Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, this claim cites the limitation the “and [the outer tubular member] has an axial extent which is smaller than the axial extent of the inlet tubular portion so that the forward end of the outer tubular portion is intermediate the forward end of the inlet tubular portion,” This is unclear, as the plain meaning of the word “intermediate” is “coming between two things in time, place, order, characters, etc…” however the limitation does not cite what the forward end of the outer tubular portion is located between. For the purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “and [the outer tubular member] has an axial extent which is smaller than the axial extent of the inlet tubular portion so that the forward end of the outer tubular portion is rearward the forward end of the inlet tubular portion,”
Regarding Claim 6, the claim cites the limitation “which is an inner tubular portion” is unclear. As it is unclear if the bristle skirt is meant to meant to be an inner tubular portion or if or if the inlet tubular portion is meant to form an inner tubular portion. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as “wherein the bristle skirt has an axial extent which is larger than the axial extent of the inlet tubular portion so that the bristle skirt extends to protrude beyond the forward end of the inlet tubular portion, wherein the bristle skirt forms an inner tubular portion.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20120042469 A1) in view of Xue (CN 206744880 U).
Regarding Claim 1, Davis discloses:
A cleaning head for a powered suction source, comprising:
- a main body (10) comprising an inlet portion (28 and 26), an outlet portion (back side of 12, at 18) and an intermediate portion (12) which is an intermediate tubular portion interconnecting the inlet portion and the outlet portion (See Para [0023] “Reference is now made to FIGS. 1 and 2a illustrating the cleaning attachment assembly 10 of the present invention. The assembly 10 includes a main body 12 of tubular construction that defines a suction conduit 14 including an inlet 16 and an outlet 18.”);
- wherein the inlet portion comprises an inlet tubular portion (26) which defines an inlet nozzle (opening of 26) at its forward end (See Fig. 1, Examiner notes that Davis discloses a cleaning head using 1 of 2 forward attachments (24 and 26, See Para [0023] “The assembly 10 further includes a first cleaning attachment 24 and a second cleaning attachment 26. Either of the cleaning attachments 24, 26 may be alternatively secured to the main body 12 by means of the cleaning attachment mounting structure/projections 20, 22 as described in greater detail below.”) and that examiner is citing the embodiment utilizing the bristle brush attachment 26) and an inlet aperture (40) at forward end of the inlet nozzle (See Fig. 1);
- wherein the outlet portion (18) comprises an outlet tubular portion (rear portion of body 12) which defines an outlet nozzle at its rearward end (See Fig. 1 ) and an outlet aperture at rearward end of the outlet nozzle (opening at outlet 18), the outlet nozzle being configured for coupling to a powered suction source whereby suction and electrical power are to be received from the powered suction source (See Fig 3, showing rear end of 10 (where the outlet is located in Fig. 1) coupled to a Handle (H) of a suction cleaner, further See Para [0036] “Reference is now made to FIGS. 2a, 3 and 4a illustrating the cleaning attachment assembly 10 of the present invention attached directly to the control handle H of a floor care apparatus such as a canister vacuum cleaner.” Describing the attachment to a cleaner and further see Para [0037] “As illustrated in FIG. 4a, when the assembly 10 is fully seated and locked on the handle H, the air pathway 40 of the bristle brush cleaning attachment 26 and the suction conduit 14 of the main body 12 open completely to the suction inlet I and electrical connector C carried on the handle H. In the illustrated embodiment, the electrical connector C is of female configuration. As further illustrated in FIG. 4b, the end of the wand W includes a suction passage P and an electrical connector E. As illustrated, the electrical connector E is of male configuration so that when the handle H is connected to the wand W, the electrical connector E and the electrical connector C mate to form a complete electrical connection.” Discussing the electrical connection);
- a brush head (26) comprising a plurality of bristles (38) mounted on a bristle base (36), the plurality of bristles being arranged to form a bristle skirt (38) to surround the inlet nozzle (See Fig. 1 and 3 showing the bristles surrounding inlet nozzle 40); and
But does not explicitly disclose a drive mechanism configured to drive the bristle base whereby the bristle skirt is to rotate or oscillate about a rotation axis and about the inlet nozzle.
However, Xue discloses a similar cleaning attachment with a drive mechanism (15 and 13) configured to drive the bristle base (bristle arranged in a ring on 11, See Para [0020] “The bristles 1 are arranged in a ring on the turntable 11.”), whereby the bristle skirt is to rotate or oscillate about a rotation axis (axis parallel to shaft 13), and about the inlet nozzle (2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning head to include a drive mechanism configured to drive the bristle base whereby the bristle skirt is to rotate or oscillate about a rotation axis and about the inlet nozzle, as doing so would aid the cleaner in agitating debris from a surface to be cleaned to more easily suctioned, improving the cleaning effect as advantageously suggested by Xue In Para [0012] “Furthermore, the installed brush bristles can rotate with the motor, improving the cleaning effect.”.
Regarding Claim 2, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim wherein the inlet tubular portion (26) is a first tubular portion (26) which extends along a first axis (Longitudinal axis, dotted line seen in Fig. 1) which is a longitudinal center axis of the inlet tubular portion (See Fig. 1), the center axis defining a forward direction (Forward direction from 18 in the direction of 28, 26 and 40), and wherein the bristle skirt extends forwardly to protrude beyond the forward end of the inlet tubular portion (See Fig. 1, 2 and 3 showing the bristle skirt extend forward from 28) and define the forward end of the cleaning head (See Fig. 1, 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the bristle skirt (38) has an axial extent which is larger than the axial extent of the inlet tubular portion (26) so that the bristle skirt extends to protrude beyond the forward end of the inlet tubular portion (See Figures 1 and 2a showing bristle skirt extending forward from 26), which is an inner tubular portion (See Figs. 1 and 3 showing the bristle skirt forming a tubular portion surrounding 40).
Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20120042469 A1) in view of Xue (CN 206744880 U) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of SADAR (US 20190246853 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Davis discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the inlet portion (28) comprises an outer tubular portion (28, see Fig. 3) which defines an outer periphery of the inlet portion (See Figs. 1-3), the outer tubular portion having a forward end (bristle skirt 36) which is distal to the intermediate portion (12) and a rearward end (82, 86 rear end of 28) which is in abutment with the intermediate portion (12), wherein the outer tubular portion (28) is coaxial with and surrounds the inlet tubular portion (See Fig. 2a showing 28 surrounding 26 and 36), and wherein the outer tubular portion (28) and the inlet tubular portion (26) cooperate to define a bristle receptacle (slot 50, See Para [0027] “The slot 50 is received in a resilient tab 52 carried on the base 36.”) inside which the bristle base (36) is rotatably received (rotatable as modified by Xue in the rejection of Claim 1). But does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer tubular portion has an axial extent which is smaller than the axial extent of the inlet tubular portion so that the forward end of the outer tubular portion is intermediate the forward end of the inlet tubular portion.
However, Sadar discloses a similar hand cleaner with an outer tubular portion (312) and an inner tubular portion (310) wherein the inner tubular portion has a variable axial extent (see Figs 5 and 6, and Para [0071] “The toggle 308 may generally be described as being either latching or non-latching. When the toggle 308 is latching, the accessory 307 transitions between the brush tool 312 and the crevice tool 310 only when the toggle is transitioned, for example, from the first state to the second state. When the toggle 308 is non-latching, the accessory 307 transitions between the brush tool 312 and the crevice tool 310 when the toggle 308 is transitioned, for example, from the first state to the second state and from the second state to the first state.”), wherein in one operational state (Seen in Fig. 5) the outer tubular portion (312) has an axial extent which is smaller than the axial extend of the inlet tubular portion (310) so that the forward end of the outer tubular portion is intermediate the forward end of the inlet tubular portion (See Fig. 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the inner tubular portion to have a variable axial extend in such a way there is an operation state wherein the outer tubular portion has an axial extent which is smaller than the axial extent of the inlet tubular portion so that the forward end of the outer tubular portion is intermediate the forward end of the inlet tubular portion as advantageously disclosed Sadar as doing so will allow for a single accessory for a cleaner to perform multiple functions, enhancing the function of the tool head, see Sadar Para [0067] “The accessory 110 may include, for example, a crevice tool, a brush, and/or a wand. As will be discussed further herein, the accessory 110 has at least two operational states. This may allow a single accessory to perform multiple functions, allowing an operator of the surface treatment apparatus 100 to carry fewer accessories to perform a given cleaning task. In some instances, a plurality of accessories may be coupled to the surface treatment apparatus 100. For example, a wand may fluidly couple a crevice tool to the surface treatment apparatus 100, wherein at least one of the wand or the crevice tool have a plurality of operational states.”.
Regarding Claim 4, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and in addition discloses wherein the bristles of the bristle skirt (38 of Davis) are arranged to form a screen of bristles (See Figs. 1-3 of Davis) which defines a third tubular portion (Bristles form a tubular screen, see Figs. 1-3 of Davis), the third tubular portion being intermediate the inlet tubular portion and the outer tubular portion (As modified by Sadar, see Fig. 5 of Sadar showing a bristle screen intermediate between outer tubular portion 312 and inlet tubular portion 310).
Regarding Claim 5, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and in addition discloses wherein the bristle receptacle (50) has a forward-facing receptacle base which is in abutment with the bristle base (See 52 which is receives 50 in Fig. 2a) and the bristle skirt projects forwardly from the bristle base (See Figs. 1-3), and wherein the outer tubular portion has a forward end which surrounds the bristle base (See Para [0027] “Similarly, the bristle brush cleaning attachment 26 includes a third cleaning attachment mounting structure comprising two opposed slots 48, 50. The slot 50 is received in a resilient tab 52 carried on the base 36”).
Claim(s) 7-9, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20120042469 A1) in view of Xue (CN 206744880 U) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Riebel (US 2102221 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the drive mechanism (15 of Xue) comprises a motor (15 of Xue) having a motor shaft (13 of Xue) and a power coupling arrangement (turn table 11 of Xue) which is configured to couple driving power generated by the motor to the bristle base whereby the bristle skirt is rocked or rotated about a rotation axis which is a longitudinal center axis of the inlet tubular portion, (See Para [0021] of Xue “After the fan 15 starts working, the rotating shaft 13 drives the turntable 11 and the brush bristles 1 to rotate, cleaning the dust or dirt on the computer.”).
But does not disclose and wherein the motor is outside of and in abutment with the inlet portion and the motor shaft is parallel to and offset from the center axis.
Riebel discloses a cleaning head with an agitator brush driven by a secondary drive motor (See Page 1 of spec, Col 1 Line 6-16 “The general object of the invention is to provide, in this type of cleaner, a motor driven rotary agitator in the suction head. Another object is to provide a vacuum cleaner having a motor driven agitator which may be manually adjusted toward or from the carpet by simply lifting or lowering the handle. To the accomplishment of these ends, the invention contemplates the use of a secondary motor mounted directly upon the suction head and independent of the prime mover that drives the suction fan.” Via a belt 57) said secondary motor is outside of and in abutment with the inlet portion (See Page 2 of Spec Col 2 Line 9-17 “Referring now to Fig. 1 of the drawings, the specific embodiment of our invention therein illustrated comprises a prime mover in the form of an electric motor 10 secured to a fan casing 11 in which Is a suction producing fan which draws air into the fan casing 11 through a suction inlet 12 or 12a and a valve chamber 13 controlled by a transparent topped rotatable valve element 14.”) wherein the motor shaft (35) is parallel and offset from the central axis (See Fig 9, showing motor shaft 35 parallel and offset to the central axis of agitator 45).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning head of Davis as modified to include a drive motor secondary to a suction motor as doing allows for independent adjustment of the agitator brush as advantageously suggested by Riebel as cited above, and additionally doing so would allow for a user to independently toggle the agitator motor, allowing for the suction cleaner to be utilized without driving the brush ring or vice versa, improving the utility and power efficiency of the cleaner.
Examiner notes that Davis as modified discloses wherein the drive mechanism (15 of Xue) comprises a motor (10 of Riebel) having a motor shaft (35 of Riebel) and a power coupling arrangement (Belt 57 of Riebel) which is configured to couple driving power generated by the motor to the bristle base whereby the bristle skirt is rocked or rotated about a rotation axis which is a longitudinal center axis of the inlet tubular portion, (See Para [0021] of Xue “After the fan 15 starts working, the rotating shaft 13 drives the turntable 11 and the brush bristles 1 to rotate, cleaning the dust or dirt on the computer.”) and wherein the motor is outside of and in abutment with the inlet portion (See Fig. 9 of Reibel showing motor in housing 28 outside of an abutted to inlet 12), and the motor shaft (35 of Reibel) is parallel to and offset from the center axis (Central axis of 36 of Davis).
Regarding Claim 8, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 7 and in addition discloses wherein the drive mechanism (electric motor 10 of Riebel) comprises a power coupler (Drive belt 57, see Fig. 9) which extends through the inlet portion orthogonally in a direction orthogonal to the center axis to interconnect the bristle base and the motor (Belt 57 extends through the top wall of cleaning head of Riebel in the up-down direction orthogonal to the central axis of the agitator 45, See Fig. 15 and Spec Page 3 Col 1 Line 12-15 “Secured to the end of the shaft 35 is a drive pulley 56. A flat belt 57 connects the pulleys 55 and 56 and extends through an opening 58 in the top wall 21 of the suction head.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and in addition discloses wherein the bristle base (Davis 36) is configured as a wheel (36 is a ring See Fig. 1) having an inner periphery (inner surface of 36) which surrounds the inlet nozzle (aperture 40) and an outer periphery (Outer surface of 36) which surrounds the inner periphery (See Fig. 1 of Davis), wherein the drive mechanism (electric motor 10 of Riebel) is configured to couple driving power to the bristle base at the outer periphery of the bristle base. (36 of Davis would be connected to the electric motor 10 of Riebel via belt 57 attached around the outer periphery of bristle base 36, analogous to the connection between belt 57, shaft 35 and agitator 45 of Reibel)
Regarding Claim 12, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of 1 and in addition discloses wherein the main body (10) comprises an outer peripheral wall (exterior of 10 See Fig. 3) which defines an outer periphery of the inlet portion and the intermediate portion (External surface of 28, 26 36 and 40), but does not disclose wherein the drive mechanism is mounted inside a drive housing which is in abutment with the outer periphery.
However, Riebel discloses a cleaning head with an agitator brush driven by a secondary drive motor (See Page 1 of spec, Col 1 Line 6-16 “The general object of the invention is to provide, in this type of cleaner, a motor driven rotary agitator in the suction head. Another object is to provide a vacuum cleaner having a motor 1!) driven agitator which may be manually adjusted toward or from the carpet by simply lifting or lowering the handle. To the accomplishment of these ends, the invention contemplates the use of a secondary motor mounted directly upon the suction head and independent of the prime mover that drives the suction fan.” Via a belt 57) said secondary motor is mounted in a drive housing 28 and in abutment with the inlet portion (See Page 2 of Spec Col 2 Line 9-17 “Referring now to Fig. 1 of the drawings, the specific embodiment of our invention therein illustrated comprises a prime mover in the form of an electric motor I0 secured to a fan casing II in which Is a suction producing fan which draws air into the fan casing I I through a suction inlet 12 or 1 2a and a valve chamber 13 controlled by a transparent topped rotatable valve element 14.”) wherein the motor shaft (35) is parallel and offset from the central axis (See Fig 9, showing motor shaft 35 parallel and offset to the central axis of agitator 45).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning head of Davis as modified to include a drive motor secondary to a suction motor as doing allows for independent adjustment of the agitator brush as advantageously suggested by Riebel as cited above, and additionally doing so would allow for a user to independently toggle the agitator motor, allowing for the suction cleaner to be utilized without driving the brush ring or vice versa, improving the utility and power efficiency of the cleaner.
Regarding Claim 13, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 12 and in addition discloses wherein the drive housing (Riebel 28) is elongate (See Fig. 8 showing elongate motor housing) and extends along the inlet portion and the intermediate portion (Davis as modified by Riebel discloses a motor housing extending along an inlet portion (26 and 28 of Davis) and intermediate portion (12 of Davis).
Regarding Claim 14, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 12 and suggests but does not explicitly disclose wherein the drive mechanism (motor 10 of Riebel) comprises a power connector (electrical connector C of Davis and auxiliary conductor 110 of Riebel) but does not explicitly disclose a power connector which is configured to connect with the powered suction source to obtain electrical power to operate the drive mechanism, and wherein the power connector is disposed at a longitudinal end of the drive housing which is proximal to the outlet aperture of the outlet portion.
However, Riebel does disclose a drive motor (10) with a power connector (110) which is configured to connect with the powered suction source (12) to obtain electrical power to operate the drive mechanism (See Page 4, Col 1 Line 50-60 “The agitator motor is supplied with current through the auxiliary conductor 110 one end of which is provided with a socket plug I I I which is plugged into a socket 112 secured to the side of the motor 10. The socket 112 is positioned substantially midway between the lateral and front regions of the motor 10 so that the conductor 110 may project from the socket 112 in a straight line which is tangent to the broad curve J which it makes in half-looping around the neck 15 (Fig. 2).”), and wherein the power connector is disposed at a longitudinal end of the drive housing (See Fig. 8 of Riebel showing 10 connecting to housing 28 at the left end of the drive housing) which is proximal to the outlet aperture of the outlet portion (See Fig. 8 showing 110 connected to 28 proximally to outlet aperture 15).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electrical connector and motor housing of Davis as modified to power the drive mechanism in such a way that the power connector is disposed at a longitudinal end of the drive housing which is proximal to the outlet aperture of the outlet portion. As doing so would allow for the secondary drive mechanism for the brushes operate as intended and it has been held to shifting the location of a component or the particular placement a component such as the connector for a power connector would be an obvious matter of design choice, See MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20120042469 A1) in view of Xue (CN 206744880 U) and Riebel (US 2102221 A) as modified in claim 7 and in further view of Meyers (CN 1964646 A).
Regarding Claim 10, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 9 but does not disclose wherein the power coupler comprises a rocking arm which extends orthogonally from the outer periphery of the wheel to connect with an eccentric driving pin which is connected to the motor shaft.
Meyers discloses a similar electric brushing tool comprising a power coupler (hub 132) comprising a rocker arm (arms 156 and 158 of hub 132) which extends orthogonally from the outer periphery of the wheel (132 is integrally connected to Bristle base 14 Para [0055] “In an alternative embodiment, it should be recognized that the hub 132 can be integrally formed with the brush head 14.” Arms 156 and 158 extend in an orthogonal direction to shaft 126 which is part of the bristle base 14, See Figs. 5 and 7 and Para [0054] “Returning to Figure 5, the brush head 14 includes an annular support plate 112, which, as discussed above, has a top surface 114. The main shaft 126 protrudes from the top surface 114.”) to connect with an eccentric driving pin (116) which is connected to the motor shaft (102, see Fig. 8).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the belt power coupler of Davis as modified for the rocker arm configuration as advantageously disclosed by Meyers as doing so would allow for one to provide for a more compact construction of the cleaner, as stated as desirable by Meyers (Para [0004] “While traditional sponges and brushes can certainly be used to clean corners and other hard-to-reach areas, the structure and large size of these traditional cleaners make them difficult to reach these areas. Users often need to apply considerable force with the tips or ends of their fingers to get the cleaner into the crevices or corners to be cleaned. Such cleaning is tiring and often leads to cramps in the hands and/or fingers.”).
Regarding Claim 11 Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 9 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the bristle base is a teethed wheel and the drive mechanism comprise a teethed wheel which is in engagement with the bristle base to transmit driving power thereto.
However, Meyer discloses a similar electric brushing device, wherein the bristle base (114) is a teethed wheel (bristle base 14 forms a wheel onto which the bristles are located, shaft 126 protrudes from the other side of the base 14, and comprises two teeth 130, See Para [0054] “Returning to Figure 5, the brush head 14 includes an annular support plate 112, which, as discussed above, has a top surface 114. The main shaft 126 protrudes from the top surface 114. The spindle 126 includes a central shaft 128 having arms 130 projecting from each of its sides.”) and the drive mechanism (hub 342) comprise a teethed wheeled component (teeth surrounding gaps 150) which is engagement with the bristle base to transmit driving power thereto (See Para [0081] “Side passage 358 extends through sides 350 and 351 adjacent to bottom surface 354 and intersects with passage 356. The side channel 358 is configured such that when the main shaft 126 is accommodated within the channel 356, the arm 130 is accommodated within the side channel 358, thereby interlocking the hub 342 with the brush head 14.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the belt power coupler of Davis as modified with teethed as advantageously disclosed by Meyers as doing so would allow for one to provide for a more compact construction of the cleaner, as stated as desirable by Meyers (Para [0004] “While traditional sponges and brushes can certainly be used to clean corners and other hard-to-reach areas, the structure and large size of these traditional cleaners make them difficult to reach these areas. Users often need to apply considerable force with the tips or ends of their fingers to get the cleaner into the crevices or corners to be cleaned. Such cleaning is tiring and often leads to cramps in the hands and/or fingers.”).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20120042469 A1) in view of Xue (CN 206744880 U) and Riebel (US 2102221 A) as modified in claim 12 and in further view of Meyers (CN 1964646 A).
Regarding Claim 15, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 12 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the inlet portion extends along a first axial direction, and the intermediate portion extends along a second axial direction which is at a non-zero angle to the first axial direction; and wherein the drive housing comprises a first portion which is in abutment with the inlet portion and extends along the first axial direction, and a second portion which is in abutment with the intermediate portion and extends along the second axial direction.
However, Meyers discloses a similar brush cleaner with a bristle base (14, analogous to the inlet) extends along a first axial direction (see axis 127 in Fig. 6) and the intermediate portion (6) extends along a second axial direction (see axis 118 in Fig. 6) which is at a non-zero angle to the first axial direction (See angle theta shown in Fig. 6 and further see Para [0062] “Once the cleaning device 4 is powered, the brush 16 can be biased onto the surface to be cleaned.
Note that brush 16 is positioned relative to housing 36 to optimize convenience and usability.
For example, referring to FIG6, in one embodiment, the brush 16 protrudes relative to the central longitudinal axis of the body assembly 5 or the head assembly 6, thereby forming a set interior angle θ therewith, which is typically in the range of about 90° to about 180°, and more generally in the range of about 110° to about 140°. Other angles can also be used. In other words, the rotation axis 127 of the brush head 14 or brush 16 intersects the rotation axis 38 of the drive shaft or the central longitudinal axis 118 of the housing 36, thus forming the interior angle θ discussed above. By setting the interior angle θ to approximately 110° to approximately 140°, the user can more easily place and use the brush 16 while gripping the housing 36.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet portion and the intermediate portion of the cleaning head of Davis as modified to be offset by a non-zero angle as advantageously suggested by Meyers as doing so would assist in reaching small or hard to reach areas during a cleaning operation as advantageously suggested by Meyers See Para [0038] “This invention relates to a cleaning device having a reciprocating or rotary brush head. The cleaning devices are generally designed to clean small, hard-to-reach areas such as crevices, corners, recesses, and cracks. For example, the cleaning device can be used to clean corners on top of countertops and around faucets in showers. The cleaning device can also be used for stain-removing materials such as fabrics and carpets. However, it should be noted that the device can be used to clean any type of surface in commercial or residential settings, or for any other application.”.
Examiner notes that further modifying Davis as modified in such a way would disclose wherein the drive housing (28 or Riebel) comprises a first portion (wall 29 See Fig. 9 of Riebel) which is in abutment with the inlet portion (28 and 26 of Davis) and extends along the first axial direction (127 of Meyers), and would result in a second portion (wall 38 or 37 of Riebel) being in abutment with the intermediate portion (12 of Davis) and extends along the second axial direction (118 of Meyers).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20120042469 A1) in view of Xue (CN 206744880 U) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Meyers (CN 1964646 A).
Regarding Claim 16, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose Wherein the inlet portion and the intermediate portion cooperate to define a junction having a junction angle of between 115 and 165 degrees.
But Meyers discloses a similar brushing device that specifically discloses wherein the inlet portion and the intermediate portion cooperate to define a junction having a junction angle of between 115 and 165 degrees (See Meyers Para [0062] “For example, referring to FIG6, in one embodiment, the brush 16 protrudes relative to the central longitudinal axis of the body assembly 5 or the head assembly 6, thereby forming a set interior angle θ therewith, which is typically in the range of about 90° to about 180°, and more generally in the range of about 110° to about 140°. Other angles can also be used.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet portion and the intermediate portion of the cleaning head of Davis as modified to be offset by a non-zero angle as advantageously suggested by Meyers as doing so would assist in reaching small or hard to reach areas during a cleaning operation as advantageously suggested by Meyers See Para [0038] “This invention relates to a cleaning device having a reciprocating or rotary brush head. The cleaning devices are generally designed to clean small, hard-to-reach areas such as crevices, corners, recesses, and cracks. For example, the cleaning device can be used to clean corners on top of countertops and around faucets in showers. The cleaning device can also be used for stain-removing materials such as fabrics and carpets. However, it should be noted that the device can be used to clean any type of surface in commercial or residential settings, or for any other application.”.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20120042469 A1) in view of Xue (CN 206744880 U).
Regarding Claim 17, Davis discloses A suction cleaning apparatus comprising a powered suction source and a cleaning head (See Para [0004] “In accordance with the purposes and advantages of the present invention as described herein, a cleaning attachment assembly is provided for a floor care apparatus.”), wherein the cleaning head comprises:
a main body (10) comprising an inlet portion (28 and 26), an outlet portion (back side of 12, at 18) and an intermediate portion (12) which is an intermediate tubular portion interconnecting the inlet portion and the outlet portion (See Para [0023] “Reference is now made to FIGS. 1 and 2a illustrating the cleaning attachment assembly 10 of the present invention. The assembly 10 includes a main body 12 of tubular construction that defines a suction conduit 14 including an inlet 16 and an outlet 18.”);
- wherein the inlet portion comprises an inlet tubular portion (26) which defines an inlet nozzle (opening of 26) at its forward end (See Fig. 1, Examiner notes that Davis discloses a cleaning head using 1 of 2 forward attachments (24 and 26, See Para [0023] “The assembly 10 further includes a first cleaning attachment 24 and a second cleaning attachment 26. Either of the cleaning attachments 24, 26 may be alternatively secured to the main body 12 by means of the cleaning attachment mounting structure/projections 20, 22 as described in greater detail below.”) and that examiner is citing the embodiment utilizing the bristle brush attachment 26) and an inlet aperture (40) at forward end of the inlet nozzle (See Fig. 1);
- wherein the outlet portion (18) comprises an outlet tubular portion (rear portion of body 12) which defines an outlet nozzle at its rearward end (See Fig. 1 ) and an outlet aperture at rearward end of the outlet nozzle (opening at outlet 18), the outlet nozzle being configured for coupling to a powered suction source whereby suction and electrical power are to be received from the powered suction source (See Fig 3, showing rear end of 10 (where the outlet is located in Fig. 1) coupled to a Handle (H) of a suction cleaner, further See Para [0036] “Reference is now made to FIGS. 2a, 3 and 4a illustrating the cleaning attachment assembly 10 of the present invention attached directly to the control handle H of a floor care apparatus such as a canister vacuum cleaner.” Describing the attachment to a cleaner and further see Para [0037] “As illustrated in FIG. 4a, when the assembly 10 is fully seated and locked on the handle H, the air pathway 40 of the bristle brush cleaning attachment 26 and the suction conduit 14 of the main body 12 open completely to the suction inlet I and electrical connector C carried on the handle H. In the illustrated embodiment, the electrical connector C is of female configuration. As further illustrated in FIG. 4b, the end of the wand W includes a suction passage P and an electrical connector E. As illustrated, the electrical connector E is of male configuration so that when the handle H is connected to the wand W, the electrical connector E and the electrical connector C mate to form a complete electrical connection.” Discussing the electrical connection);
- a brush head (26) comprising a plurality of bristles (38) mounted on a bristle base (36), the plurality of bristles being arranged to form a bristle skirt (38) to surround the inlet nozzle (See Fig. 1 and 3 showing the bristles surrounding inlet nozzle 40); and
But does not explicitly disclose a drive mechanism configured to drive the bristle base whereby the bristle skirt is to rotate or oscillate about a rotation axis and about the inlet nozzle.
However, Xue discloses a similar cleaning attachment with a drive mechanism (15 and 13) configured to drive the bristle base (bristle arranged in a ring on 11, See Para [0020] “The bristles 1 are arranged in a ring on the turntable 11.”), whereby the bristle skirt is to rotate or oscillate about a rotation axis (axis parallel to shaft 13), and about the inlet nozzle (2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning head to include a drive mechanism configured to drive the bristle base whereby the bristle skirt is to rotate or oscillate about a rotation axis and about the inlet nozzle, as doing so would aid the cleaner in agitating debris from a surface to be cleaned to more easily suctioned, improving the cleaning effect as advantageously suggested by Xue In Para [0012] “Furthermore, the installed brush bristles can rotate with the motor, improving the cleaning effect.”.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20120042469 A1) in view of Xue (CN 206744880 U) as modified in claim 17 and in further view of Riebel (US 2102221 A).
Regarding Claim 18 Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 17 and in addition discloses wherein the drive mechanism (15 of Xue) comprises a motor (15 of Xue) having a motor shaft (13 of Xue) and a power coupling arrangement (turn table 11 of Xue) which is configured to couple driving power generated by the motor to the bristle base whereby the bristle skirt is rocked or rotated about a rotation axis which is a longitudinal center axis of the inlet tubular portion, (See Para [0021] of Xue “After the fan 15 starts working, the rotating shaft 13 drives the turntable 11 and the brush bristles 1 to rotate, cleaning the dust or dirt on the computer.”).
But does not disclose and wherein the motor is outside of and in abutment with the inlet portion and the motor shaft is parallel to and offset from the center axis.
Riebel discloses a cleaning head with an agitator brush driven by a secondary drive motor (See Page 1 of spec, Col 1 Line 6-16 “The general object of the invention is to provide, in this type of cleaner, a motor driven rotary agitator in the suction head. Another object is to provide a vacuum cleaner having a motor 1!) driven agitator which may be manually adjusted toward or from the carpet by simply lifting or lowering the handle. To the accomplishment of these ends, the invention contemplates the use of a secondary motor mounted directly upon the suction head and independent of the prime mover that drives the suction fan.” Via a belt 57) said secondary motor is outside of and in abutment with the inlet portion (See Page 2 of Spec Col 2 Line 9-17 “Referring now to Fig. 1 of the drawings, the specific embodiment of our invention therein illustrated comprises a prime mover in the form of an electric motor I0 secured to a fan casing II in which Is a suction producing fan which draws air into the fan casing I I through a suction inlet 12 or 1 2a and a valve chamber 13 controlled by a transparent topped rotatable valve element 14.”) wherein the motor shaft (35) is parallel and offset from the central axis (See Fig 9, showing motor shaft 35 parallel and offset to the central axis of agitator 45).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning head of Davis as modified to include a drive motor secondary to a suction motor as doing allows for independent adjustment of the agitator brush as advantageously suggested by Riebel as cited above, and additionally doing so would allow for a user to independently toggle the agitator motor, allowing for the suction cleaner to be utilized without driving the brush ring or vice versa, improving the utility and power efficiency of the cleaner.
Examiner notes that Davis as modified discloses wherein the drive mechanism (15 of Xue) comprises a motor (10 of Riebel) having a motor shaft (35 of Riebel) and a power coupling arrangement (Belt 57 of Riebel) which is configured to couple driving power generated by the motor to the bristle base whereby the bristle skirt is rocked or rotated about a rotation axis which is a longitudinal center axis of the inlet tubular portion, (See Para [0021] of Xue “After the fan 15 starts working, the rotating shaft 13 drives the turntable 11 and the brush bristles 1 to rotate, cleaning the dust or dirt on the computer.”) and wherein the motor is outside of and in abutment with the inlet portion (See Fig. 9 of Reibel showing motor in housing 28 outside of an abutted to inlet 12), and the motor shaft (35 of Reibel) is parallel to and offset from the center axis (Central axis of 36 of Davis).
Regarding Claim 19, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 18 and in addition discloses wherein the bristle base (Davis 36) is configured as a wheel (36 is a ring See Fig. 1) having an inner periphery (inner surface of 36) which surrounds the inlet nozzle (aperture 40) and an outer periphery (Outer surface of 36) which surrounds the inner periphery (See Fig. 1 of Davis), wherein the drive mechanism (electric motor 10 of Riebel) is configured to couple driving power to the bristle base at the outer periphery of the bristle base. (36 of Davis would be connected to the electric motor 10 of Riebel via belt 57 attached around the outer periphery of bristle base 36, analogous to the connection between belt 57, shaft 35 and agitator 45 of Reibel).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 20120042469 A1) in view of Xue (CN 206744880 U) and Riebel (US 2102221 A) as modified in claim 18 and in further view of Meyers (CN 1964646 A).
Regarding Claim 20, Davis as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 19 and in addition disclose wherein the drive mechanism (electric motor 10 of Riebel) comprises a power coupler (Drive belt 57, see Fig. 9) which extends through the inlet portion orthogonally in a direction orthogonal to the center axis to interconnect the bristle base and the motor (Belt 57 extends through the top wall of cleaning head of Riebel in the up-down direction orthogonal to the central axis of the agitator 45, See Fig. 15 and Spec Page 3 Col 1 Line 12-15 “Secured to the end of the shaft 35 is a drive pulley 56. A flat belt 57 connects the pulleys 55 and 56 and extends through an opening 58 in the top wall 21 of the suction head.”) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the power coupler comprises a rocking arm which extends orthogonally from the outer periphery of the wheel to connect with an eccentric driving pin which is connected to the motor shaft.
Meyers discloses a similar electric brushing tool comprising a power coupler (hub 132) comprising a rocker arm (arms 156 and 158 of hub 132) which extends orthogonally from the outer periphery of the wheel (132 is integrally connected to Bristle base 14 Para [0055] “In an alternative embodiment, it should be recognized that the hub 132 can be integrally formed with the brush head 14.” Arms 156 and 158 extend in an orthogonal direction to shaft 126 which is part of the bristle base 14, See Figs. 5 and 7 and Para [0054] “Returning to Figure 5, the brush head 14 includes an annular support plate 112, which, as discussed above, has a top surface 114. The main shaft 126 protrudes from the top surface 114.”) to connect with an eccentric driving pin (116) which is connected to the motor shaft (102, see Fig. 8).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the belt power coupler of Davis as modified for the rocker arm configuration as advantageously disclosed by Meyers as doing so would allow for one to provide for a more compact construction of the cleaner, as stated as desirable by Meyers (Para [0004] “While traditional sponges and brushes can certainly be used to clean corners and other hard-to-reach areas, the structure and large size of these traditional cleaners make them difficult to reach these areas. Users often need to apply considerable force with the tips or ends of their fingers to get the cleaner into the crevices or corners to be cleaned. Such cleaning is tiring and often leads to cramps in the hands and/or fingers.”).
Conclusion
/T.J.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723