DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/9/2023 and 6/12/2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1 and 4-5 in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 6 and 7 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2011/0319560 A1) to Weiland et al. (hereinafter Weiland) in view of the teachings of (US 2018/0354229 A1) to Onishi et al. (hereinafter Onishi).
Weiland is directed toward optically clear polyurethane film adhesives. Weiland discloses at paragraph [0158] that the polyurethane has a clear transparency, which is used as the intermediate layer. Weiland discloses at paragraph [0025] that optically transparent adhesive is present. Weiland discloses at paragraph [0059] that an example of a double-sided adhesive tape, which reads on a first and second surface adhesive layer. Weiland discloses at paragraph [0013] that the polyurethane includes a amine hindered light stabilizer of 0.2% to 2%, which reads on 0.1 to 1 part per hundred of the polyol. Weiland discloses at paragraph [0075] that the film thickness is 4 to 150 microns, which reads on Applicants range of 100 to 2000 microns. Weiland discloses each and every element of the adhesive film, but is silent regarding the property of loss tangent.
Onishi is directed toward optically clear polyurethane film adhesives. Weiland and Onishi are both directed toward optically clear polyurethane film adhesives and therefore are analogous art. Onishi teaches at paragraph [0012] that the clear adhesive sheet has a loss tangent at 85C of 0.3 to 0.97, which reads on Applicants range of 0.25 to 0.6. Onishi teaches at paragraph [0011] that the loss tangent causes reduced or delayed bubble generation when adhered to a glass, which increases clarity and therefore provides motivation to one skilled in the art to use that range. Onishi teaches at paragraph [0014] that the polyisocyanate may be aliphatic, which is hydrophobic or an aromatic, which is hydrophilic. Onishi teaches at paragraph [0016] that the ratio of OH to NCO groups is 1.6 to 1.96, which reads on Applicants range of 1.0 to 1.8.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Weiland in view of the teachings of Onishi to modify the adhesive film of Weiland with the film base of Onishi that provides a based thermoset polyurethane film having a loss tangent that minimizes bubbles, which forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1 and 4-5.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766