DETAILED ACTIONS
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments/arguments submitted by the Applicant(s) on 10/23/2025.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claims 1-7 are amended.
Claims 8-9 are new.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C.§112(f)
Applicant’s arguments/amendment in the remarks page 5, filed 10/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C.§112(f) have been fully considered, and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments/amendment in the remarks pages 5-6, filed 10/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C.§112(b) have been fully considered, and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, amendment necessitated a ground of new rejections under 35 U.S.C.§112(b). The new rejections have set forth below.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §101
Applicant’s argument/amendment in the remarks page 6, filed 10/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-7 under the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections of claims have been fully considered, and are not persuasive. Therefore, 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections of claims are maintained.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
Applicant's arguments/ amendment, see remarks page 6, filed 10/23/2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims under 35 U.S.C. §102, has been considered, and are moot because amendment necessitated a new ground of rejections under 35 U.S.C.§103. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102 has been withdrawn. However, new rejections under 35 U.S.C.§103 with new prior art have set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically:
9.1 Claims 8-9 recite the limitation “wherein the processor is further configured to perform a signal restoration process based on the characteristics” that are indefinite because the specifications, claims and/or drawings fail to recite that “signal restoration” is performed by the processor based on characteristics. The only citation of “signal restoration” is in specification [0002] is that crosstalk of signal light or an optical loss difference between spatial channels lead to
deterioration in signal quality or complication of a signal restoration process”. However, specification or drawings do not disclose that the arithmetic unit performed signal restorations based on characteristics. The specification in [0024], and [0037], Fig. 1, S30 discloses in calculation of a crosstalk and optical loss, which are characteristics of fiber optics in a section using transfer matrix. There is no further step when “the processor or the arithmetic unit” performs a signal restoration based on the calculated characteristics. Therefore, claims 8-9 are rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections- 35 USC §101
U.S.C. §101 reads as follows:
manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof,
may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.§101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The following analysis is based on claim 1,
Regarding claim 1,
An apparatus comprising:
a processor configured to:
acquire a combination of backscattered light intensities of individual transmittable spatial channels of an optical fiber obtained when test light, for the individual transmittable spatial channels of the optical fiber, is incident on the optical fiber; and
calculate a transfer matrix for each section of the optical fiber in order from a side closer to an incident end of the test light,
wherein, characteristics in a section of the optical fiber are evaluated by using the transfer matrix.
The claim limitations underlined above is abstract idea (a mathematical manipulation), and the remaining limitations are additional elements.
Step 1 (Statutory Category): Yes. we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (a mathematical manipulation). Therefore, it is directed to a statutory category, i.e. a mathematical manipulation.
Step 2 A, Prong-1 (the claim is evaluated to determine whether it is directed to a judicial-exception/abstract-idea): Yes.
In the above claim, the underlined portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exception. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation that covers mathematical evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion and mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations, a mathematical manipulation).
For example, steps of “calculate a transfer matrix for each section of the optical fiber in order from a side closer to an incident end of the test light”, represents both the mathematical equations, a mathematical manipulation and concepts (Specification, page 8-11, [0012]-[0023]). These steps represent a mathematical manipulation that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, it encompasses mathematical calculations and concept as explained in the above pages of the specification.
steps of “wherein, characteristics in a section of the optical fiber are evaluated by using the transfer matrix.” represents both the mathematical evaluations of mathematical equations and concepts (Specification, page 16-23, [0029]-[0047]). These steps represent a mathematical manipulation that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, it encompasses mathematical calculations formulas and derivation of parameters done by an arithmetic processing units as explained in the above pages of the specification.
Step 2A, Prong-2 (the claim is evaluated to determine whether the judicial exception/abstract-idea is integrated into a Practical Application): No.
Claim 1 recites additional elements “An apparatus comprising: a processor configured to: acquire a combination of backscattered light intensities of individual transmittable spatial channels of an optical fiber obtained when test light, for the individual transmittable spatial channels of the optical fiber, is incident on the optical fiber” are data gathering means a processor and data gathering steps where the processor acquires intensity data from the channels of the optical fiber. This step represents mere routine data gathering steps and only add an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. The above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements do not reflect an improvement to existing technology or technical field as stated in the specification [0047]. Therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
Step 2B (the claim is evaluated to determine whether recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept, or also, the additional elements are significantly more than the recited the judicial-exception/abstract-idea): No. the additional element(s) are just insignificant extra-solution activity which are simply routine and conventional steps previously known to the pertinent industry that includes acquiring data from external factors such as backscattered light intensities of individual transmittable spatial channels of an optical fiber. Therefore, the claim does not include additional element(s) significantly more, and/or, does not amount to more than the judicial-exception/abstract-idea itself and the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because claims depend on claim 1, therefore, has the abstract idea of claim 1 and also has the routine and conventional structure above of claim 1. In addition, claims 2-6, and 8-9 further recite the elements which are simply more standard computational, mathematical-calculation to data gathering /generate data and/ or a model, and. Furthermore, claims 2-6, and 8-9 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 7,
A method comprising the following sequence of steps:
By a processor,
acquiring a combination of backscattered light intensities of individual transmittable spatial channels of an optical fiber obtained when test light, for the individual transmittable spatial channels of the optical fiber, is incident on the optical fiber;
By the processor, calculating a transfer matrix for each section
of the optical fiber in order from a side closer to an incident end of the test light;
By the processor, evaluating characteristics in a section of the optical fiber by using the transfer matrix.
The claim limitations underlined above is abstract idea (a mathematical manipulation), and the remaining limitations are “additional elements.
Step 1 (Statutory Category): Yes. we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (a mathematical manipulation). Therefore, it is directed to a statutory category, i.e., a mathematical manipulation.
Step 2 A, Prong-1 (the claim is evaluated to determine whether it is directed to a judicial-exception/abstract-idea): Yes.
In the above claim, the underlined portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exception. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation that covers mathematical evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion and mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations).
For example, steps of “A method comprising the following sequence of steps: By a processor,”
“by the processor calculating a transfer matrix for each section of the optical fiber in order from a side closer to an incident end of the test light”, represents both the mathematical equations and concepts (Specification, page 8-11, [0012]-[0023]). These steps represent a mathematical manipulation that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, it encompasses mathematical calculations and concept as explained in the above pages of the specification.
steps of “By the processor, evaluating characteristics in a section of the optical fiber by using the transfer matrix.” represents both the mathematical evaluations of mathematical equations and concepts (Specification, page 16-23, [0029]-[0047]). These steps represent a mathematical manipulation that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, it encompasses mathematical calculations formulas and derivation of parameters done by a processor as explained in the above pages of the specification.
Step 2A, Prong-2 (the claim is evaluated to determine whether the judicial exception/abstract-idea is integrated into a Practical Application): No.
Claim 7 recites additional elements “acquiring a combination of backscattered light intensities of individual transmittable spatial channels of an optical fiber obtained when test light, for the individual transmittable spatial channels of the optical fiber, is incident on the optical fiber” are data gathering steps where a processor acquires intensity data from the channels of the optical fiber. This step represents mere routine data gathering steps and only add an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. The above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements do not reflect an improvement to existing technology or technical field as stated in the specification [0047]. Therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
Step 2B (the claim is evaluated to determine whether recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept, or also, the additional elements are significantly more than the recited the judicial-exception/abstract-idea): No. the additional element(s) are just insignificant extra-solution activity which are simply routine and conventional steps previously known to the pertinent industry that includes acquiring data from external factors such as backscattered light intensities of individual transmittable spatial channels of an optical fiber. Therefore, the claim does not include additional element(s) significantly more, and/or, does not amount to more than the judicial-exception/abstract-idea itself and the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al. (JP 2015-230263 A, hereinafter, Maruyama, an original copy with translation is uploaded by the examiner.) and in view of Awwad et al. (US 2017 /0264367 A1, hereinafter, Awwad).
Regarding Claim 1, Maruyama teaches,
An apparatus comprising (Maruyama, Figure 2, 100 OTDR device)
a processor (Maruyama, Figure 2, 109, digital processing system) configured to:
acquire a combination of backscattered light intensities of individual transmittable spatial channels of an optical fiber obtained when test light, for the individual transmittable spatial channels of the optical fiber (Maruyama, Figures 1- 2, Page 2, bottom paragraph, “The backscattered light intensity S 1 (λ, z) and S 2 (λ, z) (unit: dB) from both ends of the optical fiber transmission line is measured as a function of the longitudinal position z, and the backscattered light is measured. From the intensities S 1 (λ, z) and S 2 (λ, z) and the crosstalk of the multicore fiber measured by an arbitrary method, the loss component I (λ, z) depending on the structural component of the multicore fiber” “multi-core fiber” reads on spatial independent channels) is incident on the optical fiber, (Maruyama, Figures 1- 2, Page 2, bottom paragraph “the present invention allows pulsed light having a wavelength λ to be incident on an optical fiber transmission line having a first reference fiber and a second reference fiber, which are two different types of reference fibers, and a multi-core fiber”) ; and
Maruyama is silent on calculate a transfer matrix for each section of the optical fiber in order from a side closer to an incident end of the test light,
wherein, characteristics in a section of the optical fiber are evaluated by using the transfer matrix.
However, Awwad teaches calculate a transfer matrix for each section of the optical fiber in order from a side closer to an incident end of the test light (Awwad, [0043], “The transfer matrix over each segment can be obtained by a matrix product Tlk Rlk” where k is section, and l is segment, figure 1, step 110, [0047] , the transfer matrix of the transmission channel equation 2. Figure 2, [0069] In any case, the selection method comprises, in a first step 110, a measurement of the transfer matrix of the transmission channel H, over a set of modes, even all of the modes of the optical fiber”),
wherein, characteristics in a section of the optical fiber are evaluated by using the transfer matrix. (Awwad, Figure 2, [0072] In the step 130, “a gain and/or a transmission capacity are determined for each of the mode subsets associated with the blocks of the transfer matrix.”, NOTE: calculating maximum gain (minimum loss) and transmission capacity reads on the characteristics of a multimode fiber).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maruyama’s method for calculating characteristics of optical fiber for each section to incorporate Awwad’s method of calculating transfer matrix for each segment of optical fiber and obtain an accurate measurement of a transmission gain/loss and a transmission capacity map (Awwad, [0002]-[0010]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transfer matrix determination approach along with the other mathematical steps, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate transmission loss/ capacity with the benefit of Optical transmissions over long distances at a high bit rate of several tens of
Gbits/s per wavelength, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Maruyama and Awwad teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
Maruyama further teaches wherein the processor (Maruyama, Figure 2, 109, digital processing system )is configured to measures, as a function Pout(z) of a distance z a matrix of a backscattered light intensity obtained using light incident on a j-th spatial channel, for transmission through the optical fiber by using spatial multiplexing, and detected from an i-th spatial channel, as an (i,j) component, (Maruyama, Figure 2 [0012], In the first step, the backscattered light intensity is measured by an OTDR from both ends of an optical fiber transmission line including an MCF(…) measurement is performed from one end of an optical fiber transmission line including an MCF, backscattered light from the excited core and the core adjacent to that core is measured to evaluate crosstalk.(…) the longitudinal properties of the MCF are evaluated based on the results of the first and second steps. The order of the first and second steps is not limited, and either step may be performed first”. [0017], “The backscattered light intensity at a position z defined with one end of the MCF as the origin is defined as P(z), equation 2-6).
Maruyama is silent on and obtain T(z k-1,zk) (where k is a natural number) satisfying Equation (C1) for each case of k = 1 to b by using the Pout(z), and calculate a transfer matrix T(za,zb) in a section
Z
a
≤
Z
<
Z
b
(where a and b are non-negative integers) by using Equation (02)
P
o
u
t
Z
k
=
T
Z
0
,
Z
1
…
T
Z
k
-
2
,
Z
k
-
1
T
Z
k
-
1
,
Z
k
P
o
u
t
Z
0
T
Z
k
-
1
,
Z
k
T
Z
k
-
2
,
Z
k
-
1
…
.
.
T
Z
0
,
Z
1
------------------c1
T
Z
a
,
Z
b
=
T
Z
b
-
1
,
Z
b
T
Z
b
-
2
,
Z
b
-
1
…
…
T
Z
a
+
1
,
Z
a
+
2
T
Z
a
,
Z
a
+
1
-------c2
However, Awwad teaches and obtain T(z k-1,zk) (where k is a natural number) satisfying Equation (C1) for each case of k = 1 to b by using the Pout(z), and calculate a transfer matrix T(za,zb) in a section
Z
a
≤
Z
<
Z
b
(where a and b are non-negative integers) by using Equation (02)
P
o
u
t
Z
k
=
T
Z
0
,
Z
1
…
T
Z
k
-
2
,
Z
k
-
1
T
Z
k
-
1
,
Z
k
P
o
u
t
Z
0
T
Z
k
-
1
,
Z
k
T
Z
k
-
2
,
Z
k
-
1
…
.
.
T
Z
0
,
Z
1
------------------c1
T
Z
a
,
Z
b
=
T
Z
b
-
1
,
Z
b
T
Z
b
-
2
,
Z
b
-
1
…
…
T
Z
a
+
1
,
Z
a
+
2
T
Z
a
,
Z
a
+
1
-------c2
(Awwad, equation 2, [0043] “The multimode fiber in fact comprises a plurality L
of segments, an amplifier being provided between each pair of consecutive segments. Each fiber segment can be conceptually divided into K consecutive sections, the characteristics of the fiber being stationary over the length of each
section. The transfer matrix over each segment can be obtained by a matrix product Tlk Rlk” k in which Rlk of size MxM is the intermodal coupling matrix, relating to the section k of the segment I, and Tlk is a diagonal matrix, also
of size MxM, whose diagonal elements give the respective phase shifts of the different modes over the section k of the segment I”. [0047] “Ultimately, the transfer matrix of the transmission channel can be expressed in the form of
equation 2” NOTE: equation 2 reads on the transfer matrix)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maruyama’s method for calculating characteristics of optical fiber for each section to incorporate Awwad’s method of calculating transfer matrix for each segment of optical fiber and obtain an accurate measurement of a transmission gain/loss and a transmission capacity map (Awwad, [0002]-[0010]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transfer matrix determination approach along with the other mathematical steps, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate transmission loss/ capacity with the benefit of Optical transmissions over long distances at a high bit rate of several tens of Gbits/s per wavelength, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Maruyama and Awwad teaches the apparatus according to claim 2,
Maruyama is silent on wherein the processor is configured to calculate a square error of the right side with respect to the left side of Equation
(C1 as a function c (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , n M,M) having matrix components n1,1, .......... , n i,j, ...... ,and n M,M (where n i,i is the (i,j) component of T(Z k-1,Zk)) of T (Zk-1,Zk) as variables, and give initial values to n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , and n M,M, changes values of n1,1, ...... ,n i,j, ...... , and n M,M in a reverse direction of a gradient of c (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , nM,M), and calculates the T(Za, Zb) by using n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , and n M,M when a value of c (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , n M,M) converges .
However, Awwad teaches wherein the processor is configured to calculate a square error of the right side with respect to the left side of Equation
(C1 as a function c (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , n M,M) having matrix components n1,1, .......... , n i,j, ...... ,and n M,M (where n i,i is the (i,j) component of T(Z k-1,Zk)) of T (Zk-1,Zk) as variables, and give initial values to n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , and n M,M, changes values of n1,1, ...... ,n i,j, ...... , and n M,M in a reverse direction of a gradient of c (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , nM,M), and calculates the T(Za, Zb) by using n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , and n M,M when a value of c (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , n M,M) converges . (Awwad, equation 3-4, [0050] If the modes are grouped together by subsets, for example by performing permutations on the rows and corresponding permutations on the columns of the transfer
matrix of the transmission channel H, a block diagonal matrix is obtained, that is
to say one that takes the following form: [0051] in which the matrices (or blocks) Hn, n=l, ... , N are square matrices of sizes MnxMm.” [0054] If it is assumed that the transmission of the symbols is performed by means of the modes associated with the block Hm the power gain can be expressed by:
[0055] “According to this variant, the gain values n, are calculated for the different subsets n= 1, ... , N and the subset n0p, is retained that makes it possible to obtain the maximum gain (the minimum loss. [0057], The matrices
HnHnH, n=l, ... , N being diagonalizable and their eigen values being real and positive, denoted Yn m, m=l, ... , Mm for the matrix HnHn H' it will be possible to use gain functions other than the sum of the eigenvalues given in ( 4),
for example their product”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maruyama’s method for calculating characteristics of optical fiber for each section to incorporate Awwad’s method of calculating transfer matrix for each segment of optical fiber and obtain an accurate measurement of a transmission gain/loss and a transmission capacity map (Awwad, [0002]- [0010]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transfer matrix determination approach along with the other mathematical steps, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate transmission loss/ capacity with the benefit of Optical transmissions over long distances at a high bit rate of several tens of Gbits/s per wavelength, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Maruyama and Awwad teaches the apparatus according to claim 2,
Maruyama is silent on teaches wherein the processor is configured to calculate difference between the left side and the right side of Equation (C1)
function c (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , n M,M) having matrix components n1,1, .......... , n i,j, ...... ,and n M,M (where n i,i is the (i,j) component of T(Z k-1,Zk)) of T (Zk-1,Zk) as variables, and gives initial values to n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , and n M,M, changes values of n1,1, ...... ,n i,j, ...... , and n M,M to approach an n 1,1 coordinate, ...... , an ni,i coordinate, ...... , and an
n M,M coordinate of intersections of a tangent of f(n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , n M,M) and an n 1,1 axis, ...... ,an n i,i axis, ...... , and an n M,M axis, respectively, and calculates the T(Za, Zb) by using n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , and n M,M when a value of f (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , n M,M) converges.
However, Awwad teaches wherein the processor is configured to calculate difference between the left side and the right side of Equation (C1)
function c (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , n M,M) having matrix components n1,1, .......... , n i,j, ...... ,and n M,M (where n i,i is the (i,j) component of T(Z k-1,Zk)) of T (Zk-1,Zk) as variables, and gives initial values to n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , and n M,M, changes values of n1,1, ...... ,n i,j, ...... , and n M,M to approach an n 1,1 coordinate, ...... , an ni,i coordinate, ...... , and an
n M,M coordinate of intersections of a tangent of f(n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , n M,M) and an n 1,1 axis, ...... ,an n i,i axis, ...... , and an n M,M axis, respectively, and calculates the T(Za, Zb) by using n 1,1, ...... , n i,j, ...... , and n M,M when a value of f (n1,1, ...... ,n i, j, ...... , n M,M) converges(Awwad, equation 3-4, [0050] If the modes are grouped together by subsets, for example by performing permutations on the rows and corresponding permutations on the columns of the transfer
matrix of the transmission channel H, a block diagonal matrix is obtained, that is
to say one that takes the following form: [0051] in which the matrices (or blocks) Hn, n=l, ... , N are square matrices of sizes MnxMm.” [0054] If it is assumed that the transmission of the symbols is performed by means of the modes associated with the block Hm the power gain can be expressed by:
[0055] “According to this variant, the gain values n, are calculated for the different subsets n= 1, ... , N and the subset n0p, is retained that makes it possible to obtain the maximum gain (the minimum loss. [0057], The matrices
HnHnH, n=l, ... , N being diagonalizable and their eigen values being real and positive, denoted Yn m, m=l, ... , Mm for the matrix HnHn H' it will be possible to use gain functions other than the sum of the eigenvalues given in ( 4),
for example their product”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maruyama’s method for calculating characteristics of optical fiber for each section to incorporate Awwad’s method of calculating transfer matrix for each segment of optical fiber and obtain an accurate measurement of a transmission gain/loss and a transmission capacity map (Awwad, [0002]- [0010]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transfer matrix determination approach along with the other mathematical steps, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate transmission loss/ capacity with the benefit of Optical transmissions over long distances at a high bit rate of several tens of Gbits/s per wavelength, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Maruyama and Awwad teaches the apparatus according to claim 2,
Maruyama further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to calculate crosstalk in the section
Z
a
≤
Z
<
Z
b
(Maruyama, Page 2, Bottom paragraph, and Equation 4 The backscattered light intensity S 1 (λ, z) and S 2 (λ, z) (unit: dB) from both ends of the optical fiber transmission line is measured as a function of the longitudinal position z, and the backscattered light is measured. From the intensities S 1 (λ, z) and S 2 (λ, z) and the crosstalk of the multicore fiber measured by an arbitrary method”)
Maruyama is silent on by using a non-diagonal component of the T (Za, Zb).
However, Awwad teaches by using a non-diagonal component of the T (Za, Zb).
(Awwad, [0044] Each coupling matrix Rlk can be modelled as an orthogonal random matrix (Rlk.R; kr=IM in which IM is the identity matrix), which gives the conservation of the energy distributed over the different modes. The non-diagonal coefficients of the coupling matrix are the intermodal coupling coefficients. Their values depend on the integrals of overlap of the field distributions between the different modes being propagated in the section of the segment concerned. The integrals of overlap themselves depend on the imperfections and on the curvature of the fiber segment in this section”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maruyama’s method for calculating characteristics of optical fiber for each section to incorporate Awwad’s method of calculating transfer matrix for each segment of optical fiber and obtain an accurate measurement of a transmission gain/loss and a transmission capacity (Awwad, [0002]- [0010]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transfer matrix determination approach along with the other mathematical steps, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate transmission loss/ capacity with the benefit of Optical transmissions over long distances at a high bit rate of several tens of Gbits/s per wavelength, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Maruyama and Awwad teaches the apparatus according to claim 2,
Maruyama further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to calculate an optical loss in the section
Z
a
≤
Z
<
Z
b
( Maruyama, Page 4, lower middle paragraph, “The loss component I (λ, z) depending on the structural component of the multicore fiber is derived from (λ, z) and the crosstalk of the multicore fiber measured by an arbitrary method, and depends on the structural component. Using the loss component I (λ, z) and the loss component depending on the mode field diameter and structural component of the two different types of reference fibers, the mode field diameter at an arbitrary position z of the optical fiber transmission line. The present invention provides a method for evaluating characteristics of an optical fiber “)
Maruyama is silent on by using a diagonal component of the T (Za, Zb).
However, Awwad teaches by using a diagonal component of the T (Za, Zb).
(Awwad, [0043], Tlk is a diagonal matrix, also of size MxM, whose diagonal elements give the respective phase shifts of the different modes over the section k of the segment I.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maruyama’s method for calculating characteristics of optical fiber for each section to incorporate Awwad’s method of calculating transfer matrix for each segment of optical fiber and obtain an accurate measurement of a transmission gain/loss and a transmission capacity (Awwad, [0002]- [0010]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transfer matrix determination approach along with the other mathematical steps, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate transmission loss/ capacity with the benefit of Optical transmissions over long distances at a high bit rate of several tens of Gbits/s per wavelength, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 7, Maruyama teaches
A method comprising the following sequence of steps:
by a processor (Maruyama, Figure 2, 109, digital processing system),
acquiring a combination of backscattered light intensities of individual transmittable spatial channels of an optical fiber obtained when test light, for the individual transmittable spatial channels of the optical fiber, is incident on the optical fiber (Maruyama, Figures 1- 2, Page 2, bottom paragraph, “The backscattered light intensity S 1 (λ, z) and S 2 (λ, z) (unit: dB) from both ends of the optical fiber transmission line is measured as a function of the longitudinal position z, and the backscattered light is measured. From the intensities S 1 (λ, z) and S 2 (λ, z) and the crosstalk of the multicore fiber measured by an arbitrary method, the loss component I (λ, z) depending on the structural component of the multicore fiber” “multi-core fiber” reads on spatial independent channels) is incident on the optical fiber, (Maruyama, Figures 1- 2, Page 2, bottom paragraph “the present invention allows pulsed light having a wavelength λ to be incident on an optical fiber transmission line having a first reference fiber and a second reference fiber, which are two different types of reference fibers, and a multi-core fiber”);
Maruyama is silent on by the processor, calculating a transfer matrix for each section of the optical fiber in order from a side closer to an incident end of the test light; and by the processor, evaluating characteristics in a section of the optical fiber by using the transfer matrix.
However, Awwad teaches by the processor, calculating a transfer matrix for each section of the optical fiber in order from a side closer to an incident end of the test light (Awwad, [0043], “The transfer matrix over each segment can be obtained by a matrix product Tlk Rlk” where k is section, and l is segment, figure 1, step 110, [0047] , the transfer matrix of the transmission channel equation 2. Figure 2, [0069] In any case, the selection method comprises, in a first step 110, a measurement of the transfer matrix of the transmission channel H, over a set of modes, even all of the modes of the optical fiber”),
; and by the processor, evaluating characteristics in a section of the optical fiber by using the transfer matrix (Awwad, Figure 2, [0072] In the step 130, “a gain and/or a transmission capacity are determined for each of the mode subsets associated with the blocks of the transfer matrix.”, NOTE: calculating maximum gain (minimum loss) and transmission capacity reads on the characteristics of a multimode fiber).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maruyama’s method for calculating characteristics of optical fiber for each section to incorporate Awwad’s method of calculating transfer matrix for each segment of optical fiber and obtain an accurate measurement of a transmission gain/loss and a transmission capacity (Awwad, [0002]-[0010]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transfer matrix determination approach along with the other mathematical steps, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate transmission loss/ capacity with the benefit of Optical transmissions over long distances at a high bit rate of several tens of Gbits/s per wavelength, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama and in view of Awwad as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Yasushi et al. (JP 6258618 B2 hereinafter Yasushi, an original copy with translation is uploaded by the examiner).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Maruyama and Awwad teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
Maruyama and Awwad are silent on wherein the processor is further configured to perform a signal restoration process based on the characteristics.
However, Yasushi teaches wherein the processor is further configured to perform a signal restoration process based on the characteristics. (Yasushi, Figure 20-22, the equalizer 34, Page 10, top and middle paragraphs, “M signals from the plurality of receivers 33 are input to the equalizer 34 installed in the subsequent stage to compensate for signal degradation received by the multi-core optical fiber 10. an FIR filter can be used for the equalizer 34, and the FIR filter can also compensate for mode dispersion, wavelength dispersion, and polarization mode dispersion. Further, not only the light propagating through the same core but also the signals propagating through different cores can be input to the equalizer 34 to compensate for crosstalk between signals propagating through different cores. The signal obtained when the received signal passes through the FIR filter must match the transmitted signal. When the training signal is used, the transmission symbol and the restored symbol can be compared, and the tap coefficient is controlled using an adaptive algorithm so that the restoration error is reduced. After the coefficients are determined using all the training symbols, the subsequent data portion is restored by the FIR filter using the determined tap coefficients” NOTE: the equalizer with the FIR filter compensate for the crosstalk between signals and restore signals with minimum error.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maruyama’s apparatus to include an equalizer with FIR filter as taught by Yasushi with the benefit of compensating the crosstalk between the signals and restore signals with less restoration error (Yasushi, page 10).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Maruyama and Awwad teaches the method according to claim 1,
Maruyama and Awwad are silent on by the processor, performing a signal restoration process based on the characteristics.
However, Yasushi teaches by the processor, performing a signal restoration process based on the characteristics. (Yasushi, Figure 20-22, the equalizer 34, Page 10, top and middle paragraphs, “M signals from the plurality of receivers 33 are input to the equalizer 34 installed in the subsequent stage to compensate for signal degradation received by the multi-core optical fiber 10. an FIR filter can be used for the equalizer 34, and the FIR filter can also compensate for mode dispersion, wavelength dispersion, and polarization mode dispersion. Further, not only the light propagating through the same core but also the signals propagating through different cores can be input to the equalizer 34 to compensate for crosstalk between signals propagating through different cores. The signal obtained when the received signal passes through the FIR filter must match the transmitted signal. When the training signal is used, the transmission symbol and the restored symbol can be compared, and the tap coefficient is controlled using an adaptive algorithm so that the restoration error is reduced. After the coefficients are determined using all the training symbols, the subsequent data portion is restored by the FIR filter using the determined tap coefficients” NOTE: the equalizer with the FIR filter compensate for the crosstalk between signals and restore signals with minimum error.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maruyama’s apparatus to include an equalizer with FIR filter as taught by Yasushi with the benefit of compensating the crosstalk between the signals and restore signals with less restoration error (Yasushi, page 10).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
REKAYA BEN-OTHMAN et al. (US 2018/0019841 A1) recites “Embodiments of the invention provide an optical transmitter configured to transmit a data sequence over at least two spatial propagation modes through an optical transmission channel in a multi-mode optical fiber transmission system,
the transmission system being associated with a predefined
value of a mode-dependent loss, wherein the optical transmitter
comprises: a forward error correcting code encoder (22) configured to
encode said data sequence into a codeword vector by applying at least one error correcting code; a modulator (23) configured to determine a set of modulated symbols by applying a modulation scheme to said codeword vector; and a Space-Time encoder (24) configured to determine a codeword matrix by applying a Space-Time code to said set of modulated symbols.” (Abstract)
NAKAMURA et al. (JP 6396861 B2) discloses “An object of the present invention is to provide a fiber characteristic analyzing apparatus and an optical fiber characteristic analyzing method capable of realizing an inexpensive apparatus configuration with high optical fiber characteristic detection sensitivity. An optical fiber characteristic analysis apparatus and
an optical fiber characteristic analysis method according to the present invention measure a high-order mode and a fundamental mode of backscattered light without separating them, and therefore do not require a mode multiplexer / demultiplexer. Therefore, the configuration is simplified and the price of the apparatus can be reduced. On the other hand, the present optical fiber characteristic analysis apparatus and the present optical fiber characteristic analysis method can obtain the intensity distribution of the signal including loss information generated in the test light propagating in the higher-order mode and the backscattered light. Optical fiber characteristics can be detected with higher sensitivity than when used” (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
2/18/2026