DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendments filed 12/18/2025.
Claims 1, 8 and 10-13 are pending and are subject to this Office Action.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 10-13 are newly added.
Claims 2-7 and 9 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the 102 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Claim 1 has been amended to further limit the first material content to 26 wt% to 40 wt%. Shi does not anticipate this range. Therefore, the 102 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, Shi still makes obvious the claimed invention and thus a new obviousness ground of rejection is made in view of Shi, or in the alternative in view of Shi and Albino et al. (US 20060157072 A1).
On pages 6-8 the Applicant argues that the first material content, as stated in the amended claim, displays unexpected results that could not be derived from the prior art Shi.
The Examiner disagrees.
Shi teaches that the first material may be present in an amount of approximately 25 wt%. It is interpreted that “approximately” may comprise values slightly above and below 25 wt%. Thus, the claimed range of 26% would overlap with range taught by Shi and would thus be prima facie obvious.
Additionally, disregarding this margin, Shi would still render obvious the claimed range. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. In the immediate case, the amount taught by Shi is so close to the claimed range that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
The Applicant attempts to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness by showing the criticality of the range. Specifically, the Applicant cites paragraphs [0102-0120] of the specification and Tables 3 and 5 in order to demonstrate that the claimed range of 26-40 wt% exhibits odor reduction and smoking quality retention. The Applicant argues that Example 3, 30% low-tobacco composition, minimized the level of nitrogen compounds over the other Examples provided. Similarly, the Applicant argues that an article with 33.1 wt% or lower first material exhibits an optimized tobacco smoke taste intensity.
However, this evidence is not commensurate in scope with the claimed range of 26-40 wt%. Objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. As such, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. However, these examples merely provide support for 30 wt% first material, and not for the entire range of 26 wt% to 40 wt% first material. Furthermore, the Applicant has not demonstrated the criticality of 26% as an endpoint.
To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 716.02.
The following is a modified rejection based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites that “the first material is included in an amount of 26 wt% to 40 wt%” in line 9. The Applicant alleges that support for this limitation is provided in paragraph [0038] of the written description, which recites “a tobacco material may include low-nicotine tobacco leaves by about 50 wt% or less and may include low-nicotime tobacco leaves by about 10 wt% to 50 wt%, 10 wt% to 40 wt%, 20 wt% to 40 wt%, or 20 wt% to 30 wt%”. The written description further provides examples of 10 wt%, 20 wt%, 30 wt%, 40 wt% and 50 wt% first material (see Examples 1-5; Table 3).
This disclosure is considered to support the claimed range unless the Examiner has reason to doubt that the disclosure of the broader range describes the narrower range, i.e., the broader and narrower ranges are different inventions.
As provided in the arguments dated 12/18/2025, see pages 6-8, the Applicant argues that the claimed range of 26-40% displays unexpected results and “represents a critical range at which the odor-reduction effect is maximized”. This argument brings into question whether the broader range described by the specification (0-50 wt%) actually describes the narrower range, which is stated to have properties not possessed by the broader range.
Thus, there is reason to believe that the claimed range comprises new matter, since the newly claimed range has properties unique from the originally disclosed range.
Claims 8 and 10-13 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 20050000531 A1), or in the alternative over Shi in view of Albino et al. (US 20060157072 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shi teaches a smoking article (smoking composition; [0009]) comprising:
a smoking material portion (smokable material) which includes a tobacco material ([0175]);
and a filter portion (filter; [0140]),
wherein the tobacco material includes
a first material (low nicotine tobacco) formed by processing tobacco leaves whose nicotine content is 0.2 wt% or lower ([0180] teaches that low nicotine tobacco may have a nicotine content of about 0.1 wt%, 0.05 wt or less %, which anticipates the claimed range. The Examiner notes that Shi teaches that the tobacco material may be in the form of cut filler obtained from tobacco plants ([0180], [0182]). It is expected that cut filler is made from tobacco leaves).
and a second material formed by processing other tobacco leaves whose nicotine content is 1.0 wt% or higher ([0185] teaches that the tobacco material includes a second material (conventional tobacco). [0179] teaches that the second material may be formed by processing tobacco with a nicotine content of 2.0 wt% or higher, which anticipates the claimed range. The Examiner notes that Shi teaches that the tobacco material may be in the form of cut filler obtained from tobacco plants ([0179], [0182]). It is expected that cut filler is made from tobacco leaves),
and wherein the tobacco material includes 26 wt% to 40 wt% of the first material ([0185] teaches that the tobacco material includes approximately 25% of the first material, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. [0184-0186] further teaches that the first material content may be adjusted by the user).
In the alternative, Shi does not explicitly teach that the tobacco material includes 26 wt% to 40 wt% of the first material.
Albino, directed to a smoking article comprising a smoking material portion ([0007], [0023]) which includes a tobacco material wherein the tobacco material includes a first material (low nicotine tobacco; [0028]) formed by processing tobacco leaves whose nicotine content is 0.2 wt% or lower ([0023], [0025], [0277-0278]) and a second material (conventional tobacco; [0028]) formed by processing second tobacco leaves whose nicotine content is 1.0 wt% or higher ([0277-0278]), teaches that the tobacco material comprises 26 wt% to 40 wt% of the first material ([0280] teaches 29 wt%, which reads on the claimed range).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shi by using a tobacco material containing 29 wt% of the first material as taught by Albino because both Shi and Albino are directed to smoking articles comprising a first and a second tobacco material, Albino teaches a known composition/amount of the first material, and this involves substituting one alternative composition for another to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, Albino teaches that the first material is included in an amount of 28 wt% to 40 wt% ([0280] teaches 29 wt%).
Regarding claim 11, Albino teaches that the first material is included in an amount of 28 wt% to 33.1 wt% ([0280] teaches 29 wt%).
Regarding claim 12, Albino teaches that the first material is included in an amount of 30 wt% to 33.1 wt% ([0280] teaches 29 wt%, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi and Albino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gonterman et al. (US 20060021624 A1) and Seo et al. (US 20150136159 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Shi teaches a filter wrapper that wraps around the filter portion comprising a plug wrap and a tipping paper applied on an outer surface of the plug wrap ([0196-0197]).
Shi does not explicitly teach that filter wrapper comprises (I) a flavoring sheet including a sheet-forming agent and a flavoring or (II) a smell-reducing material that is applied on an outer surface of the flavoring sheet.
Gonterman, directed to a smoking article (smoking article 10; Fig. 1; [0025]) comprising a smoking material portion (rod 12; [0025]) which includes tobacco material and a filter portion (filter 14) with a filter wrapper including a plug wrap (plug wrap 13; [0025]) and a tipping paper (tipping paper 18; [0025]), teaches that a plug wrap may comprise a sheet-forming agent (such as CMC) and a flavoring ([0014], [0026]). Gonterman teaches that a flavored plug wrap is efficient to produce and provides desirable flavor to the use.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shi by making the plug wrap of a sheet-forming agent and a flavoring as taught by Gonterman because both Shi and Gonterman are directed to smoking articles comprising plug wraps, Gonterman teaches that a flavored plug wrap is an efficient way to deliver flavor to the user, and this involves using a known technique to improve a similar smoking article in the same way.
Seo, directed to a filter portion (cigarette filter 110; Fig. 1; [0030]) for a smoking article with a filter wrapper including a plug wrap (filter wrapping paper 130; [0130]) and a tipping paper (tipping paper 150; [0031]), teaches that the tipping paper may comprise a smell-reducing material to reduce any lingering smell on a user’s hand ([0032]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shi by making the tipping paper from a smell-reducing material as taught by Seo because Shi is directed to a smoking article comprising a filter portion with a tipping paper and Seo is directed to a smoking article filter portion with a tipping paper, Seo teaches that a tipping paper may comprise a smell-reducing material to reduce the smell on a user’s hands, and this involves using a known technique to improve a similar product in the same way.
As such, it would be expected that modified Shi would comprise a filter wrapper that wraps around the filter portion, wherein a flavoring sheet including a sheet-forming agent and a flavoring is applied to at least a partial area of the filter wrapper, and a smell-reducing material is applied on an outer surface of the flavoring sheet.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi and Albino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garber (US 2331830 A).
Regarding claim 13, Shi teaches that the smoking material portion may include additives.
Shi does not explicitly teach that the smoking material portion includes a wetting agent.
Garber, directed to tobacco products such as cigarettes (col. 1, lines 1-17), teaches that it is important to maintain proper moisture conditions of tobacco. Garber further teaches that glycerin may be added to tobacco to control the desired moisture (wetting) (col. 1, lines 18-30).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shi by adding a wetting agent such as glycerin to the smokable material portion as taught by Garber because both Shi and Garber are directed to smoking articles comprising smoking materials, Garber teaches that a wetting agent additive helps to control the desired moisture of a tobacco material, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755