Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and 177Lu-DOTATOC in the reply filed on 4/14/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-46 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, and there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Withdrawn: 1-46
Examined Herein: 47-56
Claim Objections
Claims 48-51 and 53-56 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claims 48-51 and 53-56 have not been further treated on the merits.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under based upon an application filed in PCT/EP2020/081143 on 11/5/2020 and PCT/EP2021/080822 on 11/5/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/5/2023, 7/25/2023, 8/9/2023, 11/10/2023, 4/10/2024, 4/16/2024, and 9/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 5/5/2023 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain (US 2022/0040335 A1, Filed 9/11/2019), in view of Yang (US 2007/0122342 A1, Published 5/31/2007).
With respect to claim 47, Jain discloses a method for treating cancer in a subject in need thereof comprising administering:
(a) a radiolabeled complex, 99mTc-EC, comprising (i) a radionuclide, 99mTc, and (ii) a chelating agent, ethylenedicysteine (EC); and
(b) para-aminohippuric acid (PAH). [Jain, 0009, 0010, 0042 0049, 0058, 0062]
With respect to claim 52, Jain discloses a combination therapy comprising:
(a) a radiolabeled complex, 99mTc-EC, comprising (i) a radionuclide, 99mTc, and (ii) a chelating agent, ethylenedicysteine (EC); and
(b) para-aminohippuric acid (PAH). [Jain, 0009, 0010, 0042 0049, 0058, 0062]
Jain does not disclose the chelating agent is linked to a targeting molecule.
However, with respect to claim 47, Yang discloses a method for treating cancer (i.e. folate-positive cancer or estrogen-positive cancer) in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject:
a radiolabeled complex, 99mTc-EC-anticancer agent, comprising (i) a radionuclide, 99mTc, and (ii) an anticancer targeting molecule (i.e. folate) linked to a chelating agent, ethylenedicysteine (EC). [Yang, 0012-0021]
With respect to claim 52, Yang discloses a combination therapy comprising administering:
a radiolabeled complex, 99mTc-EC-anticancer agent, comprising (i) a radionuclide, 99mTc, and (ii) an anticancer targeting molecule (i.e. folate) linked to a chelating agent, ethylenedicysteine (EC). [Yang, 0012-0021]
Modifying the method and combination therapy disclosed by Jain by conjugating an anticancer targeting molecule (i.e. folate) to the radiolabeled complex, results in the method of claim 47 and 52.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and combination therapy disclosed by Jain by conjugating an anticancer targeting molecule (i.e. folate) to the radiolabeled complex, 99mTc-EC, and have a reasonable expectation of success. Jain discloses methods for treating cancer in a subject comprising administering a tracer/radiolabeled complex, 99mTc-EC. Yang discloses methods for treating cancer in a subject comprising administering a tracer/radiolabeled complex, 99mTc-EC-anticancer agent, wherein an anticancer targeting molecule (i.e. folate) is linked to the chelating agent, EC. Yang establishes that an anticancer agent may be conjugated to the chelating agent of 99mTc-EC. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Jain and Yang suggest an anticancer agent may be conjugated to the chelating agent of the tracer/radiolabeled complex, 99mTc-EC, disclosed by Jain. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect the method and combination therapy disclosed by Jain may be modified by conjugating an anticancer targeting molecule (i.e. folate) to 99mTc-EC. One would have been motivated to do so because it is prima facie obvious to combine references when some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. MPEP 2144(II). In the present case, Yang discloses the radiolabeled complex, 99mTc-EC, is used to deliver the anticancer agent to a specific cancer lesion in the body. [Yang, 0015] Therefore, one would have been motivated by the expectation that conjugating an anticancer agent to 99mTc-EC would enable 99mTc-EC to deliver the anticancer agent to a specific cancer lesion in the body.
Double Patenting
Claims 47 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 31, 34-41, and 43-45 of copending Application No. 17/608,921 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to treatment methods wherein PAH and a radiolabeled complex containing a chelate or salt or carboxylic acid derivative thereof is administered to a subject. Thus, the inventions disclose overlapping subject matter as the limitations of the pending claims are disclosed in the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/K.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618