DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mouth in claim 6 and the laser printing in claim 9 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. Regarding the mouth, it is noted that if the mouth is meant to be the equivalent to the orifice 14, then the same terminology should be used to avoid confusion. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to for the following informalities. Figs. 2-3 include reference numeral 2, however refence numeral 2 is identified as the pumping device on the last page of the specification. The areas labeled as 2 in Figs. 2-3 do not appear to correspond to the pumping device.
The drawings are also objected to as failing to adequately use solid black lines. 37 CFR 1.84(a)(1) requires black ink to secure solid black lines and 37 CFR 1.84(l) states that every line must be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to clearly show the ledge 8, deflector 15, lock 9, and scalloping 11 as described in the specification. Although reference numerals 8, 15, 9, and 11 are shown in at least Figs. 4, 7, 2, and 6, respectively, the poor quality and small size of the drawings does not allow the ledge, deflector, lock, and scalloping to be properly understood and/or identified. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. For example, it is unclear if the term “Mini-invasive” is correct or if “Minimally invasive” was intended; also, terms such as “especially” in a title are not commonly used. It is noted that if the title is changed, the corresponding language in the claims should reflect the change to the title.
A substitute specification in proper idiomatic English and in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52(a) and (b) is required. The substitute specification filed must be accompanied by a statement that it contains no new matter. The specification appears to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and is replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, it is noted that claim 1 includes the transition phrase “consisting of” which excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim (MPEP § 2111.03 II). Therefore, limitations which are not part of the body and the respective nozzle defined in claim 1, such as the lock in claim 2, the filter in claim 4, and the deflector in claim 6, are technically excluded by virtue of the chosen transition phrase. For examination purposes, the limitations of the lock, the filter, and the deflector will be interpreted as not being positively recited and the limitations will be met if the prior art is capable of use with such limitations.
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 8, it is noted that claims 2, 3, and 8 include product-by-process limitations. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113). In the instant case, the lock in claim 2, the ledge in claim 3, and the print in claim 8 are not dependent on their methods of formation such as welding, being provided before attachment to the nozzle, or laser etching, respectively.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-9 in general, the use of similar terms such as the mini-invasive surgical nozzle, the body of the nozzle, the respective nozzle, and the nozzle cause unnecessary ambiguity when interpreting the claims. Examiner suggests using alternative terms for these nozzle variations. Examiner notes that if the reference numerals 6 and 7 were not used, all the claims would be indefinite because it would be unclear which nozzle is being referred to in each situation.
Claims 6 and 7 recite “its mouth” and “the outlet diameter,” respectively. In claim 6, the term “its mouth” should be changed to “a mouth of the nozzle” and in claim 7, the term “the outlet diameter” should be changed to “an outlet diameter.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
All the claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. For example, in claim 1, phrases such as “especially” and “characterized in that” are not ordinarily used in U.S. practice. Regarding the term “especially” in particular, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be clearly determined since is unclear whether the nozzle is intended to be used for mini-invasive surgery or not; and it is unclear if these purposes are intended to affect the structure of the nozzle. Regarding the term “characterized in that,” the term “characterized in that,” which is a more open-type of transition phrase, appears to conflict with the term “consisting of,” which is specifically a closed-type of transition phrase. Clarification is required.
Additionally, phrases such as “the nozzle (6) is at one end of the body (7) of the mini-invasive surgical nozzle firmly attached” (emphasis added) is an example of an idiomatic error. Applicant is suggested to review all the claims and to make sure all the claims conform to U.S. practice and are free from idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0107620 to Fech et al. (“Fech”).
Regarding claim 1, Fech teaches a mini-invasive surgical nozzle, especially for mini- invasive surgery purposes, consisting of a body (60) of the nozzle with two ends (opposite ends of 60) and the respective nozzle (20), characterized in that the nozzle (20) is at one end of the body (Fig. 3) of the mini-invasive surgical nozzle firmly attached, wherein the outer diameter of the body of the respective nozzle and the outer diameter of the respective nozzle are identical ([0071]).
Regarding claim 5, Fech teaches the mini-invasive surgical nozzle, especially for mini-invasive surgery purposes, according to claim 1 as shown above, characterized in that the nozzle is provided with a vortex chamber (11).
Regarding claim 6, Fech teaches the mini-invasive surgical nozzle, especially for mini-invasive surgery purposes, according to claim 1 as shown above, characterized in that the nozzle is capable of (see claim interpretation) being provided with a deflector (such as deflection surface 41) on its mouth.
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,729,334 to Baran
Regarding claim 1, Baran teaches a mini-invasive surgical nozzle (Fig. 14), especially for mini-invasive surgery purposes, consisting of a body (152) of the nozzle with two ends (opposite ends of 152) and the respective nozzle (156), characterized in that the nozzle is at one end of the body of the mini-invasive surgical nozzle firmly attached (Fig. 14), wherein the outer diameter of the body of the respective nozzle and the outer diameter of the respective nozzle are identical (outer diameters are identical where 152 and 156 are connected).
Regarding claim 2, Baran teaches the mini-invasive surgical nozzle, especially for mini-invasive surgery purposes, according to claim 1 as shown above, Baran further teaching that a is capable of being attached
Regarding claim 4, Baran teaches the mini-invasive surgical nozzle, especially for mini-invasive surgery purposes, according to claim 1 as shown above, Baran further teaching a filter is capable of being (see claim interpretation) mounted in the nozzle (the nozzle 152 of Baran is capable of having a filter mounted therein given the broadest reasonable interpretation since the filter is excluded by the transition phrase of claim 1, an example of a filter is also cited in the supplemental prior art that is cited but not relied upon for the instant rejection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fech alone.
Regarding claim 3, Fech teaches the mini-invasive surgical nozzle, especially for mini-invasive surgery purposes, according to claim 1 as shown above, characterized in that
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the ledge of Fech to have a length of 3-10 mm, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the ledge of Fech would not operate differently with the claimed 3-10 mm length, as this length would be suitable for receiving the mating nozzle plate which may vary in size according the particular treatment and area of therapy.
Regarding claim 7, Fech teaches the mini-invasive surgical nozzle, especially for mini-invasive surgery purposes, according to claim 1 as shown above but does not mention the diameter of the nozzle outlet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the diameter of the nozzle outlet of Fech to have a range of 0.05-1.5 mm, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the diameter of the nozzle outlet of Fech would not operate differently with the claimed 0.05-1.5 mm range, as this range would be suitable for providing sufficient fluid output according the particular treatment and area of therapy.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baran in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2003/0220620 to McMurdo.
Regarding claim 8, Baran teaches the mini-invasive surgical nozzle, especially for mini- invasive surgery purposes, according to claim 1 as shown above, but does not teach the printing.
McMurdo teaches an outer surface of a body of a mini-invasive surgical nozzle is provided with a
Regarding claim 9, Baran teaches the mini-invasive surgical nozzle, especially for mini-invasive surgery purposes, according to claim 1 as shown above, but does not teach scalloping.
McMurdo teaches a part of the body of a mini-invasive surgical nozzle is provided with scalloping ([0081], ridges or textured gripping surfaces). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baran to include scalloping as taught by McMurdo to yield the predictable result of providing a means of gripping the nozzle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 120,525 to Mattison which teaches a lock (i) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0143915 to Strange et al. (“Strange”) which teaches a filter ([0016]).
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783