DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims and specification filed 04/13/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-11, 13-18 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments have overcome every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed 01/13/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “control mechanism module” and sensing module” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estes (US 2009/0069784) in view of Yudovsky (US 2011/0105955).
Regarding Claim 1, Estes discloses a skin patch drug infusion system (10, Fig 2), comprising: an infusion mechanism module (100, Fig 1) comprising: a reservoir (120, Fig 1), for accommodating a drug (126, Fig 1) to be infused, and provided with a drug inlet (125, Fig 1) and a drug outlet (121, Fig 1); an infusion needle (149, Fig 6), wherein one end of the infusion needle is communicated with the drug outlet of the reservoir, and another end of the infusion needle is configured to be delivered subcutaneously to realize drug infusion (Para 0046); a control mechanism module (200, Fig 1), connected with the infusion mechanism module to control the drug infusion; a sensing module (249, Fig 15), operatively connected to the control mechanism module and used to sense or recognize body movements, wherein the body movements respectively represent different functional instructions and according to the body movements sensed or recognized by the sensing module, the control mechanism module controls the infusion mechanism module to execute a functional instruction (Para 0032); and an adhesive patch, for attaching the infusion mechanism module, the control mechanism module and the sensing module, in part or in whole, to the skin surface (Para 0048; See Fig 8)
Estes is silent regarding wherein the body movements include a movement repeated several times or a combination of a first movement and a second movement in sequence, the second movement is different from the first movement.
Yudovsky teaches an analogous drug infusion system comprising a sensing module (310, 312, 314, Fig 3), operatively connected to the control mechanism module (316, 318, Fig 3) (Para 0034) and used to sense or recognize body movements, wherein the body movements respectively represent different functional instructions, and according to the body movements sensed or recognized by the sensing module, the control mechanism module controls the infusion mechanism module to execute a functional instruction, the body movements include a movement repeated several times or a combination of a first movement and a second movement in sequence, the second movement is different from the first movement (“sequence of movements”, Para 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing module and control mechanism module to be configured to recognize body movement including repeated movements or a combination of movements as taught by Yudovsky in order to facilitate quicker and simplified usage of a device (Para 0083).
Regarding Claim 2, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the skin patch drug infusion system of wherein the functional instruction includes infusing drug or stopping infusing drug, priming the infusion needle, inserting or retracting the infusion needle, adjusting an infusion speed or an infusion mode, adjusting an amount of drug infusion, turning on or off an alarm, connecting or disconnecting a remote device, switching a physical state, or starting an event (Para 0083 -Yudovsky).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the sensing module (310, 312, 314, Fig 3 -Yudovsky) is provided with one or more of an acceleration sensor, an inclination sensor, a vibration sensor and a rotation sensor (Para 0041 -Yudovsky).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the body movements include one or a combination of jumping, squatting, leg movements, arm movements, taps on the sensing module, bending over and torso twist (Para 0082 -Yudovsky).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the sensing module (310, 312, 314, Fig 3 -Yudovsky) is integrated in the infusion mechanism module or the control mechanism module (Para 0030 -Estes; Para 0033 -Yudovsky).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the sensing module, the control mechanism module and the infusion mechanism module are arranged in one device (Para 0027, 0030 -Estes; the sensing, control, and infusion modules are all arranged in infusion pump device 10).
Regarding Claim 10, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the infusion mechanism module and the control mechanism module are detachable to each other (Para 0029, 0039; See Fig 4 -Estes).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the infusion mechanism module and the control mechanism module are disposed in one housing (110, 220, Fig 2 -Estes; a housing can be formed of multiple parts positioned together during use), discarded together after a single use (This is an intended use. Estes device meets this limitation as there is nothing preventing a user from discarding both the infusion and control mechanism after a single use).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the control mechanism module is provided with first electrical contacts (218, Fig 4 -Estes) exposed on a surface of the control mechanism module, the infusion mechanism module is provided with second electrical contacts (118, Fig 5 -Estes) corresponding to the first electrical contacts, the first electrical contacts and the corresponding second electrical contacts are pressed against each other, thereby electrically connecting the control mechanism module and the infusion mechanism module (Para 0036 -Estes).
Regarding Claim 14, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses one of the first electrical contacts or the second electrical contacts is a rigid metal pin (“pins”,Para 0036 -Estes) or an elastic conductive member.
Regarding Claim 15, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses first engaging portions (214a-b, Fig 4 -Estes) are provided on the control mechanism module, and second engaging portions (114a-b, Fig 1 -Estes) engaged with the first engaging portions are provided on the infusion mechanism module (Para 0040 -Estes).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the first engaging portions and the second engaging portions include hooks, blocks, holes, or slots (Para 0040 -Estes; the guide channels can be interpreted as slots and the rails can be interpreted as blocks).
Regarding Claim 17, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the infusion mechanism module and the control mechanism module are detachable to each other (Para 0029, 0039; See Fig 4 -Estes).
Regarding Claim 18, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses the infusion mechanism module and the control mechanism module are disposed in one housing (110, 220, Fig 2 -Estes; a housing can be formed of multiple parts positioned together during use), discarded together after a single use (This is an intended use. Estes device meets this limitation as there is nothing preventing a user from discarding both the infusion and control mechanism after a single use).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estes (US 2009/0069784) in view of Yudovsky (US 2011/0105955) and further in view of Vleugels (US 2020/0135320).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified invention of Estes and Yudovsky discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the body movement sensed or recognized by the sensing module within a fixed time period t is recognized as a valid body movement, and beyond the fixed time period t, the body movement is recognized as an invalid body movement.
Vleugels teaches an analogous system having a sensing module (“sensors”), operatively connected to the control mechanism module and used to sense or recognize body movements (Para 0037), wherein the body movements respectively represent different functional instructions, wherein the body movement sensed or recognized by the sensing module within a fixed time period t is recognized as a valid body movement, and beyond the fixed time period t, the body movement is recognized as an invalid body movement (Para 0378).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify sensing module to determine valid body movement based on the body movement being within a fixed time period as taught by Vleugels in order to have a classifier that has improved performance (Para 0399).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified invention of Estes, Yudovsky, and Vleugels discloses a fixed time period (Para 0378 -Vleugels), however, is silent regarding the fixed time period t is 0.5s-5s.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the fixed time period to be between 0.5-5s since Vleugels provides examples of time periods of gestures from 1.9s - 3.9s (See Fig 9) and teaches that the fixed time periods are based on the time it takes to perform corresponding gesture and the person performing the gesture (Para 0378, 0399). It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified invention of Estes, Yudovsky, and Vleugels discloses a fixed time period (Para 0378 -Vleugels), however, is silent regarding the fixed time period t is 1s.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the fixed time period to be 1s since Vleugels provides many examples of time periods for varying gestures (See Fig 9) and teaches that the fixed time periods are based on the time it takes to perform corresponding gesture and the person performing the gesture (Para 0378, 0399). It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/13/2026, on pages 11-14, regarding Vleugels failing to teach the amended limitations have been fully considered but are moot in view of the current rejection that relies on Estes and Yudovsky to teach all of the limitations of the independent claim. Vleugels is now only relied on to teach elements of the dependent claims regarding fixed time periods as detailed in the rejections of claims 5-7 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTARIUS S DANIEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783