DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Applicant Response to Official Action
The responses filed on 12/6/2025 and 4/2/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Acknowledgment
Claims 1, 5, 8-9, and 19 amended on 12/6/2025, are acknowledged by the examiner.
The Final Office action mailed out on 2/2/2026 was vacated and is replaced by this Final Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 19, and their dependent claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Linde (US Patent 10,504,243 B2), (“Linde”).
Regarding claim 1, Linde meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A head wearable apparatus (a head-mounted display tracking system) [Linde: col. 1, line 8-9; Figs. 1-2B], comprising: a lens assembly (an optical assembly 325) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3] including a lens module ((The optical assembly 325 includes a plurality of optical elements. Example optical elements included in the optical assembly 325 include: an aperture, a Fresnel lens, a convex lens, a concave lens, a filter, a reflecting surface, or any other suitable optical element that affects image light. Moreover, the optical assembly 325 may include combinations of different optical elements) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3]; (The lens is one or more optical elements of a camera) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3]) coupled to at least one surface of a frame of the head wearable apparatus ((the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the optical assembly 325) [Linde: col. 11, line 7-9]; (the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the HMD 305) [Linde: col. 11, line 1-2; Fig. 1, 2A, 2B]; (As illustrated in FIG. 2A, HMD 100 includes the cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 located along an edge of the front surface of the HMD 100) [Linde: col. 7, line 12-14; Figs. 1, 2A, 2B]) – Note: Linde discloses that the eye tracking system is integrated into the optical assembly and into the HMD. Hence, the optical assembly is coupled to the HMD. Fig. 1, 2A, 2B also shows that the lens and aperture of four cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 are coupled to the surface of the HMD); and a camera assembly (a camera lens assembly) [Linde: col. 1, line 13] physically coupled to an anterior surface of a flexure of the frame of the head wearable apparatus (As illustrated in FIG. 2A, HMD 100 includes the cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 located along an edge of the front surface of the HMD 100) [Linde: col. 7, line 12-14; Figs. 1, 2A, 2B] – Note: It is clear from Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B that four cameras are physically coupled to the edges of the HMD. From the www.therausus.com, “corner”, “edge”, “intersection”, “slant”, and “twist” are synonyms of “flexure”. As a result, Linde discloses this limitation), wherein the flexure is adjacent to the lens assembly (Note: As illustrated in Figs 1, 2A, and 2B, four cameras are on the edge (i.e. the flexure) of the HMD, hence the camera apertures and the camera lenses are adjacent to the edge) [Linde: Figs. 1, 2A, 2B], the camera assembly including at least one sensor to track a gaze direction of a user (The eye tracking information
of the position of the HMD 305 or of the peripheral determined by the eye tracking system 340 may comprise information about an orientation of the user's eye, i.e.,
information about an angle of an eye-gaze. In some embodiments, the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the optical assembly 325. An embodiment of the eye-tracking system 340 may comprise an illumination source and an imaging device (camera)) [Linde: col. 11, line 4-11].
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 19. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the lens module comprises at least one lens or a lenslet array ((The optical assembly 325 includes a plurality of optical elements. Example optical elements included in the optical assembly 325 include: an aperture, a Fresnel lens, a convex lens, a concave lens, a filter, a reflecting surface, or any other suitable optical element that affects image light. Moreover, the optical assembly 325 may include combinations of different optical elements) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3]; (The lens is one or more optical elements of a camera) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3]).
Regarding claim 3, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
a processor (one or more processors) [Linde: col. 10, line 66-67]; a memory coupled with the processor (The application store 355 stores one or more applications for execution by the HMD controller 350) [Linde: col. 11, line 59-60]; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the head wearable apparatus to (a computer-readable medium containing computer program code, which can be executed by a computer processor for performing any or all of the steps, operations, or processes described) [Linde: col. 19, line 16-20]: track a position of at least one eye of the user based on a direction of the at least one eye of the user, or an orientation of the at least one eye of the user, or both (In some embodiments, the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the HMD 305. The eye tracking system 340 determines eye tracking information associated with an eye of a user wearing the HMD 305. The eye tracking information of the position of the HMD 305 or of the peripheral determined by the eye tracking system 340 may comprise information about an orientation of the user's eye, i.e., information about an angle of an eye-gaze. In some embodiments, the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the optical assembly 325. An embodiment of the eye-tracking system 340 may comprise an illumination source and an imaging device (camera)) [Linde: col. 11, line 1-11].
Regarding claim 4, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
an actuator coupled to the camera assembly and configured to adjust a pointing direction of the at least one camera sensor or a sensing orientation of the at least one sensor, or both (the tracking module 360 communicates a calibration parameter to the imaging assembly 315 to adjust the focus of the imaging assembly 315 to more accurately determine positions of objects captured by the imaging assembly 315. Calibration performed by the tracking module 360 also accounts for information received from the IMU 335 in the HMD 305 and/or an IMU 335 included in the peripheral device 310. Additionally, if tracking of the peripheral device 310 is lost (e.g., the imaging assembly 315 loses line of sight of at least a portion of the peripheral device 310), the tracking module 360 may re-calibrate some or all of the HMD system 300) [Linde: col. 12, line 5-16].
Regarding claim 5, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein a portion of the anterior surface of the flexure comprises an aperture housing the camera assembly (As illustrated in FIG. 2A, HMD 100 includes the camera 115, 120, 125, 130 located along an edge of the front surface of the HMD 100. Each camera 115, 120, 125, 130 is nested within a respective pocket, which may help prevent damage to the camera. As previously described, the cameras 115, 120 are positioned at the upper corners of the front rigid body 105 and point outwards and upwards towards the sides and top of the front rigid body 105, while the cameras 125, 130 are positioned along the 20 bottom edge of the front rigid body 105 and are oriented to point downwards and parallel ( or nearly parallel) to each other. In this configuration, the cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 capture images of a large portion of the local environment surrounding the HMD 100. In other embodiments, the number, position, and orientation of the cameras may vary) [Linde: col. 7, line 12-14; Figs. 1, 2A, 2B] – Note: It is clear from Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B that four cameras are physically coupled to the edges of the HMD. Hence the camera assembly including camera aperture is embedded in the edge of the HMD).
Regarding claim 6, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 5. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the aperture (The optical assembly 325 includes a plurality of optical elements. Example optical elements included in the optical assembly 325 include: an aperture, a Fresnel lens, a convex lens, a concave lens, a filter, a reflecting surface, or any other suitable optical element that affects image light. Moreover, the optical assembly 325 may include combinations of different optical elements) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3] comprises an opening having an anterior surface (For each camera in the imaging assembly, the HMD 100 determines 610 exposure settings using the image information. The exposure settings may include, e.g., aperture size, shutter speed, gain, or some combination thereof. In some embodiments, each camera on the HMD 100 is configured to have individual exposure settings, which allows the imaging assembly to capture a varying range of light within the local area and to expose different parts of the local area to gather desired information) [Linde: col. 17, line 50-53; Figs. 1, 2A, 2B] and the camera assembly is positioned in relation to the anterior surface to track the gaze direction of the user (As illustrated in FIG. 2A, HMD 100 includes the camera 115, 120, 125, 130 located along an edge of the front surface of the HMD 100. Each camera 115, 120, 125, 130 is nested within a respective pocket, which may help prevent damage to the camera. As previously described, the cameras 115, 120 are positioned at the upper corners of the front rigid body 105 and point outwards and upwards towards the sides and top of the front rigid body 105, while the cameras 125, 130 are positioned along the 20 bottom edge of the front rigid body 105 and are oriented to point downwards and parallel ( or nearly parallel) to each other. In this configuration, the cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 capture images of a large portion of the local environment surrounding the HMD 100. In other embodiments, the number, position, and orientation of the cameras may vary) [Linde: col. 7, line 12-14; Figs. 1, 2A, 2B]
Regarding claim 7, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 5. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the anterior surface comprises a transparent material (the electronic
display 320 comprises a single electronic display or multiple electronic displays (e.g., a display for each eye of a user). Examples of the electronic display 320 include: a liquid crystal display (LCD), an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display, an inorganic light emitting diode (ILED) display, an active-matrix organic light-emitting diode (AMOLED) display, a transparent organic light emitting
diode (TOLED) display, some other display, or some combination thereof) [Linde: col. 9, line 37-46].
Regarding claim 8, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 5. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein a size of the aperture is based on a size of the portion of the flexure of the head wearable apparatus in one or more dimensions including a direction and an orientation (Each camera 115, 120, 125, 130 detects the amount of light incident on the sensor, and based on the detected light, the camera controller determines appropriate exposure settings. The exposure settings may include, e.g., aperture size, shutter speed, gain, or some combination thereof. The aperture size controls the amount of light that reaches the sensor. … Using the amount of detected light, the camera controller for each camera determines the aperture size, shutter speed, and gain settings for each camera) [Linde: col. 4, line 32-45; Figs 1, 2A, 2B]; (For each camera in the imaging assembly, the HMD 100 determines 610 exposure settings using the image information. The exposure settings may include, e.g., aperture size, shutter speed, gain, or some combination thereof. In some embodiments, each camera on the HMD 100 is configured to have individual exposure settings, which allows the imaging assembly to capture a varying range of light within the local area and to expose different parts of the local area to gather desired information. In these embodiments, the HMD 100 generates synchronization information for each camera to synchronize the exposure settings of the cameras, which ensures that the same frame is captured by each camera. The synchronization information includes a center time point about which the exposure length of each camera is centered and a time delay for each camera that is measured relative a synchronization pulse) [Linde: col. 17, line 50-65; Figs. 1-2B] – Note: Please also see the open holes associated with four cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 in Figs 1, 2A, 2B, as well as x, y, z dimensions in these figures).
Regarding claim 9, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
a controller (one or more processors) [Linde: col. 10, line 66-67] configured to control an operating mode of the at least one camera sensor of the camera assembly (Each camera 115, 120, 125, 130 detects the amount of light incident on the sensor, and based on the detected light, the camera controller determines appropriate exposure settings. The exposure settings may include, e.g., aperture size, shutter speed, gain, or some combination thereof. The aperture size controls the amount of light that reaches the sensor. The shutter speed is the length of time that the sensor is exposed to light (i.e., an exposure length). The gain is the sensitivity of the sensor to the light. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, the aperture is a fixed size while the gain and exposure are variable. Using the amount of detected light, the camera controller for each camera determines the aperture size, shutter speed, and gain settings for each camera) [Linde: col. 4, line 32-45; Figs 1, 2A, 2B].
Regarding claim 11, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the camera assembly is in electrical communication with one or more components of the head wearable apparatus (The tracking module 360 calibrates the HMD system 300 using one or more calibration parameters and may adjust one
or more calibration parameters to reduce error in determination of the position of the HMD 305 or of the peripheral device 310. For example, the tracking module 360 communicates a calibration parameter to the imaging assembly 315 to adjust the focus of the imaging assembly 315 to more accurately determine positions of objects captured by the imaging assembly 315. Calibration performed by the tracking module 360 also accounts for information received from the IMU 335 in the HMD 305 and/or an IMU 335 included in the peripheral device 310) [Linde: col. 12, line 1-12; Please see the electrical circuit architecture layout in Fig. 3]; (The varifocal module 345 can be interfaced (e.g., either mechanically or electrically) with at least one of the electronic display 320 and at least one optical element of the optical assembly 325) [Linde: col. 11, line 21-24; Fig 3]) via an electrical interface coupled to the flexure of the head wearable apparatus ((FIG. 2B illustrates a side view of the HMD 100, according to one embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the band 110 is attached to a side of the HMD 100 and is configured to wrap around a user's head to secure the HMD 100) [Linde: col. 7, line 28-31; Figs. 1-2B]; (suitable device for receiving action requests and communicating the action requests to the HMD controller 350. An action request received by the peripheral device 310 is communicated to the HMD controller 350, which performs an action corresponding to the action request) [Linde: col. 8, line 16-21; Figs. 1-2B], the one or more components comprising a processor, a memory coupled with the processor, or both (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more
processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
moving a movable platform coupling a head-mounted display (HMD) in accordance with a motion sequence, the movable platform positioned before a plurality of planar grids each comprising a plurality of fiducial markers, the HMD comprising a plurality of cameras configured to capture images of the plurality of planar grids and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) configured to capture measurement signals in response to movement of the HMD; capturing a plurality of images of the planar grids and measurement signals during the motion sequence, wherein each captured image comprises a portion of the plurality of fiducial markers of at least one planar grid; mapping a position of a fiducial marker in a captured image to a specific location on one of the plurality of planar grids; and determining calibration information for each of the cameras on the HMD and calibration information for the IMU) [Linde: col. 21, line 10 – col. 22, line 3; Fig 3], wherein the electrical interface comprises a printed circuit board (These operations, while described functionally, computationally, or logically, are understood to be implemented by computer programs or equivalent electrical circuits, microcode, or the like. Furthermore, it has also proven convenient at times, to refer to these arrangements of operations as modules, without loss of generality. The described operations and their associated modules may be embodied in software, firmware, hardware, or any combinations thereof.) [Linde: col. 19, line 4-11; Figs. 1-3].
Regarding claim 12, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the lens assembly is coupled to the frame or the camera assembly (The lens is one or more optical elements of a camera) [Linde: col. 9, line 12].
Regarding claim 13, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein one or more camera sensors of an array of camera sensors of the camera assembly are coplanar ((The movable platform is configured to couple the HMD and move the HMD before the planar grids as a plurality of cameras on the HMD captures images of the planar grids. The captured images include at least a portion of one of the planar grids with fiducial markers.) [Linde: col. 1, line 39-44]; (The cameras 125, 130 are positioned along the bottom edge of the front rigid body 105 and are oriented to point downwards and parallel ( or nearly parallel) to each other. In this configuration, cameras 125, 130 have overlapping fields of view, providing stereoscopic regions of coverage.) [Linde: col. 4, line 14-19] – Note: Parallel is co-planar).
Regarding claim 17, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
a display system (an electronic display 320) [Linde: col. 9, line 11-12] coupled to the lens assembly to output visual information (The electronic display 320 displays 2D or 3D images to the user in accordance with data received from the imaging assembly controller) [Linde: col. 9, line 35-37] within the gaze direction of the user (The engine 365 provides the content having a maximum pixel resolution on the electronic display 320 in a foveal region of the user's gaze, whereas the engine 365 provides a lower pixel resolution in other regions of the electronic display 320,) [Linde: col. 14, line 12-16].
Regarding claim 18, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde further meets the claim limitations as follow.
a head mounted display comprising one or more of the lens assembly (The HMD 305 includes an imaging assembly 315, an electronic display 320, an optical assembly 325, one or more position sensors 330, an IMU 335, an optional eye tracking system 340, an optional varifocal module 345, and an HMD controller 350.) [Linde: col. 9, line 11-15; Fig. 3] and the camera assembly (a camera lens assembly) [Linde: col. 1, line 13].
Regarding claim 19, Linde meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A pair of wireless-enabled eyeglasses (a head-mounted display tracking system) [Linde: col. 1, line 8-9; Figs. 1-2B]; (the electronic display 320 comprises a single electronic display or multiple electronic displays (e.g., a display for each eye of a user). Examples of the electronic display 320 include: a liquid crystal display (LCD), an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display, an inorganic light emitting diode (ILED) display, an active-matrix organic light-emitting diode (AMOLED) display, a transparent organic light emitting diode (TOLED) display, some other display, or some combination thereof) [Linde: col. 9, line 37-46]), comprising: a lens assembly (an optical assembly 325) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3] including a lens module ((The optical assembly 325 includes a plurality of optical elements. Example optical elements included in the optical assembly 325 include: an aperture, a Fresnel lens, a convex lens, a concave lens, a filter, a reflecting surface, or any other suitable optical element that affects image light. Moreover, the optical assembly 325 may include combinations of different optical elements) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3]; (The lens is one or more optical elements of a camera) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3]) coupled to at least one surface of a frame of the pair of wireless-enabled eyeglasses ((the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the optical assembly 325) [Linde: col. 11, line 7-9]; (the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the HMD 305) [Linde: col. 11, line 1-2; Fig. 1, 2A, 2B]; (As illustrated in FIG. 2A, HMD 100 includes the cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 located along an edge of the front surface of the HMD 100) [Linde: col. 7, line 12-14; Figs. 1, 2A, 2B]) – Note: Linde discloses that the eye tracking system is integrated into the optical assembly and into the HMD. Hence, the optical assembly is coupled to the HMD. Fig. 1, 2A, 2B also shows that the lens and aperture of four cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 are coupled to the surface of the HMD); and a camera assembly (a camera lens assembly) [Linde: col. 1, line 13] physically coupled to an anterior surface of a flexure of the frame of the pair of wireless-enabled eyeglasses (As illustrated in FIG. 2A, HMD 100 includes the cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 located along an edge of the front surface of the HMD 100) [Linde: col. 7, line 12-14; Figs. 1, 2A, 2B] – Note: It is clear from Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B that four cameras are physically coupled to the edges of the HMD. From the www.therausus.com, “corner”, “edge”, “intersection”, “slant”, and “twist” are synonyms of “flexure”. As a result, Linde discloses this limitation), wherein the flexure is adjacent to the lens assembly (Note: As illustrated in Figs 1, 2A, and 2B, four cameras are on the edge (i.e. the flexure) of the HMD, hence the camera apertures and the camera lenses are adjacent to the edge) [Linde: Figs. 1, 2A, 2B], the camera assembly including at least one sensor to track a gaze direction of a user (The eye tracking information
of the position of the HMD 305 or of the peripheral determined by the eye tracking system 340 may comprise information about an orientation of the user's eye, i.e.,
information about an angle of an eye-gaze. In some embodiments, the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the optical assembly 325. An embodiment of the eye-tracking system 340 may comprise an illumination source and an imaging device (camera)) [Linde: col. 11, line 4-11].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linde (US Patent 10,504,243 B2), (“Linde”), in view of Harris et al. (US Patent 12,332,455 B2), (“Harris”).
Regarding claim 10, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein an axis of rotation of the flexure of the head wearable apparatus is proximate to: the anterior surface of the head wearable apparatus, the lens assembly of the head wearable apparatus, a focal plane associated with the lens assembly of the head wearable apparatus, or another location of the head wearable apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor Harris further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein an axis of rotation of the flexure of the head wearable apparatus is proximate to (wherein horizontal-axis hinges of a universal-joint and its range of motion accommodate varying bioptic viewing angles for a user) [Harris: col. 4, line 1-3; col. 3, line 62-65; Figs. 1, 3A-3B]: the anterior surface of the head wearable apparatus, the lens assembly of the head wearable apparatus, a focal plane associated with the lens assembly of the head wearable apparatus, or another location of the head wearable apparatus (each of the first universal joint and the second universal joint provide for motion in two degrees of freedom with respect to the head of the user; a first degree of freedom of the two degrees of freedom is rotational motion within a sagittal plane of the user; the second degree of freedom of the two degrees of freedom is rotational motion within an axial plane of the user; each of the first universal joint and the second universal joint are located proximal a first temple and a second temple of the user respectively when worn by the user; the first temple arm is extensible and comprises a first thumbwheel and a first track wherein the first thumbwheel interacts with the first track to translate the first universal joint at the second distal end of the first temple arm relative to the first end of the first temple arm; the second temple arm is extensible and comprises a second thumbwheel and a second track wherein the second thumbwheel interacts with the second track to translate the second universal joint at the second distal end of the second temple arm relative to the first end of the second temple arm;) [Harris: col. 51, line 1-24]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Linde with Harris to program the system to implement of Harris’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Linde with Harris will enable the system to provide a wide field of view, high image resolution, low latency, large exit pupil for eye placement, enhanced eye clearance are provided in combination with ergonomic design and advanced automated
features to provide NR2I vision systems with enhanced adaptation for a user's physical profile together with improved comfort, performance and usability [Harris: col. 1, line 9-15].
Regarding claim 19, Linde meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A pair of wireless-enabled eyeglasses (a head-mounted display tracking system) [Linde: col. 1, line 8-9; Figs. 1-2B], comprising: a lens assembly (an optical assembly 325) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3] including a lens module ((The optical assembly 325 includes a plurality of optical elements. Example optical elements included in the optical assembly 325 include: an aperture, a Fresnel lens, a convex lens, a concave lens, a filter, a reflecting surface, or any other suitable optical element that affects image light. Moreover, the optical assembly 325 may include combinations of different optical elements) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3]; (The lens is one or more optical elements of a camera) [Linde: col. 9, line 12; Fig. 3]) coupled to at least one surface of a frame of the pair of wireless-enabled eyeglasses ((the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the optical assembly 325) [Linde: col. 11, line 7-9]; (the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the HMD 305) [Linde: col. 11, line 1-2; Fig. 1, 2A, 2B]; (As illustrated in FIG. 2A, HMD 100 includes the cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 located along an edge of the front surface of the HMD 100) [Linde: col. 7, line 12-14; Figs. 1, 2A, 2B]) – Note: Linde discloses that the eye tracking system is integrated into the optical assembly and into the HMD. Hence, the optical assembly is coupled to the HMD. Fig. 1, 2A, 2B also shows that the lens and aperture of four cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 are coupled to the surface of the HMD); and a camera assembly (a camera lens assembly) [Linde: col. 1, line 13] physically coupled to an anterior surface of a flexure of the frame of the pair of wireless-enabled eyeglasses (As illustrated in FIG. 2A, HMD 100 includes the cameras 115, 120, 125, 130 located along an edge of the front surface of the HMD 100) [Linde: col. 7, line 12-14; Figs. 1, 2A, 2B] – Note: It is clear from Figs. 1, 2A, and 2B that four cameras are physically coupled to the edges of the HMD. From the www.therausus.com, “corner”, “edge”, “intersection”, “slant”, and “twist” are synonyms of “flexure”. As a result, Linde discloses this limitation), wherein the flexure is adjacent to the lens assembly (Note: As illustrated in Figs 1, 2A, and 2B, four cameras are on the edge (i.e. the flexure) of the HMD, hence the camera apertures and the camera lenses are adjacent to the edge) [Linde: Figs. 1, 2A, 2B], the camera assembly including at least one sensor to track a gaze direction of a user (The eye tracking information
of the position of the HMD 305 or of the peripheral determined by the eye tracking system 340 may comprise information about an orientation of the user's eye, i.e.,
information about an angle of an eye-gaze. In some embodiments, the eye tracking system 340 is integrated into the optical assembly 325. An embodiment of the eye-tracking system 340 may comprise an illumination source and an imaging device (camera)) [Linde: col. 11, line 4-11].
In the same field of endeavor, Harris further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
A pair of wireless-enabled eyeglasses ((a near-to-eye (NR2I) head-mounted display (HMD) system) [Harris: col. 2, line 34-35; Figs. 1, 14]; (IGS. 11C and 11D depict the right and left eye optical pods forming part of the optical sub-assembly portion of the display portion of the NR2I HMD according to an embodiment of the invention) Figs. 11C, 11D]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Linde with Harris to program the system to implement of Harris’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Linde with Harris will enable the system to provide a wide field of view, high image resolution, low latency, large exit pupil for eye placement, enhanced eye clearance are provided in combination with ergonomic design and advanced automated
features to provide NR2I vision systems with enhanced adaptation for a user's physical profile together with improved comfort, performance and usability [Harris: col. 1, line 9-15].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linde (US Patent 10,504,243 B2), (“Linde”), in view of Harris at al. (US Patent 12,332,455 B2), (“Harris”), in view of Wang et al. (US Patent 10,713,804 B2), (“Wang”).
Regarding claim 14, Linde meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Linde does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein one or more camera sensors of an array of camera sensors of the camera (The cameras 125, 130 are positioned along the bottom edge of the front rigid body 105) [Linde: col. 4, line 14-16] assembly are non-coplanar.
Linde and Harris do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
non-coplanar.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
wherein one or more camera sensors of an array of camera sensors of the camera assembly are coplanar (In one embodiment of the present application, the at least
two ToF sensors are arranged on a preset sphere. Different ToF sensors are located at different locations on the preset sphere, as long as the practical requirement of the field of view can be satisfied) [Wang: col. 7, line 31-35]
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Linde and Harris with Wang to program the system to implement of Wang’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Linde and Harris with Wang will enable the system to a depth map with a large field of view [Wang: col. 3, line 57-67].
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris at al. (US Patent 12,332,455 B2), (“Harris”), in view of Sasaki et al. (US Patent 10,539,764 B2), (“Sasaki”).
Regarding claim 15, Linde and Harris meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Harris further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein a dimension of the at least camera sensor of the camera assembly is different from a dimension of another camera sensor of the camera assembly (The foregoing disclosure of the exemplary embodiments of the present invention has been presented for purposes of illustration and description. It is not intended to be exhaustive or to limit the invention to the precise forms disclosed. Many variations and modifications of the embodiments described herein will be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the above disclosure. The scope of the invention is to be defined only by the claims appended hereto, and by their equivalents. Such variations and modifications of the embodiments described herein includes that specific dimensions, variables, scaling factors, ratios, etc. may be varied within different limits or that these may be approximate rather than absolute) [Harris: col. 50, line 21-33]).
In the same field of endeavor Sasaki further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
wherein a dimension of the at least camera sensor of the camera assembly is different from a dimension of another camera sensor of the camera assembly (In one embodiment, the digital image sensor 38 may be configured to have an aspect ratio of approximately 2.2: 1. In one embodiment, the digital image sensor 38 may be configured to have an aspect ratio of between approximately 1.33: 1 to 1.9: 1. In one embodiment, the digital image sensor may be configured to have an aspect ratio of between approximately a 1.9:1 aspect ratio to no greater than a 2.76:1 aspect ratio. In one embodiment, the heights and widths of the digital image sensor 38 may be combined or varied to different (greater or lesser) aspect ratios as desired. In one embodiment, greater than a 1.2:1 aspect ratio may be utilized. Large format digital image sensors 38 may be 35 utilized, however, in other embodiments, other formats of digital image sensors 38 may be used as desired (e.g., small formats for mobile electronic devices). The filter 44 may comprise a single layer or type of material, or multiple layers) [Sasaki: col. 2, line 23-38].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Linde and Harris with Sasaki to program the system to implement of Sasaki’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Linde and Harris with Sasaki will enable the system to provide for improved anamorphic systems for use with digital camera systems [Sasaki: col. 1, line 28-30].
Regarding claim 16, Linde and Harris meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Harris further meets the claim limitations as follow.
an array of camera sensors, wherein a height of the array of camera sensors is greater than a width of the array of camera sensors, or wherein the width of the array of camera sensors is greater than the height of the array of camera sensors (The foregoing disclosure of the exemplary embodiments of the present invention has been presented for purposes of illustration and description. It is not intended to be exhaustive or to limit the invention to the precise forms disclosed. Many variations and modifications of the embodiments described herein will be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art in light of the above disclosure. The scope of the invention is to be defined only by the claims appended hereto, and by their equivalents. Such variations and modifications of the embodiments described herein includes that specific dimensions, variables, scaling factors, ratios, etc. may be varied within different limits or that these may be approximate rather than absolute) [Harris: col. 50, line 21-33]).
In the same field of endeavor Sasaki further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
an array of camera sensors, wherein a height of the array of camera sensors is greater than a width of the array of camera sensors, or wherein the width of the array of camera sensors is greater than the height of the array of camera sensors (In one embodiment, the digital image sensor 38 may be configured to have an aspect ratio of approximately 2.2: 1. In one embodiment, the digital image sensor 38 may be configured to have an aspect ratio of between approximately 1.33: 1 to 1.9: 1. In one embodiment, the digital image sensor may be configured to have an aspect ratio of between approximately a 1.9:1 aspect ratio to no greater than a 2.76:1 aspect ratio. In one embodiment, the heights and widths of the digital image sensor 38 may be combined or varied to different (greater or lesser) aspect ratios as desired. In one embodiment, greater than a 1.2:1 aspect ratio may be utilized. Large format digital image sensors 38 may be 35 utilized, however, in other embodiments, other formats of digital image sensors 38 may be used as desired (e.g., small formats for mobile electronic devices). The filter 44 may comprise a single layer or type of material, or multiple layers) [Sasaki: col. 2, line 23-38].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Linde and Harris with Sasaki to program the system to implement of Sasaki’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Linde and Harris with Sasaki will enable the system to provide for improved anamorphic systems for use with digital camera systems [Sasaki: col. 1, line 28-30].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information