DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-12 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0267872 to Tanino et al. (“Tanino”).
With regard to Claims 1, 4-5, 10-12, 16, and 20-21, Tanino teaches a method of making a coated article comprising applying a first composition comprising a hydrolyzed amine-reactive organosilane compound followed by applying thereon a second composition comprising a condensation-curable polyorganosiloxane (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0054]-[0062], [0101]-[0103]). Tanino teaches that each of the first and second compositions can comprise a silane coupling agent including amino-functional silanes (see ¶¶ [0118], [0125]). By way of examples, the reference teaches depositing first and second compositions comprising hydrolyzed amine-reactive organosilane and amino-functional silane with a condensation-curable polyorganosiloxane featuring divalent units as claimed, including epoxy-functional organosilane (see ¶ [0203]; Tables 2-4). Tanino is further noted as teaching the claimed types of organosiloxane substituents (see ¶¶ [0062]-[0085], [0103]-[0105]).
Tanino teaches it is known in the art to treat glass surfaces with silane compounds (see ¶ [0144]), and that the reinforced antifouling composition to which the reference is directed can be applied to marine vessels and underwater structures (see ¶ [0002]). Although the reference does not expressly teach coating siliceous substrates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have conducted the process of Tanino on glass marine vessel surfaces in order to form a reinforced antifouling coating thereon, and to have formed the coating in a manner that maintains transparency thereof.
With regard to Claim 2, Tanino teaches the claimed functional groups (see ¶ [0082]).
With regard to Claim 3, Tanino teaches inclusion of catalyst (see ¶¶ [0106]-[0110]).
With regard to Claims 6, 9, and 18, Tanino teaches the claimed types of amino-functional silanes for inclusion with the organosiloxane composition (see ¶¶ [00118]-[0128]).
With regard to Claims 7 and 17, Tanino teaches the claimed functionality in the organosiloxane of the second composition (see ¶¶ [0122], [0093]-[0097]).
With regard to Claim 8, Tanino teaches methoxy-functionality and inclusion in the polyorganosiloxane composition at amounts below the claimed amount (see ¶¶ [0126]-[0127]).
With regard to Claim 19, Tanino teaches the claimed types of catalysts (see ¶¶ [0106]-[0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01 June 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that the previously-asserted reference is disqualified as prior art due to common ownership (see Response at Pg. 12). This argument is found persuasive. Accordingly, the previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection are presented herein. This action is Non-Final.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712