DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 21, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koopmans (US 2020/0385507 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-5, Koopmans teaches a composition comprising a bisepoxide compound (B) (i.e. an epoxy resin) (p. 2, [0024]); a diisocyanate compound (A) (i.e. an isocyanate curing agent) (p. 2, [0019]); a compound comprising a mono-epoxide group and/or a mono-isocyanate group (D) (i.e. a hydroxyl group capping agent) (p. 3, [0034]); and a catalyst (C) (p. 3, [0032]).
The molar ratio of epoxy resin to diisocyanate is preferably from 45:55 to 55:45 (p. 3, [0030]), equivalent to a stoichiometric ratio of 0.81 to 1.22. This falls within the claimed range of 0.5 to 2.0. Therefore, Koopmans reads on all claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Koopmans remains as applied to claim 1 above. Koopmans is silent as to the peak temperature characteristics of the ingredients. Nevertheless, Koopmans teaches a composition of identical ingredients in identical proportions to the claimed composition. Koopmans’ composition with therefore necessarily possess the same peak temperature characteristics as the claimed composition. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claims 6-9, Koopmans remains as applied to claim 1 above. Koopmans' catalyst may be lithium bromide (p. 8, [0109]). Koopmans further teaches use of triphenyl-o-methoxyphenyl phosphonium bromide as the catalyst (p. 9, [0110]).
Regarding claim 10, Koopmans remains as applied to claim 1 above. Koopmans further teaches a wide array of articles formed by heating (thermally curing) and pressing into a desired shape (p. 6, [0074]-[0075]; p. 5, [0057]).
Regarding claims 11, 21, and 31, Koopmans remains as applied to claim 1 above. Koopmans further teaches use of reinforcing fibers such as glass, carbon, or natural fibers (p. 5, [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopmans in view of Matsukawa (EP 4063436 A1, attached).
Regarding claims 32-35, Koopmans remains as applied to claim 1 above. Koopmans teaches reacting the ingredients at elevated temperature to complete the reaction (p. 10, [0130]). However, Koopmans is silent as to what variety of curing takes place. In the same field of endeavor, Matsukawa teaches a thermosetting epoxy composition that is cured by heating to form a molded article (p. 4, [0022]; p. 8, [[0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Koopmans and the curing method of Matsukawa to arrive at the claimed invention, and to achieve shortened molding time and improved impregnation of the fibers, as taught by Matsukawa (p. 8, [0061]).
Koopmans' composition may further include fibers (p. 5, [0065]). Matsukawa teaches injecting a composition into a reinforcing fiber base material to impregnate, then curing by heating after injection (p. 8, [0061]-[0062]). The composition may also be injected into a woven fabric of fibers (p. 9, [0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Koopmans with the method of Matsukawa to arrive at the claimed invention, and to achieve shortened molding time and improved impregnation of the fibers, as taught by Matsukawa (p. 8, [0061]).
Koopmans teaches that the composition may be made by blending the bisepoxide with the mono-isocyanate (capping agent), then adding to a mixture of solvent, catalyst, and diisocyanate (p. 1-2, [0010] and [0013]). Alternatively, Koopmans teaches that the composition may be prepared by mixing the bisepoxide and catalyst in one solution, then adding the isocyanates (p. 1, [0011]). However, Koopmans is silent as to whether the isocyanates may be mixed in a separate solution before addition to the bisepoxide-catalyst solution. Nevertheless, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the indicated ingredients in any order, including that of the claims, in order to obtain the prior product.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762