DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-4) in the reply filed on March 1st 2026 is acknowledged.
The restriction is deemed proper and therefore made FINAL.
Claims Status:
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claims 5-7 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-4 are examined as follow:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2018187664A herein set forth as JP87664A, in view of Dackson (US9102009B2) herein set forth as Dackson.
Regarding claim 1, JP87664A discloses a side nozzle comprising:
a head attachment (attachment mechanism #4A, fig.2) attached to a welding head (torch nozzle #22, fig.2); and
a gas blow nozzle (multiple nozzle parts #2 in fig.2) attached to a side of the head attachment (attachment mechanism #4A, fig.2) and configured to blow shielding gas (refer to “aftershield gas” cited in the abstract) to the weld position (refer to the position where the multiple nozzle parts #2 aiming direction in fig.2), wherein
the gas blow nozzle (multiple nozzle parts #2 in fig.2) includes
a main nozzle (refer to the nozzle parts #2 that is closest to attachment mechanism #4A in fig.2) that is disposed closer to the head attachment (attachment mechanism #4A, fig.2) and is supplied with the shielding gas (refer to “aftershield gas” cited in the abstract) by a first gas pipe (refer to gas hose #61 that is connected to the closest nozzle part #2 in fig.2), and
a sub-nozzle (refer to the other 2 nozzle parts #2 in fig.2) that is disposed so as to be adjacent to the main nozzle (refer to the nozzle parts #2 that is closest to attachment mechanism #4A in fig.2) and farther away from the head attachment (attachment mechanism #4A, fig.2) than the main nozzle (refer to the nozzle parts #2 that is closest to attachment mechanism #4A in fig.2) and is supplied with the shielding gas (refer to “aftershield gas” cited in the abstract) by a second gas pipe (refer to gas hose #61 that is connected to the other nozzle part #2 in fig.2), and
the sub-nozzle (refer to the other 2 nozzle parts #2 in fig.2) is removable (refer to NPL JP2018187664A translated, page 4 line 36 -50 cited:” …The slide support portion 10 includes a plurality of vertical rods 10a and horizontal rods 10b formed in a long cylindrical shape using, for example, a metal such as stainless steel, a non-ferrous metal, or ceramics.
The plurality of vertical rods 10a are arranged to extend in the vertical direction, and are arranged side by side in the horizontal direction so as to correspond to the plurality of holding portions 8 that hold the nozzle portions 2, respectively. A ring member Ba (holding portion 8) is rotatably attached to the lower end side of each vertical rod 1 0a via a rotation shaft 9a.
The horizontal rod 10b extends in the horizontal direction and supports a plurality of vertical rods 10b so as to be slidable in the vertical direction via a joint portion 1 0c.
Further, the vertical rod 10b can be fixed to the horizontal rod 10b by a fastening screw (not shown) provided in the joint portion 10c.
In the support mechanism 3A, it is possible to change (adjust) the direction of the aftershield gas discharged from the nozzle portion 2 by rotating the ring member Ba (holding portion 8) around the rotation shaft 9a. is there.
Further, in the support mechanism 3A, it is possible to change (adjust) the interval between the nozzle portion 2 and the workpieces S1 and S2 by sliding the plurality of vertical rods 1 Ob in the vertical direction.
Further, in the support mechanism 3A, it is possible to change (adjust) the interval between the adjacent nozzle portions 2 by sliding the vertical rod 1 0a together with the joint portion 1 0c in the extending direction of the horizontal rod 1 Ob.
The attachment mechanism 4A has an attachment ring 11 formed in a cylindrical shape as a whole using, for example, a metal such as stainless steel, a non-ferrous metal, or ceramics. The base end side of the horizontal rod 1 Ob is attached by screwing or the like while being cantilevered by the attachment ring 11.…”, Examiner note: the citation clearly describing the structure of “support portion #10” in the figure is adjustable and removable for each “nozzle part #2” from each other, furthermore fig. 5 show the third nozzle is removed) from the main nozzle (refer to the nozzle parts #2 that is closest to attachment mechanism #4A in fig.2).
JP87664A does not disclose a laser welding machine and including an opening through which a laser beam emitted from the welding head for irradiation to a weld position passes.
In the similar field of welding apparatus, Dackson discloses a laser welding machine (laser machine #10, fig.1) and including an opening (refer to “opening” annotated in fig.1) through which a laser beam (laser beam #24, fig.1) emitted from the welding head (focus head #14, fig.1) for irradiation to a weld position passes (focus point #18, fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modified JP87664A’s arc welding machine with a laser welding machine and including an opening through which a laser beam emitted from the welding head for irradiation to a weld position passes as taught by Dackson, in order to increase the utilization and marketability of the JP87664A’s aftershield gas jig system, and also taking advantages of Dackson’s keyhole welding machine that have better automation control and manipulation of the welding than arc welding (refer to Col 1, line 18-21 cited: “…The laser is a device that generates a nearly collimated beam of light energy. When its beam is directed, manipulated and focused with respect to a workpiece, it has a consistency that makes it ideally suited for automated processing …”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2018187664A herein set forth as JP87664A, in view of Dackson (US9102009B2) herein set forth as Dackson, and further in view of JPH03118979A herein set forth as JPH18979A.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of JP87664A and Dackson discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP87664A or Dackson does not explicitly disclose wherein the main nozzle is made of copper, and the sub-nozzle is made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy.
In the field of gas nozzle for welding, JPH18979A discloses the use of copper-aluminum alloy for gas nozzle used in welding process (refer to attached NPL JP25473589A translated, claim 1 cited: “…A gas nozzle for a gas shielded welding machine made of copper or a copper-based alloy, comprising a copper-aluminum alloy layer…”)(Examiner note: Since both nozzle are copper-aluminum alloy; therefore modified JP87664A in view of JP473589 teach the use of copper and copper aluminum alloys for the gas nozzles as claimed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP87664A’s nozzle with JPH18979A’s teaching to use copper-aluminum alloy to make the shielding gas nozzle, in order to provide a better nozzle with longer operational life span for welding shielding gas nozzle under the welding splatter problem.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2018187664A herein set forth as JP87664A, in view of Dackson (US9102009B2) herein set forth as Dackson, further in view of Haag (US11311968B2) fig.14 herein set forth as Haagfig14, and further in view of another embodiment of Haag fig.11 herein set forth as Haagfig11.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of JP87664A and Dackson discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP87664A further discloses wherein the main nozzle (refer to the nozzle parts #2 that is closest to attachment mechanism #4A in fig.2) includes a main conduit (holding portion #8, fig.2) including a through hole (refer to the hole of the ring member #8a in fig.2) formed in a metal columnar body (ring member #8a in fig.2).
JP87664A or Dackson does not explicitly disclose wherein the sub-nozzle includes first and second sub-conduits including two through holes formed in a metal plate-shaped body, each of the main conduit and the first and second sub-conduits includes a straight portion formed closer to a first end at which the shielding gas is injected, an inclined straight portion formed closer to a second end from which the shielding gas is blown, the inclined straight portion being inclined to approach the weld position, and a bend that is a boundary between the straight portion and the inclined straight portion at which a traveling direction of the shielding gas is bent, the bend is formed close to the first end relative to a center between the first end and the second end, and no bend is formed in the inclined straight portion.
In the field of shielding gas nozzle for welding, Haag discloses a shielding gas nozzle (gas nozzle #22, fig.14) that comprise a straight portion (refer to “straight portion” annotated in fig.14) formed closer to a first end (refer to “first end” annotated in fig.14) at which the shielding gas is injected, an inclined straight portion (refer to “inclined portion” annotated in fig.14) formed closer to a second end (refer to “second end” annotated in fig,14) from which the shielding gas is blown, the inclined straight portion (refer to “inclined portion” annotated in fig.14) being inclined to approach the weld position, and a bend (refer to “bend” annotated in fig.14) that is a boundary between the straight portion (refer to “straight portion” annotated in fig.14) and the inclined straight portion (refer to “inclined portion” annotated in fig.14) at which a traveling direction of the shielding gas is bent, the bend (refer to “bend” annotated in fig.14) is formed close to the first end (refer to “first end” annotated in fig.14) relative to a center (refer to “center” annotated in fig.14) between the first end (refer to “first end” annotated in fig.14) and the second end (refer to “second end” annotated in fig.14), and no bend is formed in the inclined straight portion (refer to “inclined portion” annotated in fig.14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substitute all three of JP87664A’s nozzles with Haagfig14’s nozzle, because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results of ejection of shielding gas, it order to provide a lower profile nozzle that can reduce the nozzle height and also change direction of the shielding gas too.
Haagfig14 does not explicitly disclose wherein the sub-nozzle includes first and second sub-conduits including two through holes formed in a metal plate-shaped body.
In the similar field, Haagfig11 discloses wherein the sub-nozzle (gas nozzle #22, fig.11) includes first and second sub-conduits (refer to “first sub” and “second sub” annotated in fig.11) including two through holes (refer as the through hole of each “first and second subs” in fig.11) formed in a metal plate-shaped body (refer to “one metal body” annotated in fig.11) (refer to fig.11, Examiner note: fig.11 show multiple nozzle can combine into one).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second sub-conduit of Modified JP87664A’s nozzles to be in one metal body, as taught by Haagfig.11, in order to provide multiple nozzles in one single nozzle body, such that the shielding gas nozzles would have reduced complexity of nozzle construction and also provide easier adjustment and control of the nozzles.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2018187664A herein set forth as JP87664A, in view of Dackson (US9102009B2) herein set forth as Dackson, further in view of Haag (US11311968B2) fig.14 herein set forth as Haagfig14, further in view of another embodiment of Haag fig.11 herein set forth as Haagfig11, and further in view of Offer et al (US5981897) herein set forth as Offer.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of JP87664A, Dackson and Haag discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 3, JP87664A, Dackson and Haag does not disclose wherein each of the straight portions of the main conduit and the first and second sub-conduits is mounted with a rectifying member made of a porous metal material and configured to rectify the shielding gas.
In the field of shielding gas nozzle, Offer discloses wherein each of the straight portions of the main conduit and the first and second sub-conduits is mounted with a rectifying member made of a porous metal material and configured to rectify the shielding gas (refer to abstract cited: “…To achieve a laminar flow, a gas diffusing structure is incorporated in each gas distribution tube. The gas diffusing structures include the following: a compression spring attached to the end of the gas distribution tube and having an opening which is covered by a porous or non-porous cover; a fine-mesh screen which is wrapped around the distal end of the gas distribution tube and having an opening which is closed by a porous closure; a metal wire wool or braided rope which is stuffed inside the tube; or a distal section of the tube is made from porous material and has an opening covered by a porous end cover …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP87664A’s nozzles such that each of the straight portions of the main conduit and the first and second sub-conduits is mounted with a rectifying member made of a porous metal material and configured to rectify the shielding gas, as taught by Offer, in order to have a better flow pattern of shielding gas, and to reduce wastage of shielding gas during operation of the welding system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Broghammer et al (US2016/0354866A1) discloses a laser welding machine that has a side nozzles that read on most of the limitation cited in claim 1
JP2014200827A discloses another laser welding machine that has a side nozzle that almost read on all of the limitation cited in claim 1.
CN206605154U discloses yet another laser welding machine that has a side nozzle that only read on some of the limitation cited in claim 1.
JP2014079784 discloses yet another laser welding machine that has a side nozzle that almost read on all of the limitation cited in claim 1.
JP2015199127A discloses yet again another laser welding machine that has a side nozzle that almost read on all of the limitation cited in claim 1.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 March 24th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761