DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed 06/24/2026.
Claims 1-9 are pending. Claims 1-4 and 9 are being examined. Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from further consideration. Claim 1 is amended and claim 9 is newly added with no new subject matter being introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Emoto (US 2013/0328478 A1).
Considering claims 1 and 9, Emoto teaches a phosphor powder represented by the claimed general formula with the claimed Si/Al atomic ratio and O/N atomic ratio (Emoto, claim 1). Emoto teaches the claimed phosphor powder; thus, it would be expected that Emoto’s phosphor powder would also have a light absorption A700 at a wavelength of 700 nm equal to or less than 10% and/or 9.2%.
In the alternative, Emoto teaches the preference that the crystal phase present in the phosphor is a single crystal phase; a heterogeneous phase may be included as long as the fluorescence characteristics are not greatly affected (Emoto, [0040]). Emoto teaches that in the production of the phosphor, it is preferable to further perform an acid cleaning process to remove impurities and an annealing treatment process to improve crystallinity (Emoto, [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the production process such as performing an acid wash treatment to remove impurities/heterogeneous phases and improve the crystallinity of the phosphor. One of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired light-emitting properties including a diffuse reflectance X1 with respect to light having a light absorption A700 at a wavelength of 700 nm equal to or less than 10% and/or 9.2% with a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 2, Emoto teaches the claimed phosphor powder; thus, it would be expected that Emoto’s phosphor powder would also have A600-A700 equal to or more than 6% and equal to or less than 10% wherein a light absorption at wavelength of 600 nm is defined as A600(%).
In the alternative, Emoto teaches the preference that the crystal phase present in the phosphor is a single crystal phase; a heterogeneous phase may be included as long as the fluorescence characteristics are not greatly affected (Emoto, [0040]). Emoto teaches that in the production of the phosphor, it is preferable to further perform an acid cleaning process to remove impurities and an annealing treatment process to improve crystallinity (Emoto, [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the production process such as performing an acid wash treatment to remove impurities/heterogeneous phases and improve the crystallinity of the phosphor. One of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired light-emitting properties including A600-A700 equal to or more than 6% and equal to or less than 10%.
Considering claim 3, Emoto teaches a volume -based cumulative 50% size D50 measured by a laser diffraction scattering method is equal to or more than 8 µm and equal to or less than 25 µm by teaching the average particle size of the phosphor obtained by a laser diffraction/scattering method is 18 µm (Emoto, [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emoto (US 2013/0328478 A1).
Considering claim 4, Emoto does not explicitly teach a volume -based cumulative 10% size D10 measured by a laser diffraction scattering method is equal to or more than 5 µm and equal to or less than 12 µm. However, Emoto teaches in order to suitably use the calcination product as a phosphor for LEDs, it is preferable to adjust the average particle size of the calcination product so as to be 6 to 30 µm (Emoto, [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the particle size of the phosphor including such that a volume -based cumulative 10% size D10 measured by a laser diffraction scattering method is equal to or more than 5 µm and equal to or less than 12 µm. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired particle size/distribution for desired application such as in LEDs.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/035,435 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to the same phosphor powder and it would be expected that they would have the same light emitting properties (diffuse reflectance and light absorption A700).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding the production method of the phosphor in the Examples of Emoto does not include an acid treatment step have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Although the specific examples of Emoto do not include an acid treatments step, he does teach that in the production of the phosphor, it is preferable to further perform an acid cleaning process to remove impurities and an annealing treatment process to improve crystallinity (Emoto, [0051]). Emoto teaches the preference that the crystal phase present in the phosphor is a single crystal phase and the desire to reduce the presence of a heterogeneous phase (Emoto, [0040]). Thus, Emoto teaches/suggest an acid treatment step to reduce/remove the presence of a heterogeneous phase (i.e., improve crystallinity).
Emoto’s acid treatment process is reducing the presence of a heterogenous phase similar to Applicant’s acid treatment process. Thus, it would be expected that the acid treatment process conditions of Emoto would also be similar to Applicant’s since they are both aimed at reducing the presence of a heterogenous phase. Moreover, Applicant has only compared examples of phosphors with and without acid treatment. There is no evidence of the criticality of the acid treatment conditions.
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding Emoto does not disclose or suggest any relationship between satisfying the claimed light absorption A700 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Emoto teaches a production method that includes a series of steps including preparation of raw material mixed powder, firing step, pulverization step of fired product, acid treatment step similar to Applicant’s production method. Thus, it would be expected that the product of Emoto would also have properties similar to that of Applicant’s (i.e., claimed light absorption A700). "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer" (see MPEP §2112(I)-(II)).
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding the double patenting rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Instant application and copending Application No. 18/035,435 are both directed to a phosphor powder made by the same production method that includes series of steps including preparation of raw material mixed powder, firing step, pulverization step of fired product, acid treatment step. Thus, it would be expected that they would have the same light emitting properties (diffuse reflectance and light absorption A700).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734