DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is an initial Office Action in response to the November 18, 2025 restriction requirement for the 18/035,767 application originally filed May 08, 2023. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 15-18 in the reply filed on Jan 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11, 12, 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups II, III, and IV, respectively, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on Jan 16, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshioka et al (US 20130309539 A1, published 2013-11-21).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka teaches a battery pack (Fig. 1), comprising:
A plurality of battery modules 1, each of the plurality of battery modules 1 including at least one battery cell 1 and a module terminal 12 ([0046], [0050]);
A barrier interposed between adjacent battery modules of the plurality of battery modules;
(Either barrier (i.e. spacer) 6 or 7 is interposed between adjacent battery modules 1 stacked in a stacking direction, or alternatively, barrier (i.e. spacer) 8 is interposed between adjacent battery modules 1 in an orthogonal direction to the stacking direction; [0046]; Figs. 6-8)
And a bus bar configured to electrically connect module terminals of the adjacent battery modules and located at an end or inside of the barrier to seal the end or inside of the barrier.
(Bus bar 3 is configured to electrically connect the external terminals 12 of adjacent battery modules 1; alternatively, bus bar 2 is also configured to electrically connect the external terminals 12 of the adjacent battery modules in an orthogonal direction [0054]; see Fig. 1. Where the ends of barriers 6 and 7 correspond to the outermost edges of the barriers which are flush with the ends of the battery modules 1 in Fig. 1, the interlocking between the bus bar 3 and the barriers 6 and 7 occurs at an upper edge of an interior region of the barriers, i.e. an inside of the barriers, to cover, or seal, the inside of the barriers 6 and 7 as illustrated in Figs. 6-7 and Figs. 11A-11C and 15.
Similarly, where the ends of barrier 8 correspond to the outermost edges of the barrier, bus bar 2 engages in an interlocking with barrier 8 at an upper edge of an interior region of barrier 8, i.e. an inside of the barrier, to cover, or seal, the inside of the barrier 8 as illustrated in Fig. 8 and Figs. 12-15.)
Regarding claim 2, Yoshioka teaches the battery pack of claim 1. As seen in annotated Fig. 2, attached below, the spacer 6 forms a split unit disposed to be orthogonal to the barrier 8, and the split unit 6 is interposed between adjacent rows of the plurality of battery modules 1. Additionally, annotated Fig. 2 shows wherein the bus bar 2 is configured to be interposed between the end of the barrier 8 and a surface of the split unit 6.
Annotated Fig. 2 of Yoshioka:
Regarding claim 3, Yoshioka teaches the battery pack of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches wherein the barriers (i.e. spacer) 6 or 7 has an accommodation groove (i.e., the space between a pair of projections 61 of barrier 6 or the space between a pair of projections 71 of barrier 7; see Figs. 6-7), and the bus bar 3 is configured to be seated in the accommodation groove of barriers 6 or 7 and fill the accommodation groove (as the holes 32 of bus bar 3 shown in Fig. 3 receive the projections 61 or 71, the bus bar fills the accommodation groove; the filling of the accommodation groove is also shown for holes 32 or 33 in Figs. 11A, 12A, 13, 15). Alternatively, barrier (i.e., spacer) 8 also has spaces between adjacent pairs of projections 81 which, as shown in Fig. 8, function as accommodation grooves, and wherein in having its holes 22 or 23 interlock with the projections of barrier 8, the bus bar 2 is configured to be seated in the accommodation grooves of barrier 8 and fill the accommodation grooves; see Figs. 10A, 12A, 13, 15.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshioka teaches the battery pack of claim 3. Yoshioka further teaches wherein the barrier (spacer 6 or 7, or alternatively, spacer 8) is configured in a plate shape and has the accommodation groove at an edge portion thereof, as seen in Figs. 6-8.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshioka teaches the battery pack of claim 1. Yoshioka further teaches the projections 61 and/or grooved portions 65 on barrier 6 (or, analogously, projections 71 and/or grooved portions 75 on barrier 7) as seen in Figs. 11A, 12A, 13-15 that cooperate with complementary regions (i.e., receiving portions) 32, 33, 35 on the bus bar 3, thereby teaching a cooperating projection and recess.
Similarly, the same cooperating projection and recess is shown for the projections 81 and/or grooved portions 85 on barrier 8 as seen in Figs. 10A, 12-15 and complementary regions (i.e., receiving portions) 22, 23, 25 on bus bar 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al (US 20130309539 A1, published 2013-11-21) in view of Shin et al (KR 20160049260 A, published 2016-05-09).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshioka teaches the battery pack of claim 1.
Yoshioka further teaches the bus bar 2 and bus bar 3 are formed of a plate made of metal material having electrical conductivity ([0055] lines 1-4, [0058] lines 1-4; Figs. 4-5). Yoshioka also discloses they have ends mounted to module terminals 12 (i.e., external terminals) of the adjacent battery modules 1; [0054], [0055] lines 4-9, [0058] lines 4-9; Figs. 1-2, 10A, 11A, 12A, 13-15 show the ends connected to the module terminals). The outermost ends 21 of bus bar 2 and ends 31 of bus bar 3, respectively, shown in Figs. 4-5 of Yoshioka, and which connect to module terminals of adjacent battery modules, correspond to the claimed conduction portion.
Although Yoshioka discloses projections of the bus bar protruding outwardly from the conduction portion to cover, or seal, inside of the barrier, they do not explicitly teach a sealing portion configured to surround the conduction portion.
Shin in the same field of endeavor teaches (Fig. 1) a fire-resistant bus bar configuration with applicability to use in an electric vehicle (machine translation [0002], [0037]), wherein fireproof tape 200 is wound over the non-terminal region of a conductor portion of the bus bar [0037] and a flexible tube member (not illustrated) is wrapped around the outside of the fireproof tape [0062] made of a material with elasticity ([0064]-[0067]). Shin teaches their invention provides a flexible bus bar that has insulation and protects the internal conductor portion 110 from flames in case of fire and is suitable for use in electric vehicles ([0002], [0037]). A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have modified Yoshioka’s battery pack to use the fireproof tape and flexible tube member wrapped around the fireproof tape as taught by Shin given that Yoshioka also teaches use of the bus bar within devices such as electric vehicles [0003], and also to provide the bus bar with the advantage of insulation that protects conductive inner layer from flames in the case of a fire.
Within the combination, the non-terminal region of the composite bus bar with fireproof tape and the flexible tube member wrapped around the metal conductive inner layer of Yoshioka, and including that region of the metal conductive inner layer, form the claimed sealing portion configured to surround the conduction portion 21 of bus bar 2 (or 31 of bus bar 3). The sealing portion has a thickness that protrudes outwardly from the conduction portion. Yoshioka teaches receiving portions, such as grooves 22/32, 23/33 and protrusions 25/35, of the bus bars 2/3 which interlock with complementary portions of the corresponding barrier 8, or barriers 6/7, to cover, i.e. seal, the inside of the barrier, and which are located within the non-terminal regions and in the sealing portion of the bus bar. Thus, the combination teaches the sealing portion is configured to surround the conduction portion and protrude outwardly from the conduction portion to seal the inside of the barrier.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the battery pack of claim 5. Shin teaches the tube member wrapped around the fireproof tape can be made of thermoplastic elastomer for the benefits of economical processing, ease of moldability and elasticity under usage conditions ([0064]-[0066]). A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have used an elastic material such as thermoplastic elastomer for the tube member, a component of the sealing portion, because it is a suitable option with advantages in manufacturability and materials properties.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the battery pack of claim 5. Within the combination, the region of the composite bus bar with fireproof tape and the flexible tube member wrapped around the metal conductive inner layer of Yoshioka, and including that region of the metal conductive inner layer, form the claimed sealing portion. Yoshioka teaches receiving portions, such as grooves 22/32, 23/33 and protrusions 25/35, of the bus bars 2/3 which interlock with, i.e. cooperate with, complementary portions of the corresponding barrier 8, or barriers 6/7 that would read on accommodation portions. Thus, the combination teaches the sealing portion has a protrusion or a groove formed to cooperate with an accommodation portion of the barrier.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the battery pack of claim 5. Yoshioka further teaches the non-terminal regions of the bus bar can have a perforated hole (22 or 32) formed ([0109] discusses wherein receiving portions 22 and 32 are open holes to which a conductor S is connected) so that a cable passes therethrough for voltage or temperature sensing ([0057]; Figs. 14-15). Given that the sealing portion corresponds to the non-terminal region of the composite bus bar, the combination thus teaches the sealing portion has a perforated hole formed so that a cable can pass therethrough.
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN210744052U, published 2020-06-12 and submitted in 2023-05-08 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a battery pack M ([0009]; Fig. 2), comprising:
A plurality of battery modules 2, each of the plurality battery modules including at least one battery cell 21 and a module terminal 22 (i.e., copper bar 22 is used to electrically connect to the electrode assemblies of two adjacent battery cells within a battery module 2 as seen in Figs. 3-4);
A barrier (corresponding to each dividing partition that stretches across a length of lower housing 1 includes a first beam 14, as shown in Fig. 2 and described in [0071]) interposed between adjacent battery modules 2 of the plurality of battery modules (Fig. 3; first beam 14 is used to divide the receiving cavity 13 into subcavities [0072]); and
A bus bar (i.e., connector) 3 configured to electrically connect module terminals of the adjacent battery modules and located at an end or inside of the barrier to seal the end or inside of the barrier (Wang teaches wherein the bus bar 3 is sealed to the mounting part 10 formed by the first beam 14 which is within the barrier [0075]. Specifically, Fig. 11 shows an embodiment wherein bus bar 3 engages with the first beam 14 of the barrier to insert into a mounting part 10 at the upper end of an interior surface (i.e., an end), thereby sealing an end of the barrier. Alternatively, or in addition, Fig. 12 shows an embodiment wherein bus bar 3 engages with first beam 14 which is part of the barrier to insert into a mounting part 10 inside of the barrier, thereby sealing an inside of the barrier. Wang also teaches the bus bar 3 can be electrically connected to battery modules 2 disposed in two adjacent cavities 131 via module terminals (i.e., copper bar) 22; [0074]-[0076], thereby directly suggesting it as a configuration. Therefore, although the embodiments of Figs. 11-12 do not explicitly show the bus bar configured to electrically connect module terminals of the adjacent battery terminals, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have modified the bus bar of Figs. 11-12 to electrically connect module terminals of the adjacent battery terminals given that Wang’s teaching above directly indicates it as a known configuration).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 1. As seen in Figs. 11-12, Wang further teaches wherein the barrier has an accommodation groove 10 (i.e. mounting part), and the bus bar 3 is configured to be seated in the accommodation groove 10 and fill the accommodation groove 10 ([0074]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 3. Wang further teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the barrier, corresponding to each dividing partition that includes a first beam 14, is configured in a plate shape. As seen in Figs 11-12, the accommodation groove (i.e. mounting part) 10 is located in the first beam 14 which is at an edge portion of the barrier, therefore the barrier also has the accommodation groove at an edge portion thereof.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 1. Wang further teaches (Fig. 8) wherein the bus bar (i.e., connector) 3 includes a conduction portion (i.e., first connector 31) made of an electrically conductive material [0076]. Wang teaches the ends of the conduction portion 31, corresponding to first connecting parts 311, can be electrically connected to adjacent battery modules 2 [0078] via copper bar 22 of battery modules 2, and which correspond to the module terminals of the adjacent battery modules. Wang also teaches a sealing portion (i.e., either second connector 32 or alternatively, third connector 33 disposed outside second connector 32 seen in Figs. 7-8) which is configured to surround the conduction portion 31 ([0077]-[0079]; Fig. 8) and protrude outwardly from the conduction portion 31 and which can seal the end or inside of the barrier when the bus bar (i.e., connector) 3 is fitted with the mounting part 10; Fig. 8, [0077]-[0078].
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 5. Wang also teaches the sealing portion (i.e., second connector) 32 can have some elasticity to ensure a certain degree of sealing when the bus bar is fitted with the mounting part 10 [0077]. Alternatively, when the third connector 33 is used and disposed outside second connector 32 of the bus bar (i.e., connector) 3, it can be made of a compressible material such as rubber to achieve a sealed connection and therefore would also be made of an elastic material ([0079]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 5. Wang further teaches the sealing portion as third connector 33 has a protrusion 332 (i.e., abutment portion) formed to cooperate with an accommodation portion 10 of the barrier, wherein the barrier corresponds to each dividing partition that stretches across a length of lower housing 1 and which includes a first beam 14 (Figs. 11-12).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 1. Wang further teaches in Figs. 11-12 that the barrier (corresponding to each dividing partition that stretches across a length of lower housing 1 and which includes a first beam 14) and the bus bar (i.e., connector) 3 have a cooperating projection (abutment portion 332 on bus bar 3) and recess (mounting part 10 on first beam 14 shows a complementary space within the wall surface of first beam 14) ([0082]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 5. Wang further teaches in Fig. 12 wherein the barrier (corresponding to each dividing partition that stretches across a length of lower housing 1 and including a first beam 14) has an aperture (i.e., mounting part) 10 and wherein the sealing portion 33 fits within the aperture 10 [0083].
Claims 7-8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN210744052U, published 2020-06-12 and submitted in 2023-05-08 IDS) as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Shin et al (KR 20160049260 A, published 2016-05-09).
Evidentiary support is provided by “Mica Powder,” Ruby Mica Co. Ltd., 2026, and “Insulation Materials– Operating Temperature Limits,” The Engineering Tool Box, 2026.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 5. Wang does not teach wherein the bus bar further includes a blocking portion made of a material having a higher melting point than a melting point of the sealing portion and attached to a surface of the sealing portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches a flexible bus bar (Fig. 1) that can be used in an electric vehicle (machine translation [0001]-[0002]), and which has a blocking portion (i.e., fireproof tape) 200 around the conductor portion (110) of the bus bar ([0037]); Shin teaches a flexible tube member (not illustrated), analogous to the sealing portion of Wang (either second connector 32 or alternatively, third connector 33), wrapped over the blocking portion 200 ([0062], [0064]) thus indicating the blocking portion is conformal, or attached, to a surface of a component that is analogous to the sealing portion of Wang. Shin teaches that it is preferable to cover the conductor portion 110 connecting the first terminal portion 130 and the second terminal portion 150 of the bus bar to provide insulation and protect the internal conductor portion 110 from flames in case of fire [0037], and using blocking portion (i.e., fireproof tape) 200 to achieve the coverage [0037]. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have modified Wang’s battery pack to utilize Shin’s fire proof tape as a blocking portion to protect the conduction portion from flames in the case of fire. Consequently, the blocking portion would be conformal, i.e. attached, to a surface of the sealing portion within the combination of prior art.
Additionally, Shin teaches the fireproof tape 200 can be made of mica [0039], [0044].
As pointed out previously in addressing the limitations of claim 5, the third connector 33 can correspond to the claimed sealing portion, which Wang teaches can be made of rubber or foam [0079]. According to evidentiary reference Ruby Mica, a melting point range of mica is 1250 – 1500°C (p1), and evidentiary reference The Engineering Toolbox cites a melting point of an elastomeric (rubber) foam as 120°C (p1). Accordingly, the combination of prior art also teaches the blocking portion is made of a material i.e., mica) having a higher melting point than a melting point of the sealing portion (rubber foam).
Regarding claim 8, the combination above teaches the battery pack of claim 7. Within the combination of prior art, Shin teaches the blocking portion corresponding to the fireproof tape 200 is wound along the bus bar (Fig. 1), therefore it is configured such that at least one end thereof is bent.
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches the battery pack of claim 5. Wang does not teach it further comprises a coating portion surrounding the conduction portion at the sealing portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches a flexible bus bar (Fig. 1) that can be used in an electric vehicle (machine translation [0001]-[0002]), and which has a coating portion (i.e., fireproof tape) 200 wound around the conduction portion (i.e., conductor portion) 110 of the bus bar 100 ([0037]), thereby surrounding the conduction portion. Shin further teaches a flexible tube member (not illustrated), analogous to the sealing portion of Wang (either second connector 32 or alternatively, third connector 33), wrapped over the coating portion 200 ([0062], [0064]) thus indicating the coating portion would be wound around, i.e. surround, the conduction portion at the sealing portion. Shin teaches that it is preferable to cover the conductor portion 110 connecting the first terminal portion 130 and the second terminal portion 150 of the bus bar to provide insulation and protect the conductor portion 110 from flames in case of fire [0037] and using the coating portion (i.e., fireproof tape) 200 as a means of achieving coverage [0037]. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have modified Wang’s battery pack to utilize Shin’s fireproof tape as a coating portion to protect the conduction portion (i.e., first connector 31 of Wang) from flames in the case of fire. Consequently, the combination of prior art teaches a coating portion surrounding the conduction portion at the sealing portion.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al (US 20130309539 A1, published 2013-11-21) as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Sim et al (KR 20170025074 A, published 2017-03-08).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshioka teaches the battery pack of claim 2. Yoshioka does not teach the bus bar 2 extends over and contacts the split unit 6.
In the same field of endeavor, Sim teaches that multiple unit battery cells are connected in series and/or parallel to implement high-output or high-capacity secondary batteries depending on the application need; machine translation [0003], and discloses a connection bus bar 210 (Fig. 7) connecting batteries across a group or within a group [0046]. Sim also teaches that the plurality of batteries can be arranged such that batteries in one group and batteries in another group are connected in series or parallel, and batteries within one group may be connected to each other in a combination of series and parallel, all connected in series, or all connected in parallel [0029]. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have modified Yoshioka’s battery pack to use a series-parallel connection bus bar to connect the battery modules across the rows and columns of Yoshioka’s battery pack given that Sim teaches it is a known and suitable configuration for connecting multiple unit battery in series and/or parallel as needed to implement high-output or high-capacity secondary batteries.
Additionally, Yoshioka generally teaches in Figs. 1-2 that bus bars used to serially connect adjacent battery modules separated by a spacer can have an interlocking mechanism with the corresponding spacer ([0052], [0054], also illustrated by the interlocking between bus bar 3 and spacer 7 or spacer 6 in Fig. 1). Yoshioka teaches that use of the interlocking mechanism allows the bus bar to be connected at an appropriate position with respect to an external terminal of an electric storage element [0011]. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to have incorporated a similar interlocking mechanism between the bus bar 2 of modified Yoshioka (in view of Sim) and the split unit (i.e., spacer) 6, because Yoshioka demonstrates in Figs. 1-2 an example of bus bar 3 interlocking with the other end of split unit 6, therefore indicating it is a known configuration, and also for the advantage that use of the interlocking mechanism provides positioning support for bus bar 2 of modified Yoshioka such that it can be connected at an appropriate position with respect to an external terminal of battery modules.
Consequently, in the combination of prior art, the bus bar 2 extends over and interlocks with, or contacts, the split unit 6.
Conclusion
/G.L.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 16 April 2026