DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims of August 20, 2026, in response to the Office Action of May 20, 2026, are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
The provisional double patenting rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
The non-provisional DP rejection is maintained. The ‘575 patent is direct to the claimed BTK inhibitor and in view of Hamdy would be obvious to combine with immunotherapy, including anti-PD-1 antibody.
The anticipation rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
With respect to the traversal of the § 103 rejection, Applicant argues that Hamdy discloses an irreversible BTK inhibitor rather than a reversible BTK inhibitor.
The examiner notes that the combination of prior art teaches a POSA that a compound that inhibits BTK can be combined with an anti-PD-1 antibody to treat cancers. The claims as well as the abstract disclose combination therapy with a BTK inhibitor and a PD-1 antibody. “In certain embodiments, the invention includes therapeutic methods of using a PD-1 monoclonal antibody and a BTK inhibitor.” Abstract. Further independent claim 60 is shown below:
Claims
1-59. (canceled)
60. A method of treating a cancer, comprising the steps of co-administering, to a human in need thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of (1) a programmed death 1 (PD-1) inhibitor or a programmed death ligand 1 (PD-L1) inhibitor, or an antigen-binding fragment, variant, conjugate, or biosimilar thereof, and (2) a Bruton's tyrosine kinase (BTK) inhibitor or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
The Abstract, Claims, and teachings of Hamdy do not teach away from the use of any BTK inhibitor. It is the BTK inhibition that treats subjects and a POSA would not interpret Hamdy as limited to only reversible BTK inhibitors. As such, a prima facie showing is established. Applicant has not provided nor shown unexpected results as compared to the closest prior art.
Claim of Foreign Priority
Applicant’s claim of foreign priority, Certified Copy of foreign priority documents, and English translation of foreign priority documents have been received by the Office.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 15 are pending. Claim 1 is examined. Claim 15 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahata et al., (WO2018/097234A1), in view of Hamdy et al., (US2017/0239351).
Kawahata teaches BTK inhibitors compounds or a salt thereof for treating many types of cancers. The compound includes Examples 23, which is the elected species and is shown below:
Kawahata does not teach combination therapy with an anti-PD-1 immunotherapy.
Hamdy teaches therapeutic compositions including both a BTK inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 compound. See Abstract. The combination is for the treatment of many cancers, including leukemia, lymphoma, and solid tumors. See par. 15. Further, the combination of a BTK inhibitor and a PD-1 inhibitor (including an anti-PD-1 antibody) provides a surprising and synergistic effect. See par. 12.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application to arrive at the claimed products in view of the cited prior art. One would have been motivated to do so because each of the claimed agents are known and taught for a same use. Moreover, a combination of a Btk inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 antibody are taught to provide a synergistic benefit in the treatment of cancer. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed product in view of the cited prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 9 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,793,575, in view of Hamdy et al., (US2017/0239351).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Hamdy teaches therapeutic compositions including both a BTK inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 or PDL-2 compound. See Abstract and par. 2. The combination is for the treatment of many cancers, including leukemia, lymphoma, and solid tumors. See par. 15. Further, the combination of a BTK inhibitor and a PD-1 inhibitor provides a surprising and synergistic effect. See par. 12. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed products as applied above, and in view of Hamdy.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JARED D. BARSKY whose telephone number is (571)-272-2795. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 8:30 to 5:30. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Amy L. Clark can be reached on 571-272-1310. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628