DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, 16-19 and 22-37 are currently pending. Claims 22, 24, 31 and 32 have been amended by Applicants’ amendment filed 08-27-2026. No claims have been added or cancelled by Applicant’s amendment filed 08-27-2026.
Applicant's election of Group IV with traverse, claims 22-35, directed to a method of preparing an RNA-sequence library; and Applicant’s election of Species with traverse as follows:
Species (A): wherein the structure of a hairpin oligonucleotide comprises: 5'-Phos-rACT-X-AGA TCG GAA GAG CAC ACG AT (SEQ ID NO: 86); LT-AGA CGT GTG CTC TTC CGA TCT (SEQ ID NO: 87)-Z-AG rU-3'-Phos, wherein X is a barcode of at least 3, 4, 5 or 6 nucleotides, LT is an affinity moiety tagged-Thymine nucleotide, and Z is a sequence of nucleotides that is the reverse complement of the barcode sequence (claim 22),
Species (B): not elected,
Species (C): not elected,
Species (D): not elected,
Species (E): the method of claim 22 further comprising phosphating the 3’-phosphate after ligation and oxidizing 3’ terminal nucleotides (claim 24), and
Species (F): the method of claim 27 further comprising digesting the RNA sequence after reverse transcription (claim 30), in the reply filed May 20, 2026 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 1-8, 16-19, 36 and 37 were previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 23, 26-30 and 33-35 were previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 20, 2026.
The restriction requirement is deemed proper and is made FINAL.
The claims will be examined insofar as they read on the elected species.
A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Therefore, claims 22, 24, 25, 31 and 32 are under consideration to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Priority
The present application filed May 5, 2023 is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application PCT/US2021/058258, filed November 5, 2021, which claims the benefit of US Provisional Patent Application 63110605, filed May November 6, 2020.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 22, 24, 31 and 32 is withdrawn under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as anticipated by Erber et al. (hereinafter “Erber”) (RNA Biology, epub 2019, 17(1), 23-32) as evidenced by Cozen et al. (hereinafter “Cozen”) (Nature Methods, 2015, 12(9), 879-886).
Erber does not specifically teach ligating hairpin oligonucleotide.
In view of the withdrawn rejection, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
Maintained Objections/Rejections
Specification Objection
The objection to the disclosure is maintained to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of Browser-executable code (e.g., as-filed Specification, paragraphs [0135]; [0136]; and [0137]). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; it is noted that this can be achieved by amending the hyperlink(s) to remove the web-link and/or http:// recitations. See MPEP § 608.01.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive (in part). Applicants essentially assert that: (a) Applicant has amended the specification to remove the hyperlinks, such that the objection should be withdrawn (Applicant Remarks, pg. 9, last full paragraph).
Regarding (a), no amendment to the Specification appears to have been filed in the reply filed August 27, 2026. Thus, the objection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The rejection of claims 22, 24, 25, 31 and 32 is maintained under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
The rejection of claim 22 is maintained as being indefinite for the recitation of the term “the sugar component” such as recited in claim 22, lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the sugar component” in the claim.
Claim 24 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “after ligation and oxidizing any present 3’-terminal nucleotides comprising a 2’,3’-diol” such as recited in claim 24, lines 2-3 because claim 24 depends from instant claim 22, wherein claim 22 does not recite the presence of any 2’,3’-diols and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 24 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “any present 3’-terminal nucleotides” such as recited in claim 24, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “any present 3’-terminal nucleotides” in the claim because claim 22, line 4 recites the term “a 3’-terminal nucleotide”.
The rejection of claim 25 is maintained as being indefinite for the recitation of the term “demethylating Watson-Crick face methylations on nucleotides of the RNA sequence” such as recited in claim 25, lines 1-2 because claim 25 depends from instant claims 22 and 24, wherein claims 22 and 24 do not recite Watson-Crick face methylations on nucleotides of the RNA sequence and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 32 is indefinite for the recitation of the term “one or more of (a), (b) and (c) are multiplexed” such as recited in claim 32, lines 1-2 because the instant as-filed Specification defines multiplexing as “pooling a large number of samples and subjecting the pooled samples to one or more biochemical processes simultaneously” (See, paragraph [0041]), such that claim 32 depends from claim 22, where claim 22 does not recite the presence of a sample and/or pooling samples. It is unclear whether the claim is intended to indicate that a plurality of RNA sequences can be ligated, reverse-transcribed, and/or amplified simultaneously; or whether the term refers to something else and, thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 31 is indefinite insofar as it ultimately depends from instant claim 22.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants essentially assert that: (a) the term “the sugar component”, which refers to the sugar component of the 3’-terminal nucleotide has antecedent basis (Applicant Remarks, pg. 10, third full paragraph); and (b) Watson-Crick face methylations are a common structural modification of RNAs. See, for example, paragraphs 0149 and 0166 of the present application as filed (Applicant Remarks, pg. 11, first full paragraph).
Regarding (a), the term “the sugar component” as recited in claim 22 lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner suggests that Applicant amend the claim to recite, for example, “comprising a 3’ terminal nucleotide with a sugar component comprising a 2’ hydroxyl”. Thus, the claim remains rejected.
Regarding (b), regarding the term “demethylating Watson-Crick face methylations on nucleotides of the RNA sequence”, it is noted that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). An RNA sequence cannot be “demethylated” unless it has either been methylated or already comprises methyl groups. Instant claim 25 depends from claims 22 and 24, which do not recite the presence of Watson-Crick face methylations on nucleotides. Thus, the claim remains rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
The rejection of claims 24 and 25 is maintained under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 24 recites (in part): “further comprising dephosphorylating the 3’-phosphate after ligation and oxidizing any present 3’-terminal nucleotides comprising a 2’,3’-diol” such as recited in claim 24, lines 2-3 because claim 24 depends from instant claim 22, wherein claim 22 does not recite that the 3’-terminal nucleotides comprise a 2’,3’-diol. Thus, claim 24 is an improper dependent claim for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 25 recites (in part): “further comprising demethylating Watson-Crick face methylations on nucleotides of the RNA sequence” such as recited in claim 25, lines 1-2 because claim 25 depends from instant claims 22 and 24, wherein claims 22 and 24 do not recite Watson-Crick face methylations on nucleotides of the RNA sequence. Thus, claim 25 is an improper dependent claim for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants essentially assert that: (a) claim 25 introduces an additional aspect of the claimed method of claim 22 (Applicant Remarks, pg. 11, last partial paragraph; and pg. 12, first partial paragraph).
Regarding (a), with regard to claim 25, the Examiner notes that the term “further comprising” refers to demethylating, while the term “Watson-Crick face methylations on nucleotides” refers back to reactions carried out and/or features recited in claim 22. However, no Watson-Crick face methylations on nucleotides are recited in instant claims 22 and/or 24, such that claim 25 recites an improper dependent claim. Thus, the claim remains rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 22, 24, 25, 31 and 32 is maintained under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erber et al. (hereinafter “Erber”) (RNA Biology, epub 2019, 17(1), 23-32) in view of Molly Evans (hereinafter “Evans”) (Dissertation; University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, 2017, 1-117) as evidenced by Cozen et al. (hereinafter “Cozen”) (Nature Methods, 2015, 12(9), 879-886).
Regarding claim 22 (in part), Erber teaches a schematic workflow of the LOTTE-Seq procedure, comprising: (A) a DNA hairpin-oligonucleotide (green) with a 3ʹ-TGGN overhang hybridizes to the tRNA 3ʹ-CCA end (tRNA in blue), wherein the T4 DNA ligase fuses the 3ʹ-end of the CCA terminus to the phosphorylated 5ʹ end of the adapter (ligating a hairpin oligo to an RNA sequence, 22a); (B) the tRNA is reverse transcribed with parts of the hairpin oligonucleotide serving as primer binding site (reverse transcribing the RNA as cDNA, 22b), such that the secondary structure and modified bases can lead to premature RT stops and partial cDNA (yellow); (C) using T4 RNA ligase 1, a 5ʹ-phosphorylated and 3ʹ-blocked second adapter (red) is fused to the 3ʹ-end of the cDNA, leading to the generation of cDNA product with adapters on both sides (red and green); (D) the product is PCR-amplified with indexed primers binding to the adapter overhang sequences (PCR amplification, claim 22c); (E) the cDNA library consisting of full-length as well as prematurely terminated tRNA sequences is analyzed by high-throughput sequencing (a multiplex method; and comprising tRNA, claims 31 and 32) (pg. 25; Figure 1).
Regarding claim 24 (in part), Erber teaches that the tRNA preparation was incubated with snake venom phosphodiesterase (SVPD I) to remove the 3’-CCA ends, wherein the enzyme catalyzes the hydrolysis of 3’-nucleotide phosphates and can easily be adjusted to only remove three nucleotides of the tRNA 3’-end (interpreted as dephosphorylating the 3’-phosphate, claim 24) (pg. 26, col 1, last partial paragraph).
Regarding claim 25, Erber teaches the analysis of the tRNA sequence reads identified a series of stop signals resulting from reverse transcription termination at methylated base positions, wherein ARM-Seq; as well as, DM-Seq compare untreated with enzymatically demethylated samples to identify certain base methylation positions in transcriptome data; and as described LOTTE-Seq reveals strong RT stop signals at these positions (Figure S3) (interpreted as demethylating nucleotides, claim 25) (pg. 28, col 1, last partial paragraph; and col 2, first partial paragraph, lines 1-6), where it is known that ARM-seq to provide sensitive and specific detection of methyl-modified RNAs using RNA-seq, wherein RNA is treated with a dealkylating enzyme, Escherichia coli AlkB, before reverse transcription in library preparation as evidenced by Cozen (pg. 897, col 2, first full paragraph, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 31, Erber teaches investigating the specificity of the hairpin adapter ligation on tRNAs isolated from total RNA (interpreted as total RNA, and tRNA, claim 31) (pg. 26, col 1, last partial paragraph, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 32, Erber teaches LOTTE-Seq (long hairpin oligonucleotide based tRNA high-throughput sequencing), specific selection of tRNAs with 3’-CCA end for high-throughput sequencing; and that the LOTTE-Seq strategy renders the approach a powerful and universal tool to analyze the tRNA pool of cells and organisms under different conditions in health and disease (interpreted as a multiplex method, claim 32) (Title; and Abstract, last 3 lines). Erber teaches that high-throughput analysis of the libraries was done as single end run (150 nt) on a MiSeq System (Illumina) with a custom primer designed for Illumina MiSeq analysis (5ʹ-CACTGTCGGTACCGAGCTTGCA TGGAGTCCTA-3ʹ) (interpreted as a multiplex method, claim 32) (pg. 30, col 1, fourth full paragraph). Erber teaches a single gel extraction step in the whole LOTTE-Seq procedure that separates the RT-products from unused hairpin adapter that could interfere within the second ligation step (interpreted as a multiplex method, claim 32) (pg. 24, col 2, first partial paragraph, lines 19-22).
Erber does not specifically exemplify an oligonucleotide comprising a 2’-OH and a 3’-phosphate (claim 22, in part); and oxidation with periodate (claim 24, in part).
Regarding claims 22 (in part) and 24 (in part), Evans teaches in Figure 1.2, examples of cDNA library preparation for RNA high-throughput sequencing, wherein: (A) RNA is first fragmented; sequential ligation of a 3' and 5' adapter is used to add the primer sequences required for Illumina sequencing; and the adapters are used for first and second strand cDNA synthesis and PCR amplification to create the sequencing library; and (B) RNA fragments are randomly primed (interpreted as library preparation, claim 22) (pg. 4, Figure 1.2). Evans teaches in Figure 2.1, charged DM-tRNA-Seq method, where in (A) and (B), periodate oxidation and β-elimination can differentiate between charged and uncharged tRNAs prior to sequencing, wherein periodate selectively oxidizes the 3' end of uncharged tRNA (A), while the 3' end of charged tRNA is protected (B), such that treatment with high pH causes β-elimination of the oxidized nucleotide and deacylation of charged tRNA, such that after end repair with T4 PNK, charged tRNAs will end in –CCA while uncharged tRNAs will end in –CC (C); and using modified DM-tRNA-seq to determine charging fractions, wherein tRNA is first treated with demethylase to remove common tRNA modifications (m1G, m1A, m3 (C) that impair reverse transcription (interpreted as RNA hairpin comprising a sugar with a 2’-OH and a 3’-phosphate that is dephosphorylated to 3’-OH; and periodate oxidation, claims 22 and 24) (pg. 20, Figure 2.1). Figure 2.1 (in part) is shown below:
A)
B)
Evans teaches that tRNA was demethylated, and end repaired using T4 PNK to remove the 3’ phosphate, followed by reverse transcription and PCR (interpreted as RNA hairpin comprising a sugar with a 2’-OH and a 3’-phosphate that is dephosphorylated to 3’-OH; and demethylated, claim 22) (pg. 23, last partial paragraph through pg. 25, first partial paragraph). Evans teaches modified oligonucleotides in Table 4.1, shown below:
(interpreted as including RNA hairpin oligonucleotides comprising a 2’-OH and a 3’-phosphate, claim 22) (pg. 79, Table 4.1). Evans teaches the periodate oxidation of the 3’ end of uncharged tRNA (interpreted as periodate oxidation and dephosphorylation of the RNA adaptor, claim 24) (pg. 18, second full paragraph, lines 1-3). Evans teaches in Figure 4.2, the synthesis of model oligonucleotides including m22G phosphoramidite, comprising:
(pg. 78, Figure 4.2, in part).
It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; the court held that, "…a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950)”. Therefore, in view of the benefits of selective oxidation of charged and uncharged tRNAs as exemplified by Evans, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of preparing an RNA-sequence library from 2-4 mg of total RNA using the LOTTE-Seq method including tRNA incubation with snake venom phosphodiesterase as disclosed by Erber to include one or more steps of the DM-tRNA-seq method including periodate oxidation as taught by Evans with a reasonable expectation of success in selecting the appropriate oxidative reagents and/or conditions for the selective oxidation of 3’-terminal nucleotides; and/or in reverse transcribing RNAs into cDNA, such that complete information with respect to nucleoside modifications is obtained.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Therefore, the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as obvious over the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants essentially assert that: (a) the combined references of Erber and Evans do not disclose a hairpin oligonucleotide comprising a 3’-terminal nucleotide, wherein the sugar components of the 3’ terminal nucleotide comprise a 2’ hydroxyl (Applicant Remarks, pg. 13, last partial paragraph; and pg. 14, first partial paragraph).
Regarding (a), Evans clearly teaches modified oligonucleotides including RNA hairpin oligonucleotides (and/or oligonucleotides that can form a stem loop); as well as, modifications to tRNA, wherein the ribonucleotides comprise a 3’-phosphate and a 2’-hydroxyl. Thus, the claims remain rejected.
New Objections/Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for
the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
(2) Claims 22, 24, 25, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazakov et al. (hereinafter “Kazakov”) (US Patent No 11014957, issued May 25, 2021; published December 27, 2018) in view of Molly Evans (hereinafter “Evans”) (Dissertation; University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, 2017, 1-117; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment of the claims in the response filed 08-27-2026.
Regarding claim 22, Kazakov teaches methods for preparing a sequencing library for a plurality of sample polynucleotides in a sample, comprising: ligating a combo adapter to the plurality of sample polynucleotides to produce a plurality of adapter-polynucleotide ligation products (interpreted as preparing a sequencing library, claim 22) (col 2, lines 45-49). Kazakov teaches combo adapters in the form of a plurality of nucleic acid residues, comprising: a 5'-proximal segment and a 3'-proximal segment, wherein each proximal segment comprises at least one sequencing adapter, detection sequences, or a combination thereof; 5'-end and 3'- end groups that allow first and second consecutive ligation reactions either directly or after conversion of one or both of these end groups to ligatable 5'-end and 3'-end groups (interpreted as adapters; broadly encompassing hairpin adaptors, claim 22) (col 1, lines 42-50). Kazakov teaches that the combo adapter can comprise at least one sequence selected from: a sequencing adapter, a primer binding site, a detection sequence, a probe hybridization sequence, a capture oligonucleotide binding site, a polymerase binding site, an endonuclease restriction site, a sequencing bar-code, an indexing sequence, a Zip-code, one or more random nucleotides, a unique molecular identifier (UMI), and a sequencing flow-cell binding site, and combinations thereof, wherein the at least one sequencing adapter can enable sequencing of the adapter-polynucleotide ligation product or complement thereof by sequencing methods selected from: standard Sanger sequencing; next generation sequencing; and single-molecule sequencing (interpreted as components of the adapter, claim 22) (col 2, lines 1-35). Kazakov teaches that the combo adapter can be a 3'-combo adapter comprising a 5'-p or 5'-adenylated (App) group and a 3'-p, before ligation of said 3'-combo adapter to the 3'-end of the sample polynucleotide, wherein the 5'- and/or 3'-end groups can contain a blocking group preventing circularization or concatamerization of combo adapter while allowing circularization of the said adapter-polynucleotide ligation products; and/or the 5'-end and/or 3'-end of the combo adapter can contain a reversible blocking group preventing circularization or concatamerization of combo adapter while allowing its ligation with a sample polynucleotide, wherein said reversible blocking group requires chemical, photochemical or enzymatic conversion to active end group prior to the circularization of the adapter-polynucleotide ligation product, wherein the reversible blocking group can be a 3'-end-blocking group selected from: 3'-p, 2',3'-cyclic phosphate (2' ,3 '>p), 3'-O-( a-methoxyethyl)ether, and 3 '-O-isovaleryl ester; or the reversible blocking group can be a 5'-end-blocking group selected from: 5'-OH, 5'-ppp, 5'-p, and 5'-App (interpreted as an adapter comprising a 3’ terminal nucleotide, claim 22) (col 2, lines 1-35). Kazakov teaches ligating the combo adapter to the 3' end of the sample polynucleotide, wherein the combo adapter comprises an adenylated 5' end (5'-App) and a 3'-p (interpreted as ligating an sequence to an adapter oligonucleotide to form a construct comprising a 3’ terminal nucleotide and a 3’ phosphate, claim 22) (col 3, lines 20-22). Kazakov teaches ligating and/or circularizing can comprise contacting the combo adapter and/or the plurality of adapter-polynucleotide ligation products with a ligase (interpreted as ligating using a ligase, claim 22) (col 3, lines 37-40). Kazakov teaches that the method can comprise converting the 5'-end and/or 3'-end groups of the adapter-polynucleotide ligation product before said circularizing, wherein converting comprises a conversion selected from: (a) 5'-0H to 5'-p; (b) 3'-p to 3'-0H; (c) 2'-p to 2'-0H; and (d) 2',3'>p to 2'-0H/3'-0H (interpreted as the 3’ terminal nucleotide comprising a 2’ hydroxyl and a 3’ phosphate, claim 22) (col 3, lines 52-57). Kazakov teaches in Figure 8A, the ligation of miRNAs with CAD (Example 1), such that analysis of products of ligation between CAD and selected synthetic miRNAs, wherein a pre-adenylated CAD (5'-AppCAD-3'-p) was ligated with miRNAs using a T4 RNA ligase 2 derivative (interpreted as ligating using a RNA ligase; and comprising a 3’-phosphate, claim 22) (col 10, lines 10-14; and Figures 7 and 8). Kazakov teaches splint-dependent ligation of a 3’-CAD having 5’-App or 5’-p end with the 3’-OH end of a double-stranded or hairpin blocking oligonucleotide (BO) by a ligase (interpreted as a hairpin adapter, claim 22) (col 8, lines 20-22). Kazakov teaches primer extension by a polymerase with strand-displacement ability allows copying (e.g., reverse transcription) of only the circularized polynucleotide-combo adapter ligation product (circularized PCAD), where Figure 6D shows the general design of oligonucleotide probes that allow specific blocking of PCR primer extension (PCR-blocker) of cDNAs derived from "empty" CADs (interpreted a reverse transcription to cDNA; and PCR amplification, claim 22) (col 9, lines 5-13; and Figure 9). Kazakov teaches in Figure 7, schemes to exemplify the preparation of polynucleotide sequencing libraries, comprising: Step 1: ligation of a polynucleotide (RNA or ssDNA) having 5'-p and 3'-OH termini with a single combo adapter (CAD) at the 3'-end of the polynucleotide to form adapter-polynucleotide ligation products (PCAD) (see Example 1, wherein the polynucleotide is a miRNA) (interpreted as preparing an RNA sequencing library, claim 22) (col 9, lines 14-20; and Figure 7).
Regarding claim 24 (in part), Kazakov teaches activation or unblocking of the 3'-end of PCAD by dephosphorylation using Polynucleotide Kinase (PNK), which converts the non-ligatable 3'-p into ligatable 3'-OH end, wherein Steps 2 and 3 can also be run simultaneously (interpreted as dephosphorylating the 3’-phosphate, claim 24) (col 9, lines 42-46).
Regarding claim 31, Kazakov teaches that the sample polynucleotide can comprise RNA including: fragmented RNA; partially degraded RNA, wherein the sample polynucleotide can comprise: microRNA or portion thereof; an RNA molecule or a fragmented RNA molecule (RNA fragments) selected from: a microRNA (miRNA), a pre-miRNA, a pri-miRNA, a mRNA, a pre-mRNA, a viral RNA, a viroid RNA, a virusoid RNA, circular RNA (circRNA), a ribosomal RNA (rRNA), a transfer RNA (tRNA), a pre-tRNA; a long non-coding RNA (lncRNA), a small nuclear RNA (snRNA), a circulating RNA, a cell-free RNA, an exosomal RNA, a vector-expressed RNA, an RNA transcript, a synthetic RNA, and combinations thereof (interpreted as an RNA sequence including tRNA, miRNA, etc., claim 31) (col 33, lines 5-19).
Regarding claim 32, Kazakov teaches that methods are employed to detect the presence of a first sample polynucleotide and a second sample polynucleotide in a sample, wherein methods comprise: (a) ligating a first combo adapter to a first sample polynucleotide to generate a first adapter-polynucleotide ligation product; and (b) ligating a second combo adapter to a second sample polynucleotide to generate a second adapter polynucleotide ligation product (interpreted a multiplexing, claim 32) (col 21, lines 23-32).
Kazakov does not specifically exemplify the use of periodate for dephosphorylation (claim 22, in part); or demethylating Watson-Crick face methylations (claim 25).
Regarding claim 24 (in part), Evans teaches in Figure 1.2, examples of cDNA library preparation for RNA high-throughput sequencing, wherein: (A) RNA is first fragmented; sequential ligation of a 3' and 5' adapter is used to add the primer sequences required for Illumina sequencing; and the adapters are used for first and second strand cDNA synthesis and PCR amplification to create the sequencing library; and (B) RNA fragments are randomly primed (interpreted as library preparation, claim 22) (pg. 4, Figure 1.2). Evans teaches in Figure 2.1, charged DM-tRNA-Seq method, where in (A) and (B), periodate oxidation and β-elimination can differentiate between charged and uncharged tRNAs prior to sequencing, wherein periodate selectively oxidizes the 3' end of uncharged tRNA (A), while the 3' end of charged tRNA is protected (B), such that treatment with high pH causes β-elimination of the oxidized nucleotide and deacylation of charged tRNA, such that after end repair with T4 PNK, charged tRNAs will end in –CCA while uncharged tRNAs will end in –CC (C); and using modified DM-tRNA-seq to determine charging fractions, wherein tRNA is first treated with demethylase to remove common tRNA modifications (m1G, m1A, m3 (C) that impair reverse transcription (interpreted as RNA hairpin comprising a sugar with a 2’-OH and a 3’-phosphate that is dephosphorylated to 3’-OH; and periodate oxidation, claims 22 and 24) (pg. 20, Figure 2.1). Figure 2.1 (in part) is shown below:
A)
B)
Evans teaches that tRNA was demethylated, and end repaired using T4 PNK to remove the 3’ phosphate, followed by reverse transcription and PCR (interpreted as RNA hairpin comprising a sugar with a 2’-OH and a 3’-phosphate that is dephosphorylated to 3’-OH; and demethylated, claim 22) (pg. 23, last partial paragraph through pg. 25, first partial paragraph). Evans teaches in Figure 4.2, the synthesis of model oligonucleotides including m22G phosphoramidite, comprising:
(pg. 78, Figure 4.2, in part).
Evans teaches modified oligonucleotides in Table 4.1, shown below:
(interpreted as including RNA hairpin oligonucleotides comprising a 2’-OH and a 3’-phosphate, claim 22) (pg. 79, Table 4.1).
Regarding claim 25, Evans teaches DM-tRNA-seq, a method to quantitatively and efficiently sequence tRNA, which employs wild-type and mutant E. coli AlkB demethylases to remove common Watson-Crick face modifications (m1G, m1A, m3C), specifically, Watson-Crick methylations in tRNA that commonly cause reverse transcriptase (RT) stop (interpreted as removing face methylations, claim 25) (pg. 18, last partial paragraph; and pg. 100, last partial paragraph).
It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; the court held that, "…a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950)”. Therefore, in view of the benefits of oxidation via periodate as exemplified by Evans, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of preparing an RNA-sequence library via ligation, reverse-transcription, and amplification as disclosed by Kazakov to include periodate oxidation of small RNAs as taught by Evans with a reasonable expectation of success in maximizing structural precision and unidirectional ligation, while completely suppressing adaptor self-ligation and/or intramolecular hairpin closure.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Therefore, the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC §103(a) as obvious over the art.
Conclusion
Claims 22, 24, 25, 31 and 32 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY M BUNKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684