DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant remarks regarding objections to minor informalities in grammar, capitalization, and the like found in the claim language. While Applicant amendments appear to have remedied the majority of the objections previously presented, a series of newly introduced similar minor informalities are set forth in the appropriate office action section, below, as well as the reiteration of the general grammatical informalities of the introductory clauses of each claim set forth in Section 6 of the non-final office action dated 11/5/2024, which do not appear to be addressed by the Applicant, either through amendments or specific arguments.
Applicant arguments with respect to 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but are not persuasive, however the rejection(s) have been withdrawn under separate rationale than that set forth in arguments. With respect to Applicant Arguments, see point 5 on Pages 9 & 10 of Applicant reply filed 8/22/2025, Applicant asserts that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea due to limiting the vehicle-mounted, road, and platform subsystems to operate on processors, which are asserted by the Applicant to render the claims as not directed to an abstract idea. Examiner respectfully disagrees, however, with this specific rationale, as mere computer-implementation of an abstract idea does not render a claim patent-eligible [see MPEP 2106.04(d)(I)].
However, as noted above, the rejection under 35 USC 101 is withdrawn under separate rationale, specifically in the limitation “a vehicle execution unit, wherein the vehicle execution is connected with the vehicle planning unit, the vehicle execution unit is configured to control the current running state of the vehicle according to the real-time path of the current vehicle and the driving route” integrating the planning of a real-time path into the practical application of vehicle control. Thus, Independent Claim 1 is found to be patent-eligible as being directed to a practical application of an abstract idea, and dependent claim(s) are found to be patent-eligible based on such dependence, as well as the limitations recited within, and the rejection(s) under 35 USC 101 are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/22/2025 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant appears to have generally incorporated similar subject matter as that found in previously presented (now canceled) Dependent Claims 2 & 3 to Independent Claim 1, along with the additional limitation of the platform subsystem being implemented on a cloud server, which appears to be the primary argued limitation as set forth below with respect to 35 USC 103. Applicant Asserts as follows:
Concerning the point hh to the point ss in Claim 1, based on the patent specification: "the platform subsystem 300 can be set on a large server such as a cloud server", the applicant creates a limitation on the platform subsystem. Based on the patent specification, the applicant adds "the vehicle-mounted subsystem includes: an automatic driving module, configured to control the automatic running state of the current vehicle; and a communication module, wherein the communication module is connected to the automatic driving module, the communication module is used to transmit data with the outside; and a vehicle storage module connected with the communication module and the automatic driving module is used for storing data; the automatic driving module includes: a perception unit, configured to acquire surrounding information of the current vehicle; an information fusion unit connected to the perception unit, used to fuse the surrounding information of the current vehicle to obtain the real-time external information of the current vehicle; a vehicle planning unit connected to the information fusion unit, configured to plan the real-time path of the current vehicle according to the real-time external information; and a vehicle execution unit, wherein the vehicle execution is connected with the vehicle planning unit, the vehicle execution unit is configured to control the current running state of the vehicle according to the real-time path of the current vehicle and the driving route" to claim 1.
The platform subsystem obtains the data of the vehicle-mounted subsystems in each vehicle and the data of the road subsystems equipped with various sensors, conducts combined analysis and assists the driving of vehicles. It can be understood as an extremely large system that contains the data of all vehicles and the data of the road subsystems equipped with various sensors to assist the driving of each vehicle. The platform subsystem is used to plan the optimal driving route for each vehicle in the entire transportation system. Ran (US2019/0096238 A1) does not disclose the content corresponding to an extremely large system that contains the data of all vehicles and the data of the road subsystems equipped with various sensors to assist the driving of each vehicle.
Tao (US 2019/0206236 A1) does not disclose the content corresponding to an extremely large system that contains the data of all vehicles and the data of the road subsystems equipped with various sensors to assist the driving of each vehicle.
While Moustafa (US 2022/0126878 A1) discloses the fusion of vehicle sensors and road sensors in at least Paragraphs 0055, 0056 & 0076, it is just the fusion carried out by the in-vehicle computing systems of a single vehicle itself to assist its own driving.
However, the platform subsystem in Claim 1 combines the data of the on-board subsystems of all vehicles and the data of all road subsystems equipped with various sensors to provide auxiliary information for all vehicles and determine the optimal driving routes. Therefore, the platform subsystem operates on a large cloud server system, which grasps the vehicle information in the entire traffic system to plan the optimal driving routes for vehicles. In contrast, the on- board computing system in Moustafa only obtains the information from its own vehicle sensors and road sensors to plan the driving route. Thus, the amount of information used in Claim 1 is different from that in Moustafa, and the obtained optimal driving routes are also different. Therefore, as to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, Claim 1 would not be obvious to acquire a path for the vehicle to follow as taught by Moustafa.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that the limitation “the platform subsystem is set on a large cloud server;” as recited by Independent Claim 1 is not rendered obvious by the prior art made of record. Specifically, Examiner respectfully asserts that Ran (US 2019/0096238 A1) renders obvious the use of such a cloud server architecture for implementing what is construed as the “platform subsystem” in Ran. As set forth in further detail below, the “platform subsystem” functionalities recited by the present claimed invention are paralleled by the TCU functionalities recited by Ran, specifically with respect to Paragraphs 0101 – 0104, 0149, & 0182 of Ran. Figure 11 of Ran, depicted below, is further described with reference to Paragraph 0159 of Ran, which describes an example TCU [platform subsystem] network structure, including point TCUs exchanging information between one another, as well as with segment TCUs, corridor TCCs, Regional TCCs, Macro TCCs, which each also exchange information between other TCCs/TCUs of the same/adjacent layers of the system [i.e. an extremely large system that contains the data of all vehicles and the data of the road subsystems equipped with various sensors to assist the driving of each vehicle]. Further, at least Paragraphs 0182 & 0183 of Ran disclose wherein the TCC/TCU network is supported by cloud infrastructure and services, which provide storage and computation functionalities as depicted in Element 1204 of Figure 12, below [i.e. the platform subsystem is set on a large cloud server]. Thus, Examiner respectfully asserts that Ran discloses or otherwise renders obvious implementing the platform subsystem on a large cloud server as recited by amended Independent Claim 1.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to rejection(s) under 35 USC 103 appear to relate to other references made of record purportedly not teaching or rendering obvious the above limitation. Examiner respectfully asserts that as Ran discloses the implementation using a cloud server as set forth above, the remaining arguments with respect to said limitation are moot.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, & 6 – 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Each of claims 1, 4, & 6 — 12 are generally grammatically incorrect, such that each claim appears to exhibit improper clauses, structure, and the like. For each of Claims 1, 4, & 6 – 12, the phrase “it is characterized in that” or similar as introduces each of claims 1, 4, & 6 – 12 appears to be grammatically incorrect in the context of each claim due to the preceding statements of each claim, and thus each of claims 2 — 12 are objected to for at least that error/informality. Appropriate correction is required.
Additional grammatical errors as noted by the Examiner are set forth below, which are grammatically incorrect either alone or in their context within the claim:
Claim 1:
Line 1: “that,include” is grammatically incorrect, lacking a space between words and adjustment of “include” to a proper tense.
Line 7: “road subsystem , the” includes an extraneous space before the comma.
Lines 7 – 8: “arranged on the road and communicated with the vehicle-mounted subsystem” is grammatically incorrect in the tense of “communicated.”
Line 10: “traffic information ; and” includes an extraneous space before the semicolon.
Line 13: “the vehicle ; the” includes an extraneous space before the semicolon.
Line 20: “storing data ;” includes an extraneous space before the semicolon.
Line 28: “a vehicle execution unit , wherein” includes an extraneous space before the comma.
Line 28: “a vehicle execution unit , wherein the vehicle execution is connected to” likely intends to reference the “vehicle execution unit” as being connected to the vehicle planning unit.
Claim 6:
Line 8: “module , the” includes an extraneous space before the comma.
Line 9: “section , wherein” includes an extraneous space before the comma.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ran (US 2019/0096238 A1) in view of Tao (US 2019/0206236 A1) and Moustafa (US 2022/0126878 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Ran discloses: An intelligent driving system, it is characterized in that, include: (Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0006 & 0007 an intelligent roadside infrastructure system for facilitating operation and control of connected vehicles through the receipt of traffic information and the provision of control from the roadside units to connected vehicles)
at least one vehicle-mounted subsystem, the vehicle-mounted subsystem is arranged on a vehicle and is used to control the running state of the current vehicle according to the driving path of the current vehicle; (Ran discloses in at least Paragraph 0012 wherein OBUs [i.e. vehicle mounted subsystems] are provided onboard a vehicle [i.e. arranged on the vehicle] and are used to facilitate vehicle control [i.e. control the vehicle] according to a received vehicle route [i.e. according to the driving path of the current vehicle]. Ran further discloses in at least Paragraphs 0027, 0032, 0033, & 0171, as well as Claim 11, wherein the vehicle OBU may receive vehicle control instructions, including desired longitudinal and lateral acceleration rate and vehicle orientation as disclosed specifically by Paragraph 0033 of Ran. Control instructions are provided to facilitate vehicle control, and the OBU may alternatively control the vehicle to a safe stop as specifically disclosed in Paragraph 0027 of Ran by implementing the instructions via a vehicle control module as specifically disclosed in Paragraph 0171)
wherein the running state includes the steering wheel state and the throttle state of the current vehicle; (Ran discloses in at least Paragraph 0175 wherein steering, throttle control, and braking outputs are provided [i.e. the running state controlled steering wheel and throttle state of the vehicle] to a vehicle OBU [i.e. vehicle mounted subsystem] to facilitate vehicle control by the OBU according to a planned route)
at least one road subsystem, the road subsystem is arranged on the road and communicated with the vehicle-mounted subsystem, and is used to obtain traffic information of each road section and obtain the driving route of the vehicle according to the traffic information; and (Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0094 – 0100 & 0111 wherein a plurality of roadside units [RSUs, i.e. road subsystems] are provided on the roads [i.e. arranged on the road], including specifically recited as being placed at intersections [Paragraph 0111]. The RSUs are used for detecting road vehicle traffic [i.e. to obtain traffic information of each road section] and communicating with the OBUs of vehicles to transmit and receive data therebetween as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0025, 0027, & 0028 of Ran, which specifically recite the receipt of vehicle generated data from OBUs [Paragraph 0027], as well as real-time vehicle environment sensing data [Paragraph 0025]. Data transmitted from the OBU may include, as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0032, 0148 & Figure 1, of Ran below, the travel route of the vehicle [i.e. the driving route] which may be computed by the IRIS [which includes the RSUs as well as TCUs] as further disclosed by Ran in at least Paragraphs 0114 – 0117, and more specifically in at least Paragraphs 0174 – 0175 to be based on traffic data obtained from roadside sensors [i.e. according to the traffic information])
a platform subsystem, the platform subsystem is communicatively connected with the… road subsystem, and (Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0101 – 0104 wherein a TCU [i.e. a platform subsystem] may have a hierarchical structure, including a plurality of RSUs, with the TCUs implementing real-time vehicle control and data processing functionalities, including traffic operation optimization [Paragraph 0102]. The TCUs are communicatively coupled to a plurality of RSUs [i.e. road subsystems] to receive and process data from the plurality of RSUs, as well as transmit data back to the RSU network as specifically disclosed in Paragraphs 0149 & 0182 of Ran, which disclose regional and segment TCUs that receive information such as incident and traffic information collected by connected RSUs [Paragraph 0149], as well as sending road, weather, and incident information [Paragraph 0149] to a plurality of RCUs [Paragraph 0182])
is used to synthesize the traffic information of each road section to assist the driving of the vehicle (Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0101 – 0103 wherein a TCU [i.e. platform subsystem] obtains data from a plurality of RSUs arranged in a hierarchal structure, and determines a route and control commands for one or more vehicles based on the determined traffic information [i.e. assistance in driving the vehicle is synthesized from traffic information of each road section]. This is specifically disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0114 – 0117 & 0149 of Ran, which recite planning and decision-making taking place as a function of the data collected, including macroscopic level planning, such as route computing [i.e. path planning]. Ran further discloses in at least Paragraphs 0158, 0174 – 0175 & 0182 wherein following the aforementioned computation [Paragraphs 0158 & 0174], the TCU provides the determined routes and control commands to the vehicles [Paragraph 0175, i.e. assists the driving of the vehicle] using connected RSUs as intermediary communication points [Paragraph 0182], specifically reciting the transmission of customized traffic information and control instructions to vehicles in at least Paragraph 0182 of Ran)
the platform subsystem is set on a large cloud server; (Ran discloses in at least Paragraph 0159 & Figure 11, below an example TCU [platform subsystem] network structure, including point TCUs exchanging information between one another, as well as with segment TCUs, corridor TCCs, Regional TCCs, Macro TCCs, which each also exchange information between other TCCs/TCUs of the same/adjacent layers of the system. Further, at least Paragraphs 0182 & 0183 of Ran disclose wherein the TCC/TCU network is supported by cloud infrastructure and services, which provide storage and computation functionalities as depicted in Element 1204 of Figure 12, below [i.e. the platform subsystem is set on a large cloud server])
the vehicle-mounted subsystem includes: an automatic driving module, configured to control the automatic running state of the current vehicle; (Ran discloses in at least Paragraph 0148 wherein the OBU [i.e. vehicle-mounted subsystem] includes a vehicle control module configured to execute control commands and operate the vehicle [i.e. an automatic driving module configured to control the automatic running state of the current vehicle])
a communication module, wherein the communication module is connected to the automatic driving module, the communication module is used to transmit data with the outside; and (Ran discloses in at least Paragraph 0148 wherein the OBU [i.e. vehicle mounted subsystem] includes a communication module that can transfer data between RSU and OBU [i.e. a communication module connected to the automatic driving module, used to transmit data with the outside])
the automatic driving module includes: a perception unit, configured to acquire surrounding information of the current vehicle; (Ran discloses in at least Paragraph 0027 wherein a vehicle OBU may facilitate vehicle control, and may further include a data collection module, with at least Paragraphs 0036 & 0039 further disclosing wherein the vehicle data collection module may include a plurality of sensors for detecting the surroundings of the vehicle [i.e. a perception unit configured to acquire surrounding information of the current vehicle]
a vehicle execution unit, wherein the vehicle execution is connected with the vehicle planning unit, the vehicle execution unit is configured to control the current running state of the vehicle according to the real-time path of the current vehicle and the driving route. (Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0027, 0041, & 0171 wherein a vehicle OBU includes a vehicle control module [i.e. a vehicle execution unit connected with the vehicle planning unit] which is used to execute control instructions controls the running state of the vehicle according to a received set of control commands and the driving route [i.e. according to the real-time path of the current vehicle and the driving route])
Ran however appears to be silent regarding:
Wherein the platform subsystem is also communicatively connected with the vehicle-mounted subsystem
a vehicle storage module connected with the communication module and the automatic driving module is used for storing data;
an information fusion unit connected to the perception unit, used to fuse the surrounding information of the current vehicle to obtain the real-time external information of the current vehicle; a vehicle planning unit connected to the information fusion unit, configured to plan the real- time path of the current vehicle according to the real-time external information; and
However Tao teaches wherein a traffic control unit may communicate with both roadside units and vehicles equipped with data storage modules.
Wherein the platform subsystem is also communicatively connected with the vehicle-mounted subsystem (However Tao teaches in at least Paragraphs 0087, 0111, as well as Figure 6, below, wherein a TCU [i.e. platform subsystem as set forth above] may be communicatively coupled to both vehicles [i.e. vehicle-mounted subsystems] and road side units, in order to convey information to the vehicle, including information regarding obstacles detected by the road side unit(s), as specifically taught in at least Paragraph 0111 of Tao)
a vehicle storage module connected with the communication module and the automatic driving module is used for storing data; (However Tao teaches in at least Paragraph 0115 wherein the on-board unit of a vehicle [i.e. the vehicle mounted subsystem] may include storage to store information such as maps [i.e. a vehicle storage module used for storing data].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Ran by incorporating the communicative coupling of the TCU directly to the vehicle without the use of a roadside unit as an intermediary, as well as on-board vehicle storage as taught by Tao.
The motivation to incorporate the communicative coupling of the TCU directly to the vehicle without the use of a roadside unit as an intermediary is that, as acknowledged by Tao in at least Paragraph 0111, and as would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention, enabling communication between a TCU and vehicle enables the direct communication of data regarding obstacles and the like detected to a vehicle system, improving the vehicle’s capability to respond to information regarding obstacles detected by roadside units and other vehicles in communication with the TCU but not in communication with the current vehicle.
The motivation to incorporate on-board vehicle storage so is that, as acknowledged by Tao in at least Paragraph 0115, the vehicle may store data on-board, including information such as map data, improving the vehicle control system by ensuring data is available locally to the vehicle to better determine the location of the vehicle relative to the environment.
However Moustafa teaches wherein a vehicle may fuse data from a plurality of sensors in order to plan a real-time path of the vehicle.
an information fusion unit connected to the perception unit, used to fuse the surrounding information of the current vehicle to obtain the real-time external information of the current vehicle; (However Moustafa teaches in at least Paragraphs 0045, 0053, & 0076 wherein a vehicle may include a module to perform sensor fusion from a plurality of sensor inputs to obtain data representing an autonomous driving environment [i.e. an information fusion unit… used to fuse the surrounding information of the current vehicle to obtain the real-time external information of the current vehicle])
a vehicle planning unit connected to the information fusion unit, configured to plan the real- time path of the current vehicle according to the real-time external information; and (However Moustafa teaches in at least Paragraphs 0055, 0056, & 0076 wherein a vehicle may include a path planner [i.e. a vehicle planning unit] which takes a plurality of inputs, including the fused sensor data from the sensor fusion module [i.e. connected to the information fusion unit], which is used to plan a path for the vehicle to follow while traversing the environment [i.e. a vehicle planning unit…configured to plan the real-time path… according to the real-time external information])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Ran by incorporating the fusion of vehicle sensor data to acquire a path for the vehicle to follow as taught by Moustafa.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Moustafa in at least Paragraphs 0045, 0055, & 0056, and as would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention, fusing sensor data acquired improves vehicle path planning by improving the estimation of positions relative to the environment, as well as improving the extent of data provided to the planning module, improving in turn the amount and quality of data available to make a safe vehicle path determination.
Regarding Claim 11:
The intelligent driving system according to claim 1, It is characterized in that, the platform subsystem includes: a network module, configured to obtain data information of the road subsystem and the vehicle subsystem; a data fusion module connected to the network module, configured to fuse the traffic information of each road section to obtain global traffic information; and a platform storage module, wherein the platform storage module is connected with the network module and the data fusion module, the platform storage module is used for storing data.
Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0101 – 0104 wherein the TCU may include networking functions [i.e. a network module] configured to collect data from RSUs, which includes data from the RSUs [i.e. road subsystems] and OBUs [i.e. vehicle subsystems]. At least Paragraphs 0112, 0113, 0150, & 0174 of Ran disclose wherein a data fusion module is configured to fuse data from multiple sources [i.e. fuse the traffic information of each road section to obtain global traffic information] to determine vehicle routing. Ran further discloses in at least Paragraphs 0105 – 0106 [disclosing storage as a service] & 0163 – 0164 [disclosing cloud storage] wherein the IRIS system components may include local storage [i.e. a platform storage module] for backing up [i.e. storing] data on the network as specifically disclosed in at least Paragraph 0188 of Ran.
Regarding Claim 12:
The intelligent driving system according to claim 1, it is characterized in that, also includes: a training subsystem communicatively connected with the platform subsystem, the road subsystem, and the vehicle subsystem, wherein the training subsystem is used for training and updating the data of the platform subsystem, the road subsystem, and the vehicle subsystem models; the training subsystem is used for training and updating parameters of the platform subsystem, the road subsystem, and the vehicle subsystem
Ran discloses in at least Paragraph 0174 wherein learning models are used, however appears to be silent regarding a training subsystem that trains such models based on input data as set forth above.
However Moustafa teaches in at least Paragraphs 0046, 0050, 0062, & 0090 wherein a model may be trained using machine learning on specified processors [i.e. a training subsystem … for training] based on data acquired from a plurality of RSUs, vehicle telematic units, and cloud data [i.e. connected with the road, vehicle, and platform subsystems, respectively] which acquire data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Ran by incorporating the use of a training system with data collected to generate and update models as taught by Moustafa.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Moustafa in at least Paragraphs 0046, 0050, 0088, & 0128 and as would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention, the utilization of machine learning training to improve or generate models based on data acquired improves the performance of the autonomous driving models trained when in use by providing the model with features of additional scenarios under which the vehicle(s) may operate, improving the performance of the models in use across different environments.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ran (US 2019/0096238 A1) in view of Tao (US 2019/0206236 A1) and Moustafa (US 2022/0126878 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Curtis (US 2017/0088072 A1).
Regarding Claim 4:
The intelligent driving system according to claim 1, it is characterized in that, the vehicle-mounted subsystem also includes: an on-vehicle state detection module, wherein the on-vehicle state detection module is connected with the communication module and the automatic driving module is used to detect the function state of the current vehicle, wherein the function state of the current vehicle includes the state of the driver, the state of each module of the vehicle subsystem, the state of the driving events on the driving path and the communication state with the outside; the vehicle state detection module includes: a driver detection unit, wherein the driver detection unit is used to detect the state of the driver; a vehicle system detection unit, configured to detect the functions of each module of the vehicle subsystem:
Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0171 wherein a vehicle OBU [i.e. vehicle mounted subsystem] contains a data collection module [i.e. an on-vehicle state detection module] configured to collect data related to the vehicle, including as disclosed in Paragraphs 0028 – 0031 & 0036 – 0040 the status of the vehicle, such as vehicle engine status, speed, and the like acquired from internal and external sensors [i.e. the function state of the current vehicle]. Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0030, 0036 – 0040, & 0171 wherein a data collection module operating as part of the OBU of the vehicle [i.e. vehicle state detection module] includes sensors [i.e. detection units] configured to collect data regarding vehicle engine status and vehicle speed [i.e. functions of each module of the vehicle subsystem] as well as human condition data regarding the occupant(s) of the vehicle [i.e. a driver detection unit to detect the state of the driver].
Ran however appears to be silent regarding a driving event detection unit, configured to detect a driving event on the driving path; and a communication function detection unit, wherein the communication function is used to detect the communication state between the on-board subsystem and the outside.
However Curtis teaches in at least Paragraphs 0017, 0018, 0043, & 0046 – 0050 wherein a vehicle sensor module may detect a driving event based on data acquired from sensors [Paragraphs 0017 & 0047] and a prediction algorithm that evaluates the sensor data to determine if the driving event occurred [Paragraph 0048]. Driving events may include events such as turning, stopping, or changing lane, among other embodiments, as taught in at least Paragraph 0046, and may be predicted or detected based on one or more factor values, such as vehicle operation parameters or sensor measurements [i.e. a driving event detection unit… configured to detect a driving event on the driving path]. Curtis further teaches in at least Paragraphs 0055 & 0068 wherein a sensor module may further detect a wireless connection strength or connection status to a device [i.e. a communication state between the system and the outside] and communicates based on said detected status.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ran, Tao, and Moustafa by further incorporating the detection of driving events and communication state from the on-board vehicle system as taught by Curtis.
The motivation to have incorporated the determination of driving events is that, as acknowledged by Curtis in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0018, and as would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention, detecting driving events at the vehicle improves the vehicle’s responsiveness to changing driving conditions, such as adjusting the sensor module to operate in different modes responsive to the determined driving events, improving the safety of the vehicle when operating in specific situations.
The motivation to have incorporated the detection of communication status is that, as acknowledged by Curtis in at least Paragraph 0068, the relaying of information may be improved by ensuring sufficient connection status is present prior to the transmission of data, improving the communication of data between the vehicle and outside by ensuring data communication is only attempted when sufficient connection strength is available.
Claim(s) 6 - 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ran (US 2019/0096238 A1) in view of Tao (US 2019/0206236 A1) and Moustafa (US 2022/0126878 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vassilovski (US 2021/0192939 A1).
Regarding Claim 6:
The intelligent driving system according to claim 1, it is characterized in that, the road subsystem includes: a traffic information acquisition module, wherein the traffic information acquisition module is used to acquire traffic information in real time; a path planning module connected to the traffic information acquisition module, used to obtain the driving path of the vehicle according to the traffic information; and an area detection module, wherein the area detection module is connected with the traffic information acquisition module and the path planning module, the area detection module is used to detect the functional state of the road subsystem in each area section, wherein the functional state of the road subsystem is the status of the operation of the road subsystem.
Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0032 – 0035, 0070 – 0075, & 0104, wherein RSUs [i.e. road subsystems] may include a plurality of modules, including a sensing module for environmental detection, which includes the detection of traffic information [i.e. a traffic information acquisition module used to acquire traffic information in real-time]. Ran further discloses in at least Paragraphs 0046 – 0048 & 0104 wherein RSUs may detect road information such as signal status and speed limit, as well as incidents determined to have occurred, such as traffic congestion and vehicle crashes [i.e. a functional state of the road subsystem in each area section, wherein the functional state of the road subsystem is the status of the operation of the road subsystem].
Ran however appears to be silent regarding a path planning module connected to the traffic information acquisition module, used to obtain the driving path of the vehicle according to the traffic information;
However Vassilovski teaches in at least Paragraphs 0041 – 0043, 0062 – 0065, 0071, & 0080 wherein an RSU managing an intersection may receive data from a vehicle intending to traverse the intersection, and the RSU may evaluate this path along with other traffic information regarding the intersection [such as potential conflicts with other traffic entities], determine a traversal path for the vehicle, and transmit the traversal path to the vehicle for use in traversing the intersection [i.e. the road subsystem includes a path planning module… used to obtain the driving path of the vehicle].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ran, Tao, and Moustafa by further incorporating the determination of the path of the vehicle in a module of the RSU itself as taught by Vassilovski.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Vassilovski in at least Paragraphs 0037, 0043, and as would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention, the use of a centralized RSU to determine paths of vehicles while traversing a section of roadway improves a vehicle control system by enabling conflict resolution from between a plurality of vehicles sufficiently local to communicate with the RSU, ensuring vehicles do not contact each other during traversal of roadway.
Regarding Claim 7:
The intelligent driving system according to claim 6, it is characterized in that, the traffic information acquisition module includes an image acquisition device and a laser radar.
Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0070, 0076, 0078, & 0082 – 0083 wherein the RSU [i.e. traffic information acquisition module] includes a plurality of sensing systems, including but not limited to vision based sensors such as a color camera [i.e. an image acquisition device], and radar based sensors such as LiDAR [i.e. a laser radar].
Regarding Claim 8:
The intelligent driving system according to claim 6, it is characterized in that, the traffic information includes static information and dynamic information, wherein the static information includes road map information, and the dynamic information includes road traffic flow information.
Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0132 & 0133 wherein the RSUs may provide information including high-definition maps [i.e. static information… including road map information] and further discloses in at least Paragraphs 0042 – 0048 wherein the IRIS [which contains the RSUs as set forth in at least Paragraphs 0024 & 0025] generates information including traffic state and traffic flow rate [i.e. dynamic information… including road traffic flow information].
Regarding Claim 9:
The intelligent driving system according to claim 6, it is characterized in that, the road subsystem also includes: a communication broadcast module, wherein the communication broadcast module is connected with the area detection module, the communication broadcast module is used to transmit information and data to the outside.
Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0010, 0021, 0070, & 0072 wherein the RSU’s [i.e. road subsystems] may include communication module(s) for communicating with vehicles, TCU’s, and the cloud [i.e. to the outside] via wired or wireless communication [i.e. a communication broadcast module].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ran (US 2019/0096238 A1) in view of Tao (US 2019/0206236 A1), Moustafa (US 2022/0126878 A1), and Vassilovski (US 2021/0192939 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Shan (US 2019/0174449 A1).
Regarding Claim 10:
The intelligent driving system according to claim 6, it is characterized in that, the road subsystem also includes: a road storage module, wherein the road storage module is connected to the traffic information acquisition module, the path planning module, and the area detection module, the road storage module is used to store data.
While Ran discloses in at least Paragraphs 0146 & 0147 wherein the system may be implemented using one or more non-transitory computer readable media, Ran appears to be silent regarding a specific storage module on the RSU.
However Shan teaches in at least Paragraph 0023 wherein a roadside unit [i.e. road subsystem] may include internal data storage circuitry configured to store map data, such as intersection geometry, as well as traffic statistics and the like [i.e. a road storage module… used to store data].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ran, Tao, and Moustafa by further incorporating the use of a dedicated storage module on an RSU as taught by Shan.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Shan in at least Paragraph 0023, and as would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention, the storage of data on the RSU improves the storage of maps and statistics over a period of time, thereby improving the information acquisition and conveyance ability of the RSU over time.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Zhang (US 2020/0211399 A1): Zhang recites a road information transmission system including a traffic control unit [TCU] in communication with the OBU of a vehicle to communicate road information indicative of a drivable area to the OBU of the vehicle. The TCU may obtain the safe drivable area for the vehicle based on a planned route obtained by the TCU from the vehicle, which may then be processed in view of a high precision map and other vehicle paths.
Chen (CN 108039053 B): Chen recites a roadside unit system coupled to a vehicle subsystem and a traffic control unit, for providing instructions to the vehicle to plan and operate along a determined vehicle route. The route may be determined based on road status and other traffic control information, and control data may be provided to the vehicle by either the TCU or RSU.
Feng (CN 108109415 B): Feng recites a connected set of vehicles, including the detection of congestion in road systems using a plurality of roadside units, and the determination of travel route for one or more vehicles based on such. An automatic driving control system onboard a vehicle is used to send data to the roadside subsystem, and the roadside subsystem determines optimal commands for the vehicle to implement to traverse the roadway.
Adireddy (US20200207367A1): Adireddy recites a vehicle guidance system including a roadside transceiver receiving operating conditions associated with a plurality of vehicles on a roadway, which then determines the recommended path for a vehicle and transmits the determined recommended path to an autonomous vehicle for execution.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R CARDIMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661