DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group VI in the reply filed on 12/19/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the elected group shares a single inventive concept with group V. This is not found persuasive for the reasons of record and further established of the lack of a common special technical feature by the prior art rejection below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 43-44, 50 & 66 are considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 43-44 & 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng (WO 2018/089693).
Cheng discloses treating [0190] a subject with a chronic inflammatory disease wherein they determine the presence of an inflammatory disease (including IBD, and ankylosing spondylitis – [0212] by determining the level of LCN2 or MMP9 in a serum sample [0013]; [0192, 0193]. Cheng discloses that both LCN2 and MMP9 serum levels are indicative of chronic inflammatory disease such as IBD and axial spondyloarthritis.
Cheng further discloses a method for determining or monitoring efficacy of the treatment (with the IL-23R inhibitor) of a subject having an inflammatory disease comprising determining the level of LCN2 in a serum sample, wherein if the level is reduced as compared to a pre-determined cut-off value or the level before treatment, the treatment is considered to be efficacious and adjusting treatment accordingly [0193] (as in claim 50).
The reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-44, 50 & 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng and Mann 20190330328.
Cheng discloses treating [0190] a subject with a chronic inflammatory disease wherein they determine the presence of an inflammatory disease (including IBD, and ankylosing spondylitis – [0212] by determining the level of LCN2 or MMP9 in a serum sample [0013]; [0192, 0193]. Cheng discloses that both LCN2 and MMP9 serum levels are indicative of chronic inflammatory disease such as IBD and axial spondyloarthritis.
Cheng further discloses a method for determining or monitoring efficacy of the treatment of a subject having an inflammatory disease comprising determining the level of LCN2 in a scrum sample, wherein if the level is reduced as compared to a pre-determined cut-off value or the level before treatment, the treatment is considered to be efficacious and adjusting treatment accordingly [0193] (as in claim 50).
Cheng does not specifically teach all the anti-inflammatory drugs claimed by applicant (claim 44) or the clinical observations of successful treatment, e.g. reduction and pain however it would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to use any old and well known anti-inflammatory drug to treat the inflammation of the patients in Cheng and also to use clinical evaluations to further determine the success of the treatment as the use of conventional treatments, e.g. NSAIDS and clinical observations are notoriously old and well known in the treatment of inflammatory conditions. Mann adds further [0043] that NSAIDS are known for treating axial spondyloarthritis as is the measuring of corresponding pain.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “… the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657