DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Any rejections and or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-15 are currently pending.
Claims 9-15 have been withdrawn.
Claims 2 and 5 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-8 are currently rejected.
Claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 12, 22-24, 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matano et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2017/0321056 A1 in view of Koike et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2007/0042893 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matano et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2017/0321056 A1 in view of Koike et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2007/0042893 A1.
Matano et al. teach a glass bead comprising in terms of mass percentages, 40-80% of SiO2, 0-30% of Al2O3, 0-20% of B2O3, 0-25% of CaO, 0-30% of Na2O, 0-30% of K2O, 0-10% of Li2O, 0-15% of TiO2, 0.1-50% total of MgO, SrO, BaO, and ZnO, 0-20% of Nb2O5, 0-20% of WO3, 0-10% of F2. See paragraphs [0022] and [0048]-[0061]. Matano et al. teach that the glass comprises at most 1% total of Fe2O3, NiO, Cr2O3, CuO. See paragraph [0020] and claims 1, 3, and 4. Matano et al. teach that the glass beads are spherical in shape. See paragraph [0018] and claim 6 and 7. Matano et al. teach the glass beads have an average particle size of 0.1-300µm. See paragraph [0037] and claim 8. Matano et al. teach that when the glass comprises too much TiO2, coloring is likely to occur. See paragraph [0056].
Matano et al. fail to teach that the glass beads comprise at most 80 ppm of Ti3+ as recited in claim 1.
Koike et al. teach titania silica glass particles 3-10 mass% of TiO2. See paragraph [0029]. Koike et al. teach that the titania silica particles have at most 70 ppm of Ti3+. See paragraph [0037]. Koike et al. teach that if the Ti3+ is higher than 70 ppm the glass maybe colored brown. See paragraph [0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have glass beads of Matano et al. as suggested by Koike et al. because the resultant glass beads would have the forming properties while controlling the coloration caused by having to high concentration of a Ti3+ as described in the glass composition of Koike et al. See paragraph [0056] of Matano et al. and [0037] of Koike et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 11 September 2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) rejection of claims 1, 2, and 6 by Koike et al. (US 2007/0042893) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1, 2, and 6 over Koike et al. has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments see pages 6-8, filed 11 September 2025 over the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-8 (now 1, 3, 4, and 6-8) over Matano et al. (US 2017/0321056) in view of Koike et al. (US 2007/0042893) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments appear to state that the glass of Matano et al. in view of Koike et al. would support the glass being colorless. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would further expect that the TiO2 content of Matano et al. would have less than 70 ppm of Ti3+ as taught by Koike et al. in paragraph [0037], since Koike et al. teaches that a TiO2 containing glass comprising greater than 70 ppm of Ti3+ may be colored.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
24 November 2025