DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The present claims are unclear for a number of reasons. First, the term “binding energy” of claim 1 is ambiguous as it is unclear if it refers to an electron binding energy (in an anion) or a bond dissociation energy (BDE). If the latter, specific bonds must be specified as there are more than one chemical bond with different BDE’s in an organic anion. The other claims depend on claim 1 but fail to remedy the deficiency and they are therefore indefinite as well. Second, the chemical structures in claims 2-4 are illegible. Third, many chemical structures in the claims may be substituted, but the metes and bounds of the term “substituted” are not set forth anywhere in the specification. Fourth, claim 4 recites “wherein the light-emitting layer is represented by a structure selected from the following Formulas 7 and 8”, which is confusing as the “structure” is that of a chemical compound and cannot be equated to a physical “layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-9, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Ihn et al., Adv. Sci. 2017, 4, 1600502.
Regarding claim 1, Ihn et al. discloses the following OLED (see Fig. 1):
wherein BDpyInCz is a TADF dopant that emits blue light and the difference between the LUMO of BDpyInCz (which is being identified with the claimed first compound) and the LUMO of mCBP-CN (which is being identified with the claimed second compound) is 0.2 eV. Because mCBP-CN, due to the presence of the cyano substituent, is electron-transporting whereas BDpyInCz is relatively hole-transporting (page 2, right column), i.e., mCBP-CN has a greater electron affinity in the anion state, the anionic form of mCBP-CN has a greater binding energy than that of BDpyInCz. Claim 1 is therefore unpatentable. So are claims 3, 6, 8-9, 12 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihn et al., Adv. Sci. 2017, 4, 1600502.
Regarding claim 10, the device of claim 8 is disclosed by Ihn et al. as explained above. The reference fails to disclose an LT90 lifetime of the device at 1,000 nits. However, it does disclose that the device has an LT80 of 21 hours at the driving voltage of 4.74 V and a luminance of 500 cd/m2 (1 cd/m2 = 1 nit) (see last entry in Table 1), and that the device has a luminance greater than 1,000 nits at a voltage of approximately 6 V (Fig. 2b). Since it takes about 10 hours for the luminance of the device to drop to 90% (Fig. 3a), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) at the time the instant invention was filed to expect the device to have an LT90 lifetime of at least 10 hours at a luminance of 1,000 nits (i.e., at a driving voltage of about 6 V).
Claims 2, 5, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ihn et al., Adv. Sci. 2017, 4, 1600502 in view of US 2015/0236274 A1 to Hatakeyama et al.
Regarding claim 2, the device of claim 1 is disclosed by Ihn et al. as explained above. The reference employs BDpyInCz due to its blue emission and long lifespan, but fails to disclose the organoboron compound of claim 2. However, Hatakeyama et al. discloses organoboron compounds that are blue light emitters via TADF. Examples of which include
and
.
The organoboron compounds are said to produce “excellent organic EL element[s]” (see [0619]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the device disclosed by Ihn et al. by replacing BDpyInCz with the organoboron compounds disclosed by Hatakeyama et al. and expect a similar result. Claim 2 is accordingly unpatentable for being obvious. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B). So are claims 5, 11 and 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 13 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The device of claim 4 is not obvious over the combination of Ihn and Hatakeyama, which represents the closest prior art of record. Hatakeyama does teach organoboron compounds that read on formula 7 (see, for example, compound 1-447). However, there is not an obvious reason for a POSITA to expect the device disclosed by Ihn et al., or modify said device, to have photosensitive hyperfluorescence.
Contact Information
/VU A NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762