Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Maier-Flaig et al (WO 2020108899 A1, US 20230058635 A1).
Maier-Flaig discloses [p8,0095,p12,p13,0098,0143,0156,0164,0168-0169] the general structure of boron compounds with units A and B:
and specific compound of Formula E-1-1-1-1-12 comprising A-1 and B-12 units:
. This anticipates the claim 3 compound Formula 1-120. The compound is used as a fluorescent emitter of blue light in an OLED with the claimed layer stack including transporting layers. The emitting layers include phosphorescent emitters as well, and matrix materials, i.e. hosts.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Huang et al (WO 2018095397 A1, US 20200066997 A1).
Huang discloses [abstract,0032,0138,0140,p8] boron compounds with delayed fluorescence used in a light emitting layer alongside a host material in an OLED having the claimed layer stack and emission wavelength, one example having the structure:
.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Hong et al (US 20200058885 A1, WO 2018203666 A1).
Hong discloses [abstract,0118,p6-8,0049,0055,p27,0228] OLEDs with light emitting layer comprising a fluorescent emitter having the formula
wherein L1 and L2 include single bonds and R32 includes diarylamine groups and carbazole groups:
and a specific example including:
wherein the emitters have a half-value width (FWHM) of 30 nm [0118].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maier-Flaig et al (WO 2020108899 A1, US 20230058635 A1) or Huang et al (WO 2018095397 A1, US 20200066997 A1) or Hong et al (US 20200058885 A1, WO 2018203666 A1).
Hong discloses an exemplified embodiment wherein the emitters have a half-value width (FWHM) of 30 nm [0118].
The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. FWHM and PLQY would inherently be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Alternatively, the overlapping scope and similarity of the compounds of Maier-Flaig would result in compound expected to have the overlapping scope of properties such as FWHM and PLQY. So it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have prepared obvious variants of the compounds of Maier-Flaig or Huang including the claimed compounds with overlapping scope of claimed properties.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-7, 10-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/491206 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims disclose a light emitting diode device comprising a color conversion (light emitting) film which comprises a compound including:
.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766