NON-FINAL ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5 May 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of in the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable.
The title of the invention is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 14, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2003/0228966, hereinafter Koch) in view of Van der Ham et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0187122, hereinafter Van der Ham), and further in view of Hadank et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,381,874, hereinafter Hadank).
Regarding claim 1, Koch discloses a method of greasing a decanter centrifuge (10, Fig. 2A and 2B, para. [0067]), the decanter centrifuge comprising a rotating bowl (20, Fig. 2A and 2B) suspended between bearings (100 and 108, Fig. 2A and 2B), each bearing being located in a bearing housing (bearing housings are part of bowl head 27 and 30 that accommodate the bearings 100 and 108, Fig. 2A and 2B), the method comprising the steps of: operating the decanter centrifuge by rotating the bowl (para. [0005]), but does not disclose at least one bearing housing having a grease flow meter, the grease flow meter being connected to a control unit, the control unit defining a specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation and a specific time interval between greasing operations, the method comprising the steps of: measuring an operating time since the last greasing operation in the control unit; and generating a greasing operation when the operating time of the decanter centrifuge is equal to or exceeds the specific time interval between greasing operations, the greasing operation including: generating a start signal in the control unit; measuring an amount of grease injected into the bearing housing by using the flow meter; and generating a stop signal in the control unit when the amount of grease injected into the bearing housing is equal to or exceeds the specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation.
Van der Ham discloses analogous art related to a method of operating a bearing lubrication system, where at least one bearing housing (bearing housing 24, Fig. 2) having a grease flow meter (para. [0005]), the grease flow meter being connected to a control unit (controller 36, Fig. 1) (using a flow meter to detect lubricant flow and provide signal to a controller, para. [0005] and [0028]), the control unit defining a specific amount of grease (a predetermined quantity of the lubricant, moves through a lubrication supply line into a bearing hosing and into contact with the wear surfaces of the bearing, para. [0003] and [0005]) to be injected at each greasing operation, the greasing operation including: generating a start signal in the control unit (“a lubrication operation may comprise the opening of a valve in one of the lubricant injectors 12 or an increase in a pressure that, under normal circumstances, would move the lubricant toward the interior 32 of one of the bearings 18”; initiating the lubrication operation by actuating lubrication components inherently involves generating a start signal, para. [0020]); measuring an amount of grease injected into the bearing housing by using the flow meter; and generating a stop signal in the control unit when the amount of grease injected into the bearing housing is equal to or exceeds the specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation (“the flow meter can be configured to produce a signal when a movement of a predetermined quantity of the lubricant is detected”, para. [0005]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of Koch with the flow meter and control unit as taught by Van der Ham for the purpose of detecting a predetermined quantity of lubricant during a lubrication operation (para. [0005], Van der Ham).
The combination of Koch and Van der Ham does not disclose the control unit defining a specific time interval between greasing operations; measuring an operating time since the last greasing operation in the control unit; and generating a greasing operation when the operating time of the decanter centrifuge is equal to or exceeds the specific time interval between greasing operations.
Hadank discloses analogous art related to automatic lubrication control, the control unit defining a specific time interval between greasing operations; measuring an operating time since the last greasing operation in the control unit; and generating a greasing operation when the operating time of the decanter centrifuge is equal to or exceeds the specific time interval between greasing operations (“a device for calculating a time interval being dependent on a previous lubrication event and the operational parameter” and “producing a lubrication signal in response to the time interval reaching a predetermined interval constant”, Abstract). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of combined Koch and Van der Ham with the control unit configuration taught by Hadank for the purpose of providing a flexible and efficient control system for automatically lubricating critical areas of work machines (col. 2 lines 21-26, Hadank).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Koch, Van der Ham, and Hadank discloses where in the bearing housing comprises a temperature sensor (34, Fig. 1, Van der Ham) and the step of operating the decanter centrifuge includes measuring a bearing housing temperature by using the temperature sensor (para. [0021], Van der Ham).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Koch, Van der Ham, and Hadank teaches calculating a time interval being dependent on a previous lubrication event and an operational parameter (Abstract, Hadank) and that if the bearing has been inadequately lubricated, on the other hand, a new dose of grease can cause a transient decrease in temperature when the cool grease reaches a hotter-than-normal bearing (para. [0022], Van der Ham, hotter-than normal bearing temperature corresponds to the bearing housing temperature increases beyond a first specific temperature), but does not specifically disclose setting the specific time interval between greasing operations to less or equal to the operating time since the last greasing operation when between greasing operations the bearing housing temperature increases beyond a first specific temperature, the first temperature being indicative for an under-greasing of the bearing housing. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the time interval lubrication control of Hadank such that the calculated time interval between greasing operations is adjusted based on bearing temperature, as taught by Van der Ham, in particular, setting the specific time interval between greasing operations to less or equal to the operating time since the last greasing operation when between greasing operations the bearing housing temperature increases beyond a first specific temperature. Decreasing the time interval would initiate a greasing operation sooner, which is a predictable feedback loop response when the bearing temperature indicates under-greasing. Such a combination merely applies known sensor data feedback (Van der Ham) to a known lubrication interval control (Hadank) to achieve the predictable result of improved bearing lubrication, consistent with KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 7, 18, and 19, the combination of Koch, van der Ham, and Hadank discloses wherein the decanter centrifuge comprises a grease pump (lubrication pump 10, Fig. 1, van der Ham) connected to the bearing housing (corresponding to bearing 18, Fig. 1; “a lubrication operation by moving lubricant toward an interior of a housing of a bearing”, Abstract, van der Ham), whereby the start signal causes the pump to start and the stop signal causes the pump to stop (controller 36 actuates the pump to start and stop, para. [0020], van der Ham).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Koch, van der Ham, and Hadank discloses wherein the bearing housing (bearing housings are part of bowl head 27 and 30 that accommodate the bearings 100 and 108, Fig. 2A and 2B, Koch; corresponding to bearing 18, Fig. 1, van der Ham) comprises a grease inlet (grease channels 85, 86, 87, Fig. 2B, Koch; lubrication point 16, Fig. 1, van der Ham) and the decanter centrifuge comprising a human-machine interface (“display screen”, para. [0034], van der Ham; display 28, Hadank) for communicating the start signal and the stop signal to a user.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Koch, van der Ham, and Hadank discloses the lubrication of bearings and shafts of a centrifuge, where the bearings adjacent the shaft facilitate movement of the shaft (para. [0067], Koch). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the greasing operation while the bowl is rotating, as this represents a routine operational choice consistent with the teachings of Koch (para. [0067], Koch).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Koch, van der Ham, and Hadank discloses wherein the specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation and the specific time interval between greasing operations are based on the size and the operational pattern of the decanter centrifuge (main module 24 receives input from pressure sensor and one or more sensors associated with an operational parameter, such as machine speedometer for larger machines or implement controllers for smaller machines, col. 3 lines 1-40, Hadank; lubrication control in response to bearing temperature behavior, para. [0022], van der Ham).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Koch, van der Ham, and Hadank discloses wherein each of the bearing housings comprises a separate flow meter connected to the control unit (one flow meter is detecting lubricant entering one bearing housing, para. [0006], van der Ham).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Koch, van der Ham, and Hadank discloses a computer program embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, and comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 1 (para. [0038]-[0039], van der Ham).
Regarding claim 14, Koch discloses a control unit of a decanter centrifuge (“control apparatus”, para. [0080]), the decanter centrifuge (Fig. 2A and 2B) comprising a rotatable bowl (20, Fig. 2A and 2B) suspended between bearings (100 and 108, Fig. 2A and 2B), each bearing located in a bearing housing (bearing housings are part of bowl head 27 and 30 that accommodate the bearings 100 and 108, Fig. 2A and 2B), but does not disclose a control unit for controlling a greasing operation, at least one bearing housing having a grease flow meter, the grease flow meter being connected to the control unit, the control unit defining a specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation and a specific time interval between grease operations, the control unit being adapted for measuring an operating time of the decanter centrifuge since the last greasing operation and generating a greasing operation when the operating time of the decanter centrifuge is equal to or exceeds the specific time interval between greasing operations, the greasing operation comprising: generating a start signal in the control unit; measuring an amount of grease injected into the bearing housing by using the flow meter; and generating a stop signal in the control unit when the amount of grease injected into the bearing housing is equal to or exceeds the specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation.
Van der Ham discloses analogous art related to a bearing lubrication system, where at least one bearing housing (bearing housing 24, Fig. 2) having a grease flow meter (para. [0005]), the grease flow meter being connected to a control unit (controller 36, Fig. 1) (using a flow meter to detect lubricant flow and provide signal to a controller, para. [0005] and [0028]), the control unit defining a specific amount of grease (a predetermined quantity of the lubricant, moves through a lubrication supply line into a bearing hosing and into contact with the wear surfaces of the bearing, para. [0003] and [0005]) to be injected at each greasing operation, the greasing operation including: generating a start signal in the control unit (“a lubrication operation may comprise the opening of a valve in one of the lubricant injectors 12 or an increase in a pressure that, under normal circumstances, would move the lubricant toward the interior 32 of one of the bearings 18”; initiating the lubrication operation by actuating lubrication components inherently involves generating a start signal, para. [0020]); measuring an amount of grease injected into the bearing housing by using the flow meter; and generating a stop signal in the control unit when the amount of grease injected into the bearing housing is equal to or exceeds the specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation (“the flow meter can be configured to produce a signal when a movement of a predetermined quantity of the lubricant is detected”, para. [0005]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control unit of Koch with the flow meter and control unit as taught by Van der Ham for the purpose of detecting a predetermined quantity of lubricant during a lubrication operation (para. [0005], Van der Ham).
The combination of Koch and Van der Ham does not disclose the control unit defining a specific time interval between greasing operations; measuring an operating time since the last greasing operation in the control unit; and generating a greasing operation when the operating time of the decanter centrifuge is equal to or exceeds the specific time interval between greasing operations.
Hadank discloses analogous art related to automatic lubrication control, the control unit defining a specific time interval between greasing operations; measuring an operating time since the last greasing operation in the control unit; and generating a greasing operation when the operating time of the decanter centrifuge is equal to or exceeds the specific time interval between greasing operations (“a device for calculating a time interval being dependent on a previous lubrication event and the operational parameter” and “producing a lubrication signal in response to the time interval reaching a predetermined interval constant”, Abstract). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control unit of combined Koch and Van der Ham with the control unit configuration taught by Hadank for the purpose of providing a flexible and efficient control system for automatically lubricating critical areas of work machines (col. 2 lines 21-26, Hadank).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Koch, van der Ham, and Hadank discloses a decanter centrifuge (Fig. 2A and 2B, Koch) comprising the control unit according to claim 14.
Claims 4-6, 16, 17, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch in view of Van der Ham, and further in view of Hadank, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Carothers et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2011/0308888, hereinafter Carothers).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Koch, Van der Ham, and Hadank teaches calculating a time interval being dependent on a previous lubrication event and an operational parameter (Abstract, Hadank) and that if the bearing has been inadequately lubricated, on the other hand, a new dose of grease can cause a transient decrease in temperature when the cool grease reaches a hotter-than-normal bearing (para. [0022], Van der Ham, hotter-than normal bearing temperature corresponds to the bearing housing temperature increases beyond a first specific temperature), does not disclose wherein the specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation is increased when between greasing operations the bearing housing temperature increases beyond the first specific temperature.
Carothers discloses a lubrication system in which feedback from a flow meter is provided to a controller/PLC to adjust the pump’s output flow to a precise rate based on operating parameters (para. [0100]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination of Koch, Van der Ham, and Hadank such that when the bearing temperature behavior indicates under greasing as taught by Van der Ham, the controller would adjust/increase the amount of grease injected during a greasing operation, as taught by Carothers, for the purpose of compensating for any changes in the operating parameters (para. [0100], Carothers).
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 17, the combination of Koch, Van der Ham, and Hadank teaches calculating a time interval being dependent on a previous lubrication event and an operational parameter (Abstract, Hadank) and that if the bearing is adequately lubricated, adding additional lubricant will cause a transient increase in bearing temperature due to the increased friction until the grease is smeared out evenly (para. [0022], Van der Ham), but does not specifically disclose generating a stop signal and setting the specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation to less or equal to the amount of grease injected into the bearing housing when during the greasing operation or immediately thereafter the bearing housing temperature increases beyond a second specific temperature, the second specific temperature being indicative for an over-greasing of the bearing housing.
Carothers discloses a lubrication system in which feedback from a flow meter is provided to a controller/PLC to adjust the pump’s output flow to a precise rate based on operating parameters (para. [0100]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination of Koch, van der Ham, and Hadank such that when the bearing temperature behavior indicates over-greasing as taught by van der Ham, the controller would stop the lubrication operation or decrease the amount of grease when bearing temperature behavior indicates over-greasing, as taught by Carothers, for the purpose of compensating for any changes in the operating parameters (para. [0100], Carothers), in particular, generating a stop signal and setting the specific amount of grease to be injected at each greasing operation to less or equal to the amount of grease injected into the bearing housing when during the greasing operation or immediately thereafter the bearing housing temperature increases beyond a second specific temperature. Such a termination or limitation of lubricant delivery would prevent excessive lubrication and is a predictable control response given the teachings of van der Ham (teaches over-greasing is detectable via temperature increase) and Hadank (teaches control of lubrication operation based on previous lubrication event and operational parameters).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Koch, van der Ham, Hadank, and Carothers teaches bearing temperature behavior that would indicate over-greasing (para. [0022], van der Ham) and modifying the lubrication interval in response to detected operating parameters (Abstract, Hadank). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the combination of Koch, van der Ham, and Hadank to increase the specific time interval between greasing operations when during the greasing operation or immediately thereafter the bearing housing increases beyond the second specific temperature, for the purpose of avoiding excessive lubrication. Such a combination merely applies known sensor data feedback (Van der Ham) to a known lubrication interval control (Hadank) to achieve the predictable result of improved bearing lubrication, consistent with KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, the combination of Koch, van der Ham, Hadank, and Carothers discloses wherein the decanter centrifuge comprises a grease pump (lubrication pump 10, Fig. 1, van der Ham) connected to the bearing housing (corresponding to bearing 18, Fig. 1; “a lubrication operation by moving lubricant toward an interior of a housing of a bearing”, Abstract, van der Ham), whereby the start signal causes the pump to start and the stop signal causes the pump to stop (controller 36 actuates the pump to start and stop, para. [0020], van der Ham).
Conclusion
/Shuyi S. Liu/Examiner, Art Unit 1774