DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, corresponding to claims 1-13, in the reply filed on May 5, 2026, is acknowledged. Applicant also elected compounds I-A and anti-PD-1 antibody.
Claims 1-5, 9, and 10 read on both compound I-A and anti-PD-1 antibody.
Claim of Foreign Priority
Applicant’s claim of foreign priority and Certified Copy of foreign priority documents have been received by the Office. Priority has not yet been perfected as an English language translation has not been provided.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 and 15 are pending. Claim 15 is withdrawn for being directed to a non-elected group. Claims 6-8 and 11-13 are withdrawn for being directed to a non-elected species (i.e., not compound I-A or a PD-1 inhibitor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamdy et al., (US2017/0239351).
Hamdy teaches therapeutic combinations include a BTK inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 or PDL-2 compound. See Abstract and par. 2. The combination is for the treatment of many cancers, including leukemia, lymphoma, and solid tumors. See par. 15. Further, the combination of a BTK inhibitor and a PD-1 inhibitor (including an anti-PD-1 antibody) provides a surprising and synergistic effect. See par. 12.
As such, claims 1, 9 and 10 are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahata et al., (WO2018/097234A1), in view of Hamdy et al., (US2017/0239351).
Kawahata teaches BTK inhibitors compounds or a salt thereof for treating many types of cancers. The compound includes Examples 23, which is the elected species and is shown below:
Kawahata does not teach combination therapy with an anti-PD-1 immunotherapy.
Hamdy teaches therapeutic compositions including both a BTK inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 compound. See Abstract. The combination is for the treatment of many cancers, including leukemia, lymphoma, and solid tumors. See par. 15. Further, the combination of a BTK inhibitor and a PD-1 inhibitor (including an anti-PD-1 antibody) provides a surprising and synergistic effect. See par. 12.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application to arrive at the claimed products in view of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so because each of the claimed agents are known and taught for a same use. Moreover, a combination of a Btk inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 antibody are taught to provide a synergistic benefit in the treatment of cancer. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed product in view of the cited prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 9, and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-5, 9-11, 13, 14, and 20-22 of copending Application No. 17/796,814, in view of Hamdy et al., (US2017/0239351).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘814 application are directed to products and methods of treating cancer using compound I-A Btk inhibitor. Hamdy teaches therapeutic combinations include a BTK inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 or PDL-2 compound. See Abstract and par. 2. The combination is for the treatment of many cancers, including leukemia, lymphoma, and solid tumors. See par. 15. Further, the combination of a BTK inhibitor and a PD-1 inhibitor (including an anti-PD-1 antibody) provides a surprising and synergistic effect. See par. 12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 9 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,793,575, in view of Hamdy et al., (US2017/0239351).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Hamdy teaches therapeutic compositions including both a BTK inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 or PDL-2 compound. See Abstract and par. 2. The combination is for the treatment of many cancers, including leukemia, lymphoma, and solid tumors. See par. 15. Further, the combination of a BTK inhibitor and a PD-1 inhibitor provides a surprising and synergistic effect. See par. 12. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed products as applied above, and in view of Hamdy.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Conclusion
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628