DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment to claims filed on 3/17/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 1 is amended. Currently, claims 1 and 7-11 are pending in the application with claims 7-11 being withdrawn from consideration.
Claim 1 is rejected on a new ground of rejection. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2012/0111409) in view of McManus et al. (“Highly Soluble Ligand Stabilized Tin Oxide Nanocrystals: Gel Formation and Thin Film Production”) as evidenced by Dielectric Constant provided by lsu.edu, and further in view of Fujimura (US 2017/0018372).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. discloses a coating agent (or semiconductor oxide ink composition) for an electron transporting layer (13, fig. 3, [0007]) comprising a dispersion in which a surface-modified metal oxide is dispersed in an organic solvent (see [0062-0071]), wherein the solvent is selected to be isopropyl alcohol ([0064]) and the metal oxide comprising one or two (or mixture thereof) selected from SnO2 and ZnO ([0049], [0071], [0074], [0100-0101]). Kim et al. also teaches using 0.1 to 20 parts by weight of the nanoparticles relative to 100 parts by weight of the total composition comprising the semiconductor oxide and a solvent ([0030] and [0063]).
Kim et al. does not teach the exact range of 0.65wt% to 1.91 wt%.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of 0.65wt% to 1.91 wt% in the range of 0.1 to 20 parts by weight disclosed by Kim et al., because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Kim et al. teaches modifying the surface of the nanoparticles by reacting metal oxide nanoparticles with acetic acid (see [0065]).
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose using acetic acid having formula 1 with R1 to R5 being independently -F atom and n is 0 to 2, nor do they teach the metal oxide nanoparticles having an average particle diameter of 3 to 5nm.
McManus et al. discloses modifying the surface of metal oxide particles (or SnO2 particles) with acetic acid such as trifluoroacetic acid (see abstract and conclusion), wherein the surface modified metal oxide nanoparticles having an average particle diameter of 3nm (see table 1) or 4nm (see page 4825, left column). Trifluoroacetic acid has the claimed formula 1 with n to be 0 and R1 to R3 to be -F; and 3nm and 4nm are right within the claimed range of 3-5 nm.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modifying the metal oxide of Kim et al. by using acetic acid such as trifluoroacetic acid to obtain a surface modified metal oxide comprising metal oxide nanoparticles having an average particle diameter of 3nm or 4nm as taught by McManus et al.; because Kim et al. explicitly suggests using acetic acid to modify the surface of the metal oxide, and McManus et al. teaches extremely high quality thin films would be obtained from using the trifluoroacetic acid surface modified metal oxides (see abstract and conclusion of McManus et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Tsukahara and McManus (“The synthesis of organo-soluble anatase nanocrystals from amorphous titania”) do not teach the claimed coating agent.
However, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. See the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726