This action is in response to the amendments file 16 July 2026.
Claims 1-16 remain pending in the case and have been examined. Claim 16 has been added.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 16 July 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
102/103 Arguments
Applicant argues
Claims 1 and 11 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 over U.S. Patent No. 11,610,102
("Zejda"). Claim 2 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Zejda in view of U.S. Patent
Publication No. 2020/0082243 ("Jin"). Claim 4 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Zejda in view of Wang and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0074805 ("Kapoor"). Claims 3, 5, 9, and 10
were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Zejda in view of Jin, "Hardware-Aware Autonomous
Quantization, CVPR 2019" ("Wang"), and "IJCAI-2018, Efficient DNN Neuron Pruning by
Minimizing Layer-wise Nonlinear Reconstruction Error" ("Jiang"). Claim 6 was rejected under
35 U.S.C. 103 over Zejda in view of Jiang and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0180247
("Deolalikar"). Claim 7 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Zejda in view of Jin, Wang and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0019490 "(Roy"). Claim 8 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Zejda in view of Roy and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0242474 ("Lo"). Claim 12 was
rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Zejda in view of Wang. Claim 13 was rejected under 35
U.S.C. § 103 over Zejda in view of Wang and Jiang. Claim 14 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Zejda in view of Wang and "MetaFlow, MLSys 2019" ("Jia"). Claim 15 was rejected
under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Zejda in view of Wangl, Jia, and Jiang.
Zejda fails to disclose the information processing device that selects an algorithm for
compressing a neural network, as recited in claim 1. In particular, Zejda does not disclose the
claimed information processing device including "an optimizing section which outputs a
compression configuration in which one compression technique selected from a plurality thereof
is associated with each of the subgraphs." (Claim 1).
With respect to these features, the Office Action cited to col. 2, lines 27-31 and col. 11,
lines 45-47 of Zejda. Zejda discusses:
Static memory allocation for a neural network inference may be implemented to take advantage of the increased dedicated memory capacity of a multiple processing unit solution for executing a neural network. For example, to avoid dynamic memory allocation of weights in a dedicated memory (which may involve selectively loading and reloading weight values from a memory multiple times), the neural network may, in various embodiments, be partitioned into different subgraphs, which may then be assigned to different processing units so that the weights for the assigned subgraph(s) of an individual processing unit may fit within the dedicated memory (as well as saving storage space for other information used to execute the subgraph). Static memory allocation may thus improve the performance of systems executing neural networks by avoiding the compile- time complexity of finding valid block sizes and scheduling optimal reload orders, allowing a neural network compiler to generate the instructions to execute a neural network faster.
Moreover, the performance of the processing units may also be improved as the weight values may be obtained from a dedicated and/or internal memory or cache faster than if the weights had to be read from a non-dedicated memory, as a dedicated cache may have
substantially faster access times. (Col. 2, Lines 19-43).
These layers 412 may include one or multiple operations, such as the illustrated nodes that represent operations 414 a-414 n in the respective layers 412. For example, operations may include convolution, pooling, normalization, and/or activation operations,
in some embodiments. (Col. 11, lines 45-47).
The cited portions of Zejda do not disclose an optimizing section that "outputs a
compression configuration in which one compression technique selected from a plurality
thereof is associated with each of the subraphs," as recited in claim 1. At most, Zejda
describes "neural network . .. partitioned into different subgraphs, which may then be assigned
to different processing units so that the weights for the assigned subgraph(s) of an individual
processing unit may fit within the dedicated memory," and "operations [including] convolution,
pooling, normalization, and/or activation operations." Partitioning a neural network into
subgraphs for memory allocation is not a "compression technique," and neural-network-7-
operations such as convolution, pooling, normalization, and activation are likewise not
compression techniques, as recited in claim 1. Indeed, Zejda does not disclose any compression technique at all, much less selecting a compression technique associated with the subgraph. The
references of record do not cure the deficiencies of Zejda with respect to these features.
At least for the foregoing reasons, the independent claims, and the dependent claims
depending therefrom, are patentable and in condition for allowance. Thus, Applicant respectfully
requests consideration and withdrawal of the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and
the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Examiner’s Response
Applicant argues that Zejda’s partitioning and disclosed operations, including pooling, do not constitute compression techniques. However, under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification [0050-0053] identifying Figure 8B, the claimed “compression technique” encompasses pooling, which the specification expresses identifies as a compression technique. Zejda discloses partitioning the neural network into subgraphs and performing operations including pooling within the neural network layers. Accordingly, applicants’ argument that Zejda fails to disclose a compression technique is not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
101 Arguments
Applicant Argues
The MPEP states, "[p]rong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature,
or natural phenomenon." (MPEP, 2106.04(II)(A)(1)). Claim 1 is patentable under Step 2A Prong
One for at least the reasons that follow.
The Office Action asserted that the claim limitations "could be done mentally by a person
having ordinary skill in the art." (Office Action, pages 2-3). Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Claim 1 does not recite a mental process. Claim 1 does not recite a mental process
because claim 1 cannot be practically performed in the human mind. The claimed operation of "a subgraph dividing section" to "divide[] the neural network into subgraphs" and the operation of "an optimizing section" to "output[] a compression configuration in which one compression technique selected from a plurality thereof is associated with each of the subgraphs" (claim 1)
cannot be practically performed in the human mind.
As explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), "[c]laims do not recite a mental process
when they do not contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitations. See SRIInt'l,
Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., 930 F.3d 1295, 1304 (Fed. Cir. 2019)."
Further, the MPEP provides example subject matter that cannot be practically performed
in the human mind, including "rendering a halftone image of a digital image by comparing, pixel
by pixel, the digital image against a blue noise mask, where the method required the
manipulation of computer data structures (e.g., the pixels of a digital image and a two- dimensional array known as a mask) and the output of a modified computer data structure (a
halftoned digital image)" (MPEP, 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), emphasis added). Similar to this
example where the computer data structures are manipulated, at least the recited operations of
"divid[ing] the neural network into subgraphs" and "output[ting] a compression configuration in which one compression technique selected from a plurality thereof is associated with each of the
subgraphs" (claim 1) cannot be practically performed in the human mind.
Here, for at least the reasons discussed above, the claim limitations do not recite a mental
process in the abstract idea groupings under current USPTO guidance.
Examiner Response
Claim 1 does not require a neural network of any particular size or complexity or a particular amount of computer processing. As broadly recited, dividing a neural network into subgraphs and selecting and associating a compression technique with each subgraph encompass evaluations and judgements that can be practically performed mentally or with the aid of pen and paper.
Applicant Argues
The MPEP states that "[p]rong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that
integrate the judicial exception into a practical application." (MPEP, 2106.04(II)(A)(2)). Claim 1
is patentable under Prong Two for at least the reasons that follow.
The Office Action asserted that the claims "amount to adding the words 'apply it' (or an
equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a
computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea" and "do not integrate
the abstract idea into a practical application." (Office Action, pages 3-4).
MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1) states, "[a] claim reciting a judicial exception is not directed to the
judicial exception if it also recites additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole
integrates the exception into a practical application . .. [o]ne way to demonstrate such integration
is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another
technology or technical field." (Emphasis added).
As with McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America, Inc., where the Specification
illustrated how the "particular rules recited in the claim enabled the automation of specific
animation tasks," (MPEP 2106.05(a) citing 837 F.3d at 1313-14, 120 USPQ2d at 1100-01), at
least paragraphs [0008]-[0009], [0039]-[0040] and [0042] of the present application disclose the
improvements to the functioning of a computer in the field of neural networks for in-vehicle
systems, such as automatic-driving ECUs. Paragraphs [0008]-[0009], [0039]-[0040] and [0042]
of the present application discuss:
[0008] In order to apply the point cloud AI to automatic driving, it is necessary to improve the performance of the point cloud AI by using high-resolution LiDAR. Therefore, implementing the point cloud AI for automatic driving requires an enormous amount of computation as compared with the computing performance of an in-vehicle processor. For example, computation of at least 65 giga operations (GOPs) is required in order to realize object recognition in automatic driving using PointPillars, which is a type of point cloud AI. Conversely, the computing performance of a processor that can be mounted on an in- vehicle ECU is approximately several tens of tera operations per second (TOPS), and is insufficient for executing an entire automatic driving system including PointPillars in real
time.
[0009] Therefore, there is a need for a computation reduction (compression) algorithm capable of both reducing the computation of the point cloud AI for automatic driving and
maintaining high inference accuracy.
[0039] ... When a single compression technique lb (reduction in the number of voxels) is applied to the entire DNN model of a precompression point cloud AI 601, the detection rate significantly decreases as NG1. In addition, when a single compression technique 2b (low rank approximation) is applied to the entire DNN model, the processing time is
shortened as NG2, but the detection rate decreases.
[0040] In the present embodiment, a compression technique la (reduction in the number of point clouds per voxel) is applied to a subgraph 1 of the DNN model of the precompression point cloud AI 601, and a compression technique 2a (pruning) is applied
to a subgraph 2. As a result, an optimally compressed point cloud AI 602 is obtained.
[0042] The optimally compressed point cloud AI 602 of the present embodiments can reduce inference time by 50% while suppressing a decrease in the detection rate due to the compression of PointPillars. Note that the present embodiments can be applied not
only to point cloud AI but also to other AI such as an image processing CNN.
Claim 1 provides these technical effects of improving the functioning of a computer and
the neural networks for in-vehicle systems by "divid[ing] the neural network into subgraphs" and
"output[ting] a compression configuration in which one compression technique selected from a
plurality thereof is associated with each of the subgraphs" (Claim 1).
With respect to the Office Action's assertion that the claims "amount to adding the words
'apply it' (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions," Applicant
respectfully disagrees. (Office Action, page 3).
The MPEP instructs, "other cases have found that additional elements are more than
'apply it' or are not 'mere instructions' when the claim recites a technological solution to a
technological problem." (MPEP § 2106.05(f), emphasis added).
As explained in paragraphs [0007]-[0020] of the Specification, the claims recite "a
technological solution to a technological problem." Paragraphs [0016]-[0020] of the
Specification are reproduced below with emphasis added.
Technical Problem
[0016] However, in a DNN with a complicated structure such as point cloud AI, an optimal compression algorithm is different for each part (subgraph) constituting the DNN.
Therefore, it is necessary to select and apply an optimal compression algorithm in subgraph units in order to realize high accuracy compression that achieves both
computation reduction of the DNN and maintenance of inference accuracy.
[0017] As such, in the above configuration, there is a problem that optimization of the compression algorithm to be applied cannot be realized in subgraph units of the
neural network.
Solution to Problem
[0018] A preferred aspect of the present invention is an information processing device that selects an algorithm for compressing a neural network. The information processing device includes a subgraph dividing section which divides the neural network into subgraphs and an optimizing section which outputs a compression configuration in which one compression technique selected from a plurality thereof is associated with each of the
subgraphs.
[0019] Another preferred aspect of the present invention is a neural network compression method including a first step of dividing a neural network into subgraphs and a second step of performing tentative compression by associating one compression technique selected
from a plurality thereof with each of the subgraphs.
Advantageous Effects of Invention
[0020] Optimization of the compression algorithm to be applied can be realized in
subgraph units of the neural network.
Accordingly, the claims recite elements that are "more than 'apply it' or are not 'mere
instructions."'
As instructed in the MPEP, "it is important for examiners to analyze the claim as a
whole when determining whether the claim provides an improvement to the functioning of computers or an improvement to other technology or technical field." (MPEP § 2106.05(a), emphasis added). This principle was reaffirmed in the recent guidance "Advance Notice of
Change to the MPEP in light of Ex parte Desjardins," reiterating that:
An important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102-03; DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107. In this respect, the improvement consideration overlaps with other considerations, specifically the particular machine consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)), and the mere instructions to apply an exception consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Thus, evaluation of those other considerations may assist examiners in making a determination of whether a claim satisfies the improvement consideration. When evaluating a claim as a whole, examiners should not dismiss additional elements as mere "generic computer components" without considering whether such elements confer a technological improvement to a technical problem, especially as to improvements to computer components or the computer system. See, e.g., Ex parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567 (PTAB September 26, 2025) (Appeals Review Panel Decision).
Advance Notice, p. 4.
These improvements are analogous to those analyzed in connection with Ex parte
Desjardins, cited above. In Desjardins, Director Squires cautions against "[c]ategorically
excluding AI innovations from patent protection," noting that it is improper to equate "any
machine learning with an unpatentable 'algorithm' and the remaining additional elements as
'generic computer components,' without adequate explanation." Desjardins, p. 9. The decision
cautions that "Examiners and panels should not evaluate claims at such a high level of-12-
generality." Id. In Desjardins, Director Squires explains that the application is patent-eligible
because the Specification identifies "improvements in training the machine learning model
itself," and that "the claims reflect such an improvement." Id. at p. 8. Applicant submits that
claim 1 similarly reflects a technical improvement for the functioning of a computer in the field
of neural networks for in-vehicle systems, as recited in the claims.
For at least these reasons, the claims should not be found ineligible under Step 2A Prong
Two.
Examiner Response
Although the specification describes embodiments providing reduced inference time while suppressing a decrease in detection rate, the claims do not require these asserted improvements or recycled limitations that necessarily produce them. Claim 1 broadly requires dividing neural networking into subgraphs and associating a selected compression technique with each subgraph. Thus, when considered as a whole, the claim does not reflect the particular technological improvement relied upon by the applicant
Applicant Argues
Solely for the sake of argument, even if claim 1 were found ineligible under Step 2A,
claim 1 nevertheless amounts to significantly more than an abstract idea and is patent eligible
under Step 2B.
The Office Action asserted that the claims "do not amount to significantly more than the
exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do
not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea." (Office Action, page 5).
The Office Action relies on an overly generalized version of claim 1 by characterizing the
claimed device as a generic computer. However, the claimed device that operates to "divide[] the
neural network into subgraphs" and "output[] a compression configuration in which one
compression technique selected from a plurality thereof is associated with each of the subgraphs"
is not "well-understood, routine, conventional activity," at least based on the discussion
regarding the technical improvement at Step 2A, Prong Two and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §
103.
The foregoing limitations are analogous to those of the eligible claims in DDR Holdings,
LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1256, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1104 (Fed. Cir. 2014),
reflected in Example 2 of the USPTO eligibility examples, where the claims were found to be
patent-eligible because "they were more than well-understood, routine conventional activities in
the field." The MPEP instructs, "in Step 2B, examiners should: ... Re-evaluate any additional-13-
element or combination of elements that was considered to be insignificant extra-solution
activity per MPEP § 2106.05(g), because if such re-evaluation finds that the element is
unconventional or otherwise more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in
the field, this finding may indicate that the additional element is no longer considered to be
insignificant." (MPEP 2106.05).
Further, "[al factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an
additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine,
conventional activity" and "an examiner should determine that an element (or combination of
elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity only when the examiner can readily
conclude, based on their expertise in the art, that the element is widely prevalent or in
common use in the relevant industry." (MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)(2), emphasis added). No such
determination can be properly made out with respect to the amended claims. For at least the
forgoing reasons, the claims should be found eligible at Step 2B.
At least for the foregoing reasons, the independent claims, and the dependent claims
depending therefrom, are patentable and in condition for allowance. Thus, Applicant respectfully
requests consideration and withdrawal of the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Examiner Response
The operations of dividing the neural network into subgraphs and selecting and associating compression techniques with the subgraphs form part of the identified judicial exception and are not additional elements considered separately from the exception at Step 2B. The remaining additional elements do not, individually or as an ordered combination, add significantly more to the identified judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1 analysis for all claims:
In the instant case, claims 1-10 are directed to software per se. Claims 11-15 are directed to a method for compressing a neural network (process). Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Claim 1:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part: “Selects an algorithm for compressing a neural network” As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses selecting an algorithm, which could be done mentally by a person having ordinary skill of the art.
“Divides the neural network into subgraphs;” As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses partitioning a neural network into subgraphs. This process can be done mentally by a person having ordinary skill in the art, who would be able divide a neural network in a plurality of ways.
“And an optimizing section which outputs a compression configuration in which one compression technique selected from a plurality thereof is associated with each of the subgraphs.” As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses outputting a compression technique that has been selected from a group of compression techniques, which has been associated with a subgraph.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
“information processing device” which is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicial exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of: “a subgraph dividing section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
“An information processing device” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
“a subgraph dividing section “This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 2:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“…wherein the subgraph dividing section divides the neural network having a hierarchical structure in units of layers.” As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses dividing the neural network into a hierarchical structure. This can be done mentally by a person having ordinary skill of the art utilizing a computing device.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
“Subgraph dividing section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of: “a subgraph dividing section “This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 3:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“Outputs tentatively compressed subgraphs by compressing the subgraphs respectively associated with one compressing technique selected from a plurality thereof”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses outputting a compressed subgraph that has been associated with the chosen compression technique that was selected from a group of compressing techniques. This would be seen as a mental process since it would be obvious that a person having ordinary skill of the art would be able to output the compressed subgraph, See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. It would also be mentally possible to select a compression technique from a plurality thereof.
“the optimizing section outputs a compression configuration in which the perturbation of the neural network satisfies a predetermined value.” As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses outputting a compressed subgraph that has been associated with the chosen compression technique that was selected from a group of compressing techniques, that has a perturbation that satisfies a value. This would be seen as a mental process since it would be obvious that a person having ordinary skill of the art would be able to output a compression configuration in which the perturbation of a neural network would satisfy a value, See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968.
“Based on a difference between a forward feeding value of the neural network and a forward feeding value obtained by combining a plurality of the tentatively compressed subgraphs in series”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses outputting a compressed subgraph that has been associated with the chosen compression technique that was selected from a group of compressing techniques. This would be seen as a mental process since it would be obvious that a person having ordinary skill of the art would be able to determine the difference between two values, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
“: a tentative compressing section” which is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicial exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
“…and a first perturbation calculating section” which is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
“a tentative compressing section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
“And a first perturbation calculating section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 4:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“wherein the tentative compressing section refers to a compression table in Which a type of a device on which the neural network is to be implemented And priority of compression techniques to be applied are associated with each other And selects one compression method from a plurality thereof”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses implementing a compression technique on a priority basis and associating it with the device, as well as selecting a compression method from a plurality thereof. A person having ordinary skill of the art would be able to implement said compression technique and associate it with a device as described, as well as select a compression technique from a plurality thereof on a computing device.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
“The tentative compressing section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
“The tentative compressing section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 5:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“Outputs a perturbation of each of the subgraphs based on a difference between a forward feeding value of each of the subgraphs.” As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses outputting a perturbation of each subgraph based on the difference between values. This can be done mentally, by comparing the two values and outputting the perturbation. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968, and outputting each subgraphs perturbation accordingly.
“The subgraph dividing section selects a subgraph to be further divided based on perturbation of the subgraphs”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses selecting a subgraph based on the perturbation of said subgraph. This can be done mentally by comparing the perturbation of each subgraph.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
“Second perturbation calculating section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
“Second perturbation calculating section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 6:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“the subgraph dividing section selects a subgraph with a presently largest perturbation as a subgraph to be further divided.” As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses determining a subgraph with the largest perturbation that will then be further divided. This can be done mentally, by comparing the perturbations of the different subgraphs to determine the largest perturbation. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968, and dividing that subgraph.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
“Second perturbation calculating section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
“Second perturbation calculating section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 7:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“The information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a compressing section, wherein the compressing section includes a computation reducing section and a subgraph combining section, the computation reducing section receives the subgraphs and the compression configuration as inputs, applies a compression technique described in the compression configuration to each of the subgraphs, and outputs compressed subgraphs, and” amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, (the compression section) merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f))
“the subgraph combining section receives an output of the computation reducing section as an input, combines the compressed subgraphs, and outputs a compressed neural network.” amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, (the compression section) merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
“Further comprising a compressing section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicial exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
“a computation reducing section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
“And a subgraph combining section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
“Further comprising a compressing section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
“a computation reducing section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
“And a subgraph combining section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 8:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“Receives the compressed neural network and a training data set As discussed above, the additional elements of receiving a compressed neural network which is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
“And trains the compressed neural network”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, this limitation encompasses training a compressed neural network, which can be done mentally by a person having ordinary skill of the art, utilizing a computing device.
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
“comprising a retraining section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicial exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
“comprising a retraining section” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 9:
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“the perturbation of the subgraphs is held in memory. “As discussed above, the additional elements of storing a perturbation in memory which is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II),"electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory. Storing data in memory is an abstract idea per MPEP 2106.04.III.B, see CyberSource 654 F.3d at 1372-73, 99 USPQ2d at 1695.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of:
“perturbation log” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
“a perturbation log” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 11:
Claim 11 recites similar limitations as claim 1, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Claim 12:
Claim 12 recites similar claims to claim 5, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Claim 13:
Claim 13 recites similar claims to claim 5, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Claim 14:
Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis:
The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“And the neural network is stored at a root of the m-branch tree”. As discussed above, the additional elements of gathering the neural network which is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory"). The claim recites the storing and gathering of data, as drafted under MPEP, such process is seen as an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(1) (A. iii) and MPEP § 2106.05(g).
“The neural network stored at the root of the m-branch tree is divided into m”. As discussed above, the additional elements of gathering the neural network which is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory"). The claim recites the storing and gathering of data, as drafted under MPEP, such process is seen as an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(1) (A. iii) and MPEP § 2106.05(g).
“m subgraphs are stored at a node of depth 1 that is a child of the root”. As discussed above, the additional elements of gathering and storing subgraphs at the child root which is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory"). The claim recites the storing and gathering of data, as drafted under MPEP, such process is seen as an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(1) (A. iii) and MPEP § 2106.05(g).
“and the subgraphs stored at leaves of the m-branch tree are output”. As discussed above, the additional elements of gathering and storing the subgraphs which is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory"). The claim recites the storing and gathering of data, as drafted under MPEP, such process is seen as an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(1) (A. iii) and MPEP § 2106.05(g).
Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of: “m-branch tree” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicial exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
“Stored at a node” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. As discussed above, the additional elements of storing data which is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
“root” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B analysis:
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of:
“m-branch tree” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
“stored at a node” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
“root” This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As explained by the Supreme Court; in order to make a claim directed to a judicia I exception patent-eligible, the additional element or combination of elements must do '"more than simply state the judicial exception] while adding the words 'apply it"'. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014) (quoting Mayo Collaborative Servs. V. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965). Thus, limitations that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, at Step 2B the additional elements individually or in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 15:
Claim 15 recites similar claims to claim 14, therefore it is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 16
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 16 does not recite an abstract idea but is directed to the abstract idea identified in its parents claim(s).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “a compressing section configured to compress at least one subgraph of the subgraphs based on the compression technique selected for the at least one subgraph" which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to extra-solution activity of applying previously selected compression techniques to the subgraph, i.e. post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The limitation merely applies the previously selected compression technique to the subgraph without reciting a particular manner of performing the compression.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “a compressing section configured to compress at least one subgraph of the subgraphs based on the compression technique selected for the at least one subgraph” limitation, the additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high-level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional element individually or in combination does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zejda et Al. (US Patent #11610102, referred to as Zejda hereafter).
Claim 1
Zejda anticipates an information processing device that selects an algorithm for compressing a neural network, the information processing device comprising… (Zejda) [col.2, lines 16-28] "the neural network may, in various embodiments, be partitioned into different subgraphs, which may then be assigned to different processing units" "For example, operations may include convolution, pooling, normalization, and/or activation operations, in some embodiments."
As anticipated, Zejda teaches the use of a plurality of compression techniques to be chosen from.
a subgraph dividing section which divides the neural network into subgraphs (Zejda) [pg. 10, col.2, pp. 2, lines 25-27] “the neural network may, in various embodiments, be partitioned into different subgraphs,” As anticipated, Zejda teaches the division of a neural network into different subgraphs.
and an optimizing section which outputs a compression configuration in which one compression technique selected from a plurality thereof is associated with each of the subgraphs. (Zejda) [ col.2, lines 27-31]"the neural network may, in various embodiments, be partitioned into different subgraphs, which may then be assigned to different processing units" [pg. 15, col.11, pp. 4, lines 45-47] "For example, operations may include convolution, pooling, normalization, and/or activation operations, in some embodiments. anticipated, Zejda teaches the partitioning of a neural network into subgraphs. It would be obvious that said subgraph would be associated with one of the mentioned compression techniques mentioned by Zejda, as anticipated.
Claim 11
Zejda anticipates A neural network compression method comprising: a first step of dividing a neural network into subgraphs. (Zejda) [col.2, lines 25-27] “the neural network may, in various embodiments, be partitioned into different subgraphs,” As anticipated, Zejda teaches the division of a neural network into different subgraphs.
and a second step of performing tentative compression by associating one compression technique selected from a plurality thereof with each of the subgraphs. (Zejda) [pg. 10, col.2, pp. 2, lines 27-31]"the neural network may, in various embodiments, be partitioned into different subgraphs, which may then be assigned to different processing units" [pg. 15, col.11, pp. 4, lines 45-47] For example, operations may include convolution, pooling, normalization, and/or activation operations, in some embodiments. As anticipated, Zejda teaches the partitioning of a neural network into subgraphs by selecting from a plurality of compression techniques and assigning each subgraph to a different processing unit. It would be obvious that said subgraph would be associated with one of the mentioned compression techniques mentioned by Zejda, as anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda as set forth above in view of Jin et al (US 20200082243 A1, referred to as Jin, hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2
Jin teaches:
The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the subgraph dividing section divides the neural network having a hierarchical structure in units of layers. (Jin) [pg. 1, pp 4] “neural network, including at least one of partitioning a network into at least one subgraph node, determining a layer order” As anticipated, Jin teaches the partitioning of a subgraph and ordering them in layers, i.e. a hierarchical structure.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art to combine the partitioning of a neural network of Zejda, with the use of hierarchal structure when dividing a neural network as taught by Jin. A person having ordinary skill of the art would be motivated to do so to determine the layer order of execution (Jin) [col.2, pp. 33] and to reduce the complexity of the layers (Jin) [col.1, pp. 3]
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda et al., Jin et al., and Wang et al., and in further view of Kapoor et al (US 20140074805 A1, Kapoor hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4
Zejda, in addition to Vikram teach:
wherein the tentative compressing section refers to a compression table in which a type of a device on which the neural network is to be implemented and priority of compression techniques to be applied are associated with each other, and selects one compression method from a plurality thereof. (Zejda) [pg.18, col.17, pp.1] “At step 714, it is determined whether a size of subgraph operation weights (e.g., the subgraph operation weights 422) associated with the plurality of operations included in each of the set of subgraphs”. (Vikram) [pg.3, pp.46]” A table, or data from a plurality of rows thereof, is compressed into a "compression unit" using any of a wide variety of compression techniques.” As anticipated, Zejda in combination with Vikram teaches the use of multiple compression techniques, and a compression table in which a variety of compression techniques are applied, rendering claim 4 obvious.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the process of associating subgraph weights with each compression technique, as taught by Zejda, with the compression table taught by Vikram. Such person would be motivated to do so, because compression units may thus co-exist with uncompressed data blocks and data block rows. (Vikram) [pg.3, col.2, pp.47]”
Claims 3, 5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda et Al, in view of Jin, in further view of Wang et al. (Hardware-Aware Autonomous Quantization, CVPR 2019, referred to as Wang hereinafter)., and in further view of Jiang et, al. (IJCAI-2018, Efficient DNN Neuron Pruning by Minimizing Layer-wise Nonlinear Reconstruction Error, Jiang Hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3
Zejda and Jin teach the limitations of claim 2, in addition Zejda teaches:
a tentative compressing section. (Zejda) [col. 11, pp.4] "As discussed herein, different partitioning schemes may be applied to identify different subgraphs of the neural network graph 400, such as subgraphs 416a-416n” Zejda teaches the use of multiple different partitioning or compression techniques as mentioned by claim 3.
and a first perturbation calculating section, wherein the tentative compressing section outputs tentatively compressed subgraphs by compressing the subgraphs respectively associated with one compressing technique selected from a plurality thereof. (Zejda) [col. 11, pp.4] "As discussed herein, different partitioning schemes may be applied to identify different subgraphs of the neural network graph 400, such as subgraphs 416a-416n” Zejda teaches the use of multiple different partitioning or compression techniques as mentioned by claim 3. The claim does not describe the tentatively compressed subgraphs are created, therefore under the broadest reasonable interpretation, subgraphs 416a-416n depict the tentatively compressed subgraphs.
the first perturbation calculating section outputs a perturbation of the neural network based on a difference between a forward feeding value of the neural network and a forward feeding value(Jiang) [p.2299 Section 2.2 – Equation (1)] “o^(l+1) – a (l+1)”. o^(l+1) is the non-linear output of the original (uncompressed) network, where a^(l+1) is the nonlinear output of the pruned (compressed) network. Here, Jiang describes the difference between forward feeding values of an uncompressed and compressed subgraph, the outcome of the equation is the perturbation of each subgraph. (Jiang) [Algorithm 1 – Step 7]” Forward propagation and compute E_l+1 by Eq. (7).” A perturbation is computed for each subgraph (layer) during iteration, thus teaching a “first perturbation calculating section”.
obtained by combining a plurality of the tentatively compressed subgraphs in series. (Zejda) [pg.16, col. 14, pp.4] “Accordingly, the compiler may select the second partitioning scheme (subgraph assignment 510-2) that exhibits the next lowest total time and also satisfies the maximum operation weight limit.”
However, the combination of Zejda and Jin fail to teach:
“And the optimizing section outputs a compression configuration in which the perturbation of the neural network satisfies a predetermined value.”
However, Wang teaches:
and the optimizing section (Wang)[pg. 3, section 3. Approach]the quantization task as a reinforcement learning problem (Figure 2). We use the actor-critic model with DDPG agent to give the action: bits for each layer. We collect hardware counters as constraints, together with accuracy as rewards to search the optimal quantization policy. Here, Wang teaches of an optimizing section in the form of a reinforcement learning agent configured to recursively search for an optimize a quantization policy based on performance feedback, thus rendering the limitation obvious.
outputs a compression configuration (Wang)[Pg. 2, 1. Introduction]“the agent… outputs the action which is the bitwidth of weights and activations.” Here, Wang discloses that the optimizing agent outputs a quantization policy specifying bitwidths for weights and activations of each layer, which constitutes a compression configuration of the neural network, thereby satisfying the claimed limitation.
in which the perturbation of the neural network satisfies a predetermined value. (Wang) [p.4, 3.2]” If the current policy exceeds our resource budget (on latency, energy or model size), we will sequentially decrease the bit width of each layer until the constraint is finally satisfied.” Wang teaches decreasing the bit width of each partitioned layer of a neural network, until a constraint is met. Similarly, the claim recites a perturbation of neural network satisfying a predetermined value, thus rendering claim 3 obvious.
Regarding claim 5
Zejda as modified by Wang and Vikram teach all of the limitations of claim 3, in addition to:
The information processing device according to claim 3, further comprising a second perturbation calculating section. (Zejda) [pg.16, col. 13, pp.1] Under the second partitioning scheme, the first subgraph 516a is assigned to a first accelerator of an execution engine and the second subgraph 516b is assigned to a second accelerator of the execution engine. The second accelerator may be different from the first accelerator. Zejda teaches a second partitioning scheme and accelerator engine.
Zejda, Wang, and Vikram fail to teach:
wherein the second perturbation calculating section outputs a perturbation of each of the subgraphs based on a difference between a forward feeding value of each of the subgraphs and a forward feeding value of each of the tentatively compressed subgraphs,
and the subgraph dividing section selects a subgraph to be further divided based on perturbation of the subgraphs.
However, Jiang teaches:
wherein the second perturbation calculating section outputs a perturbation of each of the subgraphs based on a difference between a forward feeding value of each of the subgraphs and a forward feeding value of each of the tentatively compressed subgraphs, (Jiang) [p.2299 Section 2.2 - Formulation]” We use a^(l) to denote nonlinear response in layer (l)”. Here, a^(l) is the forward feeding value (activation output) of each subgraph or in this case, layer. (Jiang) [Section 2.2 - Formulation]” A pruned model can be represented as {W^(l), m^(l)}, where m^(l) is a binary mask indicating whether a neuron is pruned.” Applying mask m^(l) creates a tentatively compressed subgraph. (Jiang) [p.2299 Section 2.2 – Equation (1)] “o^(l+1) – a (l+1)”. o^(l+1) is the non-linear output of the original (uncompressed) network, where a^(l+1) is the nonlinear output of the pruned (compressed) network. Here, Jiang describes the difference between forward feeding values of an uncompressed and compressed subgraph, the outcome of the equation is the perturbation of each subgraph. (Jiang) [Algorithm 1 – Step 7]” Forward propagation and compute E_l+1 by Eq. (7).” A perturbation is computed for each subgraph (layer) during iteration, thus teaching a “second perturbation calculating section”.
and the subgraph dividing section selects a subgraph to be further divided based on perturbation of the subgraphs. (Jiang) [Section 2.3 – Greedy Selection p. 3] “To measure the importance of neurons, we first analyze the sensitivity of NRE with respect to each neuron…neurons with the k_i largest sensitivity values are selected.” Here, sensitivity is derived from perturbations (NRE). Selection of a subgraph is based on the magnitude of each perturbation as taught in claim 5. (Jiang) [Algorithm 1- Iterative loop (p. 3)] “In the next iteration, the sensitivity of neurons will be recalculated and their masks will be updated.” Here, Jiang teaches reprocessing and refining the selected subgraphs, this anticipates the limitation “selects a subgraph to be further divided”.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art to combine the quantization of Neural networks of Zejda, Wang and Vikram with the process of outputting a perturbation based on a subgraphs data, as taught by Jiang. A person having ordinary skill of the art would be motivated to do so, to select a subgraph for further iterative processing based on perturbation-derived sensitivity values (IJCAI-18, pp. 2-3 EQ (1), Algorithm 1).
Regarding Claim 9:
Zejda, as modified by Jin, Wang and Jiang, teach all of the limitations of claim 5, in addition Wang teaches:
The perturbation of the subgraphs is held in memory as a perturbation log. (Wang) [p.4, Section 3.3 – RL-Based Search] “After quantization, we retrain the quantized model for one more epoch, and feed the validation accuracy after short-term retraining as the reward signal.” Wang teaches evaluating tentative compression configurations by calculating performance differences between original and compressed networks and using these differences as reward signals retraining framework. It would be obvious that such frameworks store metrics such as perturbations of a subgraph in memory across iterations to guide policy updates and calculations. As stated, Wang teaches holding perturbation records in memory, rendering claim 9 obvious.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the neural network compression technique of Zejda, Jin, and Jiang, and with storing of perturbation logs in memory of Wang to optimize the quantization of neural networks. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, to efficiently implement quantization on to hardware. (Wang) [P.4 ,3.4 Quantization]
Regarding Claim 10:
Zejda, as modified by Jin, Wang, Jiang teach all of the limitations of claim 9, in addition to:
Transmission of a perturbation log out of a computing device. (Wang) [p.3 section 3. Approach] “We use direct latency and energy feedback from the hardware accelerator to guide the agent…”Wang teaches using direct latency to transmit information out of the hardware accelerator. It would be obvious that In such frameworks, performance records measured on target devices such as a log that stores the perturbations of a subgraph, are regularly transmitted to an external controller or optimization engine for policy updates. As mentioned, transmitting perturbation information outside the computing device is an obvious implementation detail, rendering claim 10 obvious.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the neural network pruning of Zejda with the transmission of perturbation information of Wang to improve the method of quantizing a neural network. A person having ordinary skill of the art would be motivated to do so, to allow the agent to determine the bit width allocation policy from the differences between the plurality of layers, thus optimizing the quantization policy (Wang) [P.4 3.3 Direct Feedback from Hardware Accelerators]
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda, in view of Jiang, and in further view of Deolalikar (US 20080180247 A1, Deolalikar hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 6:
Zejda, Jin, Wang, Vikram and Jiang teach the limitations of claim 5, except:
“The subgraph dividing section selects a subgraph with a presently largest perturbation as a subgraph to be further divided.”
However, Deolalikar teaches:
the subgraph dividing section selects a subgraph with a presently largest perturbation as a subgraph to be further divided. (Deolalikar) [pg.7, col.2, pp. 67]an edge-removal perturbation, an edge with a largest weight of the edges that interconnect nodes within the defect set is chosen for removal. Deolalikar teaches an edge removal system that removes the edge with the largest weight. Similarly, claim 6 teaches dividing the subgraph with the largest perturbation. The method of selecting the largest value or perturbation would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill of the art, rendering claim 6 obvious.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art to combine the quantization process of algorithms of Zejda, Jin, Wang, Vikram and Jiang with the removal process of Deolalikar. Such person would be motivated to do so, to alter a collision graph to produce a lower-partite collision graph that achieves greater efficiency. (Deolalikar) [pg.7, col.1, pp. 65]
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda, in further view of Jin, in further view of Wang and in further view of Roy (US 20140019490 A1, hereinafter Roy).
Regarding Claim 7:
Zejda teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 except:
further comprising a compressing section,
wherein the compressing section includes a computation reducing section and a subgraph combining section,
the computation reducing section receives the subgraphs and the compression configuration as inputs, applies a compression technique described in the compression configuration to each of the subgraphs,
and outputs compressed subgraphs,
and the subgraph combining section receives an output of the computation reducing section as an input,
combines the compressed subgraphs, and outputs a compressed neural network.
However, Roy in combination with Zejda and Wang teach:
further comprising a compressing section, (Roy)[pp. 0022]Graph views for event processing can extend the graph data store with dynamic partitioning and management mechanisms. Roy teaches dynamically partitioning subgraphs which is a method of compressing a subgraph, as taught by the claim.
wherein the compressing section includes a computation reducing section (Roy)[pp. 0019]Graph views can reduce the computation overhead on the system, for example, by limiting event handlers to the components, e.g., vertices and/or edges, of a subgraph. Roy teaches of reduction system that reduces computation overhead as taught by the claim.
and a subgraph combining section, , (Roy) [pp. 0068]” The subgraph and the second subgraph can be combined into a composite subgraph. Here Roy explicitly describes the functionality of the subgraph combining section mentioned by the claim.
the computation reducing section receives the subgraphs and the compression configuration as inputs, (Zejda)[Abstract] “ A partitioning scheme that divides the plurality of operations into a set of subgraphs” Zejda teaches of using a portioning scheme to divide a graph into subgraphs. (Wang)[pg.2 1- Introduction] ”of both weights and activations for each layer on different hardware accelerators.” Wang discloses determining a bitwidth for each layer of a neural network and quantizing each layer using its assigned bitwidth. The collection of bitwidth assignments across layers constitutes a set of parameters that control the degree of compression applied to the network, corresponding to a compression configuration. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill of the art to apply Wang’s compression configuration to the subgraphs produced by Zejda, which would in turn require the user to receive both subgraphs and the compression configuration as inputs to perform the compression, as taught by the claim.
applies a compression technique described in the compression configuration to each of the subgraphs, and outputs compressed subgraphs, (Wang)[pg.1 1 - Introduction] “Conventional quantization methods use the same number of bits for all layers [2, 14], but as different layers have different redundancy and behave differently on the hardware (computation bounded or memory bounded), it is necessary to use mixed precision for different layers” (Wang)[pg.2 1- Introduction] “For each layer, the agent receives the layer configuration and statistics as observation, and it then outputs the action which is the bitwidth of weights and activations.”
and the subgraph combining section receives an output of the computation reducing section as an input, combines the compressed subgraphs, and outputs a compressed neural network. , (Roy) [pp. 0068]” The subgraph and the second subgraph can be combined into a composite subgraph. Redundant vertex, edge, and/or property graph elements can be removed from the composite subgraph that are common to each of the subgraph and the second subgraph, thereby providing a union of the two views.” Roy teaches combining multiple subgraphs into a composite subgraph and removing redundant graph elements common to the subgraphs. When applied to compressed neural-network subgraphs, this directly corresponds to a subgraph combining section that receives compressed subgraphs, merges them, removes redundant, computation and connectivity, and outputs a compressed neural network as recited in claim 7.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the algorithm computation reducing section of Zejda, Jin, and Wang with the subgraph combination taught by Roy to improve the neural network compressing model. A person having ordinary skill of the art would be motivated to do so, to optimize the processing of graph-structured data (Roy) [pg.6, col.1, pp.68].
Claim 8:
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda, in view of Roy, and in further view of Lo (US 20200242474 A1, hereinafter Lo).
Regarding claim 8:
Zejda as modified by Roy, teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 except:
Retraining section, wherein the retraining section receives the compressed neural network and a training data set, and trains the compressed neural network.
However, Lo teaches:
Retraining section, wherein the retraining section receives the compressed neural network and a training data set, and trains the compressed neural network. (Lo) [pg.5, col.1, pp.48]” The neural network module 130 includes software interfaces that allow the system to be programmed to implement various types of neural networks… The neural network module can further provide utilities to allow for training and retraining of a neural network implemented with the module.” As anticipated, Lo teaches the implementation, training and retraining of a neural network, as taught in the limitation of claim 8. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill of the art that one type of a neural network that can be trained is a compressed neural network, thus rendering the claim obvious.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the algorithm quantization of Zejda with the receiving of a compressed neural network of Wang with the training and retraining of a neural network of Lo. A person having ordinary skill of the art would be motivated to do so, to allow applications to define neural networks including weights, biases, activation functions, node values, and interconnections between layers of a neural network (Lo)[Description-0048].
Claim 12:
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda and in further view of Wang et, al.
Regarding claim 12:
Zejda teaches all limitations of claim 11 except:
“…a third step of calculating a perturbation of a tentatively compressed neural network. and a fourth step of changing a correspondence of compression techniques to the subgraphs based on the perturbation of the neural network”
However, Wang teaches:
A third step of calculating a perturbation of a tentatively compressed neural network. and a fourth step of changing a correspondence of compression techniques to the subgraphs based on the perturbation of the neural network (Wang)[P.4 3.4 Quantization]"We linearly quantize the weights and activations of each layer using the action, a_k given by our agent" (Wang)[3.5 Reward Function]"After quantization, we retrain the quantized model for one or more epoch, and feed the validation accuracy after short term retraining as the reward signal" (Wang)[Section 3.4 - Constraints]”If the current policy exceeds our resource budget, we will sequentially decrease the bit width of each layer until the constraint is finally satisfied.” Wang teaches tentatively compressing a neural network by assigning bit widths to each layer, evaluating the compressed network by calculating a difference in inference performance relative to the original network, and modifying the layer-wise compression assignments based on this evaluation and predefined constraints. Wang also discloses calculating a perturbation caused by tentative compression and adjusting the correspondence of compression techniques accordingly.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the quantization of neural networks of Zejda with tentative compression and adjusting of compression techniques of Wang. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since linearly quantized models are more efficient to implement on hardware (Wang) [P.4 Section 3.4 Quantization].
Claim 13
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda, in view of Wang, and in further view of Jiang et, al.
Regarding claim 13:
Zejda and Wang teach all of the limitations of claim 11 except:
a fifth step of calculating, for each of the subgraphs, a perturbation of the subgraph in units of tentatively compressed subgraphs; and a sixth step of selecting a subgraph to be further divided based on the perturbation of the subgraph.
However, Jiang teaches:
a fifth step of calculating, for each of the subgraphs, a perturbation of the subgraph in units of tentatively compressed subgraphs; (Jiang) [P. 2 – Definition of Nonlinear Reconstruction Error (NRE)] “Definition of Nonlinear Reconstruction Error (NRE), which computes the Euclidean distance between nonlinear activation values of the unpruned model, can be a more reasonable metric when performing layer-wise pruning” (Jiang)[P. 2-3 layer subnetwork extraction] ”For each single layer pruning, a corresponding 3-layer subnetwork… is extracted and we prune neurons in the hidden layer by minimizing NRE of the output layer” Jiang teaches calculating a perturbation for each subgraph corresponding to a neural network layer by measuring nonlinear reconstruction error between forward-feeding activation values of an original and a tentatively pruned network (pg. 2-3).
And a sixth step of selecting a subgraph to be further divided based on the perturbation of the subgraph. (Jiang) [Pg. 3 – Greedy Selection Procedure] “After computing each neuron’s sensitivity, neurons with the k_i largest sensitivity values are selected” (Jiang) [P. 3 – Iterative pruning] “We adopt an iterative greedy selection procedure… After updating… the sensitivity of neurons will be recalculated and their masks will be updated.” Jiang further teaches selecting neurons and layers for further processing using a greedy strategy based on the largest perturbation (sensitivity) values. Therefore, Jiang teaches all of the limitations of claim 13.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the quantization of neural networks of Zejda and Wang with the recursive storing of computations taught by Jiang. A person having ordinary skill of the art would be motivated to do so, to gain a more reasonable metric when performing layer-wise pruning (Jiang) [Introduction p.2298].
Claim 14
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda, in view of Wang 2018, and in further view of MetaFlow (Jia et al., MLSys 2019, Jia hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14:
Zejda and Wang (2019) teach all limitations of claim 12 except:
“The neural network compression method according to claim 12, wherein in the first step, a division method into the subgraphs is managed by an m-branch tree, and the neural network is stored at a root of the m-branch tree, the neural network stored at the root of the m-branch tree is divided into m, m subgraphs are stored at a node of depth 1 that is a child of the root, and the subgraphs stored at leaves of the m-branch tree are output.”
However, Jia teaches:
The neural network compression method according to claim 12, wherein in the first step, a division method into the subgraphs is managed by an m-branch tree, and the neural network is stored at a root of the m-branch tree, (Jia) [p.3, Section 2: “Overview”]"Metaflow uses a computation graph G to define computation and state in a DNN model." Jia refers to the entire neural network as a graph, g. This graph is the starting object, or root.
the neural network stored at the root of the m-branch tree is divided into m, m subgraphs are stored at a node of depth 1 that is a child of the root, and the subgraphs stored at leaves of the m-branch tree are output. (Jia) [Figure 3 – Metaflow overview p.3]"Input Comp. graph…independent subgraphs… Flow-based graph split” Figure 3 explicitly depicts the division of the root graph into subgraphs, replicating the division method that is mention in claim 14. (Jia) [Section 4.3 – Flow-Based Recursive Graph Split p.5] "We use a flow-based graph split algorithm to recursively divide a computation graph into smaller individual subgraphs…" Here, Jia mentions recursive division which would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill of the art that a tree-based structure is being utilized.
Jia teaches managing division of a neural network using a recursive graph-splitting algorithm that forms a tree structure, with the original computation graph at the root and recursively generated subgraphs at child nodes. Leaf nodes correspond to final subgraphs output by the algorithm. Although Jia illustrates binary splitting, extending the branching factor to m is an obvious generalization of the disclosed recursive partitioning scheme, rendering claim 14 obvious.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the quantization of neural networks of Zejda and Wang with the recursive storing of computations taught by Jia. A person having ordinary skill of the art would be motivated to do so, because the graph substitutions are performed locally, and splitting a computation graph can preserve graph substitutions. (Jia) [Section 4.3, p.5, Flow-Based Recursive Graph Split]
Claim 15
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda, in view of Wang et al., in view of Jia et al., and in further view of Jiang et, al.
Regarding Claim 15:
Zejda, Wang and Jia teach all of the limitations of claim 14, in addition to:
wherein a subgraph stored in a node having a largest perturbation among the m subgraphs stored in the node of depth 1 that is a child of the root is divided into m, (Jia) [p.3 Section 2: “Overview”]"Metaflow uses a computation graph G to define computation and state in a DNN model." Jia refers to the entire neural network as a graph, g. This graph is the starting object, or root.
However, Jiang teaches:
and the subgraph is stored in a child of a node having the largest perturbation of the subgraphs.
and the subgraph is stored in a child of a node having the largest perturbation of the subgraphs. (Jiang) [p. 3 – Sensitivity analysis] “To measure the importance of neurons, we first analyze the sensitivity of NRE with respect to each neuron” (Jiang) [Pg. 3 – Greedy selection rule] “After computing each neuron’s sensitivity, neurons with the k_i largest sensitivity values are selected.”
Jiang teaches selecting the subgraph components exhibiting the largest perturbation by computing sensitivity values derived from layer-wise nonlinear reconstruction error and greedily selecting those with the highest values for further processing (pg. 2-3). This directly corresponds to selecting a subgraph with the largest perturbation as a subgraph to be further divided, as taught in claim 15.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the quantization of neural networks of Zejda and Jia with the selection of a largest perturbation taught by Jiang. A person having ordinary skill of the art would be motivated to do so, to optimize the Nonlinear reconstruction error, i.e. the difference between forward feeding values. (Jiang) [Section 2.3, p.2300, - Optimization]
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zejda, in further view of Wang.
Regarding claim 16, Zejda teaches the information processing device according to claim 1.
Although Zejda teaches the information processing device of claim 1, it does not teach a compressing section configured to compress at least one subgraph of the subgraphs based on the compression technique selected for the at least one subgraph.
Wang teaches further comprising a compressing section configured to compress at least one subgraph of the subgraphs based on the compression technique selected for the at least one subgraph (Page 4 Section 3.4: Describes model quantization as a technique for compressing a neural network and teaches linearly quantizing the weights and activations of each layer using an action ak provided by an agent, wherein the action determines the bitwith used to quantize the corresponding layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined Zejda’s method with the compression selection technique of Wang. Doing so would have allowed the system to reduce the computational and storage requirements of the neural network.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2128
/OMAR F FERNANDEZ RIVAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2128