DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 03/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 14 are amended. Claims 17-20 are new. Support for the new and amended claims is found in page 5 of the instant specification, as well as figures 8-10. In view of Applicant’s amendment, all previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 10, 14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asanuma (JP 2012134108 A).
Regarding claim 1, Asanuma discloses a secondary battery (paragraph 0018) comprising: an electrode assembly in which first and second electrodes and a separator provided between the first and second electrodes are wound (paragraph 0020, figure 1), the first and second electrodes each comprising a non-coated portion disposed at a long side end thereof, exposed to an outside of the separator, and having no active material applied thereto (paragraphs 0020, 0022, figure 1); and a current collecting plate provided at one end of the electrode assembly at which the non- coated portion of the first electrode is exposed (paragraph 0026, negative collector 28), the current collecting plate comprising a top surface, a bottom surface and a central portion corresponding to a core of the electrode assembly (paragraph 0026, figure 1-2), wherein the central portion comprises a first welding portion having a top surface and a bottom surface (paragraph 0030, figure 2, tongue piece 50), a distance between the top surface of the first welding portion and the bottom surface of the first welding portion defining a thickness, the thickness being smaller than a thickness of a remaining portion of the current collecting plate (paragraph 0030, figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma further discloses wherein a ratio between an average thickness of the first welding portion and the thickness of the remaining portion of the current collecting plate is 0.4:1 to 0.9:1 (paragraphs 0029-30, tongue portion is set to 0.2mm, remaining collector is 0.4mm, resulting in a ratio of 0.5:1, within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 10, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma further discloses wherein the second welding portion is positioned to be spaced apart from an edge of the current collecting plate (figure 2, tongue portion 40 is spaced from the edge).
Regarding claim 14, Asanuma discloses a current collecting plate for a secondary battery having an electrode assembly made by stacking and winding a first electrode, a separator, and a second electrode (paragraphs 0018, 0020, 0026, figures 1-2), the first electrode including a first electrode current collector and an electrode active material layer provided on the first electrode current collector, wherein a non-coated portion of the first electrode, on which the electrode active material layer is not provided, is provided at a long side end based on a winding direction of the current collector (paragraphs 0020, 0022, figure 1), the current collecting plate comprising: a top surface and a bottom surface, a distance between the top surface and the bottom surface defining a thickness of the current collecting plate; and a central portion corresponding to a core of the electrode assembly, the central portion comprising a first welding portion having a top surface and a bottom surface (paragraph 0030, figure 2, tongue piece 50), a distance between the top surface of the first welding portion and the bottom surface of the first welding portion defining a smaller thickness than a remaining portion the thickness of the current collecting plate (paragraph 0030, figure 4).
Regarding claim 18, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma further discloses that the central portion is a recess in the top surface of the current collecting plate (paragraph 0030, figure 4, tongue piece 50).
Regarding claim 20, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma further discloses that edges of the central portion are rounded (figure 2, tongue piece 50 includes rounded edges).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma (JP 2012134108 A) in view of Kim (US 20080026291 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein the thickness of the first welding portion gradually decreases in a direction from outside to inside the first welding portion.
Kim discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a current collecting plate including a body with a first thickness and grooves having welding portions (Kim paragraph 0017). Kim further discloses that the welding grooves have a cross-sectional shape wherein the thickness decreases from an outside to an inside (Kim paragraph 0057, figures 3 and 5-6). The reference teaches that the groove structure allows so that the heat from the welding cannot dissipate before welding is completed (Kim paragraph 0060). Kim and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose collector plates with welding portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the welding region disclosed by Asanuma to include the shape of the welding groove disclosed by Kim. Doing so would improve weldability.
Regarding claim 20, Hideyuki discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hideyuki is silent regarding wherein edges of the central portion are rounded.
Kim discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a current collecting plate including a body with a first thickness and grooves having welding portions (Kim paragraph 0017). Kim further discloses that the welding grooves are a decreased thickness portion wherein the bottom surface remains coplanar with the remaining portion of the current collector (Kim paragraphs 0042-0049, figures 3, 5-6). The reference teaches that the groove structure allows so that the heat from the welding cannot dissipate before welding is completed (Kim paragraph 0060). Kim and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose collector plates with welding portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the welding region disclosed by Asanuma to include the coplanar structure of the welding groove disclosed by Kim for the first welding portion. Doing so would improve weldability.
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma (JP 2012134108 A) in view of Nakanishi (US 20020142211 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein an average thickness of the first welding portion is 0.05 cm or more and 0.5 cm or less.
Nakanishi discloses a current collector plate comprising protrusions welded to the battery assembly (Nakanishi paragraphs 0055-0059, figures 9-11). Nakanishi further discloses that the thickness of the protrusions is less than the remainder of the collector plate and is 0.5mm in one example (Nakanishi paragraphs 0070, 0170, figure 15, equivalent to 0.5cm, within the claimed range). The reference teaches that the thickness provides improves efficiency and welding energy (Nakanishi paragraph 0071). Nakanishi and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose current collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate disclosed by Asanuma to have the welding region thickness disclosed by Nakanishi. Doing so would improve efficiency and reduce the required welding energy.
Regarding claim 17, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein an average thickness of the first welding portion is 0.05 cm or more.
Nakanishi discloses a current collector plate comprising protrusions welded to the battery assembly (Nakanishi paragraphs 0055-0059, figures 9-11). Nakanishi further discloses that the thickness of the protrusions is less than the remainder of the collector plate and is 0.5mm in one example (Nakanishi paragraphs 0070, 0170, figure 15, equivalent to 0.5cm, within the claimed range). The reference teaches that the thickness provides improves efficiency and welding energy (Nakanishi paragraph 0071). Nakanishi and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose current collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate welding region disclosed by Asanuma to have the welding region thickness disclosed by Nakanishi. Doing so would improve efficiency and reduce the required welding energy.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma (JP 2012134108 A) in view of Khakhalev (US 20180182560 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein the current collecting plate further comprises four legs, each leg having one end connected to the central portion and extending from the central portion in an outer peripheral direction of the electrode assembly, and wherein the four legs are positioned to be spaced apart from one another in a winding direction of the electrode assembly.
Khakhalev discloses a collector plate including a body and one or more apertures extending into the body (Khakhalev paragraph 0008). Khakhalev further discloses that the collector can include four support members, and the support members include welding portions (Khakhalev paragraphs 0046, 0058, 0061, figures 3 and 6b, support members 102 and 102b, equivalent to legs, and welds 108). The reference teaches that the support members improve structural support and rigidity, and increase reliability of attachment (Khakhalev paragraphs 0046, 0056). Khakhalev and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose current collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate disclosed by Asanuma to include the support members disclosed by Khakhalev. Doing so would improve support and reliability of attachment for the plate.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma (JP 2012134108 A) in view of Lin et al. (US 20110117427 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma further discloses a battery can configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (paragraph 0013), the battery can comprising an opening portion; a cap plate configured to seal the opening portion of the battery can (paragraph 0025,figure 1, sealing plate 18); and an electrode terminal coupled to the first welding portion of the current collecting plate by welding (paragraph 0026, figure 1). Asanuma is silent regarding the electrode terminal being riveted to the battery can.
Lin discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a casing and a wound electrode assembly (Lin paragraphs 0044-0045, figure 3A). Lin further discloses that each conductive terminal in the battery is riveted to the sealing cover attached to the casing through the use of rivets and insulation washers (Lin paragraphs 0050-0051, figure 3A, rivets 175, conductive terminal 160’, sealing cover 140). The reference teaches that due to this sealing configuration, internal contact impedance of the battery can effectively remain minimal, enabling an optimal power output performance of the battery (Lin paragraph 0053). Lin and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose wound electrode secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filng date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Asanuma to include the terminal attachment configuration disclosed by Lin. Doing so would enable an optimal power output performance of the battery.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma (JP 2012134108 A) in view of Jang et al. (WO2019168284, US 20200144686 A1 used as English equivalent).
Regarding claim 15, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma is silent regarding a battery pack comprising a plurality of secondary batteries
Jang discloses a cylindrical jelly-roll secondary battery comprising a cap assembly on the upper end of the case, and protective layer formed on an inner surface of the case (Jang paragraph 0022). Jang further discloses a battery pack including cylindrical secondary batteries (Jang paragraph 0034). The reference teaches that in order to manufacture a high-capacity and high-voltage battery, a plurality of battery cells is connected to each other in series and/or in parallel to manufacture a battery module or a battery pack (paragraph 0007). Jang and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose cylindrical wound secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Asanuma to be included in a battery pack as disclosed by Jang for the purpose of providing a high-capacity and high-voltage battery.
Regarding claim 16, modified Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 15. Asanuma further discloses a vehicle comprising the battery (paragraphs 0002, 0004).
Claims 2, 6, 8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma (JP 2012134108 A) in view of Khakhalev (US 20180182560 A1) and Kim (US 20080026291 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 1. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein the current collecting plate further comprises two or more legs, each leg having one end connected to the central portion and extending from the central portion in an outer peripheral direction of the electrode assembly, and wherein each leg comprises a second welding portion having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the remaining portion of the current collecting plate except for the first welding portion.
Khakhalev discloses a collector plate including a body and one or more apertures extending into the body (Khakhalev paragraph 0008). Khakhalev further discloses that the collector can include four support members, and the support members include welding portions (Khakhalev paragraphs 0046, 0058, 0061, figures 3 and 6b, support members 102 and 102b, equivalent to legs, and welds 108). The reference teaches that the support members improve structural support and rigidity, and increase reliability of attachment (Khakhalev paragraphs 0046, 0056). Khakhalev and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose current collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate disclosed by Asanuma to include the support members disclosed by Khakhalev. Doing so would improve support and reliability of attachment for the plate.
Asanuma in view of Khakhalev is silent regarding the second welding portion having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the remaining portion of the current collecting plate except for the first welding portion.
Kim discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a current collecting plate including a body with a first thickness and grooves having welding portions (Kim paragraph 0017). Kim further discloses that the welding grooves extend radially from the center and have a smaller thickness than the remainder of the plate (Kim paragraphs 0042, 0048, figures 2-3). The reference teaches that the thickness being less than the remaining region of the collector plate allows laser welding to be more suitably performed (Kim paragraphs 0049-0051). Kim and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate of modified Asanuma by including the welding grooves disclosed by Kim on the welding portions disclosed by Khakhalev. Doing so would allow for more suitable welding of the structure.
Regarding claim 6, modified Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 2. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein a ratio between an average thickness of the second welding portion and the thickness of the remaining portion of the current collecting plate except for the first welding portion is 0.4:1 to 0.9:1.
Kim discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a current collecting plate including a body with a first thickness and grooves having welding portions (Kim paragraph 0017). Kim further discloses that the thickness of the welding portion may be 0.1mm to 0.2mm (Kim paragraph 0049, figure 3, T2), and the thickness of the remaining portion of the plate is 0.4mm to 0.8mm (Kim paragraph 0043, figure 3, T1), resulting in a ratio of 0.5:1 when T1 is 0.4mm and T2 0.2mm, within the claimed range. Kim further discloses that the thicknesses improve efficiency, manufacturing costs, and weldability of the collector portions (Kim paragraphs 0044, 0049). Kim and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate disclosed by modified Asanuma to include the thicknesses disclosed by Kim. Doing so would thicknesses improve efficiency, manufacturing costs, and weldability of the collector portions.
Regarding claim 8, modified Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 2. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein the second welding portions respectively included in the two or more legs have a same sized area.
Kim discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a current collecting plate including a body with a first thickness and grooves having welding portions (Kim paragraph 0017). Kim further discloses that the welding grooves are set to a shape and predetermined thickness, and extend radially from the center (Kim paragraphs 0018, 0049, figure 3, T2, equivalent to the same sized areas as the cross sectional shapes and dimensions are equivalent). The reference teaches that the sizes improve efficiency, manufacturing costs, and weldability of the collector portions (Kim paragraphs 0044, 0049). Kim and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate disclosed by modified Asanuma to include the same sized welding portions disclosed by Kim. Doing so would thicknesses improve efficiency, manufacturing costs, and weldability of the collector portions.
Regarding claim 11, modified Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 2. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein the second welding portion is positioned to be spaced apart from an edge of the current collecting plate.
Khakhalev discloses a collector plate including a body and one or more apertures extending into the body (Khakhalev paragraph 0008). Khakhalev further discloses that the collector can include four support members, and the support members include welding portions (Khakhalev paragraphs 0046, 0058, 0061, figures 3 and 6b, support members 102 and 102b, equivalent to legs, and welds 108). The weld portions are spaced from the edge of the collector plate (figure 3, welds 108, support member 103). The reference teaches that the support members improve structural support and rigidity, and increase reliability of attachment (Khakhalev paragraphs 0046, 0056). Khakhalev and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose current collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate disclosed by Asanuma to include the support members including the welding regions spaced from the edge as disclosed by Khakhalev. Doing so would improve support and reliability of attachment for the plate.
Regarding claim 12, modified Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 2. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein the first and second welding portions are positioned to be spaced apart from each other.
Khakhalev discloses a collector plate including a body and one or more apertures extending into the body (Khakhalev paragraph 0008). Khakhalev further discloses that the collector can include four support members, and the support members include welding portions (Khakhalev paragraphs 0046, 0058, 0061, figures 3 and 6b, support members 102 and 102b, equivalent to legs, and welds 108). The weld portions are spaced from the central portion of the collector plate (paragraph 0060, figure 3, welds 108, central portion 105). The reference teaches that the support members improve structural support and rigidity, and increase reliability of attachment (Khakhalev paragraphs 0046, 0056). Khakhalev and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose current collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate disclosed by Asanuma to include the support members including the welding regions spaced from the central portion as disclosed by Khakhalev. Doing so would improve support and reliability of attachment for the plate.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma (JP 2012134108 A) in view of Khakhalev (US 20180182560 A1) and Kim (US 20080026291 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nakanishi (US 20020142211 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Asanuma discloses the limitations of claim 2. Asanuma is silent regarding wherein an average thickness of the second welding portion is 0.05 cm or more and 0.5 cm or less.
Nakanishi discloses a current collector plate comprising protrusions welded to the battery assembly (Nakanishi paragraphs 0055-0059, figures 9-11). Nakanishi further discloses that the thickness of the protrusions is less than the remainder of the collector plate and is 0.5mm in one example (Nakanishi paragraphs 0070, 0170, figure 15, equivalent to 0.5cm, within the claimed range). The reference teaches that the thickness provides improves efficiency and welding energy (Nakanishi paragraph 0071). Nakanishi and Asanuma are analogous because they both disclose current collector plates with welding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the collector plate second welding regions disclosed by modified Asanuma to have the welding region thickness disclosed by Nakanishi. Doing so would improve efficiency and reduce the required welding energy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727