DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-15, 21-23, 25, 33 are pending. Claims 25 and 33 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 16-20, 24, 26-32, 34-36 have been cancelled.
An action on the merits for claims 1-15 and 21-23 is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-15 and 21-23 are indefinite over the wherein clauses in claim 1. In particular the claim requires steps a-f and then there multiple wherein clauses. As such it is not clear which steps are required as part of the steps are in wherein clauses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,9,15,22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abate et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0009274 Jan 12, 2017) in view of Bergo et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0011877 January 9, 2020). Abate and Bergo have been recited on the IDS
With regard to claim 1, Abate et al discloses a method for analyzing an interaction between two or more particles (a method for detecting (analyzing) epitopes bound by one or more B or T cells (interaction between two or more particles); paragraphs [0276], [0278]), the method comprising: a. inertially ordering the particles into spaced and ordered streams of particles (contacting a plurality of B or T cells with a plurality of epitopes and encapsulating the cells and any bound epitopes in discrete entities, such as microdroplets, using inertial ordering of the cells through a microfluidic device channel (inertially ordering the particles), producing a periodic spacing of cells (spaced and ordered streams of particles); paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0276], [0278]); b. co-encapsulating in individual droplets two or more of the spaced and ordered particles and an activation reporter to form a plurality of target droplets (encapsulating B or T cells bound to epitopes (two or more of the particles) and flowed through a microfluidic channel device using inertial ordering (spaced and ordered particles) in (individual) microdroplets, wherein the immune cell proteins, such as BCRs and TCRs, and epitopes are labeled with
fluorescently-tagged nucleic acid barcodes, and wherein binding of specific epitope by specific polypeptide (activation) is indicated by clustering barcode groups or fusion PCR of sequences encoding the epitope and the immune cell receptor (activation reporter), and wherein the co-encapsulated immune cells and fluorescently-tagged barcode-bound epitopes intrinsically form a plurality of target droplets;
paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]); C. co-encapsulating in individual droplets a plurality of different optical barcodes to generate a plurality of barcoded droplets (co-encapsulating in a (individual) droplet a plurality of different fluorescently-labeled (optical) barcodes, that would intrinsically generate a plurality of barcoded droplets; paragraphs [0008]. [0027], [0121], [0124], [0297]); d. determining interaction between the particles in each target droplet by monitoring each target droplet for a presence or absence of the activation reporter to identify target droplets positive for interacting, activated particles (encapsulating B or T cells bound to epitopes in the microdroplets, wherein the immune cell proteins, such as BCRs and TCRs, and epitopes are labeled with
fluorescently-tagged nucleic acid barcodes, intrinsically forming a plurality of target droplets, and wherein binding of specific epitope by specific polypeptide (activation) is indicated by clustering barcode groups or fusion PCR of sequences encoding the epitope and the immune cell receptor (presence of activation reporter), which would intrinsically identify target droplets positive for interacting, activated
particles; paragraphs [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]; e. merging each identified target droplet with an adjacent barcoded droplet to generate merged droplets (merging the droplets comprising immune cell bound to fluorescently-tagged barcoded epitopes (identified target droplets) with adjacent droplets comprising barcodes (barcoded droplets), which would intrinsically generate merged droplets; paragraphs
[0008], [0027], [0031], [0093], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280]); and f. sequencing nucleic acids in the merged droplets to determine the sequence of any nucleic acids in the particles and to determine the sequence of any barcodes in the merged droplets (sequencing the nucleic acids in the merged droplets to determine the sequence of the immune cell receptor and epitope and to determine the sequence of
the fused or individual barcodes in the merged products; paragraphs [0027]. [0031], [0276]. [0277], [0278], [0280]); wherein step C further comprises co-encapsulating in the individual barcoded droplets at least one sequence barcode to generate a plurality of dual barcoded droplets (plurality of barcodes in individual droplets can be introduced simultaneously with UMIs (at least one sequence barcode), thereby
indicating that the UMIs may be co-encapsulated in the individual barcoded droplets, which would intrinsically generate a plurality of dual barcoded droplets; paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0044], [0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0297]) and step e comprises merging each identified target droplet with an adjacent dual barcoded droplet (merging the droplets comprising immune cell bound to fluorescently-tagged barcoded epitopes (identified target droplet) with adjacent droplets comprising barcodes and UMIs (dual barcoded droplets); paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0031], [0044], [0093], [0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]); or wherein steps b and c are combined to co-encapsulate in individual target droplets the two or more particles and the activation reporter as well as the plurality of
different optical barcodes to generate the target droplets, and step e comprises merging each identified target droplet with a second droplet comprising a sequence barcode to form the merged droplet; or wherein step C further comprises merging the target droplets with the barcoded droplets to generate optically barcoded target droplets, and step e comprises merging each identified optically barcoded target
droplet with a second droplet comprising a sequence barcode.
With regard to claim 2, Abate et al. teaches a method comprises co-encapsulating in the individual barcoded droplets at least one sequence barcode to generate a plurality of dual barcoded droplets (plurality of barcodes in individual droplets can be introduced simultaneously with UMIs (at least one sequence barcode), thereby indicating that the UMIs may be co-encapsulated in the individual barcoded droplets, which would intrinsically generate a plurality of dual barcoded droplets; paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0044], [0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0297]) and step e comprises merging each identified target droplet with an adjacent dual barcoded droplet (merging the droplets comprising immune cell bound to fluorescently-tagged barcoded epitopes (identified target droplet) with adjacent droplets comprising barcodes and UMIs (dual barcoded droplets); paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0031], [0044], [0093], [0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]).
With regard to claim 3, Abate et al. teaches a method steps b and c are combined to co-encapsulate in individual target droplets the two or more particles and the activation reporter as well as
the plurality of different optical barcodes to generate the target droplets (the interacting moieties (two or more particles) are labeled with nucleic acid sequences including barcodes that can be fluorescently-tagged (plurality of different optical barcodes), and co-encapsulated in individual droplets, wherein droplets comprising the optically labeled interacting moieties intrinsically form target droplets, and wherein
fusion PCR or barcode sequencing detects interaction or binding (activation reporter); paragraphs [0230], [0245], [0246], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]). and step e comprises merging each identified target droplet with a second droplet comprising a sequence barcode to form the merged droplet (merging the droplets comprising interacting moieties (identified target droplet) with adjacent droplets comprising barcodes and UMIs (sequence barcode), which would intrinsically form a merged droplet; paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0031], [0044], [0093], [0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0230], [0245], [0246], [0276]. [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]).
With regard to claim 4, Abate et al. teaches a method further discloses wherein step C further comprises merging the target droplets with the barcoded droplets to generate optically barcoded target droplets (merging droplets comprising labeled interacting moieties (target droplets) with barcoded droplets comprising fluorescently tagged barcodes (optical barcodes), which would intrinsically generate optically barcoded target droplets; paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0031], [0093], [0230]. [0245], [0246], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]), and step e comprises merging each identified optically barcoded target droplet with a second droplet comprising a sequence barcode (merging the droplets comprising interacting moieties and fluorescently-tagged barcodes (identified optically barcoded target droplet) with droplets comprising UMIs (sequence barcode); paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0031], [0044], [0093],
[0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0149], [0230], [0245], [0246], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]).
With regard to claim 5, Abate et al. teaches a method wherein the particles are T-cells and wherein information about the TCR-antigen interactions is used to select a TCR-based immunotherapy (detecting epitopes (antigens) bound by one or more B or T cells via a microfluidic system, wherein the information regarding the epitopes bound by TCR would intrinsically be used for TCR-based immunotherapy; paragraphs [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280]).
With regard to claim 6, Abate et al. teaches immune cell particles as it teaches Tcells paragraphs [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280]). Abate et al teaches autoimmune diseases. Paragraph 307.
With regard to claim 9, Abate teaches that the channels have a flow rate that induces inertial focusing (para 385).
With regard to claim 15, Abate et al. teaches a method further discloses wherein step C further comprises merging the target droplets with the barcoded droplets to generate optically barcoded target droplets (merging droplets comprising labeled interacting moieties (target droplets) with barcoded droplets comprising fluorescently tagged barcodes (optical barcodes), which would intrinsically generate optically barcoded target droplets; paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0031], [0093], [0230]. [0245], [0246], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]), and step e comprises merging each identified optically barcoded target droplet with a second droplet comprising a sequence barcode (merging the droplets comprising interacting moieties and fluorescently-tagged barcodes (identified optically barcoded target droplet) with droplets comprising UMIs (sequence barcode); paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0031], [0044], [0093],
[0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0149], [0230], [0245], [0246], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]).
With regard to claim 22, Abate et al. teaches a method of DNA sequencing (para 285).
With regard to claim 23, Abate teaches a method of using microfluidic devices (para 366).
However Abate et al. does not disclose wherein a specific ratio of the different optical barcodes is used to uniquely identify each of the individual barcoded droplets.
With regard to claim 1, Bergo discloses wherein a specific ratio of the different optical barcodes is used to uniquely identify each individual entity (several fluorescent dyes (different optical barcodes) combined at a specific ratio are incorporated into each bead (individual entity) to provide a unique optical signature (used to uniquely identify);paragraphs [0106], [0457]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to have modified the method, as previously disclosed by Abate, for the integration of wherein a specific ratio of the different optical barcodes is used to uniquely identify each individual entity, as previously disclosed by Bergo, as the previous disclosure by Abate includes a method for analyzing an interaction between two or more particles comprising inertially ordering the particles into spaced and ordered streams of particles, co-encapsulating in individual droplets two or more of the spaced and ordered particles and an activation reporter to form a plurality of target droplets, co-encapsulating in individual droplets a plurality of different optical barcodes and at least one sequence
barcode to generate a plurality of dual barcoded droplets, monitoring each target droplet for presence or absence of the activation reporter to identify target droplets positive for interacting, activated particles, merging each identified target droplet with an adjacent dual barcoded droplet to generate merged droplets, and sequencing nucleic acids in the merged droplets to determine the sequence of nucleic acids in the particles and the barcode sequence in the merged droplets, the Bergo reference discloses wherein a specific ratio of the different optical barcodes is used to uniquely identify each individual entity, and this combination would provide a method of analyzing interaction between two molecules or particles by co-encapsulating the interacting particles in droplets and merging those droplets with dual barcode
comprising droplets, wherein the proteins or nucleic acids within the interacting molecules get barcoded and can be identified optically and sequenced to detect and analyze the interaction, and wherein the dual barcoded droplets comprise a specific ratio of different optical barcodes to uniquely identify each individual barcoded droplet, thereby overcoming the restriction of limited number of optical barcodes
due to limited number of fluorescent colors, and increasing the number of optical barcodes by combinatorial labeling according to specific ratios of colors used for a single droplet, hence improving the efficiency of the analytical process.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abate et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0009274 Jan 12, 2017) and Bergo et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0011877 January 9, 2020) as applied to claims 1-6,9,15,22-23 and in view of Garraway et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0100201 April 12, 2018). Abate and Bergo have been recited on the IDS
Abate et al discloses a method for analyzing an interaction between two or more particles (a method for detecting (analyzing) epitopes bound by one or more B or T cells (interaction between two or more particles); paragraphs [0276], [0278]), the method comprising: a. inertially ordering the particles into spaced and ordered streams of particles (contacting a plurality of B or T cells with a plurality of epitopes and encapsulating the cells and any bound epitopes in discrete entities, such as microdroplets, using inertial ordering of the cells through a microfluidic device channel (inertially ordering the particles), producing a periodic spacing of cells (spaced and ordered streams of particles); paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0276], [0278]); b. co-encapsulating in individual droplets two or more of the spaced and ordered particles and an activation reporter to form a plurality of target droplets (encapsulating B or T cells bound to epitopes (two or more of the particles) and flowed through a microfluidic channel device using inertial ordering (spaced and ordered particles) in (individual) microdroplets, wherein the immune cell proteins, such as BCRs and TCRs, and epitopes are labeled with
fluorescently-tagged nucleic acid barcodes, and wherein binding of specific epitope by specific polypeptide (activation) is indicated by clustering barcode groups or fusion PCR of sequences encoding the epitope and the immune cell receptor (activation reporter), and wherein the co-encapsulated immune cells and fluorescently-tagged barcode-bound epitopes intrinsically form a plurality of target droplets;
paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]); C. co-encapsulating in individual droplets a plurality of different optical barcodes to generate a plurality of barcoded droplets (co-encapsulating in a (individual) droplet a plurality of different fluorescently-labeled (optical) barcodes, that would intrinsically generate a plurality of barcoded droplets; paragraphs [0008]. [0027], [0121], [0124], [0297]); d. determining interaction between the particles in each target droplet by monitoring each target droplet for a presence or absence of the activation reporter to identify target droplets positive for interacting, activated particles (encapsulating B or T cells bound to epitopes in the microdroplets, wherein the immune cell proteins, such as BCRs and TCRs, and epitopes are labeled with
fluorescently-tagged nucleic acid barcodes, intrinsically forming a plurality of target droplets, and wherein binding of specific epitope by specific polypeptide (activation) is indicated by clustering barcode groups or fusion PCR of sequences encoding the epitope and the immune cell receptor (presence of activation reporter), which would intrinsically identify target droplets positive for interacting, activated
particles; paragraphs [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]); e. merging each identified target droplet with an adjacent barcoded droplet to generate merged droplets (merging the droplets comprising immune cell bound to fluorescently-tagged barcoded epitopes (identified target droplets) with adjacent droplets comprising barcodes (barcoded droplets), which would intrinsically generate merged droplets; paragraphs
[0008], [0027], [0031], [0093], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280]); and f. sequencing nucleic acids in the merged droplets to determine the sequence of any nucleic acids in the particles and to determine the sequence of any barcodes in the merged droplets (sequencing the nucleic acids in the merged droplets to determine the sequence of the immune cell receptor and epitope and to determine the sequence of
the fused or individual barcodes in the merged products; paragraphs [0027]. [0031], [0276]. [0277], [0278], [0280]); wherein step C further comprises co-encapsulating in the individual barcoded droplets at least one sequence barcode to generate a plurality of dual barcoded droplets (plurality of barcodes in individual droplets can be introduced simultaneously with UMIs (at least one sequence barcode), thereby
indicating that the UMIs may be co-encapsulated in the individual barcoded droplets, which would intrinsically generate a plurality of dual barcoded droplets; paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0044], [0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0297]) and step e comprises merging each identified target droplet with an adjacent dual barcoded droplet (merging the droplets comprising immune cell bound to fluorescently-tagged barcoded epitopes (identified target droplet) with adjacent droplets comprising barcodes and UMIs (dual barcoded droplets); paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0031], [0044], [0093], [0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]); or wherein steps b and c are combined to co-encapsulate in individual target droplets the two or more particles and the activation reporter as well as the plurality of
different optical barcodes to generate the target droplets, and step e comprises merging each identified target droplet with a second droplet comprising a sequence barcode to form the merged droplet; or wherein step C further comprises merging the target droplets with the barcoded droplets to generate optically barcoded target droplets, and step e comprises merging each identified optically barcoded target
droplet with a second droplet comprising a sequence barcode. Bergo discloses wherein a specific ratio of the different optical barcodes iareused to uniquely identify each individual entity (several fluorescent dyes (different optical barcodes) combined at a specific ratio are incorporated into each bead (individual entity) to provide a unique optical signature (used to uniquely identify);paragraphs [0106], [0457]).
However, Abate and Bergo et al do not teach drug resistance.
With regard to claims 7-8, Garraway et al. teaches a method of using a method wherein the method is used for drug resistance based upon analyzing viral particles (para 412, 113 and 80).
With regard to claim 21, Garraway et al. teaches that the particles comprise Tcell and APC wherein the reporter is calcium activation (para 507).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Abate and Bergo to further analyze known particles including the teachings of Garraway et al. The ordinary artisan would be motivated Garraway et al. teaches that these particles can be used for signal detection (para 207-210).
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abate et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0009274 Jan 12, 2017) and Bergo et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0011877 January 9, 2020) as applied to claims 1-6,9,15,22-23 and in view of Edd et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0021984 January 28, 2010). Abate and Bergo have been recited on the IDS
Abate et al discloses a method for analyzing an interaction between two or more particles (a method for detecting (analyzing) epitopes bound by one or more B or T cells (interaction between two or more particles); paragraphs [0276], [0278]), the method comprising: a. inertially ordering the particles into spaced and ordered streams of particles (contacting a plurality of B or T cells with a plurality of epitopes and encapsulating the cells and any bound epitopes in discrete entities, such as microdroplets, using inertial ordering of the cells through a microfluidic device channel (inertially ordering the particles), producing a periodic spacing of cells (spaced and ordered streams of particles); paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0276], [0278]); b. co-encapsulating in individual droplets two or more of the spaced and ordered particles and an activation reporter to form a plurality of target droplets (encapsulating B or T cells bound to epitopes (two or more of the particles) and flowed through a microfluidic channel device using inertial ordering (spaced and ordered particles) in (individual) microdroplets, wherein the immune cell proteins, such as BCRs and TCRs, and epitopes are labeled with
fluorescently-tagged nucleic acid barcodes, and wherein binding of specific epitope by specific polypeptide (activation) is indicated by clustering barcode groups or fusion PCR of sequences encoding the epitope and the immune cell receptor (activation reporter), and wherein the co-encapsulated immune cells and fluorescently-tagged barcode-bound epitopes intrinsically form a plurality of target droplets;
paragraphs [0091], [0093], [0094], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]); C. co-encapsulating in individual droplets a plurality of different optical barcodes to generate a plurality of barcoded droplets (co-encapsulating in a (individual) droplet a plurality of different fluorescently-labeled (optical) barcodes, that would intrinsically generate a plurality of barcoded droplets; paragraphs [0008]. [0027], [0121], [0124], [0297]); d. determining interaction between the particles in each target droplet by monitoring each target droplet for a presence or absence of the activation reporter to identify target droplets positive for interacting, activated particles (encapsulating B or T cells bound to epitopes in the microdroplets, wherein the immune cell proteins, such as BCRs and TCRs, and epitopes are labeled with
fluorescently-tagged nucleic acid barcodes, intrinsically forming a plurality of target droplets, and wherein binding of specific epitope by specific polypeptide (activation) is indicated by clustering barcode groups or fusion PCR of sequences encoding the epitope and the immune cell receptor (presence of activation reporter), which would intrinsically identify target droplets positive for interacting, activated
particles; paragraphs [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]; e. merging each identified target droplet with an adjacent barcoded droplet to generate merged droplets (merging the droplets comprising immune cell bound to fluorescently-tagged barcoded epitopes (identified target droplets) with adjacent droplets comprising barcodes (barcoded droplets), which would intrinsically generate merged droplets; paragraphs
[0008], [0027], [0031], [0093], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280]); and f. sequencing nucleic acids in the merged droplets to determine the sequence of any nucleic acids in the particles and to determine the sequence of any barcodes in the merged droplets (sequencing the nucleic acids in the merged droplets to determine the sequence of the immune cell receptor and epitope and to determine the sequence of
the fused or individual barcodes in the merged products; paragraphs [0027]. [0031], [0276]. [0277], [0278], [0280]); wherein step C further comprises co-encapsulating in the individual barcoded droplets at least one sequence barcode to generate a plurality of dual barcoded droplets (plurality of barcodes in individual droplets can be introduced simultaneously with UMIs (at least one sequence barcode), thereby
indicating that the UMIs may be co-encapsulated in the individual barcoded droplets, which would intrinsically generate a plurality of dual barcoded droplets; paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0044], [0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0297]) and step e comprises merging each identified target droplet with an adjacent dual barcoded droplet (merging the droplets comprising immune cell bound to fluorescently-tagged barcoded epitopes (identified target droplet) with adjacent droplets comprising barcodes and UMIs (dual barcoded droplets); paragraphs [0008], [0027], [0031], [0044], [0093], [0121], [0123], [0124], [0126], [0276], [0277], [0278], [0280], [0297]); or wherein steps b and c are combined to co-encapsulate in individual target droplets the two or more particles and the activation reporter as well as the plurality of
different optical barcodes to generate the target droplets, and step e comprises merging each identified target droplet with a second droplet comprising a sequence barcode to form the merged droplet; or wherein step C further comprises merging the target droplets with the barcoded droplets to generate optically barcoded target droplets, and step e comprises merging each identified optically barcoded target
droplet with a second droplet comprising a sequence barcode. Bergo discloses wherein a specific ratio of the different optical barcodes iareused to uniquely identify each individual entity (several fluorescent dyes (different optical barcodes) combined at a specific ratio are incorporated into each bead (individual entity) to provide a unique optical signature (used to uniquely identify);paragraphs [0106], [0457]).
However, Abate and Bergo et al do not teach channels Deam and Reynold numbers.
With regard to claim 10, Edd et al. teaches Dean number for a channel used in microfluidic devices can be less than 30 (para 34).
With regard to claims 11-12, Edd et al. teaches that the channel Reynolds number of 0.5 to 5 (para 44).
With regard to claim 13, Edd et al. teaches a Re number of that is 2/3 the size and encompasses 2.5 to 5 (para 45).
With regard to claim 14, Edd et al. teaches a Dean number that encompasses 1 to 20 and a diameter of less than 0.5 (para 34 and 44).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the channels of a microfluidic channel to use known Reynold and Dean numbers as taught by Edd et al. The ordinary artisan would be motivated as Edd et al. teaches channels that are capable of being used in microfluidic devices.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682