DETAILED ACTION
______________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements of record have been considered to the extent indicated in the record.
______________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 1, 7, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1
Analysis
Claim 1 recites "a flexible line arrangement (2) which takes the form of comprising a line guide apparatus (10)." The phrase "takes the form of comprising" is unclear because it does not clearly state whether the flexible line arrangement is itself the line guide apparatus, includes the line guide apparatus as one component, or is a broader assembly that merely cooperates with the line guide apparatus. Because the relationship between the "flexible line arrangement" and the "line guide apparatus" defines the body that is driven by the drive wheel, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Suggested Correction
Claim 1 may be clarified by amending the phrase to recite, for example, "a flexible line arrangement (2) comprising a line guide apparatus (10) for guiding one or more supply lines (3)" or "a flexible line arrangement (2) in the form of a line guide apparatus (10) for guiding one or more supply lines (3)," if such wording is supported by the originally filed disclosure.
______________________________
Claim 7
Analysis
Claim 7 recites "the annular bodies (12)." However, claim 7 depends from claim 6, and claim 6 recites only that "the sheath has external projections." Claim 6 no longer introduces annular bodies after the May 4, 2023 amendment. It is therefore unclear whether "the annular bodies (12)" in claim 7 refers to all external projections of claim 6, only a subset of those projections, or a separate structure not previously introduced in the dependency chain.
Suggested Correction
Claim 7 may be clarified by amending claim 6 to introduce "annular bodies (12)" or by amending claim 7 to refer to "the external projections (12)" if that is the intended antecedent, if such wording is supported by the originally filed disclosure.
______________________________
Claim 12
Analysis
Claim 12 recites "further comprising a drive motor (M) is operatively connected to the drive wheel (32)." This phrase mixes the open-ended transition "comprising" with the finite verb phrase "is operatively connected" in a way that leaves the grammatical structure unclear. It is unclear whether the claim is intended to require a device that further comprises a drive motor operatively connected to the drive wheel, or whether the phrase following "comprising" was intended to be rewritten as a separate "wherein" clause. Because the motor/frame limitation defines the structure that drives and supports the drive wheel, the scope is unclear.
Suggested Correction
Claim 12 may be clarified by amending the phrase to recite, for example, "further comprising a drive motor (M) operatively connected to the drive wheel (32)" or "wherein a drive motor (M) is operatively connected to the drive wheel (32)," if such wording is supported by the originally filed disclosure.
______________________________
Claim 15
Analysis
Claim 15 recites "Use of the dispensing device (1) according to Claim 1 for supplying power to a mobile consumer." The phrase "Use of" does not clearly set forth a statutory method step or apparatus limitation. It is unclear whether the claim is intended to claim a method of supplying power, an intended use of the device, or a device configured for that use.
Suggested Correction
Claim 15 may be clarified by rewriting the claim in method form, for example, "A method of supplying power to a mobile consumer, the method comprising supplying power using the dispensing device (1) according to claim 1" or by rewriting it as a device claim configured for the stated use, if such wording is supported by the originally filed disclosure.
______________________________
REFERENCES USED
Reference 1 - Hermey, WO 2018/091554 A1, Cable guide device and docking apparatus, published May 24, 2018.
Reference 2 - Kordowski, DE 10 2011 006104 A1, Charging device for charging battery of electro motor of electric car, published March 15, 2012.
Reference 3 - Blase et al., US 7,439,446 B2, Cable-routing device, issued October 21, 2008.
Reference 4 - Jones, EP 0 005 942 A1, Cable conveyor system, published December 12, 1979.
Reference 5 - Etherington et al., US 5,261,617 A, Cable reeler, issued November 16, 1993.
Reference 6 - Merz GmbH, DE 20 2014 007270 U1, Device for conveying and/or guiding a cable, published November 13, 2014.
Reference 7 - Anderson et al., US 4,842,108 A, Power retract electric cord reel, issued June 27, 1989.
______________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
______________________________
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 1
1. A dispensing device (1) with a flexible line arrangement (2) which takes the form of comprising a line guide apparatus (10) for guiding one or more supply lines (3), wherein the line guide apparatus has links (11) which are connected together in articulated manner and can be pivoted relative one another, the dispensing device (1) comprising a conveying unit (30) for dispensing at least one longitudinal portion of the line arrangement (2) from a storage space (4) and for retraction back into the storage space, wherein the conveying unit (30) includes a drive wheel (32) which has on its circumference a number of engagement portions (33) with in each case at least one force transmission element (34); wherein the flexible line arrangement (2) has a plurality of external projections (12) and/or recesses which are distributed along at least one longitudinal portion of the line arrangement (2); and wherein each force transmission element (34) of the drive wheel is configured to interact for force transmission with a projection (12) and/or recess of the line arrangement (2) in order to convey or drive the line arrangement (2) on dispensing and/or retraction.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Limitation: "A dispensing device (1) with a flexible line arrangement (2) which takes the form of comprising a line guide apparatus (10) for guiding one or more supply lines (3)."
Reference 1 teaches a dispensing/docking apparatus for supply lines in which cable guide (3) guides supply lines to a consumer such as ship (F). Reference 1 teaches docking apparatus (A), guide path (w), deflector (31), and an elongated housing that receives the cable guide when retracted. The cable guide (3) of Reference 1 corresponds to the claimed flexible line arrangement / line guide apparatus because it is an elongated guided supply-line carrier used to route one or more supply lines to a mobile consumer.
Limitation: "wherein the line guide apparatus has links (11) which are connected together in articulated manner and can be pivoted relative one another."
Reference 1 teaches that the cable guide may be a cable carrier or energy-supply chain and may include chain-like, hose-like, or belt-like routing made of individual hingedly connected chain links. The individual hingedly connected chain links of Reference 1 correspond to links (11) connected together in an articulated manner and pivotable relative to one another.
Limitation: "the dispensing device (1) comprising a conveying unit (30) for dispensing at least one longitudinal portion of the line arrangement (2) from a storage space (4) and for retraction back into the storage space."
Reference 1 teaches that the cable guide (3) is moved in and out of a magazine-like or dispenser-like housing and that a predominant longitudinal portion of the cable guide is accommodated in the elongated housing when retracted. Reference 1 also teaches power transmission unit (41), push side (42), deflector (31), and guide path (w) for moving and guiding the cable guide. These structures teach a conveying unit for dispensing a longitudinal portion of the line arrangement from storage and retracting it back into the storage space.
Limitation: "wherein the conveying unit (30) includes a drive wheel (32) which has on its circumference a number of engagement portions (33) with in each case at least one force transmission element (34)."
Reference 1 does not expressly teach the particular positive drive wheel recited in this limitation. Reference 2 teaches that feature in the related electric-cable handling art. Reference 2 teaches transport rollers or drive rollers (4) driven by electric motor (7). The rollers (4) have teeth distributed around their circumference. The rollers (4) correspond to the claimed drive wheel (32), the circumferential teeth correspond to the claimed engagement portions (33), and each tooth functions as a force transmission element (34) because it transmits driving force into the cable.
Limitation: "wherein the flexible line arrangement (2) has a plurality of external projections (12) and/or recesses which are distributed along at least one longitudinal portion of the line arrangement (2)."
Reference 2 teaches an electric cable (2) having recesses or constrictions (17) distributed along the cable. The recesses/constrictions (17) correspond to the claimed external projections and/or recesses distributed along a longitudinal portion of the flexible line arrangement.
Limitation: "wherein each force transmission element (34) of the drive wheel is configured to interact for force transmission with a projection (12) and/or recess of the line arrangement (2) in order to convey or drive the line arrangement (2) on dispensing and/or retraction."
Reference 2 teaches that the teeth of transport rollers (4) engage the constrictions or recesses (17) in form-locking manner to transport the electric cable (2). Thus, each tooth/force-transmission element interacts with a recess of the line arrangement to convey or drive the cable. When this positive-drive arrangement is applied to the dispensing cable-guide device of Reference 1, the resulting device drives the line arrangement during dispensing and retraction.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the dispenser-like cable-guide device of Reference 1 with the positive drive-wheel engagement of Reference 2 so that the line arrangement is driven by mechanical engagement rather than by sliding, manual pulling, or friction alone. Reference 1 is concerned with moving a supply-line guide in and out of a housing for a consumer such as a ship, while Reference 2 is concerned with reliably transporting an electric cable by form-locking engagement between drive rollers (4) and recesses (17). Combining these teachings would have predictably improved dispensing and retraction of the supply-line guide by reducing slippage, reducing tensile loading on the guided lines, and providing controlled bidirectional movement into and out of the storage space.
______________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 3 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim 2
2. A device with a three-dimensionally deflectable line guide apparatus (10) which has links (11), which are connected together in articulated manner and can in each case be pivoted relative to one another in at least two directions, for guiding one or more supply lines (3), and with a conveying unit (30) for driving the line guide apparatus (10), wherein the conveying unit (30) comprises a drive wheel (32) which has on its circumference a number of engagement portions (33) with in each case at least one force transmission element (34); wherein the line guide apparatus (10) has a plurality of external projections (12) and/or recesses which are distributed along at least one longitudinal portion of the line guide apparatus (10); and wherein each force transmission element (34) of the drive wheel (32) is configured to interact for force transmission with a projection (12) and/or recess of the line guide apparatus (10).
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Limitation: "A device with a three-dimensionally deflectable line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 3 teaches a cable-routing device made from links (2) joined so that the device can be angled and deflected in multiple directions. The multi-directionally deflectable cable-routing body of Reference 3 corresponds to the claimed three-dimensionally deflectable line guide apparatus (10).
Limitation: "which has links (11), which are connected together in articulated manner and can in each case be pivoted relative to one another in at least two directions."
Reference 3 teaches links (2) connected by joint elements (6, 7), including ball-and-socket type joint structure. Those joints permit adjacent links to pivot relative to one another in multiple directions, thereby teaching links connected in articulated manner and pivotable relative to one another in at least two directions.
Limitation: "for guiding one or more supply lines (3)."
Reference 3 teaches radially outward guide elements (3) forming guide channel (4) for accommodating and guiding cables, lines, or similar elongated supply elements. The guide channel (4) and guide elements (3) teach the line-guide function for one or more supply lines.
Limitation: "and with a conveying unit (30) for driving the line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 3 teaches the line guide apparatus, but does not itself provide the claimed positive drive. References 2 and 4 supply the conveying-unit drive structure. Reference 2 teaches transport rollers (4) driven by motor (7) to move electric cable (2). Reference 4 teaches drive wheel (13; 70) driven by motor (47), pulley (48), input shaft (51), and gear box (17) to move cable (30). These teachings provide a conveying unit for driving an elongated cable-like body.
Limitation: "wherein the conveying unit (30) comprises a drive wheel (32) which has on its circumference a number of engagement portions (33) with in each case at least one force transmission element (34)."
Reference 2 teaches transport rollers (4) with teeth distributed around the roller circumference. Reference 4 teaches drive wheel (13; 70) with drive projections (20; 72). The rollers/wheel correspond to the claimed drive wheel, while the teeth or drive projections correspond to the engagement portions and force transmission elements arranged around the wheel circumference.
Limitation: "wherein the line guide apparatus (10) has a plurality of external projections (12) and/or recesses which are distributed along at least one longitudinal portion of the line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 2 teaches recesses or constrictions (17) distributed along electric cable (2). Reference 4 teaches disc members (31) rigidly attached to and evenly spaced along cable (30). In the modified line guide apparatus of Reference 3, the outside of the guide apparatus is provided with the recesses/constrictions of Reference 2 or the disc-member projections of Reference 4, thereby supplying distributed external engagement features along the longitudinal direction.
Limitation: "wherein each force transmission element (34) of the drive wheel (32) is configured to interact for force transmission with a projection (12) and/or recess of the line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 2 teaches roller teeth engaging recesses/constrictions (17) to transmit force to the cable. Reference 4 teaches drive projections (20; 72) engaging disc members (31) to move cable (30). When applied to the line-guide apparatus of Reference 3, those same drive elements interact with the added projections or recesses on the outside of the line guide apparatus to transmit force to the line guide apparatus.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the three-dimensional articulated line-guide structure of Reference 3 with the positive-drive cable teachings of References 2 and 4 in order to actively drive a flexible line guide rather than merely allowing it to be pulled or pushed by end loading. Reference 3 protects and routes supply lines through a multi-directional articulated carrier, while References 2 and 4 teach that distributed recesses, disc members, teeth, and drive projections provide predictable force transfer from a rotary drive member to a flexible cable-like body. The combination would have made technical sense because a line guide carrying supply lines presents the same movement-control problem as a heavy electric cable: it must be moved longitudinally while avoiding slip, excessive tension, and disorderly routing.
______________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 3
3. The device according to Claim 1, wherein the drive wheel (32) has a plurality of engagement portions (33) over a circumference of the drive wheel, engagement portions (33) are uniformly distributed over the circumference of the drive wheel.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 3 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claim 1.
Limitation: "wherein the drive wheel (32) has a plurality of engagement portions (33) over a circumference of the drive wheel."
Reference 2 teaches transport rollers (4) having teeth distributed around the roller circumference. The teeth of Reference 2 correspond to the claimed plurality of engagement portions over the drive-wheel circumference.
Limitation: "engagement portions (33) are uniformly distributed over the circumference of the drive wheel."
Reference 2 teaches repeated tooth/recess engagement as the roller rotates, which requires multiple tooth engagement portions distributed around the transport roller (4). The repeated teeth teach regularly or uniformly distributed engagement portions suitable for continuous force transfer.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide multiple engagement portions around the drive wheel because a rotary drive wheel must repeatedly engage the line arrangement or line guide apparatus as it turns. Circumferentially distributed engagement portions provide predictable indexing, smoother force transfer, and continuous dispensing/retraction instead of intermittent or unreliable contact.
______________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 4
4. The device according to Claim 3, wherein the force transmission elements (34) of the drive wheel in each case engage in form-locking manner with the outside of the line arrangement (2) or line guide apparatus (10) and/or, by striking the force transmission elements (34) in the tangential direction of the drive wheel (32), transmit force to the line arrangement or line guide apparatus in the longitudinal direction (L) thereof.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 4 depends from claim 3 and therefore includes the base combination applied to claim 3.
Limitation: "wherein the force transmission elements (34) of the drive wheel in each case engage in form-locking manner with the outside of the line arrangement (2) or line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 2 teaches form-locking engagement because the teeth of transport rollers (4) engage the constrictions or recesses (17) of electric cable (2). This teaching corresponds to force transmission elements engaging the outside of the line arrangement in form-locking manner.
Limitation: "and/or, by striking the force transmission elements (34) in the tangential direction of the drive wheel (32), transmit force to the line arrangement or line guide apparatus in the longitudinal direction (L) thereof."
Reference 2 teaches that rotation of the transport rollers (4) causes the roller teeth to push against the cable recesses (17), thereby driving the cable along its length. The tangential force generated by the rotating roller/drive wheel is transmitted longitudinally to the cable or line arrangement.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use form-locking engagement between the drive wheel and the line arrangement because positive mechanical engagement reduces slip and improves longitudinal drive control. Reference 2 teaches this benefit in the electric-cable context through teeth on rollers (4) engaging recesses (17). Applying that engagement to the line arrangement of Reference 1 would predictably provide controlled dispensing and retraction.
______________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 3 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim 5
5. The device according to Claim 2, wherein the links (11) have a circular outer contour, are arranged one behind the other in the longitudinal direction and form at least one guide channel by way of radially external guide parts (13), wherein articulated joints (16, 17) are arranged between links (11) which are connected together in articulated manner, and wherein the guide parts (13) are preferably annularly circumferentially closed.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 5 depends from claim 2 and therefore includes the Reference 3, Reference 2, and Reference 4 combination applied to claim 2.
Limitation: "wherein the links (11) have a circular outer contour."
Reference 3 teaches guide elements (3) arranged radially outwardly around guide channel (4), giving the cable-routing device a generally circular or rotational outer contour around the guided line path.
Limitation: "are arranged one behind the other in the longitudinal direction."
Reference 3 teaches a cable-routing device made from successive links (2) arranged along the longitudinal path of the routed cable or line.
Limitation: "and form at least one guide channel by way of radially external guide parts (13)."
Reference 3 teaches radially outward guide elements (3) forming guide channel (4). The guide elements (3) correspond to radially external guide parts and the guide channel (4) corresponds to the claimed guide channel.
Limitation: "wherein articulated joints (16, 17) are arranged between links (11) which are connected together in articulated manner."
Reference 3 teaches joint elements (6, 7), including a joint body and corresponding joint-body receptacle, between adjacent links (2). These structures teach articulated joints between connected links.
Limitation: "wherein the guide parts (13) are preferably annularly circumferentially closed."
Reference 3 teaches guide elements (3) arranged around the guided line channel. To the extent the claim requires a fully annularly closed guide part, it would have been an obvious design choice to make the surrounding guide elements circumferentially closed to retain the supply lines within the guide channel while the positive-drive arrangement of References 2 and 4 moves the line guide.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the linked guide-channel and articulated-joint arrangement of Reference 3 because it is specifically designed to guide cables or lines while permitting multi-directional movement. In the modified driven device, that structure protects the supply lines while allowing the line guide apparatus to be actively driven by the positive-drive features supplied by References 2 and 4.
______________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 3 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim 6
6. The device according to Claim 5, wherein the guide parts (13) of successive links (11) form a tubular sheath closed in the longitudinal direction (L) and circumferential direction (U) and wherein the sheath has external projections.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 6 depends from claim 5 and therefore includes the Reference 3, Reference 2, and Reference 4 combination applied to claims 2 and 5.
Limitation: "wherein the guide parts (13) of successive links (11) form a tubular sheath closed in the longitudinal direction (L) and circumferential direction (U)."
Reference 3 teaches successive links (2) with radially external guide elements (3) that collectively define guide channel (4) for cables or lines. The successive guide elements of Reference 3 provide a surrounding sheath-like line-guide body extending in the longitudinal direction. To the extent a fully closed tubular sheath is required, closing the guide parts around the guided supply lines would have been a predictable variation to retain and protect the supply lines during powered movement.
Limitation: "wherein the sheath has external projections."
Reference 4 teaches disc members (31) rigidly attached to and spaced along cable (30). The disc members (31) are external projections along a flexible cable-like member. Applied to the outside of the sheath-like line guide of Reference 3, the disc members supply the claimed external projections.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the line guide apparatus with external drive projections as taught by Reference 4 because the positive drive of References 2 and 4 needs repeatable engagement features along the driven member. Applying the external projection arrangement of Reference 4 to the multi-directional line guide of Reference 3 would allow the line guide to be driven without relying on friction against a smooth outer surface.
______________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 3 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim 7
7. The device according to Claim 6, wherein the annular bodies (12) are fastened in force-locking and/or form-locking manner as separate attachments to the sheath.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 7 depends from claim 6 and therefore includes the Reference 3, Reference 2, and Reference 4 combination applied to claims 2, 5, and 6.
Limitation: "wherein the annular bodies (12) are fastened in force-locking and/or form-locking manner as separate attachments to the sheath."
Reference 4 teaches disc members (31) rigidly attached to cable (30) at regular intervals. Because the disc members (31) are separate structures attached to the cable, they teach separate annular attachments fastened to an elongated sheath or cable-like member in force-locking and/or form-locking manner.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use separately attached annular bodies because separate drive attachments allow the driven line-guide body to be given positive-drive engagement features without redesigning every link of the line guide. Reference 4 teaches that regularly spaced disc members (31) attached along a cable provide reliable engagement surfaces for a drive wheel, and the same approach would predictably adapt the line-guide apparatus of Reference 3 for positive drive.
______________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 5.
Claim 8
8. The device according to Claim 1, wherein a plurality of force transmission elements (34) are provided and each force transmission element takes the form of a U-shaped stirrup (34) with a receptacle corresponding to the external diameter of the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10), wherein the drive wheel (32) has two opposing wheel disks (35A, 35B) between which the force transmission elements (34) are fastened and which form a guide for the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10).
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 8 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claim 1.
Limitation: "wherein a plurality of force transmission elements (34) are provided."
Reference 2 teaches multiple teeth on transport rollers (4). Reference 5 also teaches multiple U-shaped stirrups (29) carried between laterally spaced chains. These structures teach a plurality of force-transmission/support elements.
Limitation: "and each force transmission element takes the form of a U-shaped stirrup (34) with a receptacle corresponding to the external diameter of the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 5 teaches generally U-shaped cable-supporting stirrups (29) that receive and support a cable. The U-shaped geometry provides a receptacle corresponding to the outer diameter of the cable or line arrangement, thereby teaching the claimed U-shaped stirrup force transmission elements.
Limitation: "wherein the drive wheel (32) has two opposing wheel disks (35A, 35B) between which the force transmission elements (34) are fastened."
Reference 5 teaches laterally spaced sprockets (7, 7a, 9, 9a), continuous roller chains (23, 25), and opposed brackets (27) between which the U-shaped stirrups (29) are connected. The opposed sprocket/chain/bracket structures provide the same lateral support function as opposing wheel disks holding the force transmission elements between them.
Limitation: "and which form a guide for the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 5 teaches that the U-shaped stirrups (29), carried between the opposed chains, support and guide the cable during powered movement. In the modified dispensing device, the opposed wheel-disk/stirrup arrangement guides the line arrangement as it is dispensed or retracted.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the U-shaped stirrup support arrangement of Reference 5 in the dispensing device of References 1 and 2 because a heavy flexible line arrangement benefits from lateral support while it is being driven around a rotary drive structure. Reference 5 teaches that U-shaped stirrups (29) carried between laterally spaced chains support and guide a cable during powered movement, which would predictably reduce cable damage and improve alignment as the positive-drive wheel engages the line arrangement.
______________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim 9
9. The device according to Claim 1, wherein the external projections (12) take the form of completely circumferential beads or thickened portions extending around the longitudinal direction (L); and/or the projections or recesses are distributed with uniform spacing (A) along the longitudinal direction (L).
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 9 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claim 1.
Limitation: "wherein the external projections (12) take the form of completely circumferential beads or thickened portions extending around the longitudinal direction (L)."
Reference 4 teaches disc members (31) rigidly attached around cable (30). The disc members extend circumferentially around the cable and function as annular thickened portions or bead-like projections.
Limitation: "and/or the projections or recesses are distributed with uniform spacing (A) along the longitudinal direction (L)."
Reference 4 teaches disc members (31) evenly spaced along cable (30). Reference 2 also teaches repeated recesses or constrictions (17) along electric cable (2). These disclosures teach projections or recesses distributed with uniform spacing along the longitudinal direction.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the line arrangement with evenly spaced circumferential projections because regularly spaced disc members (31) in Reference 4 permit predictable engagement by drive projections (20; 72), while the dispensing device of References 1 and 2 requires reliable longitudinal movement during dispensing and retraction. Uniform spacing would allow the drive wheel to index smoothly and transmit force consistently.
______________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 6.
Claim 10
10. The device according to Claim 1, wherein the conveying unit (30) has an arcuate retaining face (36B) which is arranged radially spaced relative to the drive wheel (32) and extends over a partial circumference of the drive wheel.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 10 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claim 1.
Limitation: "wherein the conveying unit (30) has an arcuate retaining face (36B)."
Reference 6 teaches an endless conveying means (7) having a second conveying surface (4) that may have an arcuate, preferably circular-arc-shaped course. The second conveying surface (4) functions as an arcuate retaining or guide face for cable (1).
Limitation: "which is arranged radially spaced relative to the drive wheel (32)."
Reference 6 teaches cable (1) being contacted between roller (6) having first conveying surface (2) and the arcuate second conveying surface (4) of endless conveying means (7). The second conveying surface is spaced from the roller so the cable is retained between the surfaces, thereby teaching a radially spaced retaining face relative to a drive roller/wheel.
Limitation: "and extends over a partial circumference of the drive wheel."
Reference 6 teaches that the second conveying surface (4) has a circular-arc-shaped course with the same direction of curvature as the roller (6), thereby extending over a partial circumference of the roller.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add the arcuate retaining face of Reference 6 to the positive-drive dispensing device because a driven cable or line guide must remain engaged with the drive wheel over the wrap/contact region. Reference 6 teaches that an arcuate second conveying surface improves cable clamping and guidance relative to a roller, which would predictably keep the line arrangement engaged with the drive wheel and reduce derailment or loss of drive contact during dispensing and retraction.
______________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 11
11. The device according to Claim 1, wherein the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10) has a free end (5), in particular with a supply connector (6), and a stationary end (7); and/or wherein the conveying unit (30) has a guide device on the output side which directs the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10) onto the drive wheel (32) on retraction, wherein the guide device is preferably configured as a funnel-like insertion device (37); and/or the guide device (50) is arranged movably adjustably.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 11 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claim 1.
Limitation: "wherein the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10) has a free end (5), in particular with a supply connector (6)."
Reference 1 teaches a cable guide and docking apparatus used to connect supply lines to a consumer such as ship (F). Reference 2 teaches an electric cable (2) having a charging plug or socket at its movable end. These teachings provide a free end of the line arrangement with a supply connector.
Limitation: "and a stationary end (7)."
Reference 1 teaches supply lines routed from a fixed supply/storage region through the cable guide to the movable consumer-side connection. The fixed supply-side portion corresponds to the stationary end of the line arrangement.
Limitation: "and/or wherein the conveying unit (30) has a guide device on the output side which directs the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10) onto the drive wheel (32) on retraction."
Reference 1 teaches guide path (w), guide channel, deflector (31), and guide structures that guide the cable guide as it moves into and out of the housing. These structures correspond to an output-side guide device that directs the line arrangement during retraction. In the modified device, those guide structures direct the line arrangement onto the drive wheel supplied by Reference 2.
Limitation: "wherein the guide device is preferably configured as a funnel-like insertion device (37); and/or the guide device (50) is arranged movably adjustably."
Reference 1 teaches guide structures and a deflector (31) for changing and controlling the path of the cable guide. It would have been an ordinary predictable implementation to make the output-side guide funnel-like or movably adjustable to align the flexible line arrangement with the drive wheel during retraction.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide a connector end, stationary end, and output-side guide device because the dispensing/docking apparatus of Reference 1 must connect supply lines to a mobile consumer while guiding the line arrangement along a defined path. Reference 2 confirms the ordinary use of a plug or socket on a movable electric cable end. Providing these structures in the modified device would predictably guide the line arrangement during retraction and facilitate connection to the supplied consumer.
______________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 12
12. The device according to Claim 1, further comprising a drive motor (M) is operatively connected to the drive wheel (32) and/or a stationary frame (8) is provided on which the drive wheel (32) is mounted for rotation about an axis of rotation (R), wherein the drive motor (M) for driving the drive wheel (32) in rotation is fastened to the frame (8).
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 12 depends from claim 1 and therefore includes the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claim 1.
Limitation: "further comprising a drive motor (M) is operatively connected to the drive wheel (32)."
Reference 2 teaches electric motor (7) driving transport rollers (4), including paired transport rollers connected by belt (26), to move electric cable (2). The electric motor (7) corresponds to the drive motor operatively connected to the drive wheel.
Limitation: "and/or a stationary frame (8) is provided on which the drive wheel (32) is mounted for rotation about an axis of rotation (R)."
Reference 1 teaches an elongated housing/base and storage structure that receives and guides the cable guide. Reference 2 teaches transport rollers (4), which necessarily rotate about roller axes to move the cable. Mounting the drive roller on the stationary frame or housing of Reference 1 provides the claimed stationary frame and axis of rotation.
Limitation: "wherein the drive motor (M) for driving the drive wheel (32) in rotation is fastened to the frame (8)."
Reference 2 teaches motorized roller drive for cable movement. In the combined device, motor (7) is fastened to or supported by the stationary frame/housing structure of Reference 1 so that it can drive the roller/wheel in rotation. This is the predictable mechanical arrangement for a motor-driven drive wheel.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to mount the drive wheel on a frame and connect it to a drive motor because the positive-drive wheel of Reference 2 must be supported and powered to move the line arrangement of Reference 1. Reference 1 already provides the storage/housing environment, and Reference 2 already provides motorized cable-drive rollers, so mounting the driven wheel on the stationary frame would have been a predictable mechanical implementation.
______________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 7.
Claim 13
13. The device according to Claim 12, wherein the drive motor (M) of the drive wheel (32) is connected to a limit switch device (61, 62) which interacts with a detection element (52A, 52B) on the line arrangement or on the line guide apparatus (10) in order to switch off the drive motor (M) in the end position on dispensing and/or in the end position on retraction.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 13 depends from claim 12 and therefore includes the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claims 1 and 12.
Limitation: "wherein the drive motor (M) of the drive wheel (32) is connected to a limit switch device (61, 62)."
Reference 7 teaches a power-retract electric cord reel with drive motor (33) and switch assembly (100), including switch (105). The switch assembly (100) and switch (105) correspond to a limit switch device connected to control the drive motor.
Limitation: "which interacts with a detection element (52A, 52B) on the line arrangement or on the line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 7 teaches plug (16) on the electric cord engaging switch slider (104), which actuates switch (105). The plug (16) or cord-end structure functions as a detection element on the line arrangement, and the switch slider (104) interacts with that detection element.
Limitation: "in order to switch off the drive motor (M) in the end position on dispensing and/or in the end position on retraction."
Reference 7 teaches that when plug (16) reaches the retracted position, it engages switch slider (104), causing switch (105) to shut off power to drive motor (33). This teaches switching off the drive motor in an end position of a motorized line arrangement.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include the end-position limit-switch shutoff of Reference 7 because a motorized line-arrangement dispenser should stop the drive motor when the line reaches its end position. Reference 7 teaches that exact protection in a powered electric cord reel, preventing overtravel, excess tension, and motor loading when the plug reaches the retracted position. The same reason applies to the motorized dispensing/retraction device of References 1 and 2.
______________________________
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 14
14. The device according to Claim 12, wherein the frame (8) has a storage space (4) for receiving a retracted longitudinal portion of the line arrangement, wherein the drive wheel (32) is arranged on the frame (8) on the output side of the storage space (4).
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 14 depends from claim 12 and therefore includes the Reference 1 and Reference 2 combination applied to claims 1 and 12.
Limitation: "wherein the frame (8) has a storage space (4) for receiving a retracted longitudinal portion of the line arrangement."
Reference 1 teaches an elongated housing or storage region that accommodates a predominant longitudinal portion of cable guide (3) when the cable guide is retracted. That housing/storage region corresponds to the frame having storage space for the retracted line arrangement.
Limitation: "wherein the drive wheel (32) is arranged on the frame (8) on the output side of the storage space (4)."
Reference 1 teaches movement of the cable guide into and out of the storage/housing region along guide path (w), and Reference 2 teaches motor-driven rollers (4) for moving a cable. In the combined device, the drive wheel is placed at the output side of the storage space so it engages the line arrangement as the line arrangement is dispensed from and retracted into the storage space.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to place the drive wheel at the output side of the storage space because that is where the line arrangement must be engaged as it is dispensed from or retracted into the storage housing. Reference 1 stores and guides the cable guide within a housing, and Reference 2 supplies the driven roller/wheel that moves the cable, making the output-side placement a predictable location for controlled dispensing and retraction.
______________________________
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 15
15. Use of the dispensing device (1) according to Claim 1 for supplying power to a mobile consumer, in particular for shore-to-ship power supply.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 15 is directed to use of the dispensing device of claim 1 and therefore includes the underlying device combination applied to claim 1.
Limitation: "Use of the dispensing device (1) according to Claim 1."
Reference 1 teaches using a cable-guide/docking apparatus with supply lines, and Reference 2 provides the positive-drive feature applied to the dispensing device of claim 1. Thus, the prior-art combination teaches the dispensing device corresponding to claim 1.
Limitation: "for supplying power to a mobile consumer."
Reference 1 teaches connecting supply lines to a consumer such as ship (F). A ship is a mobile consumer, and the supply lines include power supply lines.
Limitation: "in particular for shore-to-ship power supply."
Reference 1 expressly teaches a docking apparatus for connecting a ship (F) to supply lines. That environment teaches shore-to-ship supply use, and the positive-drive improvement supplied by Reference 2 is applied to improve deployment and retraction of the supply-line guide.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the modified dispensing device for shore-to-ship power supply because Reference 1 is already directed to a docking apparatus for connecting a ship (F) to supply lines. Adding the positive drive of Reference 2 would predictably improve handling, deployment, and retraction of the supply lines used with such a mobile consumer.
______________________________
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 3 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim 16
16. The device according to Claim 5, wherein the guide parts (13) of successive links (11) form a tubular sheath closed in the longitudinal direction (L) and circumferential direction (U) and in that the sheath has external projections formed as radially protruding annular regions or annular bodies (12) which interact with the force transmission element(s) (34).
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 16 depends from claim 5 and therefore includes the Reference 3, Reference 2, and Reference 4 combination applied to claims 2 and 5.
Limitation: "wherein the guide parts (13) of successive links (11) form a tubular sheath closed in the longitudinal direction (L) and circumferential direction (U)."
Reference 3 teaches successive links (2) with radially external guide elements (3) forming guide channel (4). The successive guide elements form a sheath-like line-guide body around the guided supply lines. Closing the sheath longitudinally and circumferentially is a predictable retained-cable guide configuration for keeping supply lines protected while the guide is moved.
Limitation: "and in that the sheath has external projections formed as radially protruding annular regions or annular bodies (12)."
Reference 4 teaches radially protruding disc members (31) attached around cable (30) at intervals. These disc members correspond to external projections formed as radially protruding annular regions or annular bodies.
Limitation: "which interact with the force transmission element(s) (34)."
Reference 4 teaches drive projections (20; 72) on drive wheel (13; 70) engaging the disc members (31) to transmit force and move the cable. Applied to the sheath of Reference 3, the annular bodies interact with the drive wheel force-transmission elements.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the linked line guide with radially protruding annular bodies because Reference 4 teaches that such bodies create reliable engagement points for a drive wheel. Applying those annular drive bodies to the three-dimensional guide apparatus of Reference 3 would predictably permit positive drive without damaging the supply lines carried in guide channel (4).
______________________________
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 3 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 5.
Claim 17
17. The device according to Claim 2, wherein a plurality of force transmission elements (34) are provided and each force transmission element takes the form of a U-shaped stirrup (34) with a receptacle corresponding to the external diameter of the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10), wherein the drive wheel (32) has two opposing wheel disks (35A, 35B) between which the force transmission elements (34) are fastened and which form a guide for the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10).
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 17 depends from claim 2 and therefore includes the Reference 3, Reference 2, and Reference 4 combination applied to claim 2.
Limitation: "wherein a plurality of force transmission elements (34) are provided."
Reference 4 teaches a plurality of drive projections (20; 72) on drive wheel (13; 70). Reference 5 teaches a plurality of U-shaped stirrups (29) carried between spaced chains. These teach multiple force transmission elements.
Limitation: "and each force transmission element takes the form of a U-shaped stirrup (34) with a receptacle corresponding to the external diameter of the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 5 teaches U-shaped cable-supporting stirrups (29) sized and shaped to receive and support cable. The stirrups provide U-shaped receptacles corresponding to the external diameter of the cable or line-guide body.
Limitation: "wherein the drive wheel (32) has two opposing wheel disks (35A, 35B) between which the force transmission elements (34) are fastened."
Reference 5 teaches laterally spaced sprockets (7, 7a, 9, 9a), continuous roller chains (23, 25), and opposed brackets (27) holding stirrups (29) between the spaced supports. These opposed support structures teach the same arrangement as force transmission elements fastened between two opposing wheel disks.
Limitation: "and which form a guide for the line arrangement or line guide apparatus (10)."
Reference 5 teaches the stirrups (29) supporting and guiding the cable during powered movement. In the claim 2 line-guide device, the U-shaped stirrup/wheel-disk arrangement guides the line guide apparatus while the drive arrangement advances or retracts it.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the U-shaped stirrup arrangement of Reference 5 in the driven line-guide device because a positively driven line guide should be supported laterally and radially while passing through the drive region. Reference 5 teaches that U-shaped stirrups (29) between spaced driven members support a cable during powered movement, and using that support in the claim 2 device would predictably maintain alignment and reduce wear.
______________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 3 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim 18
18. The device according to Claim 2, wherein the external projections (12) take the form of completely circumferential beads or thickened portions extending around the longitudinal direction (L); and/or the projections or recesses are distributed with uniform spacing (A) along the longitudinal direction (L).
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 18 depends from claim 2 and therefore includes the Reference 3, Reference 2, and Reference 4 combination applied to claim 2.
Limitation: "wherein the external projections (12) take the form of completely circumferential beads or thickened portions extending around the longitudinal direction (L)."
Reference 4 teaches disc members (31) attached around cable (30). The disc members are circumferential annular structures extending around the cable and therefore teach completely circumferential beads or thickened portions.
Limitation: "and/or the projections or recesses are distributed with uniform spacing (A) along the longitudinal direction (L)."
Reference 4 teaches disc members (31) evenly spaced along cable (30), and Reference 2 teaches repeated recesses or constrictions (17) along electric cable (2). These teachings provide uniformly distributed projections or recesses along the longitudinal direction.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use uniformly spaced circumferential projections because Reference 4 teaches that evenly spaced disc members (31) cooperate with drive projections (20; 72) for predictable cable movement. Uniform spacing allows the drive wheel to engage the line guide at repeated intervals, producing smooth and controlled longitudinal drive.
______________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 3 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 6.
Claim 19
19. The device according to Claim 2, wherein the conveying unit (30) has an arcuate retaining face (36B) which is arranged radially spaced relative to the drive wheel (32) and extends over a partial circumference of the drive wheel.
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 19 depends from claim 2 and therefore includes the Reference 3, Reference 2, and Reference 4 combination applied to claim 2.
Limitation: "wherein the conveying unit (30) has an arcuate retaining face (36B)."
Reference 6 teaches second conveying surface (4) of endless conveying means (7), which may have an arcuate, circular-arc-shaped course. The second conveying surface functions as an arcuate retaining face for cable (1).
Limitation: "which is arranged radially spaced relative to the drive wheel (32)."
Reference 6 teaches cable (1) positioned between roller (6) having first conveying surface (2) and the spaced second conveying surface (4). The second conveying surface is radially spaced relative to the roller/drive wheel to retain the cable in the contact region.
Limitation: "and extends over a partial circumference of the drive wheel."
Reference 6 teaches that the arcuate second conveying surface (4) has the same direction of curvature as roller (6), thereby following the roller over part of its circumference. This teaches an arcuate retaining face extending over a partial circumference of the drive wheel.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add the arcuate retaining face of Reference 6 to the claim 2 drive arrangement because the drive wheel must maintain engagement with the line guide apparatus through a contact region. Reference 6 teaches that an arcuate guide/conveying surface improves cable guidance and clamping around a roller, which would predictably keep the line guide engaged with the drive wheel and improve force transmission.
______________________________
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 3 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim 20
20. The device according to Claim 2, further comprising a drive motor (M) operatively connected to the drive wheel (32) and/or a stationary frame (8) is provided on which the drive wheel (32) is mounted for rotation about an axis of rotation (R), wherein the drive motor (M) for driving the drive wheel (32) in rotation is fastened to the frame (8).
Analysis
Limitation-by-limitation analysis
Claim 20 depends from claim 2 and therefore includes the Reference 3, Reference 2, and Reference 4 combination applied to claim 2.
Limitation: "further comprising a drive motor (M) operatively connected to the drive wheel (32)."
Reference 2 teaches motor (7) driving transport rollers (4). Reference 4 teaches motor (47), pulley (48), input shaft (51), gear box (17), and drive wheel (13), with the motor causing rotation of the drive wheel. These structures teach a drive motor operatively connected to the drive wheel.
Limitation: "and/or a stationary frame (8) is provided on which the drive wheel (32) is mounted for rotation about an axis of rotation (R)."
Reference 4 teaches drive wheel (13) mounted in a drive mechanism including input shaft (51) and gear box (17), which supports the wheel for rotation about an axis. In the modified line-guide device, that drive mechanism is mounted on a stationary frame supporting the drive wheel.
Limitation: "wherein the drive motor (M) for driving the drive wheel (32) in rotation is fastened to the frame (8)."
Reference 4 teaches motor (47) as part of the drive-wheel drive arrangement. Fastening the motor to the same stationary frame that supports the drive wheel is the ordinary mechanical implementation for transmitting rotational drive from motor (47) to drive wheel (13).
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide a drive motor and stationary frame for the drive wheel because the positive drive arrangement of References 2 and 4 requires a powered, supported rotary member to move the line guide apparatus of Reference 3. Mounting the drive wheel for rotation on a frame and fastening the motor to that frame would have been a routine and predictable implementation of the motorized drive taught by References 2 and 4.
______________________________
Claim Disposition
Rejected claims under 35 U.S.C. 112: Claims 1, 7, 12, and 15.
Rejected claims under 35 U.S.C. 103: Claims 1-20.
Objected-to claims: None.
Allowed claims: None.
Conclusion
EP 2 226 164 B1 has been considered because it is a PCT/IDS line-guide reference with guide and storage regions. It is not relied upon in the rejection because Reference 3 provides a clearer English disclosure of the three-dimensionally deflectable articulated line-guide structure with ball/socket joint elements, while Reference 1 provides the closer docking/supply-line environment.
US 2024/0218915 A1 has been considered because it is technically close to the drive-unit/energy-chain subject matter, but it is not relied upon because the current public record indicates a later priority date than the present application's priority date. It should remain a citation/search lead only, not relied-upon prior art for this action.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615