Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
It appears there is a typographical error in line 19 and “second position first spool body” should read “second position on the first spool body”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo, Foreign Patent Document, JP2003119046A in view of Zhu, Foreign Patent Document, CN110980430A.
Regarding independent claim 1, Okubo discloses a reeling device (Paragraph [0001]) that reels a yarn-shaped body (“optical fiber” Paragraph [0001], line 2), the reeling device comprising: a first spool body (2a, Fig. 1) rotatable about a first rotation axis (1a, Fig. 1, Fig. 4); a second spool body (2b, Fig. 1) rotatable about a second rotation axis (1b, Fig. 1, Fig. 4); and a yarn transfer portion (3, Fig. 1, 4) capable of moving the yarn-shaped body between the first spool body and the second spool body (Figs 4 and 6 show movement of yarn shaped body F), wherein the first rotation axis of the first spool body and the second rotation axis of the second spool body are parallel to each other (1a, 1b, parallel, Fig. 1, 4), and a position of the first spool body around which the yarn-shaped body is to be wound and a position of the second spool body around which the yarn-shaped body is to be wound are arranged side by side on an imaginary plane orthogonal to the first rotation axis (1a, Fig. 1) and the second rotation axis (1b, Fig. 1) (plane of roller 3 along F, Fig. 3), and after a collection of the yarn-shaped body reeled a predetermined number of times is formed in the first spool body (Paragraph [0004], lines 1-7), a yarn-shaped body leading portion (3, Fig. 1, 4, 6) of the yarn transfer portion moves a yarn from the first spool body to the second spool body along the imaginary plane (yarn F is moved by leading portion 3 from the first spool body to the second spool body, Fig. 6 along plane of 3, perpendicular to axis of 3 and axes 1a, 1b).
Okubo does not disclose the first spool body and the second spool body have a polygonal shape, with a vertex grasping mechanism provided at each vertex of the polygonal shape, the collection of yarn-shaped body is formed in the vertex grasping mechanism, grasping the collection of the yarn-shaped body having been reeled.
Zhu, teaches a device for winding a yarn-like body (Paragraph [0006], lines 1-4) wherein the first spool body and the second spool body have a polygonal shape (213, 221, Fig. 1, 2), with a vertex grasping mechanism provided at each vertex of the polygonal shape (213, Fig. 2) the collection of yarn-shaped body is formed in the vertex grasping mechanism (213, Fig. 2), grasping the collection of the yarn-shaped body having been reeled (213 slides along 211, 221 to grasp the yarn-shaped body, Paragraph [0038], lines 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the spools of Okubo to have the polygonal shape and vertex grasping mechanism of Zhu in order to accommodate “a variety of pipes, while ensuring the reeling speed and quality” (Paragraph [0006], lines 2-4; Zhu).
Regarding claim 4, modified Okubo teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein an internal grasping mechanism (11, Fig. 1, 8) that grasps the yarn-shaped body sent from the yarn transfer portion is provided in each of the first spool body and the second spool body (11 located on 2a, 2b, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Okubo teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the reeling device reels the yarn-shaped body by rotating the first spool body (2a, Fig. 1) and the second spool body (2b, Fig. 1) in opposite rotation directions when viewed in a direction in which each of the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis extends (rotation is opposite, Figs. 4, 6, 8).
Regarding claim 7, modified Okubo teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and a method of reeling a yarn-shaped body using the reeling device according to claim 1 above, the method comprising: a first step of reeling the yarn-shaped body in the first spool body (Paragraph [0023], lines 1-2); a second step of moving the yarn-shaped body to the second spool body by the yarn transfer portion (Paragraph [0023], lines 5-6); and a third step of reeling the yarn-shaped body in the second spool body (Paragraph [0025], lines 1-4).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo, Foreign Patent Document, JP2003119046A.
Regarding claim 6, Okubo discloses a reeling device (Paragraph [0001]) that reels a yarn-shaped body (“optical fiber” Paragraph [0001], line 2), the reeling device comprising: a first spool body (2a, Fig. 1) rotatable about a first rotation axis (1a, Fig. 1, Fig. 4); a second spool body (2b, Fig. 1) rotatable about a second rotation axis (1b, Fig. 1, Fig. 4); and a yarn transfer portion (3, Fig. 1, 4) capable of moving the yarn-shaped body between the first spool body and the second spool body (Figs 4 and 6 show movement of yarn shaped body F), wherein the first rotation axis of the first spool body and the second rotation axis of the second spool body are parallel to each other (1a, 1b, parallel, Fig. 1, 4), a first position of the first spool body around which the yarn-shaped body is to be wound and a first position of the second spool body around which the yarn-shaped body is to be wound are arranged side by side on a first imaginary plane (plane of roller 3 along F, Fig. 3) orthogonal to the first rotation axis (1a, Fig. 1) and the second rotation axis (1b, Fig. 1), and after a collection of the yarn-shaped body reeled a predetermined number of times is formed in the first position of the first spool body (Paragraph [0004], lines 1-7), a yarn-shaped body leading portion (3, Fig. 1, 4, 6) of the yarn transfer portion of the yarn transfer portion moves a yarn from the first spool body to the second spool body along the first imaginary plane (yarn F is moved by leading portion 3 from the first spool body to the second spool body, Fig. 6 along plane of 3, perpendicular to axis of 3 and axes 1a, 1b).
Okubo does not disclose a second position of the first spool body around which the yarn-shaped body is to be wound and a second position of the second spool body around which the yarn-shaped body is to be wound are arranged side by side on a second imaginary plane orthogonal to the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis, the first imaginary plane and the second imaginary plane being different from each other, the yarn transfer portion simultaneously moves a yarn along the first imaginary plane and the second imaginary plane.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second position on the first and second spools, as well as simultaneously transfer the yarn from the first spool to the second spool, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to save space, wind a second reel of yarn at the same time as the first is being wound, ultimately increasing efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments on pages 5-7 of Remarks, filed 12/19/2025, that Zhu does not teach a polygonal shape, a vertex grasping mechanism provided at each vertex of the polygonal shape, nor that the collection of the yarn shaped body is formed in the vertex grasping mechanism, it is noted that Zhou does in deed teach the claimed features. Zhu teaches the first spool body and the second spool body have a polygonal shape (211, 213, 221, Fig. 1, 2), the vertices which are located at 211, 221, however small of a polygonal shape they may form, still form a polygonal shape due to the gaps between 211, 221. Additionally, “the outer diameter of the reel core can be changed by adjusting the radial distance between the arc-shaped plate guide plate 211 of the reel core and the reel axis” Paragraph [0039], lines 14-15, which would result in a more obvious polygonal shape. Further, Zhu teaches a collection of the yarn-shaped body reeled is formed in the vertex grasping mechanism of the first spool body grasping the collection of the yarn-shaped body having been reeled (213 slides along 211, 221 to grasp the yarn-shaped body, Paragraph [0038], lines 2-5). Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663