DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1, 6, 7, 11, 17, 18, 24, 26, 27, 29, and 49-54 appears below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 32-36, 40, and 46-48 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected device, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/9/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 11, 17, 18, 24, 26, 27, 29, and 49-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gifford US 20200275974.
Regarding claims 1 and 24, Gifford teaches piercing tissue along a perimeter of a heart valve with at least one electrode (Fig. 4D); applying mechanical force to the at least one electrode to deform the pierced tissue and reduce the perimeter of the heart valve annulus (par. [0077] pushing tissue together or par. [0081] walked method of turning one electrode in place to place the second); delivering tissue-ablating energy through the electrode, thereby inducing plastic deformation of the deformed tissue (par. [0078]); and releasing the mechanical force, leaving the heart valve annulus with a reduced perimeter (par. [0071]); wherein the applying mechanical force comprises placing torsion on the pierced tissue (par. [0077] pushing tissue together or par. [0081] walked method of turning one electrode in place to place the second).
Regarding claim 6, Gifford teaches wherein the at least one sharpened element also comprises an element is used to deliver the structurally disruptive energy to the tissue (par. [0078]).
Regarding claim 7, Gifford teaches wherein the at least one sharpened element delivers the structurally disruptive energy to the tissue by operating as an electrode (par. [0078]).
Regarding claim 11, Gifford teaches wherein the mechanical deforming comprises compression including pinching the tissue between a plurality of the at least one sharpened element (par. [0077] pushing tissue together).
Regarding claim 17, Gifford teaches wherein the tissue-ablating energy is provided by at least one of the group consisting of: radiofrequency energy; focused ultrasound energy; cryogenic cooling (par. [0078]).
Regarding claim 18, Gifford teaches wherein the tissue ablated comprises at least one of the group consisting of: fibrous tissue of the valve annulus; and tissue of the heart wall adjacent to the fibrous tissue of the valve annulus (par. [0070]).
Regarding claim 26, Gifford teaches wherein the applying mechanical force comprises compressing the pierced tissue (par. [0077] pushing tissue together).
Regarding claim 27, Gifford teaches wherein the tissue-ablating energy is radiofrequency energy (par. [0078]).
Regarding claim 29, Gifford teaches wherein the reduced perimeter draws leaflets of the heart valve into positions that reduce regurgitation of the valve (par. [0069]).
Regarding claim 49, Gifford teaches wherein the at least one sharpened element comprises a plurality of sharpened elements (Fig. 4D), and the tissue is compressed by the torsion without change in distance between any of the plurality of sharpened elements (par. [0081] walked method of turning one electrode in place to place the second).
Regarding claim 50, Gifford teaches comprising measuring impedance using the at least one sharpened element, and adjusting one or more of the delivery energy and operations to perform the piercing, using the measured impedance (par. [0075]).
Regarding claim 51, Gifford teaches wherein the piercing the tissue comprises: placing a casing containing the at least one sharpened element in contact with the tissue (Fig. 1 108a/108b); and extending the at least one sharpened element out of the casing and into the tissue (par. [0073]).
Regarding claim 52, Gifford teaches wherein the at least one sharpened element comprises a plurality of sharpened elements extending from the casing parallel to each other (Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 53, Gifford teaches wherein a depth of the piercing of the tissue is limited by a distal surface of the casing (Fig. 4C 108 distal end against tissue).
Regarding claim 54, Gifford teaches wherein the energy delivered comprises at least 112 Joules delivered over a period of at least 12 seconds (Watts=Joules/second and par. [0078] the heating can be done for about 15 seconds, the wattage can be between 10 and 100 Watts).
Conclusion
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794