Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3-17-2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. The combination of references applied to independent claim 14 have changed based on Applicant’s amendment. Examiner notes that any omitted arguments not specifically addressed are also traversed and not to be interpreted as an agreement. Examiner proposed an Examiner’s Amendment in an interview on 3-26-2026 requesting a response to cancel rejected claims to place the application in condition for allowance by 3-31-2026, of which no response has been received and interpreted as constructively declined by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 15, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Most recent amendment of claim 14 includes “a control command” that does not appear to have support in the specification. Specific citation is respectfully requested. Dependent claims inherit this deficiency and similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hudman et al. (US App. 20210247842 hereinafter referred to as “Hud”) in view of Goff et a. (US App. 20230010006) in further view of Pombo et al. (US App. 20140002357 hereinafter referred to as “Pom”).
In regard to claim 14, Hud teaches a method (see Abstract), comprising: receiving, at a head-wearable display (HWD) (see Para. 53-55, and 61-62 track HMD using received light angles from emitters in handheld controllers), angle of arrival (AOA) data determined from a signal (see at least Para. 12 angle-of-arrival of light and angle sensitive detectors); receiving at the HWD, inertial data generated by an inertial measurement unit (IMU) of the HWD (Para. 44 and 62, IMU); fusing the AOA data and the inertial data (see at least Para. 44 and 82 fuse sensor data) using a stochastic estimation process or at least one machine learning model (see Abstract) to determine a six degrees of freedom relative pose of the HWD and an additional device (see Para. 56).
Hud is not relied upon to teach the signal is radio-frequency (RF); identifying user input information based on the six degrees of freedom relative pose
However, Goff teaches the signal is radio-frequency (RF) (see Abstract, Para. 7, 80,120, Fig. 10, RF signals); identifying user input information based on the six degrees of freedom relative pose (See Fig. 15-16 and Para. 41-43 rendering image based on orientation of handheld controller and HMD with six-degrees of freedom results).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the HWD of Hud with the RF of Goff to allow tracking without line-of-sight (See Para. 4). Examiner also notes Hud discloses the base product/process of HMD tracking with light while Goff teaches the known technique of HMD tracking with RF so as to yield predictable results of tracking through objects in the device of Hud.
Hud and Goff are not relied upon to teach representing a control command.
However, Pom teaches representing a control command (see Para. 39, tracked head movements to provide commands).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the HWD of Hud with the RF of Goff to generate commands for augmenting hands free mobile devices (see Para. 2). Examiner also notes Hud and Goff discloses the base product/process of HMD RF tracking while Pom teaches the known technique of tracking for control commands so as to yield predictable results of tracking for command input in the HMD of Hud as modified by Goff.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hudman et al. (US App. 20210247842 hereinafter referred to as “Hud”) in view of Goff et a. (US App. 20230010006) and Pom in further view of Dawar et al. (US Pat. 11892550 hereinafter “Daw”).
Regarding Claim 15, Hud and Goff and Pom teaches all the limitations of claim 14. Hud further teaches generating AOA data at the HWD based on transmitting signal (see Para. 45). Hud and Goff and Pom are not relied upon to teach ultra-wideband, UWB signal from the HWD to the additional device.
However, Daw teaches Daw teaches AOA, ultra-wideband, UWB signal from the HWD to the additional device (see Col. 4, Ln 60-Col. 5 Ln 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the
tracking system of Hud and Goff and Pom with the UWB of Daw for centimeter measurements (see Col. 4, Ln 15-30).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hud and Goff and Pom and in further view of Pathirana (US App. 20150375108 hereinafter referred to as “Path”).
Regarding claim 27 Hud in view of Goff and Pom teach all the limitations of claim 14 Hud and Goff and Pom are not relied upon to teach wherein the additional device is a wearable device.
However, Path teaches wherein the additional device is a wearable device (see at least Para. 251, watch).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the tracking system of Hud and Goff and Pom to include the wearable device of Path so as to detect the movement of a human that is more convenient and less expensive (see Para. 5). Examiner also notes Hud in view of Goff and Pom discloses the base product/process of HMD communication using antennas between devices while Path teaches the known technique of antennas on multiple wearable devices so as to yield predictable results of tracking between the HMD and wearable device in the system of Hud as modified by Goff.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 23, 24, 25, 29, 30, 31, 32, and 33 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes Lam et al. (US Pat. 11199379) and Mutschler et al. (US App. 20190346280).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625