DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12-18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection. New claims 21-28 are addressed below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art is Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0229916), however, Kim fails to fairly teach or suggest a distal tail with variable flexibility.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the the” is a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 22 depends from cancelled claim 19. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the intravascular anchor" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-13, 17-18, 21-24, 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0229916).
Kim et al. (hereinafter, Kim) discloses a12. (currently amended) A transcatheter device (e.g., fig. 1) comprising:
a main shaft 20 comprising a proximal segment (e.g., fig. 1, near end 60) and a spacer body segment extending from the proximal segment (e.g., fig. 1 under blocking part 10);
a distal tail (e.g., near end 30) continuing distally from the main shaft;
a spacer body 10 mounted on the the spacer body segment (e.g., fig. 1),
wherein the distal tail and the spacer body segment collectively form an overall C-shaped configuration configured (e.g., fig. 1), when implanted, to embrace an anatomical path from the pulmonary artery, across a supraventricular crest of a right ventricle, across a tricuspid valve. through a right atrium, and toward an inferior vena cava (fig. 12).
For claim 13, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 12, wherein the spacer body is coaxially mounted around the spacer body segment (e.g., fig. 1, para. 72).
For claim 17, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 12, wherein the intravascular anchor 60 is attached to the proximal segment (e.g., fig. 1).
For claim 18, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 17, wherein the intravascular anchor is a spiral coil that has at least two spirals (e.g., fig. 6).
For claim 21, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 12, wherein the pulmonary artery is a right pulmonary artery (e.g., fig. 12).
For claim 22, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 19, wherein the curved shape of the distal tail is configured to position a distal portion of the spacer body closer to the supraventricular crest (e.g., fig. 12).
For claim 23, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 12, wherein the distal tail comprises a pigtail tip or a rounded tip configured to reduce trauma as the distal tail travels into the pulmonary artery (e.g., fig. 6).
For claim 24, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 12, wherein the distal tail is configured to be advanced over a guidewire 50 into the pulmonary artery and to function as an anchor within the pulmonary artery (e.g., fig. 12).
For claim 26, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 12, wherein the distal tail is configured to anchor within a pulmonary artery trunk without extending past a first branching artery of the pulmonary artery (e.g., fig. 12).
For claim 27, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 12, wherein the distal tail extends distally from the spacer body segment and has a curved shape configured to partially encircle a pulmonary artery to function as an atraumatic anchor (e.g., fig. 6, 12).
For claim 28, Kim discloses the transcatheter device of claim 12, wherein the proximal segment comprises a single bend (e.g., fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0229916) in view of Gelfand et al. (Pub. No.: US 2006/0064059).
For claim 16, Kim does not specify the distal tail has a length of 10 cm to 40 cm. Gelfand et al. (hereinafter, Gelfand) teaches a treatment catheter intervention placed through the vena cava 109, tricuspid valve 102, and pulmonary artery 105, with a length from occlusive balloon 106 to PA balloon 107 of 20-30 cm. Selection of a distal tail length of 10-40 cm would have been an obvious length selection given the implantation area of the distal tail from the tricuspid valve to the pulmonary artery is approximately half the Gelfand length (see Gelfand fig. 1). Therefore selection of a distal tail length of 10-40 cm would have occurred using known methods and would have yielded predictable results.
For claim 25, Kim does not specify a distal tail configured to extend into a pulmonary artery main trunk and past at least one pulmonary artery branch, however, a distal tail length of 10-40cm is considered capable of this function.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUBA GANESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774