DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/01/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5-6 are pending in the application. Claim 6 is withdrawn. Claims 2 and 4 are canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the office action mailed 03/10/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pg. 5-6 that White does not disclose the claimed mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst.
However, White is not relied upon for this limitation, Saihata is relied upon.
Applicant argues that Saihata has no working examples for a Pd-Au-Cu ternary system. Therefore, Saihata does not provide any hint as to how the respective masses of these supported metals should be set from the viewpoint that copper coexisting during hydrolysis plays an important role in the formation of atomized gold.
However, copper coexisting during hydrolysis playing an important role in the formation of atomized gold is not within the scope of the claim. The claim recites "a mass of supported metallic copper per kg of catalyst is 0.1 g or more and 1.6 g or less and a mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst is 4.0 g or more and 12.0 g or less".
White meets the limitation "a mass of supported metallic copper per kg of catalyst is 0.1 g or more and 1.6 g or less". Saihata discloses the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum to (a) the carrier is preferably (b):(a)=1:10-1000 ([0040]). In the catalyst for producing alkenyl acetate of the present invention, the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum, (c) Group 11 element, (d) acetate, and (e) alkaline earth metal element is preferably (b):(c):(d):(e)=1:0.001-10:0.1-100:0-100 ([0063]).
If the mass of the carrier is 100 g, with 1 g of palladium, 1 g of gold (Group 11 element), 1 g acetate, 0 g alkaline earth metal element, the total catalyst mass would be 103 g. Scaling up to 1 kg of catalyst, the mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst would be 9.7 g which is within the claimed range of 4.0 g or more and 12.0 g or less.
Saihata further discloses the gold promoter is thought to suppress palladium sintering ([0003]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst is 4.0 g or more and 12.0 g or less in the method of White since gold is thought to suppress palladium sintering as taught by Saihata.
Applicant argues on pg. 7-8 that Example 7 of White does not correspond to the method of the present application.
However, as seen in the Table on pg. 6 provided by Applicant, Examples 8-9, 12-15, 17-18, 20-23 meet the limitation "a mass of supported metallic copper per kg of catalyst is 0.1 g or more and 1.6 g or less".
Terminal Disclaimers for 18/861269 and 18/856082 have been received. Therefore, the Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejections of 03/10/2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al (US 5347046) in view of Saihata (JP 2008080326 A, cited in IDS 05/08/2023, machine translation used for citations).
Regarding claim 1, White discloses novel catalysts useful in the preparation of unsaturated organic esters (Col. 1 lines 8-9) where the preferred ethylenically unsaturated ester is vinyl acetate (Col. 7 lines 1-2) and methods for producing the catalyst (Examples 1-33, meeting limitation “a method for producing a vinyl acetate production catalyst”). The catalysts of this invention contain palladium group metals and/or compounds thereof (col. 3 lines 19-20 meeting limitation “comprising palladium”). Catalysts of this invention also contain gold (Col. 3 line 36 meeting limitation “comprising gold”). The catalysts of this invention also contain one or more promoters selected from the group consisting of copper (Col. 3 lines 42-44 meeting limitation “comprising copper”). The carrier may be of any configuration, shape or size which exposes the catalyst supported thereon to the reactants being catalyzed (Col. 4 lines 6-8 meeting limitation “comprising a carrier”). The catalysts of this invention may also contain one or more alkali or alkaline earth salts of an organic acid such as lithium, sodium, calcium or potassium acetate as a promoter and activator (Col. 6 lines 4-7 meeting limitation “comprising an acetate”).
White further discloses pretreated silica beads, i.e. carrier, are prepared by impregnating … with 2400 cc of an aqueous pretreatment solution containing 123.1 grams of potassium hydroxide and 954 grams of potassium silicate solution, i.e. alkaline solution (Col. 7 lines 49-54 meeting limitation “the method comprising the following steps in this order: step 1: impregnating a carrier with an alkaline solution”). The Pd-Au-Cu catalyst is prepared by impregnating the pretreated beads of Example 1 with… sodium palladium tetrachloride solution…sodium gold tetrachloride solution… and cupric chloride dihydrate (Col. 8 lines 3-8 meeting limitation “step 2: contacting and impregnating the carrier with a solution containing a copper- containing compound, a palladium-containing compound, and a gold-containing compound”). The Pd-Au-Cu impregnated beads are aged … and then reduced in 250 cc of deionized water containing 6 grams of hydrazine, held in contact with the hydrazine solution for two hours, washed… and then dried, i.e. reduction treatment (Col. 8 lines 12-18 meeting limitation “step 3: performing a reduction treatment”). The catalyst of Example 2 is further impregnated with 132.6 cc of an aqueous solution containing 8.8 grams of potassium acetate (Col 8 lines 24-26). The catalyst obtained has a nominal loading of potassium acetate of 22 grams per liter of catalyst (Col. 8 lines 31-33 meeting limitation “step 4: supporting the acetate on the carrier”).
Regarding the limitation “wherein a mass of supported metallic copper per kg of catalyst is in a range of 0.1 g to 1.6 g”, White discloses pretreated silica beads are prepared by impregnating one liter, 575 grams, of KA-160 silica with 170 cc of deionized water containing 22 grams of potassium hydroxide (Col. 9 lines 45-48). The following Pd-Au-Cu solution is uniformly sprayed onto the KOH treated beads…0.3 grams of copper…4.1 grams Pd … and 1.8 grams of gold (Col. 9 lines 51-59). The catalyst if further impregnated by spraying it with 30 grams of potassium acetate (Col. 9 lines 65-66).
The mass of the catalyst can be calculated as the sum of the disclosed carrier mass (575 g), catalyst metal mass (0.3 g, 4.1, 1.8 g), and acetate mass (30 g). This would result in a catalyst mass of 611.2 g in Example 8. Since the mass of supported metallic copper is disclosed as 0.3 g, the mass of supported metallic copper would be 0.49 g per kg of catalyst, which is within the claimed range of 0.1g or more and 1.6 g or less.
White does not disclose “a mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst is in a range of 4.0 g to 12.0 g”.
Saihata discloses the present invention relates to a method for producing a catalyst for use in synthesizing alkenyl acetate ([0001]) including 1. A step of impregnating the carrier with an alkaline solution; 2. A step of contact-impregnating a support with a solution A of at least a compound containing palladium or platinum and a compound containing a Group 11 element; 3. A step of performing a reduction treatment; a step of supporting an acetate on a carrier ([0011]). In the present invention, (c) Group 11 elements refer to Group 11 elements in the periodic table…specifically, it refers to gold, silver, or copper, and preferably gold or copper ([0041]).
Saihata further discloses the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum to (a) the carrier is preferably (b):(a)=1:10-1000 ([0040]). In the catalyst for producing alkenyl acetate of the present invention, the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum, (c) Group 11 element, (d) acetate, and (e) alkaline earth metal element is preferably (b):(c):(d):(e)=1:0.001-10:0.1-100:0-100 ([0063]).
If the mass of the carrier is 100 g, with 1 g of palladium, 1 g of gold (Group 11 element), 1 g acetate, 0 g alkaline earth metal element, the total catalyst mass would be 103 g. Scaling up to 1 kg of catalyst, the mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst would be 9.7 g which is within the claimed range of 4.0 g to 12.0 g.
Saihata further discloses the gold promoter is thought to suppress palladium sintering ([0003]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the mass of supported metallic gold per kg of catalyst is in a range of 4.0 g to 12.0 g in the method of White since gold is thought to suppress palladium sintering as taught by Saihata.
Regarding claim 3, White in view of Saihata discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including Saihata discloses the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum to (a) the carrier is preferably (b):(a)=1:10-1000 ([0040]). In the catalyst for producing alkenyl acetate of the present invention, the mass ratio of (b) palladium or platinum, (c) Group 11 element, (d) acetate, and (e) alkaline earth metal element is preferably (b):(c):(d):(e)=1:0.001-10:0.1-100:0-100 ([0063]).
If the mass of the carrier is 100 g, with 1 g of palladium, 1 g of gold (Group 11 element), 1 g acetate, 0 g alkaline earth metal element, the total catalyst mass would be 103 g. Scaling up to 1 kg of catalyst, the mass of supported metallic palladium per kg of catalyst would be 9.7 g which is within the claimed range of 8.0 g to 16.0 g.
Saihata further discloses palladium or platinum is the main catalyst component, and palladium is particularly preferred because of its high vinyl acetate selectivity ([0036]).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the mass of supported metallic palladium per kg of catalyst is 8.0 g or more and 16.0 g or less in the method of White since palladium has high vinyl acetate selectivity as taught by Saihata.
Regarding claim 5, White in view of Saihata discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including White discloses pretreated silica beads are prepared by impregnating one liter, 575 grams, of KA-160 silica with 170 cc of deionized water containing 22 grams of potassium hydroxide (Col. 9 lines 45-48). The following Pd-Au-Cu solution is uniformly sprayed onto the KOH treated beads…0.3 grams of copper…4.1 grams Pd … and 1.8 grams of gold (Col. 9 lines 51-59). The catalyst if further impregnated by spraying it with 30 grams of potassium acetate (Col. 9 lines 65-66).
The mass of the catalyst can be calculated as the sum of the disclosed carrier mass (575 g), catalyst metal mass (0.3 g, 4.1, 1.8 g), and acetate mass (30 g). This would result in a catalyst mass of 611.2 g in Example 8. Since the mass of supported acetate is 30 grams, the mass of supported acetate would be 49 g per kg of catalyst, which is within the claimed range of 40 g to 100 g.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735