DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 08/19/2026 has been considered here.
Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed on 08/19/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1-24 are now pending. Claims 1 and 15-16 are amended; claims 16-24 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-15 will be examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015/036410 A1 (Marcellan, 2015; submitted on IDS of 11/08/2023 as Epsci) in view of Yang (2019) and Vaidya (2019) as evidenced by “Enzyme Innovation”.
In regards to claims 1-3, Marcellan teaches an article (see abstract) comprising a glueing agent or nanoparticles as an adhesive (see page 6, line 24) (i.e., an adhesive layer), a hydrogel support layer attached using the nanoparticles (see page 34, lines 18-21), wherein the nanoparticles are organo-metallic nanoparticles (see page 24, lines 27-29). It is also taught that the nanoparticles can be inorganic, organic, hybrid or mixed and specifically teaches that he nanoparticles are zeolite (see Marcellan, pages 23-24 whole). Further, Marcellan teaches that nanoparticles used as adhesives are known to be thrombin conjugated in the art previously (see page 3, lines 19-23) (i.e. as a composite with the nanoparticle). It is also taught that the pH of the nanoparticles is adjusted using polyacrylic acid macromolecules on their surface (i.e., part of the adhesive layer) (see Marcellan, page 27, lines 22-29; page 30, lines 21-28).
In regards to claim 4, Marcellan teaches that the hydrogel support layer comprises polymers of agarose or methylcellulose (see Marcellan, page 32, lines 14-17).
In regards to claims 7-8 and 10-11, the hydrogel support layer is shown to have random protrusions that attach to the nanoparticles (see Marcellan, page 69, figures 1a and 1b).
The teachings of Marcellan are silent on the metal-organic framework being selected from the group listed in claim 5, the biomolecule selected from the group listed in claim 6, the features of the support layer are in a pattern or in a cylindrical shape, and having pores in the metal-organic framework.
In regards to claims 5, 9, and 13, Yang teaches zeolite imidazolate framework-8 (ZIF-8) nanoparticles on cotton fabric (see Yang, abstract). The cotton fibers (i.e., a support layer) are shown to be cylindrically shaped in a patterned manner (see Yang, page 4, Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 14, it is taught that metal-organic frameworks, such as ZIF-8, are known to have pores (see Yang, page 1, introduction).
In regards to claim 15, it is noted that the pore size of the ZIF-8 is taught as adjustable and is used to optimize the utility of the ZIF-8 in various uses (see Yang, page 1, introduction), the pore size would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed pore size cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, pore size in Yang to obtain the desired balance between the use of the ZIF-8 nanoparticles as taught by Yang (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Vaidya teaches a ZIF-8 lipase composite (i.e., a composite comprising a plurality of metal nodes bridging between ligands forming a three-dimensional porous network and wherein the biomolecule is contained within one or more pores and/or channels of the metal-organic framework) that is taught to have an enhanced stability when compared to free lipase (see Vaidya, abstract; 4.2. chemical stability; conclusion). Further it is known lipase is used in cleaning products for breaking down lipids and biofilms (see Enzyme Innovation, “What is lipase”, “where it is commonly used”).
In regards to claims 1-6, 7-11, and 13-15, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Marcellan with Yang and Vaidya as instantly claimed as the references teach metal-organic nanoparticles being used in articles, with Yang further providing an example of a metal-organic framework nanoparticle that is known to be used in fabrics such as cotton and biomolecules like lipase are known to be used with these metal-organic framework nanoparticles which would be beneficial for its use in a cleaning product.. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to use the nanoparticles of Yang with the composition of Marcellan as the teachings of Marcellan allow for a wide variety of nanoparticles to be used in the composition. Further, ZIF-8 is similar to zeolites in structure, giving one with ordinary skill in the art motivation to one the ZIF-8 nanoparticles in the composition of Marcellen. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the ZIF-8/lipase composite and cotton fabric of Yang and Vaidya with the known method of using nanoparticles as adhesives in articles (see Marcellan, examples 1-13) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015/036410 A1 (Marcellan, 2015; submitted on IDS of 11/08/2023 as Epsci) in view of Yang (2019) and Vaidya (2019) as applied to claims 1-11 and 13-15 above, and further in view of (KR 20150081318 A (Faulks, 2015) as evidenced by “Enzyme Innovation”.
The teachings of Marcellan, Yang, and Vaidya have been described supra.
The teachings of Marcellan, Yang, and Vaidya are silent are on the size of the features in the support layer.
Faulks teaches an absorbent article (see Faulks, abstract) comprising particles (see Faulks, paragraph bridging pages 10-11) and a support layer comprising hydrogels (see Faulks, page 27, paragraph 4). The article is also taught to comprise a protruding layer that is entangled with the support layer (see Faulks, paragraph bridging pages 27-28). It is also taught that the protrusions have height of about 1mm (i.e., about 1000µm) (see Faulks, page 22, paragraph 6).
In regards to claim 12, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Marcellan, Yang, and Vaidya with Faulks to formulate an article comprising a support layer with protrusions having a height of about 1mm as instantly claimed as the protrusions provide various benefits such as serving as a detergent aid, reducing overall skin contact for a softer feel, among others (see Faulks, page 3, paragraph 4). One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the protrusions of Faulks with the known method of using organo-metallic nanoparticles as adhesives in articles (see Marcellan, examples 1-13) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the modified grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
In regard to applicant’s argument that the nanoparticles of Marcellan and the claimed metal-organic frameworks are entirely different classes of material, it is noted that the amendment of the added structure is appreciated. However it is not enough to overcome the modified grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment. While Marcellan does teach organo-metallic nanoparticles that are coated or grafted by an organic material as cited by applicant, it is also pointed out that the nanoparticles that can be used with in the composition are taught to be wide, including zeolites and metal mineral particles. Yang teaches the use of zeolite imidazolate framework-8 (ZIF-8) nanoparticles on cotton fabric (see Yang, abstract). It would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to use the nanoparticles of Yang with the composition of Marcellan as the teachings of Marcellan allow for a wide variety of nanoparticles to be used in the composition. Specifically ZIF-8 is similar to zeolites in structure and one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Yang with Marcellan according to the known method of using nanoparticles as adhesives in articles (see Marcellan, examples 1-13) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
In regard to applicant’s argument that the adhesive layer and the active layer are separate elements, the claim limitation does not limit the two layers to be separate actually. The language of the claim is “a substrate comprising an adhesive layer, a support layer disposed on at least a portion of the substrate, and a support layer with an active material disposed on at least a portion of the support layer. There is no limitation that limits the adhesive layer to a different portion or element of the article. As such, the metal-organic framework nanoparticles can be used as an adhesive layer, as long as they meet the limitations of the claim, which are that the support layer has the active material disposed on at least a portion of the support layer and the support layer is disposed on a portion of the substrate.
In regards to applicant’s argument that Marcellan teaches away from using a biomolecule in combination with the nanoparticles, it is noted that while Marcellan does teach that the nanoparticles are not thrombin-conjugated, it also teaches that they are thrombin-conjugated (see page 3, lines 19-23). "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983). While it may not be a preferred embodiment, one with ordinary skill in the art would still know to use thrombin-conjugated nanoparticles as they are taught in the art.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Marcellan with Yang and Vaidya as instantly claimed as the references teach metal-organic nanoparticles being used in articles, with Yang further providing an example of a metal-organic framework nanoparticle that is known to be used in fabrics such as cotton and biomolecules like lipase are known to be used with these metal-organic framework nanoparticles which would be beneficial for its use in a cleaning product.. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to use the nanoparticles of Yang with the composition of Marcellan as the teachings of Marcellan allow for a wide variety of nanoparticles to be used in the composition. Further, ZIF-8 is similar to zeolites in structure, giving one with ordinary skill in the art motivation to one the ZIF-8 nanoparticles in the composition of Marcellen. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the ZIF-8/lipase composite and cotton fabric of Yang and Vaidya with the known method of using nanoparticles as adhesives in articles (see Marcellan, examples 1-13) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It is suggested that if applicant believes that the nanoparticles of Marcellan cannot be changed with the nanoparticles of Yang and Vaidya, they present data to support this as attorney argument is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art. The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965).
Applicant also argues that Yang and Vaidya are non-analogous art with Marcellan, however they are both reasonably pertinent to the problem to be solved with regards using nanoparticles on articles for cleaning. A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Note that "same field of endeavor" and "reasonably pertinent" are two separate tests for establishing analogous art; it is not necessary for a reference to fulfill both tests in order to qualify as analogous art. See Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212. When more than one prior art reference is used as the basis of an obviousness rejection, it is not required that the references be analogous art to each other. See Sanofi-Aventis Deutschland GMbH v. Mylan Pharms. Inc., 66 F.4th 1373, 1380, 2023 USPQ2d 552 (Fed. Cir. 2023) and Corephotonics, Ltd. v. Apple Inc., 84 F.4th 990, 1007, 2023 USPQ2d 1202 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
Even though the amendment of 08/19/2026 adds the additional structure, the limitations of the structure are known in the prior art and there is sufficient motivation to combine the teachings of Marcellan with the teachings of Yang and Vaidya as discussed above. As such, the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1611