DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
The request filed on July 21, 2026 for a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114 based on parent Application No. 18/035615 is acceptable and a RCE has been established. An action on the RCE follows.
The following rejections are reapplied in light of current arguments:
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 & 12-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qtsubo JP2004247192 A in view of BANDOU et al, CN101027802A.
Claims 1-4, 6-10 & 13-18 are newly rejected as necessitated by amendment as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 & 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qtsubo JP2004247192 A in view of BANDOU et al, CN-101027802-A.
With respect to claim 1, Qtsubo teaches a secondary battery (lithium secondary battery; See the Abstract), comprising: an electrode assembly in which a first electrode (positive electrode plate 2; See the Abstract), a separator (separator; See the Abstract), and a second electrode (negative electrode plate 3; See the Abstract) are stacked and wound (Fig. 1, below), the first electrode comprising a first electrode current collector (positive electrode current collection member 4A; See the Abstract) and an electrode active material layer provided on the first electrode current collector (negative electrode current collection member 4B; See the Abstract), wherein a non-coated portion of the first electrode, on which the electrode active material layer is not provided, is located at a long side the first electrode based on a direction in which the first electrode current collector is wound (a metal foil body is exposed at the end of the electrode plate without being coated with the electrode active material, in reference to Fig.1 below; Examiner’s note: that is the top side of the wound electrode where the elongated ends are exposed and welded to 10; See also paragraph [015], section 3); and a current collecting plate located at one end of the electrode assembly at which the non-coated portion of the first electrode is exposed (current collecting plate 10; Fig. 1), the current collecting plate comprising: a central portion corresponding to a core of the electrode (current collecting plate 10; Fig. 1 below); assembly, and at least two legs (current collecting plate 10 with two legs; Fig. 1 below), each leg having first end connected to the central portion, each leg extending in a direction toward an outer periphery of the electrode assembly (each leg extends radially outward; current collecting plate 10 with two legs; Fig. 1 below), each leg being electrically connected to the non-coated portion of the first electrode (the current collecting plate 10 sits on top of the exposed electrode portion of the wound cell; See also paragraph [015], section 3; Fig. 1 below).
With respect to claim 2, wherein the at least two legs of the current collecting plate are arranged to provide a straight shape, a cross shape, or a combination of the straight shape and the cross shape (cross shape current collecting plate 10 with two legs; Fig. 1 above). With respect to claim 3, wherein each leg is welded and electrically connected to the non-coated portion of the first electrode (the positive electrode current collecting member 4A and the negative electrode current collecting member 4B are arranged so as to be in contact with the edges, connection edges 11, of the three-dimensionally arranged electrode plates. And the connection edge 11 are connected by welding to form a connection portion 10; Fig. 1 above). With respect to claim 16, a battery can configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (73; Fig. 3), the battery can having an opening portion (top of can 73 have an open portion; Fig. 3); and wherein the terminal connection part is connected directly to the cap plate or coupled to a connection plate attached to the cap plate (terminal connection part 72 is connected directly to the cap plate 71B; Fig. 3). With respect to claim 18, a vehicle comprising at least one battery (electric vehicle; [0002]).
Although Qtsubo teaches lead 72 in Fig 3:
the reference does not teach: the central portion having a hole (claim 1); a terminal connection part electrically connected to the central portion, the terminal connection part being bent at least once in a direction toward the central portion of the current collecting plate (claim 1); wherein the terminal connection part is located between two adjacent legs of the at least two legs (claim 1);a thickness of the current collecting plate is 0.15 mm or more and 0.6 mm or less (claim 4); wherein a length of each leg is 25% or more and 50% or less an outer diameter of the secondary battery (claim 6); wherein a width of each leg is 6% or more and 22% or less an outer diameter of the secondary battery (claim 7); wherein a ratio of an area in which the current collecting plate and the non-coated portion of the first electrode are in contact with each other is 10% or more and 99% or less an area of a surface of the current collecting plate facing the non-coated portion of the first electrode (claim 8); wherein a ratio of an area in which the non-coated portion of the first electrode and the current collecting plate are in contact with each other is 10% or more and 99% or less an area of a surface of the non-coated portion of the first electrode facing the current collecting plate (claim 9); wherein an aperture ratio of the current collecting plate, which is defined by the following Equation 1, is 20% or more and less than 100%, [Equation 1] Aperture ratio (%) = 1 - (an area in which the current collecting plate is in contact with an upper surface of the electrode assembly) / (an area of a circle having a diameter equal to an outer diameter of the electrode assembly) = (an area in which the current collecting plate is not in contact with the upper surface of the electrode assembly) / (the area of the circle having the diameter equal to the outer diameter of the electrode claim 10); wherein a thickness of a connection part between the terminal connection part and the current collecting plate is equal to a thickness of the current collecting plate (claim 13); wherein a length of the terminal connection part is 20 mm or more and 40 mm or less (claim 14); wherein a width of the terminal connection part is 8% or more and 35% or less of an outer diameter of the secondary battery (claim 15); the sealing body having a cap plate and a sealing gasket; a sealing body configured to seal the opening portion of the battery can, (claim 16); battery pack comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (claim 17).
BANDOU teaches that it is well known in the art to employ a current collecting plate with the central portion having a hole (current collecting plate 2 has an aperture in the center; Fig. 3; claim 1);
a terminal connection part (collector lead 12; Fig. 5 below); electrically connected to the central portion (collector lead 12 electrically connected to the central portion of current collecting plate 2 ; Fig. 5 below), the terminal connection part being bent at least once in a direction toward the central portion of the current collecting plate (collector lead 12 bent toward the central portion of the current collecting plate 2; Fig. 5 below; claim 1); the sealing body having a cap plate and a sealing gasket (the sealing body having a sealing plate 0 and a sealing gasket 5; Fig. 4); a sealing body configured to seal the opening portion of the battery can (cap plate 0 and sealing gasket 5 close the can 5; Fig. 4’ claim 16).
Qtsubo and BANDOU are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating secondary batteries with partitioned current collecting plates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ to the central portion of the current collecting plate having a hole taught by BANDOU, in the current collecting plate of Qtsubo, in order to facilitate release of pressure, and/or filling of the electrolyte of the secondary cell. The skilled artisan recognizes that a hollow core facilitates movement of fluid out of the cell.
With respect to a terminal connection part electrically connected to the central portion, the terminal connection part being bent at least once in a direction toward the central portion of the current collecting plate (claim 1); it would have been obvious to employ the terminal connection part of BANDOU, to replace the lead 72 on the current collecting plate of Qtsubo to facilitate efficient electrical conduction and connection. BANDOU teaches the terminal connection part is at the edge of the central portion and bent towards the central portion. See Fig of BANDOU above. Although, BANDOU teaches a separate terminal piece, making essential working parts of a device integral is prima facie obvious. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2s 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Additionally, it is well within the skill of the artisan’s skill to bend and reposition electrical leads for efficient electrical conduction and connection. Furthermore, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the terminal connection part being located between two adjacent legs of the at least two legs (claim 1); it would have been obvious to position the terminal connection part of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to a thickness of the current collecting plate being 0.15 mm or more and 0.6 mm or less (claim 4); it would have been obvious in the current collecting plate of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as change in size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Qtsubo teaches a cross-shaped positive electrode current collector 4A made of aluminum having a thickness of about 0.2 to 5 mm. See Example 1. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a length of each leg being 25% or more and 50% or less an outer diameter of the secondary battery (claim 6); it would have been obvious in the legs of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as change in size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a width of each leg being 6% or more and 22% or less an outer diameter of the secondary battery (claim 7); it would have been obvious in the current legs of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as change in size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a ratio of an area in which the current collecting plate and the non-coated portion of the first electrode are in contact with each other being 10% or more and 99% or less an area of a surface of the current collecting plate facing the non-coated portion of the first electrode (claim 8); it would have been obvious in the current collecting plate and non-coated portion of the first electrode of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as change in size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a ratio of an area in which the non-coated portion of the first electrode and the current collecting plate are in contact with each other being 10% or more and 99% or less an area of a surface of the non-coated portion of the first electrode facing the current collecting plate (claim 9); it would have been obvious in the current collecting plate and non-coated portion of the first electrode of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as change in size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to an aperture ratio of the current collecting plate, being defined by the following Equation 1, is 20% or more and less than 100%, [Equation 1] Aperture ratio (%) = 1 - (an area in which the current collecting plate is in contact with an upper surface of the electrode assembly) / (an area of a circle having a diameter equal to an outer diameter of the electrode assembly) = (an area in which the current collecting plate is not in contact with the upper surface of the electrode assembly) / (the area of the circle having the diameter equal to the outer diameter of the electrode claim 10); it would have been obvious in the current collecting plate of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as change in size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a thickness of a connection part between the terminal connection part and the current collecting plate is equal to a thickness of the current collecting plate (claim 13); it would have been obvious in the connection part between the terminal connection part and the current collecting plate of the first electrode of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as change in size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to a length of the terminal connection part is 20 mm or more and 40 mm or less (claim 14); it would have been obvious in the terminal connection part of the first electrode of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as change in size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a width of the terminal connection part being 8% or more and 35% or less of an outer diameter of the secondary battery (claim 15); it would have been obvious in the terminal connection part of the first electrode of Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as change in size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to the battery pack comprising a plurality of secondary batteries (claim 17); it would have been obvious in Qtsubo in view of BANDOU, as duplicating size of essential working part of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). The skilled artisan recognizes that additional cells may be necessary to meet increasing load demands.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that Qtsubo JP2004247192 A is silent to a terminal connection part electrically connected to the central portion, the terminal connection part being bent at least once in a direction toward the central portion of the current collecting plate. More specifically:
As shown in Figures 1, 3, and 5 of Qtsubo, reproduced below, Qtsubo discloses a secondary battery that has a current collecting plate that includes a plurality of legs extending from a central portion. Each one of those legs is welded to the underlying electrode assembly. A separate electrode lead 72 is provided, and based on the figures, appears to be arranged on top of an existing leg. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not arbitrarily use one of the legs intended to be welded to the underlying electrode assembly and bend it away from the electrode assembly as alleged in the Advisory Action.
As shown in Figures 4 and 5 of Bandou, reproduced below, current collecting plate 2 has a hole at a central portion and a lead 12 that is electrically connected to a central portion of the current collector plate 2. Because Bandou discloses that the lead 12 is placed on top of the central portion, Bandou would not teach one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Qtsubo to provide a terminal connection part that extends from an edge of the central portion, nor would Bandou teach one of ordinary skill in the art to bend one of the legs of Qtsubo in the manner required by the claims.
This argument is persuasive to the extent that it would not be obvious to bend one of the legs of Qtsubo to satisfy the terminal requirements of the instant claims. However. Bandou teaches the identical positioning of the terminal around the central portion of the collector plate. See Bandou figure above. Employing the terminal of Bandou to replace the lead 72 of Qtsubo teaches the identical structure necessitated by the claims. Claim 1 requires that the terminal connection part is located between the two adjacent legs of the at least two legs. This limitation may be satisfied as “between” may be determined from either the x and y plane; meaning, between the top or side plane of the legs. BANDOU teaches the terminal connection part is at the edge of the central portion and bent towards the central portion. See Fig of BANDOU above. Although, BANDOU teaches a separate terminal piece, making essential working parts of a device integral is prima facie obvious. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2s 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Additionally, it is well within the skill of the artisan’s skill to bend and reposition electrical leads for efficient electrical conduction and connection. Furthermore, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Therefore, the references are reapplied above.
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723