DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed August 21, 23 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, 30, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 8 & 30, the term “(optionally as graphite, graphene, activated carbon and/or carbon black)” is of uncertain meaning rendering the claims vague and indefinite, as it is unclear if a limitation in parenthesis is a positive recitation.
An appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is rejected for dependency on claim 8.
With respect to claim 31, the term according to any of claims 1 to 11 or the battery stack according to claim 27” is of uncertain meaning rendering the claims vague and indefinite, as the dependency is unclear. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. CN210326016U in view of WINTER et al. DE 102018127787A1.
With respect to claim 1, Tang teaches a laminate electrochemical cell (the full-solid secondary battery for preparing technique comprises the following steps: the gel polymer and the solvent mixed into modified slurry interface, the interface modified slurry independently uniformly covered on the surface of the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode layer, stacked with the solid electrolyte layer when it is not completely dry, pressing and drying to obtain the all solid state secondary battery; See “preparation method”, paragraph 2; Examiner Note: stacked with the solid electrolyte layer when it is not completely dried)comprising): a cathode layer (4-positive electrode layer; Fig, 2 below; Description, paragraph 3); an anode layer (1-negative electrode layer; Fig, 2 below; Description, paragraph 3); the polymer layer coating at least a portion of the anode layer (2-gel polymer coating; Fig, 2 below; Description, paragraph 3); and a ceramic layer (3-of solid electrolyte layer; Fig, 2 below; Description, paragraph 3); arranged between the polymer layer and the cathode layer (3-of solid electrolyte layer; Fig, 2 below; Description, paragraph 3); wherein the ceramic layer and the polymer layer have different compositions (ceramic layer is the 3-of solid electrolyte layer made of LiPON; See “solid electrolyte layer” section, paragraph 3; gel polymer include, but are not limited to vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene (PVDF-HFP), polyethylene oxide (PEO), polyacrylonitrile (PAN), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA); See “gel polymer coating” section, paragraph 3).
With respect to claim 3, the polymer layer is non-porous (Examiner Note: gel is nonporous). With respect to claim 4, the polymer layer comprises gel polymer (2-gel polymer coating; Fig, 2 below; Description, paragraph 3). With respect to claim 5,
the ceramic layer comprises lithium phosphorous oxy-nitride (LiPON) (ceramic layer is the 3-of solid electrolyte layer made of LiPON; See “solid electrolyte layer” section, paragraph 3). With respect to claim 7, the cathode comprises lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2), lithium manganese oxide (LiMn2O4), lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNiMnCoO2), lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4), lithium nickel cobalt aluminium oxide (LiNiCoAlO2), lithium titanate (Li2TiO3), or combinations thereof (LiCoO2; LiMn2O4; See “positive electrode layer” section, paragraph 2). With respect to claim 8, the anode comprises silicon, carbon (optionally as graphite, graphene, activated carbon and/or carbon black), indium tin oxide (ITO), molybdenum dioxide (MoO2), lithium titanate (Li2TiO3), lithium alloy, metallic lithium, copper, or combinations thereof (lithium metal, lithium alloy, carbon, graphite; See “negative electrode layer” section, paragraph 5). With respect to claim 9, the anode comprises a lithium-intercalated material (Li4Ti5O12, LixMoO2, LixWO2, LiNiVO4; See “negative electrode layer” section, paragraph 5; Examiner Note: the final product of lithium materials capable of lithium intercalation satisfies the instant claim). With respect to claim 12, a method of manufacturing a laminate electrochemical cell, the method comprising (the full-solid secondary battery for preparing technique comprises the following steps: the gel polymer and the solvent mixed into modified slurry interface, the interface modified slurry independently uniformly covered on the surface of the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode layer, stacked with the solid electrolyte layer when it is not completely dry, pressing and drying to obtain the all solid state secondary battery; See “preparation method”, paragraph 2; Examiner Note: stacked with the solid electrolyte layer when it is not completely dried)comprising): providing a cathode layer (4-positive electrode layer; Fig, 2; Description, paragraph 3); providing a ceramic layer (ceramic layer is the 3-of solid electrolyte layer; Fig, 2; Description, paragraph 3) ; providing an anode layer (1-negative electrode layer; Fig, 2; Description, paragraph 3); depositing a polymer on the anode layer and/or the ceramic layer to provide a polymer layer (2-gel polymer coating on the anode layer; Fig, 2; Description, paragraph 3); and combining the cathode layer, ceramic layer, anode layer and polymer layer to provide the laminate electrochemical cell (the full-solid secondary battery for preparing technique comprises the following steps: the gel polymer and the solvent mixed into modified slurry interface, the interface modified slurry independently uniformly covered on the surface of the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode layer, stacked with the solid electrolyte layer when it is not completely dry, pressing and drying to obtain the all solid state secondary battery; See “preparation method”, paragraph 2; Examiner Note: stacking with the solid electrolyte layer and pressing and drying is lamination); providing a cathode layer (4-positive electrode layer; Fig, 2; Description, paragraph 3) such that the ceramic layer is arranged between the cathode layer and the anode layer, and the polymer layer is arranged between the ceramic layer and the anode layer (negative electrode layer, 11-negative electrode current collector, 12-negative electrode active material layer, 2-gel polymer coating, 3-of solid electrolyte layer, 4-positive electrode layer, 41-positive electrode current collector, 42-positive electrode active material layer; Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2; Examiner Note: ceramic layer is the 3-of solid electrolyte layer). With respect to claim 15, providing the cathode layer comprises depositing cathode-layer material on a current collector (4-positive electrode layer, 41-positive electrode current collector, Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2; It has been held that rearranging method steps is prima facie obvious. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In reBurhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)). With respect to claim 16, providing the anode layer comprises depositing anode-layer material on a current collector (negative electrode layer, 11-negative electrode current collector, Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2; It has been held that rearranging method steps is prima facie obvious. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)). With respect to claim 17, the anode-layer material is lithium metal (lithium metal; See “negative electrode layer” section, paragraph 5), and the depositing the lithium metal on the current collector provides a lithium metal film (negative electrode layer, 11-negative electrode current collector, Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2) . With respect to claim 19, the polymer is a gel polymer and the polymer layer is a gel polymer layer (2-gel polymer coating; Fig, 2 below; Description, paragraph 3). With respect to claim 26, the polymer is deposited on the ceramic layer to provide the polymer layer (2-gel polymer coating, 3-of solid electrolyte layer; Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2; Examiner Note: ceramic layer is the 3-of solid electrolyte layer); and the combining comprises hot rolling or hot pressing the anode layer with the cathode layer, ceramic layer, and electrolyte layer (pressing and drying to obtain the all solid state secondary battery; See “preparation method”, paragraph 2; negative electrode layer, 2-gel polymer coating, 3-of solid electrolyte layer, 4-positive electrode layer,; Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2; Examiner Note: ceramic layer is the 3-of solid electrolyte layer). With respect to claim 27, a, each cell comprising: a first current collector (41-positive electrode current collector, Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2); a cathode layer arranged on a surface of the first current collector (4-positive electrode layer; Fig, 2; Description, paragraph 3; 41-positive electrode current collector, Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2); a second current collector (11-negative electrode current collector; Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2); an anode layer arranged on a surface of the second current collector (1-negative electrode layer, 11-negative electrode current collector; Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2); a polymer layer arranged between the cathode layer and the anode layer (1-negative electrode layer, 2-gel polymer coating, 4-positive electrode layer; Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2); the polymer layer coating at least a portion of the anode layer (2-gel polymer coating, 1-negative electrode layer; Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2); and a ceramic layer arranged between the polymer layer and the cathode layer (3-of solid electrolyte layer, 4-positive electrode layer; Description, paragraph 3; Fig. 2; Examiner Note: ceramic layer is the 3-of solid electrolyte layer) wherein the ceramic layer and the polymer layer have different compositions (ceramic layer is the 3-of solid electrolyte layer made of LiPON; See “solid electrolyte layer” section, paragraph 3; gel polymer include, but are not limited to vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene (PVDF-HFP), polyethylene oxide (PEO), polyacrylonitrile (PAN), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA); See “gel polymer coating” section, paragraph 3). With respect to claim 29,
the cathode of each cell comprises material typically used in solid-state battery cells (ceramic layer is the 3-of solid electrolyte layer made of LiPON; See “solid electrolyte layer” section, paragraph 3). With respect to claim 30, the anode comprises silicon, carbon (optionally as graphite, graphene, activated carbon and/or carbon black), indium tin oxide (ITO), molybdenum dioxide (MoO2), lithium titanate (Li2TiO3), lithium alloy, metallic lithium, copper, or combinations thereof (lithium metal, lithium alloy, carbon, graphite; See “negative electrode layer” section, paragraph 5).
With respect to claim 31, electrically-powered device comprising the electrochemical cell (electric automobile; Abstract).
Tang does not teach or suggest: a polymer electrolyte layer arranged between the cathode layer and the anode layer (claims 1,3, 4, 12, 19, 26, 27); the polymer electrolyte layer comprises solid polymer electrolyte (claim 2); the ceramic layer is porous (claim 6); at least one of the layers has a thickness greater than or equal to 1 µm (claim 10); each of the layers has a thickness greater than or equal to 0.2 µm (claim 11); the providing the cathode layer and the providing the ceramic layer comprise providing a cathode-ceramic laminate comprising the cathode layer and the ceramic layer (claim 13); the providing the cathode-ceramic laminate comprises providing a cathode layer, and depositing ceramic on the cathode layer, thereby providing the ceramic layer on the cathode layer (claim 14); comprising laser ablating the lithium metal film (claim 18); the depositing the gel polymer electrolyte comprises depositing a polymer film on the anode layer or ceramic layer, and supplying a lithium salt solution to the polymer film, thereby providing the gel polymer electrolyte layer (claim 20); the depositing the gel polymer electrolyte comprises casting a mixture comprising polymer, lithium salt and solvent on the anode layer or the ceramic layer, and crosslinking the mixture, thereby providing the gel polymer electrolyte layer (claim 21); the polymer electrolyte is a solid polymer electrolyte and the polymer electrolyte layer is a solid polymer electrolyte layer (claim 22); the depositing the polymer electrolyte comprises depositing a polymer film on the anode layer or the ceramic layer, and supplying a solution comprising solvent and lithium salt to the polymer film (claim 23); the depositing the polymer electrolyte further comprises vacuum drying the polymer film, solvent and lithium salt to provide the solid polymer electrolyte layer (claim 24); polymer electrolyte is disposed on the ceramic layer to provide the polymer electrolyte layer; and the providing the anode and the combining are performed simultaneously, comprising thermally depositing lithium metal on the polymer electrolyte layer to provide a lithium metal film, and optionally laser ablating the lithium metal film (claim 25); battery stack comprising a plurality of laminate electrochemical cells (claim 27); the plurality of electrochemical cells comprises a first electrochemical cell and a second electrochemical cell, configured such that the first current collector of the first cell is also the first current collector of the second cell (claim 28).
WINTER teaches that it is well known in the art to employ multilayered electrolytes electrochemical cells: a polymer electrolyte layer arranged between the cathode layer and the anode layer (a multilayer arrangement electrolyte of a lithium ion-conducting ceramic, which is on opposite surfaces with a gel polymer electrolyte or a solid polymer electrolyte is coated; Description, paragraph 31; hybrid electrolytes, of polymer and ceramic electrolytes; Description, paragraph 31; claims 1,3, 4, 12, 19, 26, 27); the polymer electrolyte layer comprises solid polymer electrolyte (a multilayer arrangement of a lithium ion-conducting ceramic, which is on opposite surfaces with a gel polymer electrolyte or a solid polymer electrolyte is coated; Description, paragraph 31; hybrid electrolytes, of polymer and ceramic electrolytes; Description, paragraph 31; claim 2); comprising laser ablating the lithium metal film (laser or beam process to form recesses in the lithium anode; Description, paragraph 10; claim 18); the depositing the gel polymer electrolyte comprises depositing a polymer film on the anode layer or ceramic layer, and supplying a lithium salt solution to the polymer film, thereby providing the gel polymer electrolyte layer ( the structured lithium surface is spray coated 12th , a coating solution 14 containing a polymer, a lithium salt and a crosslinking additive which can be activated by ultraviolet radiation (UV) in a solvent; Description, paragraph right above Example 1; structured lithium surface is the anode layer; gel polymer electrolyte polymer , conductive salts and crosslinking agents; Description, paragraph 36; ; It has been held that rearranging method steps is prima facie obvious. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)); claim 20); the depositing the gel polymer electrolyte comprises casting a mixture comprising polymer, lithium salt and solvent on the anode layer or the ceramic layer, and crosslinking the mixture, thereby providing the gel polymer electrolyte layer (the structured lithium surface is spray coated 12th , a coating solution 14 containing a polymer, a lithium salt and a crosslinking additive which can be activated by ultraviolet radiation (UV) in a solvent; Description, paragraph right above Example 1; structured lithium surface is the anode layer; gel polymer electrolyte polymer , conductive salts and crosslinking agents; Description, paragraph 36; claim 21); the depositing the polymer electrolyte comprises depositing a polymer film on the anode layer or the ceramic layer, and supplying a solution comprising solvent and lithium salt to the polymer film(the structured lithium surface is spray coated 12th , a coating solution 14 containing a polymer, a lithium salt and a crosslinking additive which can be activated by ultraviolet radiation (UV) in a solvent; Description, paragraph right above Example 1; structured lithium surface is the anode layer; gel polymer electrolyte polymer , conductive salts and crosslinking agents; Description, paragraph 36; It has been held that rearranging method steps is prima facie obvious. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)); claim 23)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a polymer electrolyte layer arranged between the cathode layer and the anode layer (claims 1,3, 4, 12, 19, 26, 27) of WINTER, as the gel polymer layer of Tang, in order to increase ion conductivity. Furthermore, WINTER teaches that it is well known in the art to employ a multilayer arrangement electrolyte of a lithium ion-conducting ceramic, which is on opposite surfaces with a gel polymer electrolyte or a solid polymer electrolyte is coated; Description, paragraph 31; hybrid electrolytes, of polymer and ceramic electrolytes; Description, paragraph 31. Rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
More specifically, see WINTER Description, paragraph 31:
Three types of electrolytes can preferably be used as the non-liquid electrolyte: solid polymer electrolytes, gel polymer electrolytes and mixed electrolytes, referred to as hybrid electrolytes, of polymer and ceramic electrolytes. In preferred embodiments, the non-liquid electrolyte comprises a solid polymer electrolyte, a gel polymer electrolyte, or a composite electrolyte comprising a multilayer arrangement of a lithium ion-conducting ceramic, glass-like or glass-ceramic solid electrolyte, which is on opposite surfaces with a gel polymer electrolyte or a solid polymer electrolyte is coated.
With respect to claim 2, the polymer electrolyte layer comprises solid polymer electrolyte; it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER, in order to increase ion conductivity. Furthermore, WINTER teaches that it is well known in the art to employ a multilayer arrangement electrolyte of a lithium ion-conducting ceramic, which is on opposite surfaces with a solid polymer electrolyte is coated; Description, paragraph 31; hybrid electrolytes, of polymer and ceramic electrolytes; Description, paragraph 31. The skilled artisan recognizes that multiple configurations may be employed for ion conduction. Rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the ceramic layer is porous (claim 6); it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER, to increase surface area, allowing more ion conductivity. Change in shape of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
With respect to at least one of the layers has a thickness greater than or equal to 1 µm (claim 10); it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER, in order to increase ion conductivity. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to each of the layers has a thickness greater than or equal to 0.2 µm (claim 11); it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER, in order to increase ion conductivity. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to providing the cathode layer and the providing the ceramic layer comprise providing a cathode-ceramic laminate comprising the cathode layer and the ceramic layer (claim 13); it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER, as making integral essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). It has been held that rearranging method steps is prima facie obvious. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)).
With respect to the providing the cathode-ceramic laminate comprises providing a cathode layer, and depositing ceramic on the cathode layer, thereby providing the ceramic layer on the cathode layer (claim 14); it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER, as making integral essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). It has been held that rearranging method steps is prima facie obvious. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)).
With respect to the polymer electrolyte is a solid polymer electrolyte and the polymer electrolyte layer is a solid polymer electrolyte layer(claim 22); it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER, in order to increase ion conductivity. Furthermore, WINTER teaches that it is well known in the art to employ a multilayer arrangement electrolyte of a lithium ion-conducting ceramic, which is on opposite surfaces with a solid polymer electrolyte is coated; Description, paragraph 31; hybrid electrolytes, of polymer and ceramic electrolytes; Description, paragraph 31. The skilled artisan recognizes that multiple configurations may be employed for ion conduction. Rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the depositing the polymer electrolyte further comprises vacuum drying the polymer film, solvent and lithium salt to provide the solid polymer electrolyte layer (claim 24); it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER to improve adhesion between layers. Tang teaches vacuum drying the gel polymer. See teaching claim 4. WINTER teaches the structured lithium surface (anode) is spray coated 12th , a coating solution 14 containing a polymer, a lithium salt and a crosslinking additive which can be activated by ultraviolet radiation (UV) in a solvent; Description, paragraph right above Example 1; liquid electrolyte can be added, when the solid polymer is wetted with the liquid electrolyte (includes an organic solvent; Description, paragraph 38), a gel formation takes place; Description, paragraph 37. It has been held that rearranging method steps is prima facie obvious. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)).
With respect to polymer electrolyte being disposed on the ceramic layer to provide the polymer electrolyte layer; and the providing the anode and the combining are performed simultaneously, comprising thermally depositing lithium metal on the polymer electrolyte layer to provide a lithium metal film, and optionally laser ablating the lithium metal film (claim 25); it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER to improve adhesion between layers. WINTER teaches that it is well known in the art to employ a multilayer arrangement electrolyte of a lithium ion-conducting ceramic, which is on opposite surfaces with a gel polymer electrolyte or a solid polymer electrolyte is coated; Description, paragraph 31; hybrid electrolytes, of polymer and ceramic electrolytes; Description, paragraph 31. Rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Tang teaches vacuum drying the gel polymer. See teaching claim 4. . It has been held that rearranging method steps is prima facie obvious. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)).
With respect to battery stack comprising a plurality of laminate electrochemical cells (claim 27); it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER to meet increasing load demands. Duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to the plurality of electrochemical cells comprises a first electrochemical cell and a second electrochemical cell, configured such that the first current collector of the first cell is also the first current collector of the second cell (claim 28) ; it would have been obvious in the laminate electrochemical cell of Tang in view of WINTER to meet increasing load demands. Duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723