DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed 06/03/2026.
Claims 1-8 are pending. Claims 1-4 are being examined. Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions. Claim 3 is amended with no new subject matter being introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Emoto (US 2013/0328478 A1).
Considering claim 1, Emoto teaches a phosphor powder represented by the claimed general formula with the claimed Si/Al atomic ratio and O/N atomic ratio (Emoto, claim 1). Emoto teaches the claimed phosphor powder; thus, it would be expected that Emoto’s phosphor powder would also have a diffuse reflectance X1 with respect to light having a wavelength of 700 nm that is equal to or more than 88% and equal to or less than 99.9%.
In the alternative, Emoto teaches the preference that the crystal phase present in the phosphor is a single crystal phase; a heterogeneous phase may be included as long as the fluorescence characteristics are not greatly affected (Emoto, [0040]). Emoto teaches that in the production of the phosphor, it is preferable to further perform an acid cleaning process to remove impurities and an annealing treatment process to improve crystallinity (Emoto, [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the production process such as performing an acid wash treatment to remove impurities/heterogeneous phases and improve the crystallinity of the phosphor. One of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired light-emitting properties including a diffuse reflectance X1 with respect to light having a wavelength of 700 nm that is equal to or more than 88% and equal to or less than 99.9% with a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 2, Emoto teaches the claimed phosphor powder; thus, it would be expected that Emoto’s phosphor powder would also have a diffuse reflectance X2 of the phosphor powder with respect to light having a fluorescence peak wavelength equal to or more than 85% and equal to or less than 95%.
In the alternative, Emoto teaches the preference that the crystal phase present in the phosphor is a single crystal phase; a heterogeneous phase may be included as long as the fluorescence characteristics are not greatly affected (Emoto, [0040]). Emoto teaches that in the production of the phosphor, it is preferable to further perform an acid cleaning process to remove impurities and an annealing treatment process to improve crystallinity (Emoto, [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the production process such as performing an acid wash treatment to remove impurities/heterogeneous phases and improve the crystallinity of the phosphor. One of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired light-emitting properties including a diffuse reflectance X2 of the phosphor powder with respect to light having a fluorescence peak wavelength being equal to or more than 85% and equal to or less than 95% with a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 3, Emoto teaches the claimed phosphor powder; thus, it would be expected that Emoto’s phosphor powder would also have a difference X1 - X2 between the diffuse reflectance X1 with respect to the light having the wavelength of 700 nm and the diffuse reflectance X2 with respect to light having the fluorescence peak wavelength equal to or more than 4% and equal to or less than 8%.
In the alternative, Emoto teaches the preference that the crystal phase present in the phosphor is a single crystal phase; a heterogeneous phase may be included as long as the fluorescence characteristics are not greatly affected (Emoto, [0040]). Emoto teaches that in the production of the phosphor, it is preferable to further perform an acid cleaning process to remove impurities and an annealing treatment process to improve crystallinity (Emoto, [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the production process such as performing an acid wash treatment to remove impurities/heterogeneous phases and improve the crystallinity of the phosphor. One of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired light-emitting properties including a difference X1 - X2 between the diffuse reflectance X1 with respect to the light having the wavelength of 700 nm and the diffuse reflectance X2 with respect to light having the fluorescence peak wavelength being equal to or more than 4% and equal to or less than 8% with a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 4, Emoto teaches a volume -based cumulative 50% size D50 measured by a laser diffraction scattering method is equal to or more than 8 µm and equal to or less than 25 µm by teaching the average particle size of the phosphor obtained by a laser diffraction/scattering method is 18 µm (Emoto, [0054]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/035,593 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to the same phosphor powder and it would be expected that they would have the same light emitting properties (diffuse reflectance and light absorption A700).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding the phosphor of Emoto includes neither the acid treatment step nor the classification step and is not a production method that includes a series of steps including (1) to (4), a series of steps including (1) to (3) and (5), or a series of steps including (1) to (5) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Emoto teaches that in the production of the phosphor, it is preferable to further perform an acid cleaning process (Emoto, [0051]). Thus, Emoto does teaches a production method that includes a series of steps including (1) to (4) (preparation of raw material mixed powder, firing step, pulverization step of fired product, acid treatment step).
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding Emoto does not disclose or suggest any relationship between satisfying the claimed diffuse reluctance have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Emoto does teaches a production method that includes a series of steps including (1) to (4) (preparation of raw material mixed powder, firing step, pulverization step of fired product, acid treatment step) similar to Applicant’s production method. Thus, it would be expected that the product of Emoto would also have properties similar to that of Applicant’s (i.e., claimed diffuse reluctance). "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer" (see MPEP §2112(I)-(II)).
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding the double patenting rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Instant application and copending Application No. 18/035,593 are both directed to a phosphor powder made by the same production method that includes a series of steps including (1) to (4), a series of steps including (1) to (3) and (5), or a series of steps including (1) to (5). Thus, it would be expected that they would have the same light emitting properties (diffuse reflectance and light absorption A700).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734