DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application. Claims 1-4, 8 and 14 are currently amended. Claims 5-7, 9-12 and 15 were previously presented. Claim 13 is original. Claim 16 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 5, “the light emitting element” should be -- the ring-shaped light emitting element--. Several instance in claim 1 require correction. Similar correction is required in claims 4-7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syracuse (US 20040071185 A1), and further in view of Sun (US 4988212 A).
Regarding claim 1, Syracuse teaches a sensing device (abstract, Apparatus for monitoring the temperature) for a high voltage disconnecting switch (abstract, a high voltage conductor includes an electrically and thermally conductive fixture for attachment to a high voltage conductor).
Syracuse does not teach, the sensing device comprising:
a ring-shaped light emitting element configured to align its temperature with a temperature of the high voltage disconnecting switch;
an optical fiber configured to receive a light emission from the light emitting element and configured to guide the light emission;
a deriving unit configured to receive the light emission from the optical fiber and derive information about the temperature of the high voltage disconnecting switch based on a duration of the received light emission: and
a contact element configured to be arranged on a surface of the high voltage disconnecting switch and configured to align with a temperature of the surface, the contact element having a ring-shaped portion,
wherein the light emitting element is enclosed by the ring-shaped portion of the contact element.
Sun teaches in a similar field of endeavor of fiberoptic sensing of temperature, a ring-shaped light emitting element (i.e. phosphor material layer 105, fig.11A) configured to align its temperature with a temperature of a surface (column 14 lines 63-65, temperature probe is described for use in surface temperature measurement applications);
an optical fiber (i.e. optical fiber including a core 107, cladding 109, and a jacket 111, fig.11A) configured to receive a light emission from the ring-shaped light emitting element (column 15 lines 4-5, is held in optical communication with the phosphor layer 105) and configured to guide the light emission (column 5 lines 66-68, The luminescence is directed from the sensor 13 along the optical fiber communication medium 17 to the measuring instrument);
a deriving unit (column 6 lines 7-9, detector 33 that is electrically connected by a conductor 35 to an electronic processing system 37) configured to receive the light emission from the optical fiber and derive information about the temperature of the high voltage disconnecting switch based on a duration of the received light emission (column 5 lines 66-68, The luminescence is directed from the sensor 13 along the optical fiber communication medium 17 to the measuring instrument); and
a contact element (i.e. disc 101, fig.11A) configured to be arranged on a surface and configured to align with a temperature of the surface (column 14 lines 65-67, a very thin, flat, rigid disc 101 is adapted for contacting a surface 103 whose temperature is to be measured), the contact element having a ring-shaped portion (e.g. ring shape of 101, fig.11A),
wherein the ring-shaped light emitting element is enclosed by the ring-shaped portion of the contact element (column lines, A layer 105 of phosphor material … is attached to one side of the disc 101) (it is necessarily true that 105 is enclosed by 101 at least on one side).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the sensing device comprising:
a ring-shaped light emitting element configured to align its temperature with a temperature of the high voltage disconnecting switch;
an optical fiber configured to receive a light emission from the light emitting element and configured to guide the light emission;
a deriving unit configured to receive the light emission from the optical fiber and derive information about the temperature of the high voltage disconnecting switch based on a duration of the received light emission: and
a contact element configured to be arranged on a surface of the high voltage disconnecting switch and configured to align with a temperature of the surface, the contact element having a ring-shaped portion,
wherein the light emitting element is enclosed by the ring-shaped portion of the contact element in Syracuse, as taught by Sun, as it provides the advantage freedom in angle of placement between optic fiber and surface of disconnecting switch, while providing easy connection between sensor and optical fiber.
Regarding claim 2, Syracuse and Sun teach he sensing device of claim 1, the optical fiber is enclosed by the contact element (Sun, column 15 lines 6-7, allow the fiber to tilt with respect to the disc 101 without breaking the mechanical or optical connection).
Regarding claim 3, Syracuse and Sun teach the sensing device of claim 2, wherein the contact element includes the contact element includes a metal material (Sun, column 15 lines 6-7, the disc 101 is preferably made of sapphire).
Regarding claim 4, Syracuse and Sun teach the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the ring-shaped light emitting element and the optical fiber is configured to align with a temperature of the surface of the high voltage disconnecting switch (Sun, column 14 lines 65-67, disc 101 is adapted for contacting a surface 103 whose temperature is to be measured … end of an optical fiber including a core 107, cladding 109, and a jacket 111, is held in optical communication with the phosphor layer 105).
Regarding claim 5, Syracuse and Sun teach the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the ring-shaped light emitting element is a coating disposed on a surface of the optical fiber (Sun, column 14 lines 65-67, end of an optical fiber including a core 107, cladding 109, and a jacket 111, is held in optical communication with the phosphor layer 105).
Regarding claim 6, Syracuse and Sun teach the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the ring-shaped light emitting element includes a luminescent substance (Sun, column 14 lines 65-67, phosphor layer 105).
Regarding claim 7, Syracuse and Sun teach the sensing device of claim 6, further comprising a light source configured to intermittently emit light (i.e. light pulse generator 41, fig.1), wherein the optical fiber is further configured to receive light emitted by the light source and further configured to guide the light emitted by the light source (Sun, column 6 lines 3-5, An optical system 27 connects the fiber medium 17 with a source 29 of excitation radiation), and wherein the light emitting element is further configured to absorb energy of the light (Sun, column 6 lines 25-26, optical fiber transmission medium 17 for exciting the sensor 13 to luminescence), which is emitted from the light source and guided by the optical fiber (Sun, column 6 lines 3-5, An optical system 27 connects the fiber medium 17 with a source 29 of excitation radiation).
Regarding claim 8, Syracuse and Sun teach the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the deriving unit is further configured to derive information about the temperature of the high voltage disconnecting switch based on an intensity (Sun, column 6 lines 8-12, The processing circuits 37 convert, by reference to an empirically established conversion table, the luminescent radiation decay characteristics of the sensor 13 into a temperature).
Regarding claim 9, Syracuse and Sun teach the sensing device of claim 1, further comprising a mirroring component and/or a focusing optics, the mirroring component coupled to an end of the optical fiber and/or the focusing optics arranged between the optical fiber (Sun, column 6 lines 21-26, The optical system 27 includes a lens 47 for collimating the excitation light at an end of the fiber medium 31. The collimated excitation pulses are directed to a beam splitter 51 and thence through a lens 53 into an end of the optical fiber transmission medium 17 for exciting the sensor 13 to luminescence) and the deriving unit, and/or wherein the deriving unit is configured to receive a focused light emission from the optical fiber and the deriving unit is configured to derive the information about the temperature of the high voltage disconnecting switch based on the received focused light emission (Sun, column 6 lines 8-12, The processing circuits 37 convert, by reference to an empirically established conversion table, the luminescent radiation decay characteristics of the sensor 13 into a temperature).
Regarding claim 11, Syracuse and Sun teach the sensing device of claim 1.
Syracuse and Sun do not teach, wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to be arranged between a spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and contacting means of the high voltage disconnecting switch, and/or wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to separate and/or electrically isolate the spring from the contacting means.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to be arranged between a spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and contacting means of the high voltage disconnecting switch, and/or wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to separate and/or electrically isolate the spring from the contacting means, since the applicant has not disclosed that wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to be arranged between a spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and contacting means of the high voltage disconnecting switch, and/or wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to separate and/or electrically isolate the spring from the contacting means solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to be arranged between a spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and contacting means of the high voltage disconnecting switch, and/or wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to separate and/or electrically isolate the spring from the contacting means as it provides the advantage of optimal placement of the sensing device while reducing additional parts.
Regarding claim 12, Syracuse and Sun teach a high voltage disconnecting switch comprising the sensing device according to claim 1 (Syracuse, abstract, a high voltage conductor includes an electrically and thermally conductive fixture for attachment to a high voltage conductor).
Regarding claim 14, Syracuse and Sun teach the high voltage disconnecting switch of claim 12.
Syracuse and Sun do not teach, wherein the sensing device is shaped around a spacing element between the spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and the contacting element of the high voltage disconnecting switch.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the sensing device is shaped around a spacing element between the spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and the contacting element of the high voltage disconnecting switch, since the applicant has not disclosed that the sensing device is shaped around a spacing element between the spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and the contacting element of the high voltage disconnecting switch solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the sensing device is shaped around a spacing element between the spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and the contacting element of the high voltage disconnecting switch, as it provides the advantage of optimal placement of the sensing device while reducing additional parts.
Regarding claim 16, Syracuse and Sun teach the high voltage disconnecting switch of claim 11, wherein the ring-shaped light emitting element and the ring-shaped portion of the contact element each have a respective inner radius and are each configured to extend along an entire circumference of a respective circle formed by the respective inner radius (Sun, column lines, disc 101 … layer 105 of phosphor material in an optically clear binder, such as a low melting point glass, liquid silicate, or the elastomeric material described above, is attached to one side of the disc 101, and fig.11A shows the full circles).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syracuse (US 20040071185 A1) and Sun (US 4988212 A), and further in view of Xu (CN 211602218 U).
Regarding claim 10, Syracuse and Sun teach the sensing device of claim 1.
Syracuse and Sun do not teach, further comprising an alert module configured to output an alert message if a high voltage disconnecting switch temperature, which is determined by the deriving unit, exceeds a threshold.
Xu teaches in a similar field of endeavor of optical fiber temperature measuring system of circuit contact, an alert module configured to output an alert message if a high voltage disconnecting switch temperature, which is determined by the deriving unit, exceeds a threshold (abstract, when the actual temperature value is greater than the first preset temperature threshold value, controlling the alarm to alarm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the alert module configured to output an alert message if a high voltage disconnecting switch temperature, which is determined by the deriving unit, exceeds a threshold in Syracuse and Sun, as taught by Xu, as it provides the advantage of audible way of realizing fault in the system.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syracuse (US 20040071185 A1) and Sun (US 4988212 A), and further in view of Philip (US 3047685).
Regarding claim 13, Syracuse and Sun teach the high voltage disconnecting switch of claim 12.
Syracuse and Sun do not teach, the high voltage disconnecting switch further comprising a spring configured to elastically deform when a switching state of the high voltage disconnecting switch changes, wherein the sensing device is partially arranged between a spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and contacting means of the high voltage disconnecting switch, and/or wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to separate and/or electrically isolate the spring from the contacting means.
Philip teaches in a similar field of endeavor of high voltage disconnect switch, the high voltage disconnecting switch further comprising a spring (i.e. contact jaws 30) (fig.3) configured to elastically deform when a switching state of the high voltage disconnecting switch changes (column 3 lines 32-34, When the switch is in its closed position, the flattened end of the main blade is in its solid line position of FIG. 3 and the jaws 30 are in high pressure engagement).
Syracuse, Sun and Philip do not teach, wherein the sensing device is partially arranged between a spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and contacting means of the high voltage disconnecting switch, and/or wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to separate and/or electrically isolate the spring from the contacting means.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the sensing device is partially arranged between a spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and contacting means of the high voltage disconnecting switch, and/or wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to separate and/or electrically isolate the spring from the contacting means, since the applicant has not disclosed that the sensing device is partially arranged between a spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and contacting means of the high voltage disconnecting switch, and/or wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to separate and/or electrically isolate the spring from the contacting means solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the sensing device is partially arranged between a spring of the high voltage disconnecting switch and contacting means of the high voltage disconnecting switch, and/or wherein the light emitting element and/or the contact element is further configured to separate and/or electrically isolate the spring from the contacting means, as it provides the advantage of optimal placement of the sensing device while reducing additional parts.
Regarding claim 15, Syracuse and Sun teach the high voltage disconnecting switch of claim 12.
Syracuse and Sun do not teach, wherein the high voltage disconnecting switch is configured as a breaking-closing disconnecting switch, BCDS, a centre break disconnecting switch, a double break disconnecting switch, a vertical break disconnecting switch, a panthograph disconnecting switch, a semi- panthograph disconnecting switch or a knee type disconnecting switch.
Philip teaches in a similar field of endeavor of high voltage disconnect switch, wherein the high voltage disconnecting switch is configured as a vertical break disconnecting switch (column 1 lines 13-15, A type of disconnect switch that has proven itself to be exceptionally reliable for outdoor applications is the so called twist blade type of switch).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the vertical break disconnecting switch in Syracuse and Sun, as taught by Philip, as it provides the advantage of optimal design for commonly installed and reliable disconnect switch.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 10/31/2025