of the claims;
The nature of the invention;
The state of the prior art;
The level of one of ordinary skill;
The level of predictability in the art;
The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
The existence of working examples; and
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). The factors most relevant to this rejection are 1) the amount of direction provided by the inventor and 2) the existence of working examples. In the instant case, the amount of direction provided by the inventor and existence of working examples disclosed in the specification, as filed, would not be sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to make and/or use the claimed invention at the time the application was filed without undue experimentation.
(1) The amount of direction provided by the inventor - The amount of guidance or direction needed to enable an invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The “amount of guidance or direction” refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. See, e.g., Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Due to the high level of unpredictability in the area of IRR prevention the skilled artisan would need significant guidance in preventing IRR by practicing the claimed method. It is generally recognized that a disease cannot be prevented unless and until its causes are fully appreciated and understood to a degree that it becomes possible to intercede effectively to block its onset or development by any cause.
(2) The existence of working examples - The examples of the specification demonstrate methods that may be used to treat IRR; however there is no showing in the specification of any means by which one skilled in the art could prevent IRR. Therefore one skilled in the art would be subject to undue experimentation to practice the instant invention as it is currently claimed.
In conclusion upon careful consideration of the Wands factors that are used to determine whether undue experimentation is required to practice an invention, the amount of direction provided by the inventor and the working examples provided, as filed, is not deemed sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with the instant claims at the time the application was filed without undue experimentation.
35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject matter claimed. To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116.
Claims 1 and 2 are drawn to VISTA agonists, including agonist anti-VISTA antibodies. According to [0400] - [0042] of the specification - “[0040] In any of the foregoing exemplary embodiments, the VISTA agonist decreases the levels of at least one of LPS-induced IL-12p40, IL-6, CXCL2 and TNF. [0041] In any of the foregoing exemplary embodiments, the VISTA agonist increases the expression of mediators involved in macrophage tolerance induction, wherein said mediators optionally include at least one of IRG1, miR221, A20, and IL-10 and/or increases the expression of anti-inflammatory transcription factors which drive an anti-inflammatory profile optionally including at least one of IRF5, IRF8, and NFKB1. [0042] In any of the foregoing exemplary embodiments, the VISTA agonist (i) reduces the level of CXCR2 and/or CXCL10; (ii) reduces neutrophil/lymphocyte ratios, (iii) reduces FcgRIII levels or a combination of the foregoing. [0043] In any of the foregoing exemplary embodiments, the VISTA agonist increases the expression of mediators involved in macrophage tolerance induction, wherein said mediators optionally include at least one of IRG1, miR221, A20, and IL-10 and/or increases the expression of anti-inflammatory transcription factors which drive an anti-inflammatory profile optionally including at least one of IRF5, IRF8, and NFKB1.” As such the claims encompass a genus of VISTA agonists; however the specification does not appear to provide any specific examples of VISTA agonists, and absent empirical determination, one skilled in the art would be unable to readily envision at least most species comprised within the genus claimed. As detailed below Applicant’s disclosure is not sufficient to demonstrate possession of the entire claimed genus, and as such Applicant’s disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. In the instant case, the specification does not disclose a number of species that is sufficiently representative of the entire genus of VISTA agonists claimed.
Furthermore Applicant has not disclosed relevant, identifying characteristics of VISTA agonists, including agonist anti-VISTA antibodies, because the specification does not provide structural features that correlate with a functional ability to agonize VISTA.
Although screening techniques can be used to isolate VISTA agonists, including agonist anti-VISTA antibodies, Applicant is reminded that the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from the enablement provision. As stated in Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar (CA FC) 19 USPQ2d 1111, 935 F2d 1555, “The purpose of the ‘written description’ requirement is broader than to merely explain how to ‘make and use’; the applicant must also convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.”
Accordingly it is submitted that the skilled artisan could not immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish at least most of the members of the genus to which the claims are directed, and therefore the specification would not reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2 is, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molloy et al (WO 2017181139 A2).
In regards to claim 1, Molloy et al teaches a method of treating inflammatory conditions comprising an agonistic human VISTA antibody [Abstract]. Molloy et al further teaches inflammatory condition includes reperfusion injury [0205].
In regards to claim 2, Molloy et al teaches the antibodies are agonistic anti-human VISTA antibodies [Abstract].
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to use Molloy’s methods of treating inflammatory diseases, to include reperfusion injury, with an anti-human agonistic VISTA antibody. It would have been prima facie obvious to use Molloy’s methods for treating an inflammatory disease comprising an agonistic anti-human VISTA antibody, because Molloy teaches inflammatory diseases includes reperfusion injury.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11525000 ('000) in view of Molloy et al (WO 2017181139 A2).
Both the instant and conflicting claims recite agonist VISTA antibodies.
The teachings of Molloy et al. are detailed above.
Based upon the teachings of Molloy et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the antibodies of the conflicting claims to treat inflammatory diseases, including reperfusion injury, with an anti-human agonistic VISTA antibody. It would have been prima facie obvious to use Molloy’s methods for treating an inflammatory disease comprising an agonistic anti-human VISTA antibody, because Molloy teaches inflammatory diseases includes reperfusion injury.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10745467 ('467).
Both the instant and conflicting claims recite agonist VISTA antibodies.
The teachings of Molloy et al. are detailed above.
Based upon the teachings of Molloy et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the antibodies of the conflicting claims to treat inflammatory diseases, including reperfusion injury, with an anti-human agonistic VISTA antibody. It would have been prima facie obvious to use Molloy’s methods for treating an inflammatory disease comprising an agonistic anti-human VISTA antibody, because Molloy teaches inflammatory diseases includes reperfusion injury.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7, and 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 9631018 ('018).
Both the instant and conflicting claims recite agonist VISTA antibodies.
The teachings of Molloy et al. are detailed above.
Based upon the teachings of Molloy et al, it would have been prima facie obvious to use the antibodies of the conflicting claims to treat inflammatory diseases, including reperfusion injury, with an anti-human agonistic VISTA antibody. It would have been prima facie obvious to use Molloy’s methods for treating an inflammatory disease comprising an agonistic anti-human VISTA antibody, because Molloy teaches inflammatory diseases includes reperfusion injury.
Conclusion
/DENNIS J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/NELSON B MOSELEY II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642