DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election Requirement
The Office acknowledges the Applicant’s election of Group I (directed to X = B or Al) as set forth in the Requirement for Restriction/Election filed 05/07/26 in the Response filed 06/10/26.
The election reads on Claims 1-12.
Claims 1-12 are pending. No claims have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (KR 10-2020-0087717).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2020-0087717 (herein referred to as “Kang et al”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Kang et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 37 of Kang et al.) such that A3 = substituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon (substituted benzene wherein substituent = Applicant’s Structural Formula A), A1 = substituted C6 aromatic hydrocarbon (substituted benzene wherein substituent = t-butyl), A2 = substituted C12 heterocyclic ring, Y1 = S, and Y2 = NR1 (with R1 = substituted C12 aryl (substituted biphenyl)) of Applicant’s Formula I. Kang et al. discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising the following layers: anode, hole-injecting layer, hole-transporting layer, light-emitting layer, hole-blocking layer, electron-transporting layer, electron-injecting layer, and cathode for the construction of displays ([0004], [0195]); such layers are formed via solution methods such as spin coating ([0171]). Kang et al. discloses its inventive compounds as dopant materials in the light-emitting layer which are combined with the following host material ([0209], [0211]):
(page 39 of Kang et al.) such that R11-18 = hydrogen, n = 0, Ar2 = Ar4 = hydrogen, Ar1 = unsubstituted C6 arylene (phenyl), and Ar3 = substituted C10 arylene (substituted naphthyl) of Applicant’s Formula H. Kang et al. discloses the presence of additional dopant and/or host materials in the light-emitting layer ([0209], [0211]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2020-0087717 (herein referred to as “Kang et al”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Kang et al. discloses compounds of the following form:
([0010]); an embodiment is disclosed:
(page 37 of Kang et al.). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Kang et al. singly nor in combination with any other prior art discloses any of the compounds as recited in the claims, particularly in regards to the nature of A1-3 of Formula I.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786