DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 12-13, and 15-21 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-4, 12, 13, 15, and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-10, 12-13, and 15-21 are examined herein.
Priority
The instant application claims benefit of foreign priority to EP20206285.7, filed on 06 November 2020 and the benefit of priority to PCT/EP2021/080829, filed on 05 November 2021. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged. As such, the effective filing date of the claims is 06 November 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 11 May 2023 and 21 August 2023, are acknowledged and considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed on 26 May 2026 has been entered.
In view of applicant amendment to claims 12 and 13, the 112(a)-enablement rejection of record is withdrawn.
In view of applicant amendment to claims 1, 3, and 13 the 112(b) rejections of record are withdrawn.
In view of applicant amendment to claim 1, the 103 rejection of record is withdrawn over claims 1-10, 16-17, and 19-20. Regarding claim 12 the amendment has not incorporated the limitation of claim 18 as seen in the amended claim 1, claim 12 has incorporated the limitation of the unamended claim 1. Therefore the rejection is maintained and modified below.
New rejections and objections are necessitated by amendment.
All rejections and objections not found below have been withdrawn.
MAINTAINED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (WO2006000420A1) in view of Ciapetti et al. (The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry. Chapter 8. Molecular Variations Based on Isosteric Replacements. 2008;4:181-241).
Regarding claim 12, Ding teaches compounds of Formula (I) (pictured below) for the treatment of proliferative diseases (page 108). The reference Formula (I) (claim 1) overlaps with the instant Formula (I) when:
X is C-R5; wherein R5 is H
Y is C-R5; wherein R5 is H, halo or methyl (corresponds to instant R4)
Z is N (corresponds to instant W)
R1 is X5NR7R8 or X5OR7; wherein X5 is a bond; wherein R7 is C6-10aryl-C0-4alkyl, C5-10heteroaryl-C0-4alkyl, C3-10cycloalkyl-C0-4alkyl, or C3-10heterocycloalkyl-C0-4alkyl; and R8 is H or alkyl (corresponds to instant Z)
R2 is H
R3 is H or methyl (corresponds to instant R2)
R4 is substituted hydroxy
n is 0 or 1
Ding teaches that two of the substituents of X, Y, and Z, have to be N, forming a pyrimidine core, not a pyridine as seen in the instant genus if the instant W is N.
Ciapetti teaches that pyrimidine and pyridines are bioisosteric replacements (page 193).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the pyrimidine core, as taught by Ding for a pyridine, as these two nitrogen containing heterocycles are bioisostere and would be expected to exhibit similar properties.
Regarding claim 13, Ding teaches the method of treating a proliferative disease wherein the proliferative disease is cancer (page 110).
Regarding claim 21, Ding teaches the proliferative disease to be small cell lung cancer (page 111).
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manfred (CH597160A5)
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, and 19, Manfred teaches compounds of Formula (I) (pictured below) which overlaps with the instant genus when R1 and R2 are methyl. A specie of both the reference and instant genus from the STN search is also depicted below.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5-10, 15-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4, 12-13, 19, and 21 are rejected.
Claims 3, 5-10, 15-18, and 20 are objected to.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621