DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I drawn to claims 1-18, Species A-6 drawn to Fig. 4, Species B1, and Species C2 also drawn to claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species A-6 is only one of many shapes that the gas discharging unit may take. This is not found persuasive because while alternate shapes are possible as noted in the specification, they would require different searches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, Species A1/A2/A3/A4/A5, B2, and C1, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation) in view of Toshio (JP 2010244725 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 12, An discloses a battery cell, comprising (See Figs. 1-7, 10 and 30):
a battery case (30) having an accommodation portion (inner portion 31 and 31a, see Fig. 1, see pgs. 1-7) in which an electrode assembly (14/15 and 20) is mounted, and a sealing portion (40 see pg. 3) formed by sealing an outer periphery thereof;
an electrode lead (14 and 15, see pg. 3) electrically connected to an electrode tab (20, see pg. 3) included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion; and
a lead film (60, see last paragraph pg. 3-first paragraph pg.4) located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion in at least one of an upper portion and a lower portion of the electrode lead (14 and 15, see pg. 3),
An discloses a gas discharge guiding unit (50/51/52, see pg. 4) is inserted in the lead film (60) (see annotated Figure below for an example).
However, An does not disclose that the lead film includes a first stepped portion protruding in a direction opposite to the electrode lead and a sealing film with a sealing portion includes a second stepped portion surrounding an outer surface of the first stepped portion.
Toshio discloses a first stepped portion protruding in a direction opposite to the
electrode lead and a sealing film with a sealing portion that includes a second stepped portion surrounding an outer surface of the first stepped portion as shown below in the annotated Fig. 5.
Toshio discloses that forming of the lead and sealing layer with notched portions leads to the sealing properties of these layers are improved due to filling of voids around electrode leads (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the lead film of An by including a first stepped portion in the lead film and to further include a add a sealing layer surrounding the lead film with a second stepped portion as disclosed by Toshio by including these layers with notched portions to better seal the electrodes.
The modification above with Toshio will result in modified An having a gas discharge unit in the first stepped portion, since the gas discharge unit of An is centered above electrode lead.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
An discloses that the amount of lead film is unequal on the top versus bottom side of the lead (see Fig. 5 annotated above of An) and that the gas discharge guiding unit (50/51/52, see pg. 4) is embedded within the lead film (60) in the thicker top part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the of the invention to modify the positioning of the lead so that the first stepped portion only includes the gas discharging unit because An discloses that the lead can be positioned such that there unequal portions of the lead film on the top versus the bottom of the lead film with the thicker part step portion accommodating the gas discharge unit because An discloses it is appropriate to do so.
Regarding claim 5, modified An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, An discloses wherein the gas discharge guiding unit extends along a protruding direction of the electrode lead, and an end of the gas discharge guiding unit adjacent to an outer side of the battery case is surrounded with the lead film (See annotated Figure of An below).
Regarding claim 6-8, modified An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, An does not disclose wherein an end of the gas discharge guiding unit adjacent to an inner side of the battery case is exposed inside the battery case.
An discloses that the gas discharge guiding unit can be placed in different positions with respect to the lead film (see pg. 4, paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the gas discharge guiding unit arrangement so that it is adjacent to an inner side of the battery case is exposed inside the battery case because An discloses that the gas discharge guiding unit can be placed in different positions with respect to the lead film.
The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
This modification will result in a gas discharge path formed at an interface between the gas discharge guiding unit and the lead film and exposed to the inside the battery case and wherein an adhesive force between the gas discharge guiding unit (lower melting temperature than lead film) and the lead film is smaller than an adhesive force between the lead film and the electrode lead (see pg. 4).
Regarding claim 10, modified An discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regards to “the gas discharge guiding unit is a coating layer made of liquid resin” is considered is/are considered product-by-process claim limitation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation) in view of Toshio (JP 2010244725 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-8, 10, and 12 above and in further view of Lee (US 20190198827 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified An discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
An discloses that the gas discharging unit is made of a film that deforms (see pg. 4).
However, An does not disclose that the gas discharging unit is a film layer made of polyethylene terephthalate.
Lee discloses a polyethylene terephthalate film which allows gasses to vent from a battery cell due to breakage of the film the above a predetermined pressure and/or temperature range ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to material of forming the gas discharging unit of modified An by forming it of the polyethylene terephthalate film as disclosed by Lee because it performs the same function as desired by An namely breakage of the film the above a predetermined pressure and/or temperature range.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation) in view of Toshio (JP 2010244725 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-8, 10, and 12 above and in further view of Lee (US 20190198827 A1) and in further view of Hayashi (US 20240145857 A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
An does not disclose silica in the gas discharge layer.
An discloses that the gas discharging unit is made of a film that deforms (see pg. 4).
Lee discloses a polyethylene terephthalate film which allows gasses to vent from a battery cell due to breakage of the film the above a predetermined pressure and/or temperature range ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to material of forming the gas discharging unit of An by forming it of the polyethylene terephthalate film as disclosed by Lee because it performs the same function as desired by An namely breakage of the film the above a predetermined pressure and/or temperature range.
Hayashi discloses gas discharge layers (12a and 12b) formed of a polymeric resin which contains as silica filler which aids to inhibit short circuiting between conductive components and case ([0064]-[0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the resin of modified An to include a filler of silica as disclosed by Hayashi because Hayashi discloses that this aids to inhibit short circuiting between conductive components and case.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation) in view of Toshio (JP 2010244725 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-8, 10, and 12 above and in further view of Yan (WO 2021196000 A1, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 13-15, modified An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, An does not disclose an adhesive layer between a gas discharging unit and the electrode lead.
Yan discloses (See Fig. 3C) an adhesive layer (103/104) is formed between the gas discharge guiding unit (A’ or A) and the electrode lead (101) (see pg. 5 last paragraph -pg. 6) and discloses wherein an adhesive force between the gas discharge guiding unit and the lead film is smaller than at least one of an adhesive force between the adhesive layer and the gas discharge guiding unit (see opening 100 which forms between adhesive layer and discharge unit) and the adhesive is formed of a tape or binder (see last two paragraphs pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add an additional adhesive layer between the gas discharging unit and the electrode lead of An as disclosed by Yan because it is an effective structure to release overpressure in a battery cell which is an endeavor of both An and Yan.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (KR 20140087773 A, Machine Translation) in view of Toshio (JP 2010244725 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-8, 10, and 12 above and in further view of Koroda (JP 2005038707, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 16-18, An discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, An does not disclose:
wherein the lead film has gas permeability of between 20 Barrer and 60 Barrer at 60°C
wherein the lead film has a moisture penetration amount of between 0.02 g and 0.2 g for 10 years at 25°C, 50 %RH
wherein the gas discharge guiding unit has gas permeability of 40 Barrer or more at 60°C
An discloses that the lead film is formed of a polymeric film (see pg. 3 last paragraph) and furthermore the gas discharge film (50) is directly on the electrical connector.
Koroda discloses that moisture penetration, gas permeability, adhesion of a polymer film used as a lead film can be adjusted based on the composition and amount of filler (See Technical Solution pg. 2 and pg. 5, Examples and Comparative Example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the composition of the film forming the gas discharge member/lead film of An to have the above claimed properties because Koroda discloses that one would want to modify the composition to have the composition because it will improve film adhesiveness and also durability of the lead due to moisture/gas penetration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-21 of copending Application No. 18/036,531 in view of Toshio (JP 2010244725 A, Machine Translation).
Claims 1-3 and 5-21 of copending Application No. 18/036,531 recites a substantially similar structure for a battery cell with the exception of the lead film includes a first stepped portion protruding in a direction opposite to the electrode lead and a sealing film with a sealing portion includes a second stepped portion surrounding an outer surface of the first stepped portion.
Toshio discloses a first stepped portion protruding in a direction opposite to the
electrode lead and a sealing film with a sealing portion that includes a second stepped portion surrounding an outer surface of the first stepped portion as shown below in the annotated Fig. 5.
Toshio discloses that forming of the lead and sealing layer with notched portions the sealing properties of these layers are improved due to filling of voids around electrode leads (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the lead film of claims 1-3 and 5-21 of copending Application No. 18/036,531 by including a first stepped portion and to further include a second stepped portion the sealing layer surrounding the lead film as disclosed by Toshio because as disclosed by Toshio by including these layers with notched portions there is a better seal of the electrodes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 and 21-22 of copending Application No. 18/266,703 in view of Toshio (JP 2010244725 A, Machine Translation).
Claims 1-18 and 21-22 of copending Application No. 18/266,703 recites a substantially similar structure for a battery cell with the exception of the lead film includes a first stepped portion protruding in a direction opposite to the electrode lead and a sealing film with a sealing portion includes a second stepped portion surrounding an outer surface of the first stepped portion.
Toshio discloses a first stepped portion protruding in a direction opposite to the
electrode lead and a sealing film with a sealing portion that includes a second stepped portion surrounding an outer surface of the first stepped portion as shown below in the annotated Fig. 5.
Toshio discloses that forming of the lead and sealing layer with notched portions the sealing properties of these layers are improved due to filling of voids around electrode leads (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the lead film of claims 1-18 and 21-22 of copending Application No. 18/266,703 by including a first stepped portion and to further include a second stepped portion the sealing layer surrounding the lead film as disclosed by Toshio because as disclosed by Toshio by including these layers with notched portions there is a better seal of the electrodes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726