Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges that the previous claims 1-11 have been canceled in prosecution and new claims 12-20 added in the present application. Claims 12-20 are currently pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veldhuijzen (US Patent No 20140074049) in view of Pameijer (US Patent No 20150031987).
Regarding claim 12, Veldhuijzen teaches an adapter (catheter connector 1, [0027]) for use in an ECG-based catheter tip positioning system to allow a cable to be connected during catheter tip placement, disconnected after placement, and reconnected to check for catheter tip migration (see [0004]-[0006], which discloses how tip localization and positioning features are present using real time ECG readings to determine where the tip is before and after placement), the adapter comprising: a body defining a lumen between a first end and a second end (whereas first coupler 2 is seen as the first end and second coupler 3 is seen as the second end, fig 1, and it defines the liquid channel 4 as the lumen, [0028]); and a cable port in a sidewall of the body between the first and second ends (see the electrical conductor port 7 found in between the first and second ends, fig 2); wherein a female electrode is within and protected by the cable port (wherein the electrical conductor is coupled to the inside of the catheter, [0012], and thereby functions as an electrode arranged internally) and positioned to contact fluid in the lumen (see [0011], in which the electric conductor connection allows for the performance of electrical measurements within the catheter and state of the liquid within the catheter); wherein the cable port is configured for removable connection to a housing at one end of the cable (wherein the electrical conductor cable via connection 7 is removably coupled to the connection device via a pin shaped catheter valve, [0012]), the housing having a male electrode within and protected by the housing (see in which the catheter connector is coupled via an electrically conductive pin shaped part, [0012], therefore equating to a male electrode via the pin shaped design).
Veldhuijzen does not explicitly teach wherein, when the housing is connected to the cable port, the male electrode contacts the female electrode; and wherein, when the housing is disconnected from the cable port, the female electrode remains within and protected by the cable port and the male electrode remains within and protected by the housing.
However, the analogous ECG catheter locating device taught by Pameijer does teach when the housing is connected to the cable port (see the device 78 seen as the housing, which is connected to the extension cable 66, [0102], see also fig 12), the male electrode contacts the female electrode (see in which the ECG electrode lead 72, which is part of the device 78 forms a snap connection via the electrode snap 70, [0102], therefore the snap connection naturally results in male and female electrodes); and wherein, when the housing is disconnected from the cable port, the female electrode remains within and protected by the cable port (see in which the snap connection disconnects and the electrode snap 70 remains in the cable 66, [0102]) and the male electrode remains within and protected by the housing (see in which the snap connection disconnects and the electrode snap 72 remains in the housing 78, [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the catheter connector device of Veldhuijzen to have the fitting connections disclosed by Pameijer as they are simply another connection method to electrically connect and seal to fluid administration devices and catheters as disclosed by Pameijer, [0102].
Regarding claim 13, Veldhuijzen teaches the adapter of claim 12, wherein the first end is configured to connect to a syringe and the second end is configured to connect to a catheter (wherein the first connector 2 is configured to removably couple the connector to the catheter and the second connector 3 is configured to removably couple the connector device 1 to a fluid administration apparatus shown as a syringe, [0027], see also fig 3).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the adapter of claim 13, wherein the first and second ends comprise luer connectors (Pameijer discloses that the hub connector 58 may have a luer fitting for connecting to a catheter of syringe, [0099]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the adapter of claim 12, wherein the cable port and the housing form a bayonet or luer lock connection when the housing is connected to the cable port (Pameijer discloses that the hub connector 78 may have a luer fitting for connecting to a catheter, [0099].
Regarding claim 16, Veldhuijzen teaches a cable for use in an ECG-based catheter tip positioning system (catheter connector 1 which connects to an ECG cable, [0027]), the cable comprising: a housing at one end of the cable configured for removable connection to a cable port of an adapter (see connector device 10 which contains an electrical conductor portion 70 for plugging into a cable, wherein the connector device contains the housing, [0032]); a male electrode being within and protected by the housing (see in which the catheter connector is coupled via an electrically conductive pin shaped part, [0012], therefore equating to a male electrode via the pin shaped design); and a connector at an opposite end of the cable configured to connect the cable to ECG electronics of the ECG-based catheter tip positioning system (see in which the electrical conductor portion 70 which forms the cable is in connection with the ECG measuring device 120, [0032]); wherein the adapter has a body defining a lumen (whereas first coupler 2 is seen as the first end and second coupler 3 is seen as the second end, fig 1, and it defines the liquid channel 4 as the lumen, [0028]) and the cable port in a sidewall of the body (see the electrical conductor port 7 found in between the first and second ends, fig 2), a female electrode being within and protected by the cable port and positioned to contact fluid in the lumen (wherein the electrical conductor is coupled to the inside of the catheter, [0012], and thereby functions as the female electrode arranged internally).
Veldhuijzen does not explicitly teach wherein, when the housing is connected to the cable port, the male electrode contacts the female electrode; and wherein, when the housing is disconnected from the cable port, the female electrode remains within and protected by the cable port and the male electrode remains within and protected by the housing.
However, the analogous ECG catheter locating device taught by Pameijer does teach when the housing is connected to the cable port (see the device 78 seen as the housing, which is connected to the extension cable 66, [0102], see also fig 12), the male electrode contacts the female electrode (see in which the ECG electrode lead 72, which is part of the device 78 forms a snap connection via the electrode snap 70, [0102], therefore the snap connection naturally results in male and female electrodes); and wherein, when the housing is disconnected from the cable port, the female electrode remains within and protected by the cable port (see in which the snap connection disconnects and the electrode snap 70 remains in the cable 66, [0102]) and the male electrode remains within and protected by the housing (see in which the snap connection disconnects and the electrode snap 72 remains in the housing 78, [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the catheter connector device of Veldhuijzen to have the fitting connections disclosed by Pameijer as they are simply another connection method to electrically connect and seal to fluid administration devices and catheters as disclosed by Pameijer, [0102].
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the cable of claim 16, wherein the housing is made of electrically insulative material (see from Pameijer, [0111] in which the intermediate portions of the cable housing may be covered and electrically insulated).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the cable of claim 16, wherein the housing and the cable port form a bayonet or luer lock connection when the housing is connected to the cable port (Pameijer discloses that the hub connector 78 may have a luer fitting for connecting to a catheter, [0099]).
Regarding claim 20, Veldhuijzen teaches a kit for use with an ECG-based catheter tip positioning system (see [0003] – [0004], in which tip localization using ECG reading methodology is described), the kit comprising: an adapter for use with a catheter (catheter connector 1, [0027]) and a cable in an ECG-based catheter tip positioning system (catheter connector 1 which connects to an ECG cable, [0027]), the adapter comprising a body defining a lumen between a first end and a second end (whereas first coupler 2 is seen as the first end and second coupler 3 is seen as the second end, fig 1, and it defines the liquid channel 4 as the lumen, [0028]) and a cable port in a sidewall of the body between the first and second ends (see the electrical conductor port 7 found in between the first and second ends, fig 2), a female electrode being within and protected by the cable port and positioned to contact fluid in the lumen (wherein the electrical conductor is coupled to the inside of the catheter, [0012], and thereby functions as the female electrode arranged internally); and a cable for use with the adapter, the cable comprising a housing at one end of the cable configured for removable connection to the cable port of the adapter (see connector device 10 which contains an electrical conductor portion 70 for plugging into a cable, wherein the connector device contains the housing, [0032]), a male electrode being within and protected by the housing (see in which the catheter connector is coupled via an electrically conductive pin shaped part, [0012], therefore equating to a male electrode via the pin shaped design), and a connector at an opposite end of the cable configured to connect the cable to ECG electronics of the ECG-based catheter tip positioning system (see in which the electrical conductor portion 70 which forms the cable is in connection with the ECG measuring device 120, [0032]); to provide an electrical path between a tip of the catheter and ECG electronics of the ECG-based catheter tip positioning system for catheter tip positioning and subsequent tip migration checks (see [0004]-[0006], which discloses how tip localization and positioning features are present using real time ECG readings to determine where the tip is before and after placement).
Veldhuijzen does not explicitly teach wherein, when the housing is connected to the cable port, the male electrode contacts the female electrode; and wherein, when the housing is disconnected from the cable port, the female electrode remains within and protected by the cable port and the male electrode remains within and protected by the housing.
However, the analogous ECG catheter locating device taught by Pameijer does teach when the housing is connected to the cable port (see the device 78 seen as the housing, which is connected to the extension cable 66, [0102], see also fig 12), the male electrode contacts the female electrode (see in which the ECG electrode lead 72, which is part of the device 78 forms a snap connection via the electrode snap 70, [0102], therefore the snap connection naturally results in male and female electrodes); and wherein, when the housing is disconnected from the cable port, the female electrode remains within and protected by the cable port (see in which the snap connection disconnects and the electrode snap 70 remains in the cable 66, [0102]) and the male electrode remains within and protected by the housing (see in which the snap connection disconnects and the electrode snap 72 remains in the housing 78, [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the catheter connector device of Veldhuijzen to have the fitting connections disclosed by Pameijer as they are simply another connection method to electrically connect and seal to fluid administration devices and catheters as disclosed by Pameijer, [0102].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veldhuijzen (US Patent No 20140074049) in view of Pameijer (US Patent No 20150031987) further in view of Brugger (US Patent No 20180117237).
Regarding claim 19, Veldhuijzen and Pameijer teach the cable of claim 18.
The combination does not teach wherein the connector at the opposite end comprises at least one of a DIN connector and a radio jack connector configured to connect to an ECG acquisition module.
However, using DIN and radio jack connection capabilities for signal acquisition are well known in the art. See for example the analogous electrical priming and treatment device taught by Brugger which discloses that DIN connectors may be used in an electrical fluid device for transmitting and electrically connecting different components, [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the catheter adaptor device taught by Veldhuijzen and Pameijer with that of the specific DIN connections taught by Brugger, as they are another known connection capability in the art for both electrically and fluidly connecting different components together, as taught by Brugger, [0050].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all new claim(s) 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the examiner agrees with the applicant that the sole prior art of Veldhuijzen does not teach the entirety of the newly presented claims 12-20 alone. However, upon further search and consideration, necessitated by the new claims 12-20, it has been found that the new prior art of record rejection of Veldhuijzen in view of Pameijer does reasonably teach and disclose all of the new limitations presented within the claims. Regarding the new limitations presented relating to the male and female electrode connections and how they are configured in each component, it has been found that the new prior art of record Pameijer does teach when the housing is connected to the cable port (see the device 78 seen as the housing, which is connected to the extension cable 66, [0102], see also fig 12), the male electrode contacts the female electrode (see in which the ECG electrode lead 72, which is part of the device 78 forms a snap connection via the electrode snap 70, [0102], therefore the snap connection naturally results in male and female electrodes); and wherein, when the housing is disconnected from the cable port, the female electrode remains within and protected by the cable port (see in which the snap connection disconnects and the electrode snap 70 remains in the cable 66, [0102]) and the male electrode remains within and protected by the housing (see in which the snap connection disconnects and the electrode snap 72 remains in the housing 78, [0102]). Therefore, as all of the new independent claim limitations are taught by the new prior art of record combination, the new claims 12-20 remain rejected under the new prior art of record rejection of Veldhuijzen in view of Pameijer set forth in the present office action.
Furthermore, with regards to the dependent claim 19, it has been found that the new prior art of record of Brugger does teach that DIN connectors may be used in an electrical fluid device for transmitting and electrically connecting different components, [0050]. Therefore, the dependent claim 19 also remains rejected under the new prior art of record rejection of Veldhuijzen in view of Pameijer further in view of Brugger set forth in the present office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/KYLE M. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794