DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 3 is amended to recite “an outer peripheral portion of the resin layer projects beyond the side face of the glass layer”. There is no support found in the present specification for such amendment.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is not clear how the resin layer projects “beyond” the side face of the glass layer since fusion layer is continuously exposed on a side face of the glass layer.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Amend claim 3, depends on claim 1, recites “an outer peripheral portion of the resin layer projects beyond the side face of the glass layer” while claim 1 recites fusion layer is formed in an outer peripheral portion of the glass layer on a glass layer side that faces the adhesive layer and wherein the fusion layer is continuously exposed on a bottom face and a side face of the glass layer. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciou et al. (US 2016/0288249).
Regarding claim 1, Ciou discloses a multilayer structure comprises a resin layer (16, fig 2A, 0033), a glass layer (12, fig 2A, 0026, 0033) stacked via adhesive layer (14, fig 2A, 0033) on the resin layer, wherein a thickness of the glass layer is 1 micron to 1 mm (0029), wherein the fusion layer is continuously exposed on a bottom face of the glass layer facing the adhesive layer and on a side face of the glass layer (figs. 3-5 and 11, paragraphs 0020)
It is noted that Ciou does not specifically discloses the thickness of the fusion layer. Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific thickness of the fusion layer is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the edge modification is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the thickness and amount of laser, the precise thickness of the fusion layer would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of fusion layer in the multilayer structure to obtain the desired edge modification (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 2, Ciou discloses the multilayered structure of claim 1, wherein the outer peripheral portion of the glass layer projects from a side face of the resin layer (fig. 3) and an amount of projection of the outer peripheral portion of the glass layer from the side of the resin layer is from 1 microns to 2 mm (0005, 0027).
Regarding claim 5, Ciou discloses the multilayered structure of claim 1, but fails to disclose oblique face in resin layer that forms an angle of less than 90 degrees with a face of the resin layer facing adhesive layer. However, as the specification is silent to unexpected results, it would have been an obvious to a one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the shape of the resin layer of Ciou based on routine experimentation, for the purpose of optimizing operation of said multilayer. Such modifications would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 6, Ciou discloses the multilayered structure of claim 1, wherein the resin layer includes a plurality of layers (fig 13, 0045).
Regarding claim 7, Ciou discloses the multilayered structure of claim 6 but does not specifically disclose a polarizer. However, Ciou does disclose to use multilayer in display or touch panels (0003) and it is known to have polarizer in display and touch panels.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ciou does not disclose that the fusion layer is continuously exposed on a bottom face and a side face of the glass layer. However, note that Ciou does disclose the amended claim 1 as explained above.
Applicant argues that figs 3-5 in Ciou merely illustrate a plan view of the multilayer structure including an offset region 127 where only the brittle layer exists. However, applicant’s attention is drawn to paragraph 0020 of Ciou which discloses edge modification from polymeric side.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787